Google BigQuery Reviews

103 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-22 of 22)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2020

A Robust Tool for Big Data Analysis

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Google BigQuery has enabled my organization to connect the dots between online marketing campaigns and offline case purchases.
  • Google BigQuery has helped build a big data warehouse with lower cost and IT resources for smaller sales and marketing campaign requirements.
Read this authenticated review
Richard Perroset | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

Big Advantages to BigQuery

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Big Query helps to analyze web traffic from different channels to optimize our message and conversion paths.
  • We use BigQuery Data Transfer Service for Google Ads to automatically schedule and manage recurring load jobs for Google Ads reporting data.
Read Richard Perroset's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Google BigQuery for analyzing large ML datasets using SQL

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Being server-less, fully managed cloud server, Google BigQuery has a positive impact on the business in terms of amount of setup time and deployment resources needed to analyze a data set.
  • Positive impact on ROI due to reduction in CapEx and OpEx needed to provision a data warehouse upfront.
  • Positive impact on ROI due to no improvement in the speed of analyzing consumer data using Google BigQuery in real-time and proactively take action when/if needed based on the results.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

BigQuery- A big tool with a lot to offer

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • BigQuery has been a great benefit for managing large datasets. We collect quite a bit of data in our line of work and it's difficult to find program that can easily manage that as well as have it accessible via cloud storage.
  • The cost is high, even though you only pay for what you use. Ideally the cost would be lower for certain usage ranges but for now, it's difficult for a small company to justify the cost even with such large scale data.
Read this authenticated review
Sam Lepak | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2019

Need a reliable, in-expensive database? BigQuery is here to help!

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Pricing has been very reasonable for us. The first 10 GB of storage is free each month and costs start at 2 cents per GB per month after that. For example, if you store 1 terabyte (TB) for a month, then the cost would be $20. Streaming data inserts start at 1 cent per 200 megabytes (MBs). The first 1 TB of queries is free, with additional analysis at $5 per TB thereafter. Meta data operations are free.
  • Big Query helps reduce the bar for data analytics, ML and AI. BQ takes care of mundane tasks and streamlines for easy data processing, consumption. The most impressive thing is the ML and AI integration as SQL functions, so the need for moving data around is minimized.
  • The visuals of ML models is very helpful to fine tune training, model building and prediction, etc.
Read Sam Lepak's full review
Evan Laird | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 04, 2019

Dive Deeper into your Firebase Data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Helped us focus on better locations for restaurants, which increased our conversion rate and quality of restaurants and locations, which we believe has led to more reservations.
  • Lowered our cost of restaurant acquisition with the sales team by about 20%.
Read Evan Laird's full review
Spencer Baselice | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2019

Google BigQuery, Ideal for Large Companies with Multiple Teams

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It helps us to manage and understand the larger breadth of our Search Engine presence using data from our Search Console API. This helps us locate and track issues and improvements.
  • Using BgiQuery also improves the access to multiple types of data that we use for tracking performance and monitoring changes in our competitive position in the SERPs.
  • It allows us a faster, easier way to manage and store large databases without having to host them on a local machine or another cloud.
Read Spencer Baselice's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2019

BigQuery = Big Win

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Once up and running, we no longer have to worry about scale and managing infrastructure. Instead of spending our time on our analytics and bringing that value to our customers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Google BigQuery: Slow Learning Curve

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • ROI is very small although it's positive. Still, I am not happy with this product as it took five to six days to understand the flow of the product and how to implement it into our project, whereas other database systems would have taken one to two days.
Read this authenticated review
Anatoly Geyfman | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2017

BigQuery is a game changer for OLAP

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We were able to reduce our investment in self-hosted Postgres and move our bigger data assets to BigQuery. Overall, we saved hundreds per month, thousands per year.
  • We are able to search through very large datasets with BQ that were difficult to search with standard Postgres, even on very large servers. This gave us the ability to do ad-hoc data introspection easily.
  • Because we already used Google Storage, it was easy to integrate BQ into our environment.
Read Anatoly Geyfman's full review
Alex Andrews | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2016

Google BigQuery truly democratizes data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Google BigQuery has had enormous impact in terms of ROI to our business, as it has allowed us to ease our dependence on our physical servers, which we pay for monthly from another hosting service. We have been able to run multiple enterprise scale data processing applications with almost no investment
  • Since our business is highly client focused, Google Cloud Platform, and BigQuery specifically, has allowed us to get very granular in how our usage should be attributed to different projects, clients, and teams.
  • Plain and simple, I believe the meager investments that we have made in Google BigQuery have paid themselves back hundreds of times over.
Read Alex Andrews's full review
Csaba Toth | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2015

Evaluation of BigQuery from a Hadoop viewpoint

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • If BigQuery fits your business needs (see best scenarios) it can yield great ROI.
  • You maybe able to answer questions with ease which would take much more effort with other big data query technologies (HIVE, Spark, ...). You miay pay some costs.
  • Following some best practices (how to construct and limit your queries) can decrease your costs.
Read Csaba Toth's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2017

BigQuery value through integration with Google Analytics Premium

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Streamlined the use of data from other Google products - particularly Google Analytics Premium
  • Low storage costs allow for a large repository of information to be retained for historical analysis and reporting
  • Management of BigQuery is simple and handled by 1 person internally to integrate with Google Analytics data
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automatic software patching (11)
9.3
Database scalability (22)
9.3
Automated backups (17)
8.6
Database security provisions (17)
8.9
Monitoring and metrics (18)
8.8
Automatic host deployment (9)
9.0

About Google BigQuery

Google's BigQuery is part of the Google Cloud Platform, a database-as-a-service (DBaaS) supporting the querying and rapid analysis of enterprise data.

Google BigQuery Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No