Google App Engine Reviews

194 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 29, 2021
Cameron Gable | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • App Engine can scale basically infinitely so our users can always expect fast responsiveness.
  • App Engine has saved us money by only using the resources we need when we need them.
  • The security and IAM policies surrounding App Engine have saved a lot of head aches.
Read Cameron Gable's full review
April 26, 2021
Rudolph Pereira | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has saved time when we need to quick test applications for proof of concept.
  • The apps have good performance. Even with lower CPU's.
  • Load Balancers and Kubernetes is easy to maintain.
Read Rudolph Pereira's full review
April 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has been a positive move for us allowing us to focus on product rather than infrastructure.
  • Using GAE and GCP overall provides a level of validation with potential clients that also brings value to the business.
Read this authenticated review
June 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It helped us in creating scalable application.
  • Reduced / Saved the cost of hardware.
  • Warning for crashes works amazing.
Read this authenticated review
February 12, 2020
Lokesh Meena | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Google App Engine enabled us to deploy different internal applications and software within a short period of time.
  • It is easily scalable, so we don't have to worry whether the application works after a limit of use or not.
Read Lokesh Meena's full review
December 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Google App Engine had positive impact on ROI by reducing the time it takes to create, deploy and maintain web applications.
  • Positive impact on ROI and positive impact on business by reducing CapEx needed for running the business website.
Read this authenticated review
January 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Google App Engine plays a vital role in our business to store the mass data of our application.
  • We don't see any major negative impacts.
Read this authenticated review
October 15, 2019
Tristan Dobbs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • App Engine has reduced the cost of deploying internal systems on full VMs.
  • App Engine has reduced internal support on systems where a full OS would have taken much more management.
  • Sub-minute billing has reduced the cost of using another Cloud platform when times of heavy activity would have increased our costs unnecessarily.
Read Tristan Dobbs's full review
August 16, 2019
Jonah Dempcy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive impact: Google App Engine let us rapidly build and deploy web services which support an array of applications across mobile and web platforms. We have found the services to be highly reliable and have been overall very satisfied with the level of stability, security and functionality we've achieved.
  • Negative impact: We are dissatisfied with the seemingly-unnecessary level of complexity in some areas which has made code hand-off difficult. It has taken developers many months to learn the ins and outs of Google App Engine and understand the complex infrastructure of our services and so when someone has never worked on these services before, there can be a sizable ramp up time. So while it was very quick to build, it is not always obvious or apparent how to make modifications or how everything works together. There is a bit of "magic" involved where you have to really understand the system to see why, counter-intuitively, certain things happen the way they do.
  • Positive impact: We've had the flexibility to implement certain features which we thought would be unsupported or too difficult to achieve with Google App Engine. So it has allowed us to do some very cool things that we were surprised were possible.
  • Negative impact: It's very expensive, and combined with the extra time spent in development trying to figure out some of the more arcane aspects of Google App Engine, it is hard to know whether we could have saved money by choosing a different platform provider, but it seems likely.
Read Jonah Dempcy's full review
September 24, 2019
Zachary Yaro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The generous free quotas allow me to take risks that might not be financially viable were I paying more for hosting.
  • One downside is I find I hit the free quota for the Channel API more frequently than other APIs, and that one in particular is important as more users expect applications to provide real-time updates.
Read Zachary Yaro's full review
August 23, 2019
Darshan YS | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Scalability.
  • Monitoring requires less work and helps in the overall efficiency of the system.
  • Reduces the requirement of servers/ helps in reducing the overhead cost for the system.
Read Darshan YS's full review
August 20, 2019
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Easy to recruit engineers with experience on Google App Engine (GAE) platform
  • Strong integration with the rest of G Suite saves times for existing G Suite users
  • Expensive when compared to alternatives at times
Read Stephen Groat's full review
August 18, 2019
Joshua Dickson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • App Engine is a great starting point for customers who are already invested or want to become further invested in the Google Cloud Platform environment
  • App Engine removes the need for manual server management, which saves a lot of developer time and money
Read Joshua Dickson's full review
August 15, 2019
Hil Liao | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive: Customers with Java, Python code base may choose to use Google app engine over Microsoft Azure for deploying their web applications.
  • Negative: Customers with C# ASP.NET web application code base may choose not to use Google app engine due to lack of C# support in the SDK.
  • Positive: pricing is 10% more competitive compared to Microsoft Azure and %48 more competitive compared to Amazon AWS.
Read Hil Liao's full review
October 21, 2019
Hung Vu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • With Google App Engine, we able to quickly create and configure a new application for testing or production
  • Shortened time to market of the new Application version
  • Reduce deployment and configuration effort
  • Obtain high available and highe scalable with less effort
Read Hung Vu's full review
October 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • App Engine has allowed to deploy critical applications without procuring new hardware and performing the set up/installation in a long period of time.
  • We were able to release a cost savings of over 50K in a six month period based on not having to acquire hardware and adding support.
Read this authenticated review
October 25, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have a very automated development and delivery flow thanks to App Engine.
  • Downtimes and errors are very easy to detect so it makes maintenance easier for developers.
Read this authenticated review
August 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Reduces overhead to having to manage an onsite server. Personally it saves me time of having to run back ups every so often.
Read this authenticated review
August 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Improved operational efficiency
  • Better program managment
Read this authenticated review
August 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Google provides this product at a discount to non-profits, so if you are a non-profit, it can save you a lot of money.
  • The auto-scaling feature of the engine can save you a lot of embarrassment and expensive bug fixing.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (20)
8.0
Scalability (35)
9.1
Platform management overhead (35)
7.7
Workflow engine capability (27)
7.7
Platform access control (34)
8.0
Services-enabled integration (31)
7.8
Development environment creation (32)
8.4
Development environment replication (30)
8.3
Issue monitoring and notification (31)
8.3
Issue recovery (29)
8.0
Upgrades and platform fixes (31)
8.4

What is Google App Engine?

Google App Engine is Google Cloud's platform-as-a-service offering. It features pay-per-use pricing and support for a broad array of programming languages.

Key Features

Popular Languages
Build applications in Node.js, Java, Ruby, C#, Go, Python, or PHP—or bring a custom language runtime

Open & Flexible
Custom runtimes allows developers to bring any library and framework to App Engine by supplying a Docker container

Fully Managed
A fully managed environment lets developers focus on code while App Engine manages infrastructure concerns

Monitoring, Logging & Diagnostics
Google Stackdriver provides application diagnostics to debug and monitor the health and performance of apps

Application Versioning
Host different versions of applications, create development, test, staging, and production environments

Traffic Splitting
Route incoming requests to different app versions, A/B test, and do incremental feature rollouts

Application Security
Help safeguard applications by defining access rules with App Engine firewall and leverage managed SSL/TLS certificates* by default on a custom domain at no additional cost

Services Ecosystem
Tap a growing ecosystem of GCP services from applications including a suite of cloud developer tools

Google App Engine Integrations

Google App Engine Competitors

Google App Engine Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Starting Price$0.05Per Hour Per Instance
Max Price$0.30Per Hour Per Instance

Google App Engine Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Google App Engine?

Google App Engine is Google Cloud's platform-as-a-service offering. It features pay-per-use pricing and support for a broad array of programming languages.

What is Google App Engine's best feature?

Reviewers rate Scalability highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses Google App Engine?

The most common users of Google App Engine are from Small Businesses and the Computer Software industry.