Git Reviews

77 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 23, 2020
Josh Stapp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It helps diagnose issues by tracking them down.
  • It helps to show who did the problem.
Read Josh Stapp's full review
January 20, 2020
Ray Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Provided a simple interface for developers to manage code.
  • Works seamlessly across multiple platforms.
Read Ray Smith's full review
November 05, 2019
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Quite hard to compare to anything, but every company I worked for that did not use Git had some serious trouble and a lot of overhead working with different versions of the same codebase.
  • Where we use Git, the codebase versioning is the least of our problems. It had given us a lot of extra time to work on the project instead of synchronizing the code.
  • Only possible overhead happens if someone in the team is not familiar with Git and makes some mistakes, which can be quite hard to undo.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
January 29, 2020
Suleman Ahmad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Git has saved lot of our time to merge the code.
  • Git has saved lot of our time for code shipment/deployment.
Read Suleman Ahmad's full review
January 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Collaboration has been very easy.
  • Backup of the code helps in versioning.
Read this authenticated review
November 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It helps to track the different versions of software and helps us to deploy a specific version of the software.
  • Helps the developers to focus on the necessary task, and minimalizes mundane manual work thereby establishing a strong workflow methodology.
  • Git gives the ability to keep the code repository private and secure.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • GIT has drastically improved code deliveries.
  • GIT has provided extensive branching capabilities.
  • GIT has slow speed with image and video files handling.
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It increases productivity.
  • It solves troubles developers have.
  • It boosts collaboration.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2019
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Developers can work in parallel on projects. Increasing the speed at which teams can work, thus causing projects to complete faster.
  • Git has many integrations and hooks, which work nicely with the various continuous integration and deployment tools out there, such as Jenkins. It makes it easy to build deployment workflows, which leads to a more stable product offering.
  • Most developers today are not only familiar with Git, but have used it everywhere they've worked. It becomes very easy to become integrated to a team that's using the same tools you have experience using yourself.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
March 30, 2019
Nikolay Rogoshchenkov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Keeping good records and file history intact is a way to give yourself and your company peace of mind and reduce stress.
  • Git has reduced the instances where we lose code due to some mistake or another, or accidentally overwriting a more recent change with an older version.
Read Nikolay Rogoshchenkov's full review
November 29, 2018
Joel Tanzi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Git has saved our organization countless hours having to manually trace code to a breaking change or manage conflicting changes. It has no equal when it comes to scalability or manageability.
  • Git has allowed our engineering team to build code reviews into its workflow by preventing a developer from approving or merging in their own code; instead, all proposed changes are reviewed by another engineer to assess the impact of the code and whether or not it should be merged in first. This greatly reduces the likelihood of breaking changes getting into production.
  • Git has at times created some confusion among developers about what to do if they accidentally commit a change they decide later they want to roll back. There are multiple ways to address this problem and the best available option may not be obvious in all cases.
Read Joel Tanzi's full review
February 12, 2019
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Using Git helped us having one central place for our source code, developed by a distributed team across the globe.
  • Due to its advantages, more departments in the company switched to Git from VSS or SVN. This resulted in the unified workplace and in having only one Git server for all teams(retiring the other servers and save money on the infrastructure).
  • Git helped us achieve our goal of having 2-week sprints with production releases (in most of the cases), from 3 or 4 weeks. This can be seen as having a 40% increase in the productivity of the software team.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
September 12, 2018
Matthew Mariner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Git has allowed us to have a positive impact on our software development processes by helping us avoid allocating precious development resources to tedious tasks such as manual version control. We have been able to avoid problems before they happen & fix them if necessary.
Read Matthew Mariner's full review
December 26, 2018
Chris Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • A major impact Git has had would be the ability to easily manage code from multiple developers in a single centralized repository. The time it takes to merge code from multiple developers has made significant impacts on our product release times.
Read Chris Martin's full review
December 17, 2018
Jakub Wilk | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Share code with customer.
  • Works out of the box with latest visual studio.
  • Speed to share code with customer.
  • huge base of additional tools like team city and others
Read Jakub Wilk's full review
June 07, 2018
Joshua Weaver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Git has definitely helped me save time as a developer
  • It has allowed me to remove myself from issues that would be present if I were managing code in and "old-fashioned" way of simply various folders and files.
  • Keeping good records and file history intact is a way to give yourself and your company peace of mind and reduce stress
Read Joshua Weaver's full review
March 15, 2018
David Petrie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The ease of use is a big positive with Git. With additional tools like SourceTree and a Bitbucket server, it's really easy for an engineer to get to grips with. Repositories can be easily creating/administered using Bitbucket, and the repositories can be cloned using SourceTree in a few clicks.
Read David Petrie's full review
March 01, 2018
Christy Herron | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I couldn't do my job without git - I just couldn't got back to the old way of backing up and managing developers. I am now used to being mobile, having multiple machines, and zero concerns for hardware failure.
Read Christy Herron's full review
April 20, 2018
Miguelangel Nuñez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • All our code is backed by Git. We can track and keep safe all the stages of the development process. The possibility to rollback certain pieces of code is an amazing time saver; you can come back to it when the code is working just with a few commands.
Read Miguelangel Nuñez's full review
December 14, 2017
Rene Enriquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It's awesome, by using Pull Requests you can identify what is the code that will be added and we can add comments to improve the quality of the written code which it's helpful to protect one of the most expensive assets of a company (source code).
  • The opportunity to count on features like rebase and squash commits allows solving merge conflicts in an isolated manner decentralizing the effort to solve this problem that used to happen with SVN.
  • Branching is helpful to have many teams working on different features.
  • The chance to embrace new techniques and practices is awesome.
  • It's absolutely necessary to have training when new people are integrated into the team and they have no previous knowledge.about GIT
Read Rene Enriquez's full review
March 07, 2018
Benjamin Hale | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The ability to have a backup of our code on remote machines allows us to ensure our time and capital investment in it's development is not in vain.
  • Team collaboration with git can speed up development cycles immensely.
  • Even for small projects, having the code available to different users for review or training, helps our developers get up to speed on projects quickly.
Read Benjamin Hale's full review
September 29, 2017
Ben McClure | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Git has revolutionized our development processes which save us time and headaches over finding other solutions for collaborating on code.
  • Git has facilitated better code quality and great automations through commit hooks and the simple ability to do code reviews.
  • Git has reduced the instances where we lose code due to some mistake or another, or accidentally overwriting a more recent change with an older version. Now, we can simply go back to the version we want!
Read Ben McClure's full review

What is Git?

Categories:  Version Control

Git Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Git's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses Git?

The most common users of Git are Mid-size Companies from the Computer Software industry.