Google Cloud Storage Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
205 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 31)

Matthew Bernstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Google Cloud Storage is Great!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Cloud Storage is a great cloud infrastructure as a solution product, and deserves to be held up to the tops of the industry. The cost is rather reasonable for the amount of licenses it allows, and is used across all functions of my organization. Highly recommend this product.
  • Unlimited storage.
  • High performance.
  • Allows for multiple cloud programs to save on one drive.
  • Hard to find files sometimes.
  • Not entirely intuitive.
  • UI/UX could use some improvements to make it easier to use.
Google Cloud Storage is best suited for instances where cold cloud storage is needed. By giving access to the product/development team, our company was able to provide a safe and usable cloud storage host. It is infrequently used by other teams, including the sales and marketing teams, which utilize Google Drive for their cloud storage needs.
I have not had to interact personally with the Google Cloud Storage customer support team.
Read Matthew Bernstein's full review
Cameron Gable | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

Google Cloud Storage is a Highly Available and Integrated Object Storage

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our software platform is a distributed system; we run many batch jobs of varying workload types and sizes. We use GCS to store data from these VMs. GCS is able to solve the issue of needing a highly available storage option that one can store data on easily using various APIs. Our company also uses it as backup storage for our Google-managed file server.
  • Highly available storage option.
  • Virtually unlimited storage option.
  • Easily accessible using APIs.
  • Console can always be improved to better user experience.
  • More work to be able to use it similar to a file system.
Google Cloud Storage is perfect for storing data in object storage, big or small. It is easily accessible and highly available. A great aspect of Google Cloud Storage is the cost -- Google Cloud Storage offers multiple storage options at multiple price points. It is great for storing data that is accessed regularly or vary rarely and prices are adjusted accordingly.
Overall, Google Cloud offers solid support for their products. Because Cloud Storage is one of their flagship products, it is well supported and it is easy to get help. There is quite a bit of documentation for both the console and the APIs. The APIs are very built out for multiple languages.
Read Cameron Gable's full review
Luiz Lai | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Google Cloud Storage : Enterprise level solution with a good price

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Google Cloud Storage in the most diverse technology projects, software development and also in data analysis projects. It is one of the many solutions that Google Cloud Platform offers and is used by the technology and data science department. The GCS helps us deliver high quality solutions when there is a requirement for data storage in the cloud.
  • High performance, durability and disponibility.
  • One and robust API.
  • Bucket management is very complicated. When you have a ton of files, the UI/UX makes you suffer a lot.
  • Some settings, like make 'public files' is not intuitive to setup on the interface.
The Google Cloud Storage works well with other products of Google. It's well suited for use in software solutions that needs a cloud storage solution. However, for some problems that need different types of data, like not structured data, I recommend a Datastore/Firestore solution. If you are dealing with messages data, Google Cloud Storage maybe not be the best solution.
Read Luiz Lai's full review
Eric Mason | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Google Cloud Storage, Cheap, Secure and Reliable

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use Google Cloud Storage when we need to store data with a low access frequency cheaply. In the past, we've used it to assist with data migrations and for secure data exchanges. It's mostly used by the product/development team and infrequently used by other teams. The primary business problems it addresses relate to keeping "colder" data storage cheap and secure.
  • It provides object storage at a very affordable price.
  • Reliable/enforces security best practices.
  • The JavaScript SDK is difficult to work with.
  • The UI/UX could use some improvements/doesn't seem great for managing a massive number of objects.
Scenarios where Google Cloud Storage is well suited:
- It seems best suited for colder storage use cases and pretty much anywhere you would use S3. It provides many of the same features as S3 but is generally a bit cheaper.
- Cases where you'd like to share data with granular permissions to other Google users securely

Scenarios where Google Cloud Storage is less appropriate:
- Any scenarios that require hot storage (fast frequent read/writes)
We've never needed support for Google Cloud Storage, but the docs seem pretty good.
Read Eric Mason's full review
Christian Oquendo | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 06, 2020

