GoldMine Reviews

28 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Ann Raineri | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2020

GoldMine Vault

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GoldMine is an excellent tool to use to track CRM and keep notes and do follow up. It has the ability to work with planners and administrators to keep records of client interactions and a storehouse for their information for future references.
  • It can be used from simply basic to upgrading for more sophisticated clients.
  • It is easy to use when compared to other CRM systems.
  • Found to be reliable and customer support is generally prompt.
  • Would like to see reminders done, set up in more priority system.
  • Adding additional information such as personal document vault that the client can access.
  • Add the edocusign feature somehow.
GoldMine is well suited as a client information library and easy reference system that most offices can adapt to. It should be promoted for company officers and principals to use more often than just support or administrative personnel to enter information into.
Read Ann Raineri's full review
Justin Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

GoldMine - easy to use!

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GoldMine is currently being used by only the admissions department at our university. The university as a whole utilizes a different program that does not function as a Customer Relationship Management system. GoldMine allows our team to track and maintain all information with students we are recruiting and counselling as they make their decision for college. It allows us to set reminders to contact, see all contact history in one place, and see progress toward matriculation.
  • History - All items related to each individual are easily accessible in one spot
  • Succinct - All information pertaining to each student/client is available in one spot, or with very few clicks
  • Updates - GoldMine can be set to update as often as needed, which is especially useful when information is being migrated from another system
  • GoldMine itself can be a little hard to use if editing the information within the program is not enabled. This comes into play if the main information storage is another system that is migrated to GoldMine
  • Third party apps or software can be complicated to be moved into GoldMine history. It is possible, but requires some upkeep and maintenance.
  • GoldMine takes A LOT of expertise to set up. If set up incorrectly by a bad representative, then it can affect the overall usage of the program in significant ways. Make sure you ask the Goldmine rep several questions and get recommendations for the rep as well as the product.
We use GoldMine for customer (student) tracking toward college enrolment and it works perfectly for our scenario. We can track a student's process from before applying all the way through moving onto campus, no matter how long that process takes. GoldMine can log calls and messages in real time so that multiple users can see contact history immediately, which is largely beneficial for larger teams.
Read Justin Moore's full review
Daniel Lampkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

GoldMine is an excellent CRM resource for medium to large size companies.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We originally used GoldMine as a full CRM System, for everything from customer contact information, sales, and technical support ticketing. Since our acquisition by another company, we have moved to a new support ticketing system, but still use GoldMine for everything else. It has been an invaluable tool.
  • Organizing trouble tickets or "cases" in customer profiles. They are associated with the customer, so you can go into any customer record and click the cases tab and sort them by any of their columns.
  • The dashboard is invaluable as a support technician. It allows me to find my trouble tickets and sort them by the date they were last updated, allowing me to continuously follow up on older ones as time goes on.
  • The integration of companies, contacts, and cases is essential, as it allows our departments to access the same pools of information efficiently.
  • GoldMine can get quite slow when you stuff it with thousands upon thousands of records, like we have.
  • Navigation with the mouse is awful, more often than not if you try to scroll up and down a list of items within a company record instead of the list, moving it switches to another customer record.
  • Integration with Outlook could be cleaner. A lot of times I have found myself having to refresh the GoldMine connection to attach emails.
It's great for older companies that have lots of customers, and who have multiple departments working together, but is optimized for a single central office environment. Requires virtualization if everyone works remotely.
Also, this would be overkill for a smaller or newer company. There are smaller more lightweight CRM systems out there that would be appropriate for that.
Read Daniel Lampkin's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Great Contact Dabase, even when you're on the road!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GoldMine being used by several departments in our business from the development team who contact customers to our sales team who refer to GoldMind when going into a sale with a customer. It addresses our record keeping for liaising with customers. Our BDT team can log when they call, so they aren't annoying anyone!
  • Reminders for calling contacts.
  • Remote access capabilities - staff can look back on notes before meeting.
  • More modern design - looks a little aged.
  • Easier API integration.
GoldMine is excellent for large scale contact record keeping. We have tens of thousands of records, and it handles this just fine. It has an SQL back end. It's well suited for call center agents who need reminders of who to call and when, plus what was said in the previous conversations. I would say it's less appropriate for project managing. Once our sale has moved from sales to installation, we use other applications for this.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2020

