Google Classroom Reviews

188 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 61)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 18, 2021
H. P. Molloy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The system is relatively easy to begin with.
  • It is integrated with Google Drive and Google Docs, which makes recycling relatively easy.
  • It is platform-independent.
  • It is relatively speedy.
  • Tests and quizzes (in my experience) are primitive and do not allow modern testing techniques involving IRT.
  • Recycling of materials is, at best, counterintuitive.
  • Formation of subgroups is difficult.
Read H. P. Molloy's full review
April 20, 2021
Ian Hansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Assignment tracking
  • Collaboration of teams together
  • Organization and integration of assignments and documents
  • Permissions to non-Google users is not always intuitive
  • Managing permissions to resources outside of the organization could be improved
  • Chromebook tracking features could be improved
Read Ian Hansen's full review
May 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is easy to add larger group of students.
  • Easy to setup online meetings.
  • Easy to share files and presentations.
  • So far, I have not faced any problem with it; I always find it easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
April 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Organizes information by topics for user-friendly access
  • Grade assignments for students, giving them instant feedback
  • Works with so many other educational websites, making linking assignments easy!
  • Checklist within the topics for the teacher to mark off assignments the students have finished
  • Automatic notice to students when they have missing work or assignments due
  • Teacher dashboard for a quick glance at the week or day (grades, assignments, class progress, etc.)
Read this authenticated review
August 11, 2020
Rahul Ajithkumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • If we register Google Classroom with our organization's mail ID we can use the integrated Google Meet for conducting online meetings, online classes, etc, but if we are using our personal mail ID for creating a classroom then we need G-Suite for setting up Google Meet.
  • We can perform different online classwork like assignments, quizzes, and also we can conduct online exams with a proper grading system.
  • Each of the classrooms created will be associated with a separate class code, we can simply share this class code to the students and with the help of this code they can easily join our class. Another method is we can add students by manually entering their mail ID.
  • The default integration of Google Meet is absent if we are creating the classroom using our personal mail ID, and for integration we need G-Suite and we need to pay for it.
  • The UI could be little more appealing, since the existing platform uses very simple and basic UI.
  • Uninterrupted internet connection is required for proper working.
Read Rahul Ajithkumar's full review
March 11, 2020
David Obeid | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows me to share files with all of my students regardless of their location.
  • It notifies my students via email when I share a resource or file with them.
  • It allows me to verify the time and date of the release of information.
  • I don't seem to get email notification when my students post into the classroom.
  • The ability to record voice and/or video messages easily and directly into Google classroom would be great. I would love to be able to stream and store my lessons in Google Classroom!
Read David Obeid's full review
February 11, 2020
Shelise Hague | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Access to the work from home or at school
  • Work can be graded from home or at work.
  • Not all programs make it easy to assign through Google Classroom.
  • Some students do not have technology at home to access the Classroom.
Read Shelise Hague's full review
December 20, 2019
Amy Westby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Classroom content management is excellent in Google Classroom.
  • Coordinating a cohort of students among many staff members is easy.
  • Filtering assignments to search for could be easier.
  • The ability to quickly poll a class.
Read Amy Westby's full review
November 22, 2019
Brandon Hightower | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It gives us a good way for the students and teachers to communicate.
  • Keeps class content ordered.
  • Easy to set up.
  • Have to manually transfer grades to the school's gradebook.
  • The interface could be designed a little better.
Read Brandon Hightower's full review
November 19, 2019
Ben Westby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integrates Google Drive efficiently.
  • Our paid curriculum has full Google Education integration.
  • Additional educational websites and tools have full Google Suite integration.
  • The mobile app is still slightly clunky to use, and not all features available from the website.
  • There are not many visuals to aid in understanding student data.
Read Ben Westby's full review
April 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Communicating with students
  • Correcting work
  • Grading
  • Maybe update the look of it, appears a little old.
  • I can’t make a document for everyone after I have posted it so I have to delete it and start over.
  • Can be glitchy at times.
Read this authenticated review
February 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows for collaboration between students in virtual space that mimics that of the real classroom.
  • Allows for a variety of tools (i.e., educational apps) to be listed for use by students in one centralized space.
  • It is connecting to the district's learning management system to make the grade transfer process easy.
  • They are making it easier for parents/guardians to sign up for the account and monitor student learning.
Read this authenticated review
February 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integration with the GSuite of products is excellent - the automatic creation of folder structures is a huge time saver and organizational benefit.
  • From a student experience perspective, it is very intuitive and easy to use (and is the same login provided your school is a GSuite school).
  • Google Classroom lacks any meaningful integration with the major SIS providers - meaning marks/etc. are hard to pass back to gradebooks and onto report cards.
  • The grading options are limited - if your school uses IB, or AP, or standards based learning you may struggle to setup the grading features accurately.
