Google App Engine Reviews

194 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 27, 2021
Manjeet Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It's the manageability of the Google App Engine which made it a better option in our case.
It's quite straightforward to deploy on App-Engine.
No worries for monitoring setup
Read Manjeet Singh's full review
May 14, 2021
Ankur Arora | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Google App Engine is easy to use as compared to other services available in the market in this domain. Although it is slightly on the expensive side as compared to other services, but it provides high scalability as you don't need to worry about keeping an eye on it all the time as it will automatically run once the code has been provided.
Read Ankur Arora's full review
April 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We were on another much smaller cloud provider and decided to make the switch for several reasons - stability, breadth of services, and security. In reviewing options, GCP provided the best mixtures of meeting our needs while also balancing the overall cost of the service as compared to the other major players in Azure and AWS.
Read this authenticated review
June 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

If you have a small team which is also responsible for development of the product then surely go for it. And if you have a larger team with dedicated person to take care of deployments. Go for cheaper options such as compute engine or AWS (be sure to do your research on pricing and features comparison).
Read this authenticated review
February 22, 2020
Kadu Barral | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

You can create and scale Kubernetes clusters quickly, but you have to keep an eye on that cluster. In-App Engine, you don't have to worry about infrastructure, but in some scenarios, Kubernetes fits better.
Read Kadu Barral's full review
December 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Azure App Service is in par with Google App Engine although you may want to use Azure App Service if you are integrating with other Microsoft IT components, for example SQL Server. Google App Engine is great when in long run, you will be using Google cloud components, for example Google Pub/Sub, Google BigQuery. Redhat OpenShift, Pivotal Cloud Foundry and IBM Cloud Foundry are open sources solutions and are great when you need more control over your underlying middleware stack, whether fully managed or managed.
Read this authenticated review
January 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Google App Engine is the first product we picked up to store the mass data. Later we came to know that, firebase database is also similar to Google App Engine. But still, we didn't step into it. We will try it later.
Read this authenticated review
October 15, 2019
Tristan Dobbs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)
App Engine is a much more streamlined system than EC2. There is a fundamental difference between them, but they are used for basically the same thing as far a I could tell -- to serve applications EC2 is certainly more complicated, but if offers more machine-level control if that's what you need. It can tend to cost more as well. App Engine is far more straightforward but there are limitations if you need to change the environment. But even then, Google Compute Engine also compares to EC2 and stays within GCP.
Read Tristan Dobbs's full review
August 16, 2019
Jonah Dempcy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AWS and Heroku are both great, and I use them both extensively for different projects. Google App Engine was chosen because it is much more innovative than AWS, and because Heroku specializes in Ruby on Rails. Even though Heroku supports Java and other services, we feel Google App Engine is much more robust than Heroku, and simply more technologically advanced (modern, using contemporary/cutting edge technology) than AWS.
Read Jonah Dempcy's full review
August 23, 2019
Darshan YS | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Google App Engine is very easy to use and mostly up to date makes it compatible with all old and new devices. The applications are very interactive and the prices are accessible for most users. The prices tend to get slightly expensive as we head on towards higher data-consuming web applications.
Read Darshan YS's full review
August 20, 2019
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There are multiple competitors from every single vendor for Google App Engine (GAE), even some other Google products (such as Firebase). I think that Google App Engine really excels for first time cloud users with existing G Suite deployments that are looking for a general serverless app deployment solutions. Other products seem to be more specialized on the market, with GAE being a great first time, general use product.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
August 18, 2019
Joshua Dickson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We commonly decide between App Service, Elastic Beanstalk, and App Engine. Normally, we do not have a strong preference for the services, it really comes down to whether or not there are other factors drawing us toward a particular platform. In the case of App Engine, it is a great choice for situations that leverage other Google Cloud products, like Firebase.
Read Joshua Dickson's full review
August 17, 2019
Dmitry Sadovnychyi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

You can spawn up your own cluster using Kubernetes or Container Engine which will scale automatically when configured properly, but you have to keep an eye on that cluster. In App Engine you don't have to worry about it at all, just ship your code and it will run.
Read Dmitry Sadovnychyi's full review
August 15, 2019
Hil Liao | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Windows Azure
Compared with Microsoft Azure, Google App Engine requires a more complicated development environment setup. It's not as simple as using Visual Studio 2015 with Azure SDK. There are multiple IDE on the market to choose from for developing apps for Google App Engine. JetBrains may have the best IDE.