Google Cloud Storage - Best for Business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the moment, my company is using Google Cloud Storage for collaboration purposes with other companies. The convenience of cloud storage is useful for situations when there is no physical storage space available, as my company uses a lot of video content. This software also addresses many organizational issues with documents we share.
  • Ease of use
  • Simple User Interface
  • Pricing
  • Glitches
Depending on the nature of the business, Google Cloud Storage is best suited for businesses who collaborate with each other, businesses which require extra cloud storage space, and businesses who would need to store an unlimited amount of files with ease of access. Google Cloud Storage is not best suited for smaller businesses who are on a budget.
Although I haven't had any issues requiring support from Google, I have had issues in the past with other Google software which have been quickly and readily been resolved by Google's support team.
Read Christian Oquendo's full review
Randi Yeaman | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Cloud for Emails

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Individuals use the Cloud Storage for emails that we need to hold onto due to the length of our projects. I have to hold onto every email that comes in to Prime Solution and the only way I was able to accomplish this task was to use the Google Cloud Storage for these emails. This has helped us increase our email and storage capacity in order to best help our customers and their projects we are working with them on.
  • Emails.
  • Music/presentations.
  • None really.
Good for email storage, presentations, forms needed in other offices.
They have always been very responsive.
Read Randi Yeaman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2020

Google Cloud Storage - Good for projects from simple to demanding!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Cloud Storage to backup individual files, backup entire systems, share files, and to host static content. Since a storage bucket can be configured to a URL, this tool allows us to easily and temporarily host files needed between systems. Some of our storage buckets are used to host software updates, others are used only as background system backups, among many other uses.
  • Permissions - easy to configure.
  • Security - variety of permissions allows fine grained control.
  • Reliability - storage service is essentially always available.
  • Learning curve - working with buckets isn't as straightforward as end user cloud storage (like Google Drive).
  • Less integration support than AWS in 3rd party tools.
  • Integration required for best results (programming into the API).
Google Cloud Storage is a great solution for many needs:
  • It can be used for sharing one-off files (assuming the bucket is configured with a URL, which requires a domain and ability to configure DNS settings). While this is a very simple use case, it still comes in useful in many real world cases.
  • Using Google Cloud Console or the Google Cloud SDK, it's easy to copy or move files between buckets and other cloud resources. These tools can be scripted for needs like system or project backups.
We have never used official support from Google for our Google Cloud Storage, but there is plenty of documentation in place already. With a small amount of work, anybody should be able to get started. Once needs get more complicated, there is still documentation from Google, but also plenty of community support for common use cases around the internet.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

Good Storage Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Cloud Storage is used across our organization in support of our product line as well as our customer success team. It allows us to store data files, images, and other resources required by our product lines inexpensively and securely. We can control access to all resources without being cumbersome and data retrieval is quick and easy.
  • Data storage.
  • Security.
  • Easy access.
  • Very happy with the service for our needs.
Google Cloud Storage allows us to store data files, images, and other resources required by our product lines inexpensively and securely. We can control access to all resources without being cumbersome and data retrieval is quick and easy. It is well suited for resources that need to be accessed frequently. If access is less frequent, then other data storage offerings may be more appropriate to control costs.
Google as a whole is not very good at customer support. I have not had an issue with Google Cloud Storage, but I have used their support in relation to some of their other services and it leaves a lot to be desired. You are basically on your own to figure things out if there is an issue that goes beyond simple setup or use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Google Cloud Storage Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Cloud Storage is being used across multiple departments of our organization for storing, managing, and sharing documents, reports, and files. It helps reduce the number of emails, especially attachments to be sent over email, also helps keep everything organized. We give access to team members appropriately and manage the visibility of certain files between departments and teams.
  • Sharing is easy across team members
  • Organizing everything into sections and folders
  • In tool editions to files is not very flexible, so sometimes we have to download, make editions and upload again.
  • The archive can get messy after a long time of use and difficult to reference old objects.
Big data projects, with multiple touch-points and files to store, that need to be shared across departments, is the best use for Google Cloud Storage. Buckets help store your data safely, and the security level is unmatched since Google manages it. It's very flexible and responds to multiple programming languages, reducing the learning curve for teams in case of transitions.
Our team had a great experience with the help and support team. We have been able to resolve the few issues over the phone, had one in house visit by a professional to help us with a specific implementation issue that was custom to our back end. Other than this, almost all information is available online.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