Read this authenticated review
February 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy communication with students and co-teachers via email.
  • Easy to post new content and material.
  • Tutorial lessons on how to use it.
  • Update for teachers to see who has viewed and opened content.
Read this authenticated review
February 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows individual “classrooms” or groups to be made to manage different groups of individuals.
  • Makes adding materials and documents easy by pulling easily from Google Drive.
  • I’d like to be able to schedule assignments for three different groups at once instead of having to go into each classroom individually.
  • It would be nice for the chat feature to be able to be turned off by the teacher/administrator on shared documents.
Read this authenticated review
December 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Creating a paperless environment for staff and students
  • Helps keep the students organized by tying in with email and calendar.
  • Easy for teachers to setup and use.
  • Sometimes there are small glitches with file types on attachments.
Read this authenticated review
October 25, 2019
Bill Black | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It provides a staging area for all the instructional materials for an assignment or project which can be revisited by students as needed. Assignment instructions, resource materials, worksheets, web links, videos, photos, etc. can all be included and stored.
  • It provides the ability to reuse projects/assignments across classes. This is particularly helpful for cyclic classes.
  • It provides a date/time stamp that shows when each student turned in their assignment/project. VERY useful from a teacher's standpoint.
  • I am not sure yet as to what types of improvements could/should be made.
  • Maybe add a project timer feature???
Read Bill Black's full review
October 06, 2019
David Cohen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It helps in building good communication between teachers and students.
  • It assists the students to keep them updated about new progress.
  • It assists in uploading content daily for students according to curriculum.
  • It should have tutorials for the beginners to understand it better.
  • I need to helps teachers with resources which is not available.
  • It needs to have some robust features for better performance.
Read David Cohen's full review
September 28, 2019
Katy Beck | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It helps you in giving instant notices and updates about any upcoming events.
  • Helps you in letting you know about the updated content in a synchronized pattern.
  • Its a little time taking but once used, the person gets handy with it and loves the way it works.
  • In needs to have tutorials so that less time can be wasted.
  • In requires a better interface.
  • It should have an option to contact someone directly, rather than sharing in the group where everyone has different sort of minds.
Read Katy Beck's full review
January 03, 2019
Tamara Letter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Google Classroom allows you instant access to student work when using Google products such as Docs and Slides.
  • Google Classroom is easy to set up for teacher and student use.
  • Google Classroom offers several access points, either through URL website link, app, or apps launcher within Google Drive.
  • Google Classroom allows you to attach additional files, links, etc. to assignments.
  • Students can use Google Classroom to reply to other classmates' posts.
  • Google Classroom is NOT an LMS, although some schools/districts try to mold it in that fashion. It does not include robust features of an LMS.
  • Google Classroom provides a grade book, but that grade book does not sync with all district's grade book, so you will have to manually transfer any grades received.
  • It would be great to see Google Classroom offer a closed-captioned option for any uploaded videos shared on the site.
Read Tamara Letter's full review
January 23, 2019
Rosemary Reynolds | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Google Classroom is easy for both the students and teacher to learn to use
  • Google Classroom has the ability to store previous classes in the archives, so I can reuse content
  • I can easily link worksheets from Google Docs and tests from Google Forms into assignment posts
  • Google Classroom sends my students emails whenever I post a new assignment for grade an existing one
  • I would like there to be a more complex gradebook, that lets students see their total grade in the class and allows me to create weighted categories (there was a Beta gradebook released recently, which I have not explored yet. Perhaps this is included there)
Read Rosemary Reynolds's full review
January 22, 2019
David LeNoble | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Announcements: this is an easy and precise way to convey assignments, reminders, and information to students in a class.
  • Connection to Calendar: the use of the calendar gives students a quick and direct way to know what is going on in the class, when assignments are due and other important due dates.
  • To Do List feature: again, this is a great way to give students access to what is happening in the class and gives teachers a way to organize the class and/or their lessons.
  • Loading students into a class can become cumbersome; it relies on downloading a CSV file and then uploading that---requiring a strong knowledge of how to do that.
  • For someone new to using something like this, looking at the site initially may make them feel overwhelmed by all the information available.
  • Although there is good information within the help center, it is difficult to find a way to contact someone directly, like a chat feature for example.
Read David LeNoble's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (33)
7.6
Course catalog or library (25)
7.5
Player/Portal (22)
8.4
Learning content (30)
8.1
Mobile friendly (39)
8.0
Progress tracking & certifications (31)
7.2
Assignments (40)
8.6
Compliance management (19)
7.7
Learning administration (30)
7.8
Learning reporting & analytics (29)
7.1
Social learning (35)
7.7

What is Google Classroom?

Google Classroom Video

Google Classroom 101

Google Classroom Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Google Classroom's best feature?

Reviewers rate Assignments highest, with a score of 8.6.

Who uses Google Classroom?

The most common users of Google Classroom are from Mid-size Companies and the Education Management industry.