Great product!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used GoldMine in a unique way. We retrofitted the product for our admissions process. This worked really well and was easy to use. The recruitment process was much easier using GoldMine. We created an API process to bring over the data we needed to our administrative system and left the non matriculated students in the GM database.
  • Ease of use for all involved.
  • Data was easy to export and report on.
  • Adding and removing fields when something new came up was easy.
  • The table structure could be made easier.
Even though this was not specifically built for a recruitment tool, it is built for a sales tool. The cost is a lot less than some of the other prodcuts out there.
Read this authenticated review
Skylar Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2018

Goldmine Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization as a CRM. We log all customer calls and activities in the system. It allows anyone at the company to see the entire history of a customer and all interactions with the customer by tracking calls and emails.
  • Easy to edit. You can always edit any entry after the interaction which helps with accuracy and allows you to add as much detail as you could ever want.
  • Integrates with outlook so all emails are logged automatically.
  • You can set alarms and reminders easily.
  • You can track all personal history or scheduled interactions easily with a calendar.
  • The email integration slows down your email software.
  • It crashes frequently.
  • A person can easily forget to log a call with a customer.
  • If you do not complete a scheduled interaction, it adds all them up so it can lead to someone being overwhelmed with scheduled interactions.
It is well suited for a simple CRM and can provide a lot of data. The reports are cumbersome though and I didn't know of any way to save reports or export them to another software.
Read Skylar Davis's full review
Benny Luera | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 27, 2016

GoldMine Ease of Use

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Goldmine is our company's CRM tool for tracking communications to customers and storing contact information for each person we work with at the organizations we support. We also use it to schedule individual task and calendar appointments. It does provide an easy way for every employee to be able to see communications other employees have had with customers.
  • Communication history for each contact
  • Easy to update contact information for each individual contact
  • Easy to look up and do a search for contacts
  • The opportunity tracking could be updated to make it automatically entered into history
  • Feature to allow you to make changes to customer status or primary contact option
  • Feature to allow better tracking of employee contact tree
It is good for small organizations who primarily just want to be able to easily track communications and store contact information. It does not work very well if you have multiple sales people contacting the same customers as a way to easily track each opportunity each employee is working.
Read Benny Luera's full review
Jan Posthumus | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2015

GoldMine Contact Management Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GoldMine is currently being used to manage contacts.
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to configure and add new tabs and fields
  • Easy to install and maintain
  • Concurrent license structure allowing for multiple user accounts
  • Great online community to help solve problems and exchange ideas
  • Product looks dated
  • Mobile integration has always had issues in working properly and syncing correctly
  • Slows down depending on the amount of users using the system. Would not recommend the product for large businesses
The answer would be dependent on the requirements. If GoldMine is to be used as a contact management system for a small business then yes, I would recommend it.
Read Jan Posthumus's full review
Carolyn Morse | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2015

Sitting on a Goldmine of Information with easy access to all of it

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At PowerLung we use Goldmine as a remote application across the organization. This is the second company where I have chosen Goldmine as our central contact management system. Goldmine allows us to easily maintain records of conversations and transactions with prospects, customers, vendors, researchers and regulatory agencies. It provides excellent tracking and linking of emails as well as attached documents tied to the contact for sales and marketing, customer support, and purchasing. I can look at a contact record and see all communication and activity with that individual or company that is complete (history) or pending. Full reporting capabilities add additional benefit. While not a full project management system, the project and opportunity management portions provide an easy way to track steps. Establishing procedural scripts makes it easy to automate much of the daily email and or status update tasks. Having this level of detail has facilitated documentation for chargeback instances or as legal documentation. All this and we still are only at surface level. Everyone in our organization uses Goldmine for internal and external emails as well as scheduling and calendaring. It is our communications hub.
  • Flexibility to use different views of the data very easily and establish functional views by user or department requirement.
  • Ability to categorize contacts by group(s) or actually have them in separate databases.
  • As much or as little automation as you wish to implement.
  • We implemented Goldmine ourselves after making sure the Server Operating System was configured appropriately.
  • Better integration with other packages. Specifically for us better, more flexible integration with QuickBooks Premier, Also integration with HubSpot.
  • Updated web import to allow use of GoldMine as primary CRM and not rely on marketing tool implementation which does not integrate, automatically update or populate Goldmine.
  • While Client Server implementation is probably adequate, we prefer the Remote App and that could use some work.
  • Integration with Ring Central when running Goldmine as a Remote App.
For small organizations it is simple to use the basic portions. It has it's own mail system as well as integrating with Outlook. If you are not yet ready to invest in an Inbound marketing solution or marketing campaign management software package or SaaS, Goldmine can do the job for you. Who in your area can help you implement the features you really want to use to get started and what is your plan for growth?
Read Carolyn Morse's full review
Ryan Spear | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 29, 2014