Google Cloud Storage compared to AWS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Cloud Storage is currently used by IT, QA, and Accounting. For IT, it is used to manage and verify backups for the business. The Quality Assurance team uses Google Cloud Storage to store and automate code regression and edge case testing. The Accounting department uses the service to store and maintain historical employee records.
  • Security
  • Price
  • Availability
  • Language support
  • Example code
  • Outage windows
Google Cloud Storage is good for customers who need long-term storage for data that users access less than once a month. It's best used for archiving data, as well as backup and disaster recovery (DR), and it integrates with third-party backup products from vendors such as Unitrends and Symantec. One potential con is that it's not compatible with our current timekeeping & time management software. However, this is not really a fault of Google Cloud Storage, but our own because we have not yet updated to a newer time management software.
I never had a requirement to use support for this product. It is simple and well-designed si you can start using it right from the documentation. We've never encountered a problem that wasn't solved after reading the documentation. In general terms, Google support is usually very good and this service is no exception.
Read this authenticated review
JaCoby Marston, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 02, 2019

Peace of Mind!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Google Cloud Storage for multiple years now. We as a company will do anything we can to verify that our data is safely stored. We love using cloud storage because it gives my business peace of mind that if a computer was to crash, all is not lost. We have a back up located on Google Cloud Storage. We use Google Cloud Storage to back up our serve data. I personally love using Google Cloud Storage because I use multiple Google products and I love having all of the my stuff in one central location with one company.
  • Very Affordable.
  • Works well with all other Google Products.
  • Provides me with a peace of mind that my data is safely stored so no worries about losing any data.
  • Ability to share data with co workers.
  • Easier to Access on Smartphone
  • Competitive pricing
If you are already using Google for other things like Gmail or Google Drive, then I highly recommend that you invest in Google Cloud Storage. It is the best to have all of your tools under one account. Plus Google makes very good products so you know you are getting the best by choosing to get the Google Cloud Storage. Also, if you want a peace of mind that your data is safely stored and you do not have to worry about the risk of losing your data, then Google Cloud Storage is a great option for you.
Google produces great products where they have very little down time if any. Google Cloud Storage has always worked for me when I needed it the most. If you have any problems you can reach out for help.
Read JaCoby Marston, CPA's full review
Leonel Quinteros | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Store and host anything, worry-free, on Google Cloud Storage

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The first adoption was to store media files (videos) that needed to be accessible publicly. Then we extended the use to store all files generated by our systems. It releases us from having to allocate disk space on our infrastructure to store growing assets. By just uploading to cloud ctorage we can focus on business cases and don't have to monitor space available over time.
  • Storing big files. It's just easy to upload a big file to Cloud Storage and keep it accessible from there.
  • Hosting static content to make it available to the public. When used creatively, you can even host a web application frontend there.
  • Storing backups. Works great as an extra backup location and being close to the rest of our infrastructure makes it our primary source for backup recovery.
  • Storing user-generated content. When developing stateless applications, you don't want to manage a storage infrastructure to store files that grow over time.
  • Not a good solution for storing structured information. There are better products for that.
  • Buckets organization and management can fall short if you have too many buckets. It would be nice to be able to group or tag buckets for better visibility/grouping.
File storage is its main strength. You can store an almost infinite amount of files without worrying about deploying storage solutions on your infrastructure. Having the files available over HTTP is also helpful for web applications that need to host any kind of static files. It's even possible to host a web application frontend thereby playing with DNS and SSL settings.
Never needed to use support for this product. Is so simple and well designed that you can start using it right from the documentation. We've never encountered a problem that wasn't solved after reading some docs. In general terms, Google Cloud support is usually good, but again, we don't use it much, documentation and community contributions are abundant and useful.
Read Leonel Quinteros's full review
Sam Randika | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 23, 2019

Google Cloud Storage Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Google Cloud software platform came up with more than one concept. not only background APIs that operate at code and scripting level of shell and IDEs but also can manage common computer tasks, service, object, the client from virtual disks and machines.its gives everyone a free account that comes with 15GB free storage. When comparing with other competitors that's a huge step. Since it connects with every Google product we can easily share data among them.
  • Free account with 15 GB free storage.
  • Simple but efficient.
  • Can access all services by web browser.
  • Real-time Synchronization.
  • Very easy to share with others.
  • When working on documents it also comes up with version control. which you can revert the document to the older version.
  • Slow evolution.
  • Need to improve google slides as Microsoft PowerPoint.
  • Need to clear up trash in order to if u want to permanently remove something from drive and get some space.
When a group of people works together on a project Google Cloud will be a lot of useful. Multiple people can work on the same document simultaneously. If you are looking for the best solution, for a fair price, Google Cloud would be the best solution. It is accessible from anywhere.
Read Sam Randika's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2019

