Google Compute Engine Reviews

121 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 26)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 08, 2021
Frank Palladino | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used the AWS stack, the Azure stack, OCI, and IBM cloud. I have found GCP and AWS the easiest to deploy, configure, manage, and so on. Google has offered me at least 5 free in person classes to train me in new features on the platform. Likewise AWS has offered me probably 10 to 15 guided online tutorials, with a person to field any questions. All of this free training will no doubt affect my experience in a serious way, so keep that in mind as a reader.

Outside of ease of use and configuration, I haven't experienced performance problems across any of the cloud services that I have used.
Read Frank Palladino's full review
April 30, 2021
Manjeet Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Google App Engine
Google App Engine is a platform as a service where everything is taken care of by Google and we just need to write the code and deploy it onto it.
But we hardly have much control over the VMs and the OS offering is not much. We had a limited amount of OS version supported. Auto-scalability was also one of the reason.
We got rid of all the problems once we made a decision to use the GCE VMs
Read Manjeet Singh's full review
April 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)
We have never used EC2, however, we chose Google Cloud over Amazon mostly because we felt Google was stronger in the data analytics tools and their platform seemed to be on the rise overall.
Read this authenticated review
April 23, 2020
Lukasz Stadnik | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The best GCP products - GKE for containerization workload fit to the VM machines specified for different application type (monolithic). These services can be easily integrated with each other with additional benefits.
Read Lukasz Stadnik's full review
October 04, 2019
Aditya Mohan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Microsoft Azure and Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI)
After all the discounts, GCE is a bit cheaper with much less incidental expenses to deploy and maintain compared to Amazon, Microsoft Azur and Oracle (OCI). It is also easy to manage as the interface is simpler compared to AWS or Azur.
Read Aditya Mohan's full review
August 22, 2019
Brendon Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Google Compute Engine seems to complete in the speed of deployment, usability, training, and pricing. Azure's advantage is the market share of experts, due to active directory IT teams integrating with Windows on corporate networks, along with the Office suite of services.
Read Brendon Brown's full review
August 19, 2019
Thomas Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Google was the third entry into the world of cloud service providers (at least from what I can tell). It looks like they took what Azure and AWS does well, and attempted to improve upon them. To me, they've done ok at this. It all seems to depend on which service you're used to using.
Read Thomas Young's full review
August 16, 2019
Tristan Dobbs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)
We have used Amazon in the past. GCE has come such a long way since then, we have not looked back. IAM and access are on par, cost management is slightly better on GCE. Where we have really seen improvements are the VM types (GCE allows for deep customization that does not require specific images) and ease of use. GCE and the Google Cloud Console are just far easier to use than AWS.
Read Tristan Dobbs's full review
August 12, 2019
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Google Compute Engine and Google Cloud Platform compete against Azure and Amazon Web Services (AWS). Each seem to fit a specific role: AWS for large, enterprise deployments, Azure for Microsoft-centric organizations, and GCP for smaller and late to the cloud organizations. While these roles continually change, GCE and GCP remain a competitor.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
August 16, 2019
Josh Ashby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The price is very good. The support is excellent. User-friendly, easy menu, good dashboards and reports. Allows you to have complete control over how you manage your infrastructure. You can have full control over every feature of the process. All things being good, you should find it simple and easy to get started.
Read Josh Ashby's full review
October 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have used a few other cloud providers of similar services and continue to use Google Compute Engine because it fits well within our technology stack and is cost-effective while providing the service we need. It has allowed us to use and experiment with many more environments than ever would be possible using physical servers.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)
Google Compute Engine has similar capabilities and features as Amazon EC2. Their ecosystems differ, and Amazon has a lead in more innovative products, but Google is working on closing the gap. If sticking to the essential functionality of computing, Google Compute Engine and Amazon EC2 are practically interchangeable; we run workloads on both. We appreciated the more cost-effective solution offered by Google Compute Engine for our use cases.
Read this authenticated review
August 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Google Compute Engine is the leader in infrastructure-as-a-service and moving up the stack to
everything from the Internet of Things to artificial intelligence. The price is very good. The support is excellent. User-friendly and very customizable solution. Fit great with our requirements. Elastic and affordable solution. Gives us the freedom to move away from the hardware solutions. Helped us to significant reduce the cost. Assure us mobility and assure the continuity of our critical infrastructure.


Read this authenticated review
June 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)
The two products are very similar. For what we use each for, the difference is negligible, and we actually use both AWS EC2 and Google Compute Engine GCE.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2019
Fedor Paretsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AWS's UI could use a lot of work, and their API documentation was much worse compared to Google's, which was already tough to read and figure out. Google's free trial of their services through a platform credit (which AWS doesn't offer), also helped us test their compute platform, which helped us figure out how to integrate the GPU-accelerated instances into our workflow for no extra cost.
Read Fedor Paretsky's full review
May 04, 2018
Tyler Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

GCE was an easy choice for us after evaluating our options. We needed something that was dynamic enough to handle our specialized stack, but easy enough that our engineers weren't spending too much time configuring and launching. We found AWS's offering to be similar but confusing in use resulting in misconfigured services and bloat. We used DigitalOcean for a time but outgrew them once our service required more than a few dozen nodes. Heroku was easy to use but ultimately could not handle our unique set of services. Finally, GCE's rich integration with the rest of the Google product line made it easy for our engineers to begin using it with their existing Google Apps accounts.
Read Tyler Johnson's full review
August 04, 2017
Dmitry Sadovnychyi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