Novice GoldMine Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use GoldMine to support undergraduate recruitment at Houghton College. It serves as our CRM. It is mostly used in the admission office although select others are able to access components of it including coaches and academic support staff. It allows us to keep a record of our interactions with prospective students from the point of inquiry to enrollment.
  • Customizable - can create new fields and tailor the experience to what you would like it to be (with a little experience, that is).
  • Inexpensive - affordable for a small institution to use.
  • Requires extensive on-campus support - while there is access to dedicated support-staff, for GoldMine to function well, you need staff both within the admission office as well as in IT to support it (rather than just relying on off-site support). Has it's advantages and disadvantages.
  • Steep learning curve - to become proficient at getting GoldMine to do its "fancier" features, it requires a fair deal of learning. There is OK documentation on there in both in terms of official manuals as well as user-created resources.
  • Clunky - requires a lot of hand-data entry (can use "third-party" tools like GoldBox but that also requires fairly advanced know-how to run successfully). Calling functionality is quirky; mass-emailing is buggy (does integrate with Constant Contact but only one-direction - can "download" data/feedback but not automatically upload email lists).
If you're on a tight budget and have dedicated staff that understand the needs of admission, then GoldMine might be a good choice. Otherwise, it feels a bit "old." Granted, that could be just the reviewer in question not being very proficient. Also, new releases require down-time and can take perhaps a half-day to a full-day of all staff being "out" of the system to make happen. For instance, there is a bug in the mass-emailing features in the 2013.1.0.298 where it crashes after sending bulk emails. Would require an update to address this.
Read Ryan Spear's full review
Gary Perkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2014

Reviewing GoldMine CRM as a user of over 10 years

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GoldMine has been used by the whole team since we started the company back in 1998. Originally, I had used it from 1996 when the first Windows version was released. It is used by Sales, Customer Service and our consultancy team to manage all activities with clients and prospects. Finance use it to chase up clients and to understand if there are any sensitive issues they need to be aware of. In my view, it was probably the first real integrated CRM system.
  • GoldMIne is great as a telesales sales tool since you can call and progress calls very quickly, we regularly are able to make 90+ calls per day since it is fast and in my view easy to use (it does need some training to get the most out of it)
  • It still has its own integrated email system, although it works with MS Outlook, but this means everything can be in one place, surely what CRM is all about?
  • Customising GoldMine is also in my view pretty straightforward and if you have ever used a CRM before, reasonably easy and quick to pick up.
  • Of course, there are always areas that could be improved, in my view the Report generation tool, hasn't really changed in the last 10 years at least, whilst other CRM products have more powerful and easy to use and customise Reporting tools, although there are plenty of Reports to choose from
  • The Database schema has stood the test of time but is quite restrictive in certain areas and what you can do with it
  • Integration with other system unless you are a developer is not easy as there are only one or two areas to show/bring in information
In my opinion, GoldMine works well in telesales, telemarketing and general sales and marketing where there are large number of customers and prospects. Its really good, if you don't want to invest in MS Outlook, since you have an in-built email tool, which is pretty good.

Although it has a customer service module for logging of case or tickets, I'm not sure if this is powerful enough or flexible enough. However, in a sales and marketing role, with lots of data it is pretty good and robust. More importantly, it is very fast and I've compared it to other CRM tools, and still think Goldmine is fast in this sort of role.

The biggest issue I suspect is that like a lot of off-the-shelf CRM system it can look a bit daunting from the outset, but with an hours training, you should be up and running, certainty that's what we've found over the years with new starters.

That is the key point I think, GoldMine users that have been trained well, regularly return to the product.
Read Gary Perkins's full review

About GoldMine

Categories:  Contact Management

GoldMine Integrations

GoldMine Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No