Google Cloud Storage is the way to go!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Cloud Storage basically in our whole organization. The most common problem it addresses for us is that a group of us can work on a document/project remotely, so that we don't end up with this huge email string of forwarding and replying to documents. A group of us can make the changes no matter where we are.
  • We're able to collaborate on documents/graphs/spreadsheets etc in one location.
  • Because we can make changes instantly and share them instantly, we as a company have become much more efficient and streamlined.
  • It's very easy to search for and find what you are looking for. There have been many times in the past that a glitch or misfiling or something has happened and we have not been able to find the saved document. It ended up in file land somewhere on the computer, but with Google Cloud Storage I have been able to find my projects every time.
  • The Google Cloud platform can get a little confusing sometimes, as I tend to get lost when I browse thru all the menus
  • I would like to see the monthly fees reduced.
I haven't really come across anything that did not work appropriately so far but one scenario comes to mind. We had a nice sized proposal we were working on with a next day deadline. There were 3 people here that were collaborating on it, but one was out of the country on vacation, one was out in the field, and the other here in the office. It could have been a disaster, but all involved were able to log in and work on the proposal together. Because of this, we met the deadline.
In my role here I don't really have much to do with the support side of things. However, whenever I have had problems or concerns, my IT person has been able to get the answers we need so that I can keep working in a very timely manner.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Overall great product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It’s is currently being used across our entire organization. We are using the Cloud Storage for product images. We are especially using it for also storing profile images.
  • Large images.
  • Thumbnails.
  • Website backgrounds.
  • Moving around images from folder to folder.
  • Creating shareable links from Cloud Storage.
I believe it is well suited for medium-large usage applications. It is very easy to use and there are multiple examples online on how to connect it with your current application.
It has done everything we have needed. Overall one of the better cloud storage platforms available, and there are a lot of incentives for start ups.
Read this authenticated review
Spencer Baselice | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2019

Google Cloud Storage Exports BigQuery Data Reliably

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloud Storage is used to store files exported from Big Query. When larger data sets are pulled, the tables can be exported into the cloud storage. It is also used for other purposes but my main use is exportation from Big Query. This is needed whenever you have to query data sets containing more than 10,000 rows.
  • Stores files that are large and otherwise difficult to send or store.
  • Alleviates storage issues.
  • Receives larger data exports from Big Query.
  • Allows easy folder creation and organization.
  • Currently can't delete folders which means there are cluttered folders on my cloud.
  • Easier upload options would be nice. The ability to upload and store other file types with an easier interface.
  • Managing files and storage could be improved a little for easier access and editing.
Google Cloud Storage is ideal when you need to export large data samples from Big Query. It is also fairly good when managing a lot of users in a corporate environment. While there are other storage options available, Cloud Storage gives you enough options and flexibility to control and manage your large file sets quickly and efficiently. It is also a viable option for federated accounts. It is not the best when you need a lot of flexibility or features. Folders can't be deleted for instance, and managing or organizing folders is not its best feature. It's more a solution for simple exports and handling of larger BQ data sets.
Read Spencer Baselice's full review
Thomas Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

Google Cloud Storage is a functional option for storage, accessing data and managing a unified API

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Cloud Storage is used across the organization for sharing of documents, gathering data, accessing data, and deploying APIs. As mentioned, the software is used across the organization to enable secure storage, while also enabling simultaneous access to all the company's data sets.
  • Perhaps the strongest advantage of Google Cloud Storage is that they seem to update files quicker than competing cloud storage providers. The software rarely runs into sharing violations or access issues.
  • Google Cloud Storage has a unified API, which is nice when authorizing others to access data.
  • The software rarely fails and handles large volumes of data well.
  • The software sometimes doesn't play nice with certain software programs.
  • Google Cloud Storage sometimes creates conflicting copies of the same data set.
  • Google Cloud Storage's unified API generally works great but doesn't seem to be as fast as Amazon's service.
Google Cloud Storage is well-suited for instances in which users are used to the simple business storage version (Google Stream), or individuals need to have access to the same files at the same time. The software also has little latency, so if you want a software that syncs well, Google Cloud Storage does just that.
Read Thomas Young's full review
Anatoly Geyfman | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2019