Consider the data store your web applications will need. If it's a brand new v1 application, look at the storage offerings from Microsoft Azure, Amazon, Google. It's quite difficult to connect to Amazon's or Microsoft Azure's storage from web applications running in Google App Engine.
Read Hil Liao's full review
October 21, 2019
Hung Vu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We considered GAE and Beanstalk but we went with GAE as our application needs to work with multiple Google services and we do not need the additional feature from Beanstalk such as versioning or security. Google App Engine has provided all the features we need for our application platform including configuring applications such as code, scaling up and down, and a monitoring system.
Read Hung Vu's full review
October 25, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Heroku didn't make sense for us once we started to scale as it didn't have it's own infrastructure at the time we were using it. As for AWS, we didn't get enough time to familiarize ourself with it but its interface made it feel like a payment trap.
Read this authenticated review
August 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The two giants are Google and Amazon. Both are very similar however Google App Engine allows you to deploy your web applications through platforms like Python where as if you're using AWS, you have full control on the operating system services. Google is good because you pay as you use it where as AWS, you get charged a minimum fee plus usage. I'm sure both support teams are very good.
Read this authenticated review
August 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The Google App Engine is the first and only system I have used therefore it is hard for me to draw a direct comparison to other systems. But from talking with team members the Google App Engine is in general a better application and they enjoy using it over any that they may have used in the past.
Read this authenticated review
August 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)
We chose Google App Engine because it supplies the most infrastructure per dollar spent. It's much more expensive to use Amazon EC2 to scale to over a million users. Also, the engine's narrow language support system, while somewhat limiting, makes getting started quickly much easier. It's possible to start testing your app almost immediately, with very little setup required.
Read this authenticated review
April 14, 2018
Robert Christian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Azure - too Windows. Do not want IIS or Windows OS.

AWS - too much configuration for the tasks at hand.

Heroku - too simple and too expensive and lacking features.

Pythonanywhere - lacking features.
Read Robert Christian's full review
April 18, 2017
Andre Masson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

With GAE it's a matter of "code your app and deploy it". You don't care on what servers or on how many servers it runs. System administration is done for you. With AWS you still have to be a system administrator with good knowledge and undestanding of load balancers, database instances, etc.
Read Andre Masson's full review
November 11, 2015
Jennie Masterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It is easy to use and saves a lot of time for programmers. I really enjoyed querying databases and being able to see very easily what I had done and still had to do. It was easy for testing and quickly changing something and instantly seeing the results.
Read Jennie Masterson's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (20)
8.0
Scalability (35)
9.1
Platform management overhead (35)
7.7
Workflow engine capability (27)
7.7
Platform access control (34)
8.0
Services-enabled integration (31)
7.8
Development environment creation (32)
8.4
Development environment replication (30)
8.3
Issue monitoring and notification (31)
8.3
Issue recovery (29)
8.0
Upgrades and platform fixes (31)
8.4

What is Google App Engine?

Google App Engine is Google Cloud's platform-as-a-service offering. It features pay-per-use pricing and support for a broad array of programming languages.

Key Features

Popular Languages
Build applications in Node.js, Java, Ruby, C#, Go, Python, or PHP—or bring a custom language runtime

Open & Flexible
Custom runtimes allows developers to bring any library and framework to App Engine by supplying a Docker container

Fully Managed
A fully managed environment lets developers focus on code while App Engine manages infrastructure concerns

Monitoring, Logging & Diagnostics
Google Stackdriver provides application diagnostics to debug and monitor the health and performance of apps

Application Versioning
Host different versions of applications, create development, test, staging, and production environments

Traffic Splitting
Route incoming requests to different app versions, A/B test, and do incremental feature rollouts

Application Security
Help safeguard applications by defining access rules with App Engine firewall and leverage managed SSL/TLS certificates* by default on a custom domain at no additional cost

Services Ecosystem
Tap a growing ecosystem of GCP services from applications including a suite of cloud developer tools

Google App Engine Integrations

Google App Engine Competitors

Google App Engine Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Starting Price$0.05Per Hour Per Instance
Max Price$0.30Per Hour Per Instance

Google App Engine Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Google App Engine?

Google App Engine is Google Cloud's platform-as-a-service offering. It features pay-per-use pricing and support for a broad array of programming languages.

What is Google App Engine's best feature?

Reviewers rate Scalability highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses Google App Engine?

The most common users of Google App Engine are from Small Businesses and the Computer Software industry.