App Engine is somewhat similar, but we use it together with Compute Engine. App Engine is good for serving end requests to users -- it can scale automatically to any number of requests, but has it's own limitations. Compute Engine does not have any limitations. but you have to manage it by yourself and scale it manually as needed. I tried using Amazon's EC2 before the Compute Engine was released, but at that time their UI wasn't friendly, in the end Compute Engine provider much better integration with App Engine since their VMs can be really close to each other to reduce network delay. Google Cloud's UI is really good, you don't always want to manage your stuff using API.
Read Dmitry Sadovnychyi's full review
October 11, 2017
Sazzad Hossain Sharkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Digital Ocean
Pricing scale is good. Google Cloud Compute provides additional facilities free of cost (limited storage). Received one year free credits to get started. Nearest regions are available. Others amenities including free repository service available. UI is modern and fast to load. Google is the most significant company right now. So we have trust and satisfaction of use.
Read Sazzad Hossain Sharkar's full review
March 24, 2017
Andy Zhang | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AWS has a ton of options in terms of tools that you can use. It's pricing model is hit or miss (some offerings are simply unaffordable). Some of the API design is questionable at best and frustrating at worst.
Microsoft Azure is a newcomer in the market with focus on enterprise customers. The prior focus on the Microsoft stack (which they've moved away from) has been a huge negative, and something they've had to overcome by layering other tools on top of their system and offering cut rate pricing.
Read Andy Zhang's full review
February 24, 2017
David Long, SPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • AWS and Azure
We ultimately chose Google Compute for the price difference as compared to other providers. Google's pricing for Windows servers is even lower than Microsoft's own cloud service, Azure. The terminology used across Google Compute is much easier to understand than the competitors. Rather than S3, Google's file storage service is simply called "Storage". Rather than Lamba, Google's serverless platform is just called "Cloud Functions". It's very easy to get up and running quickly with Google Cloud.
Read David Long, SPA's full review
May 24, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Neither of them has managed a user-friendly approach to setting up the global distribution of computing systems. Modern day business must be able to cater to the entire world instead of being regional to be competitive. Only Google offers this capability, hence why we have no second thoughts on using GCP for such product hosting.
Read this authenticated review
June 13, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used Rackspace, AWS, and Digital Ocean to host virtual environments. In my opinion, GCE has a robust feature set on par with any other mainstream virtual hosting company. I would say AWS and Digital Ocean are comparable, and Rackspace would be slightly less robust than GCE.

All in all, GCE is a standard tool that every engineer should have in their toolbox.
Read this authenticated review
September 21, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

For this particular use-case Google Compute Engine was the better platform as this was a focused development and did not require bespoke infrastructure to support it. The service offered allowed the opportunity to embed core Google apps and services to deliver a quality service to the public.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (26)
8.9
Dynamic scaling (24)
8.4
Elastic load balancing (20)
8.7
Pre-configured templates (26)
8.3
Monitoring tools (27)
7.6
Pre-defined machine images (27)
8.1
Operating system support (27)
8.2
Security controls (27)
8.7
Automation (1)
7

What is Google Compute Engine?

Google Compute Engine is an infrastructure-as-a-service (IaaS) product from Google Cloud. It provides virtual machines with carbon-neutral infrastructure which run on the same data centers that Google itself uses.

Predefined Machine Types
Virtual machine configurations for micro instances to instances with up to 160 vCPUs and 3.75 TB of memory

Custom Machine Types
Or create and customized, virtual machines with the shape (i.e. vCPU and memory) needed for each project

Persistent Disks
Network storage, up to 64 TB in size, can be attached to VMs as persistent disks. Create persistent disks in HDD or SSD formats. If a VM instance is terminated, its persistent disk retains data and can be attached to another instance. Take snapshots create new persistent disks from that snapshot.

Local SSD
Always-encrypted local solid-state drive (SSD) block storage. Local SSDs are physically attached to the server hosting the virtual machine instance. Local SSD sizes up to 3 TB are available for any VM with at least 1 vCPU.

Global Load Balancing
Distribute incoming requests across pools of instances across multiple regions.

Batch Processing
Cost effectively run large compute and batch jobs using Preemptible VMs. Fixed pricing and no contracts or reservations make it easy: simply check a box when you create the VM and turn them off when the work is done.

Containers
Run, manage, and orchestrate Docker containers directly on Compute Engine VMs or with Google Kubernetes Engine.

Google Compute Engine Competitors

Amazon Web Services, Microsoft Azure, Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service)

Google Compute Engine Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Google Compute Engine?

Google Compute Engine is an infrastructure-as-a-service (IaaS) product from Google Cloud. It provides virtual machines with carbon-neutral infrastructure which run on the same data centers that Google itself uses.

What is Google Compute Engine's best feature?

Reviewers rate Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses Google Compute Engine?

The most common users of Google Compute Engine are from Small Businesses and the Computer Software industry.