Google Cloud Storage is an indispensable part of a big data infrastructure

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Cloud Storage (GCS) for a variety of needs. My company manages terabytes of healthcare claims data, which we analyze and present to our customers in an easy-to-use application, mobile app, and reports. We use GCS to stage raw claims data for injection, to stage post-processed data for indexing, and for intermediary storage for a variety of analytics tools.
  • Really great, easy to use interface helps us manage files easily. Storage is fast and inexpensive, so we don't have to spin up storage instances locally
  • Great set of command-line tools to manage data and storage options via scripts and apps, as well as an SDK means we can build GCS into our orchestration and operations tools
  • Robust integration with other Google cloud tools means that we don't have to think too hard about using GCS for a variety of storage tasks as we interact with other Google services.
  • Some CLI options are a little more difficult to use, like parallel uploads
  • The new user interface hides an option (create public link) that we've used a bunch —still there but much less intuitive
  • Not straightforward to make files public or to change file policies
If you're interacting with Google Cloud services, you should be using GCS. GCS is by far the easiest storage to use in conjunction with other Google Cloud applications. Google cloud services are also great when you have tools that need to manage large amounts of intermediary data, as the access for both writing and reading is very good. Finally, if you're doing any data work, it's really easy to use GCS in conjunction with BigQuery.
Read Anatoly Geyfman's full review
Alejandro Matheu, MD, MBA, MSc in Digital Marketing | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2019

Google Cloud Storage is a good and cheaper alternative to Amazon S3.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this service for Cloud Storage (obviously). We use two cloud storage services, in case one of these fails or goes down for any reason. This service is used by the IT area mainly. We started using Google Cloud Storage as a trial and kept using it for a couple of months just for testing, but the pricing was better than the competition, that's why we finally decided to use both.
  • The pricing is much better than the competition.
  • It has Google's support.
  • They have many other services that you can put together (for an additional cost), which can make your life easier.
  • Implementation was easy.
  • Sometimes it can be more difficult to manage than their competitors.
It is well suited for:
  • A large amount of data storage.
  • If you want a secure platform.
  • If you want reliable encryption of data.
If you don't have the money to pay directly to the largest supplier of U.S. cloud storage, there are other options available.
Read Alejandro Matheu, MD, MBA, MSc in Digital Marketing's full review
Michael Timms | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2019

File Sharing and Storing on any device

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Google Cloud Storage for several different tasks. For me, it is perfect when I have files that I need to save for an indefinite period of time because I have a habit of sticking them on my Google drive and forgetting about them, then when I need them 6 months later they are there. I also use it for file sharing when I need to quickly get a big file to someone else.
  • File storage that is accessible from any device anywhere at any time.
  • File sharing, again, from any device anywhere, any time.
  • Integrates flawlessly with Google docs, giving Microsoft 0365 a true contender for a suite of productivity tools.
  • There is not a lot to like, but I do like the interface of Google Drive. What I don't like is nothing I can't get past.
  • It doesn't happen every time, but I have seen sync times take forever which can be incredibly inconvenient.
  • I have issues sometimes when someone is trying to upload a file to my drive and they get a message that it is full. I can completely empty out the Drive and they will still get the message, so that needs to be addressed by Google.
Google Cloud Storage is very well suited for someone that uses multiple wireless devices and would need to access or share files from any of those devices. A scenario where it would not be beneficial would be would be a department or group of users that are on Macs because everyone I know that uses Google Drive on Mac complains of syncing issues.
Read Michael Timms's full review
Claudio Hoffer | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2019

Google Cloud Storage: an ideal, reliable and easy to use storage solution that doesn't break the bank and take your business to the highest tech standards!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used to have file servers storing our customer's cases, forms, and documents. Accessing these documents remotely was not simple nor easy for members without extensive training and specific hardware. We replaced our main file server for personal data and legal documents for Google Cloud Storage—this gave us easy access to those files from any device, anywhere.
  • Easy to use and access files with little to no permission problems. That was one of our major concerns when using a similar solution in the past.
  • Access data remotely without the need for complicated software or specific hardware.
  • Is fast, reliable and useful. Updates files faster than other platforms. You can integrate it with other Google services.
  • Security: Access control works way better than similar products.
  • The way to change a file's policies is a little bit tricky, but probably that's something that we felt because of the way we used to perform this task.
  • Little to no documentation and not enough tutorials for beginner users.
For our mid-sized law practice, with multiple locations, and data access needs this was the best available solution. Giving us full integration to our G Suite (email, calendar, tools), plus price-per-functionality made it unbeatable as it is the most complete solution for the price. Moving from traditional storage to the cloud was, at first, a traumatic experience, but when we switched to Google Cloud Storage our point of view regarding Cloud Storage changed forever! Easy, secure and reliable access to our stored data from anywhere changed the way our small firm works. We certainly recommend this solution to any company that needs a solid storage solution.
Read Claudio Hoffer's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2019

Great Storage Alternative to AWS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Google Cloud Storage on the I.T. operations side. Our end users all use Google Drive as their primary storage. On the operations side, we use it for the long-term storage of critical information. We also keep data in Google Cloud Storage long-term for servers (physical, virtual, cloud) that have been retired. Archiving data in Google Cloud Storage allows us to eliminate physical media.
  • Archiving data long-term.
  • Providing quick access to data.
  • Higher performance backups.
  • It would help if it were easier to mount Google Cloud Storage.
  • Costs could be lower.
  • I would like to see a way to archive physical server data to Google Cloud Storage without first sucking the entire server up into the Google Cloud.
We find Google Cloud Storage well suited for our active servers, and also the long-term backup of data. The days of archiving old servers to physical disks are over. We can now move old servers to the Google Cloud, and then save the storage long-term while shutting down the actual server.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2019

Love it!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Cloud Storage to house the various documents that our team needs to collaborate on before they are published. This could be anything from "how to" guides to Excel spreadsheets.
  • Easy collaboration so that everyone can view or have input.
  • Never had issues with reliability.
  • The interface is clean and easy to use.
  • Hard to find items at times. It's very easy to become disorganized.
  • There are times where pages take a long time to load up.
  • Often, the formatting in Excel documents gets messed up.
Google Cloud Storage works well for those who need a collaborative suite of products for their project or business. If you're looking for a more professional product with better organization, you might consider an alternative option.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

Google Cloud Storage Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Cloud Storage for managing static assets across numerous projects and initiatives within the organization. We tend to use Google Cloud Storage as our base storage layer when working with other products in the Google Cloud family, like App Engine. Our use of Google's Cloud Storage product mimics how we use other cloud storage products, like Amazon S3.
  • Very large infrastructure network run by a leader in cloud computing.
  • UX is solid and has a lot of overlap with other Google products.
  • Support, if necessary, is helpful.
  • Storage rates are very expensive compared to other vendors.
  • Download bandwidth costs are among the most expensive.
  • Support is expensive, depending on the kind of plan you have.
Google Cloud Storage is a great product when other product choices have already been made that situate a product's deployment in Google's cloud ecosystem. For example, if a product is already planning to use Google's App Engine service (or Firebase), Google's serverless platform, and Google's CDN, it makes a lot of sense to use Google Cloud Storage. If the product is deployed elsewhere, other services likely make much more sense.
Read this authenticated review
Jonah Dempcy | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2017

Making Digital Distribution Easy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Cloud Storage allows us the flexibility we need to deliver digital assets to end-users in a sophisticated e-book distribution platform. It has the access control we require for ensuring that our assets are accessible to the right people at the right time. The world of digital publishing requires fine-grained control of access to web content and Google Cloud Storage provides us with exactly that.
  • Google Cloud Storage is great for handling file uploads and performing actions when those files are uploaded. In our case, we hook into the file upload Object Change Notification to perform necessary tasks, and Google Cloud Storage makes this a breeze.
  • Google Cloud Storage is also great at access control—making links to their assets that require certain authentication measures, such as signed URLs that expire, it easy to do.
  • We've also found that it is very nice for integrating with cross-domain JavaScript Ajax requests using CORS headers. Configuring response headers is a breeze.
  • Google Cloud Storage has an excellent suite of tools for working with it from the command line as well as web interfaces.
  • Sometimes we would find advice for how to do something that wasn't documented in the API, although this was very early on.
  • When we first started using it, Google Cloud Storage was changing a lot, and some of these changes required us to adapt our code to fit them.
Google Cloud Storage is highly useful when you need to store data programmatically, from a web or mobile application, and when you need some amount of access control—for instance, such as when you want to sync data across devices. It is less needed for simple file hosting of static web assets, as it may be overly complex for something as simple as hosting static images for a website.
Read Jonah Dempcy's full review

About Google Cloud Storage

Google Cloud Storage is unified object storage for developers and enterprises.
Categories:  Object Storage

Google Cloud Storage Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No