Google Compute Engine Reviews

119 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 27)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 08, 2021
Frank Palladino | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Some of the automated infrastructure deployments we have been able to do on GCE have saved us hassle for our production deployments and allowed us to have periods of downtime for our automated deployment testing environment saving compute resources
  • We are able to run several production deployments for several different customer facing products at a comparable cost to what it cost to run one production deployment at a competitor. This is likely due to a combination of the savings mentioned in my earlier point, better pricing on GCP, (and likely Moore's law to some extent where the necessary compute just gets cheaper over time).
  • GCP deployments streamline some of the tasks that I do frequently. That's gotta count for something.
Read Frank Palladino's full review
April 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • All of our work is R&D right now, so none. We started our workloads in the cloud so we don't have any on-prem to compare to.
Read this authenticated review
October 04, 2019
Aditya Mohan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive impact on the OpEx with reduction in CapEx resulting from reducing the time to move a workload from on-prem to the cloud
  • Incased RoI by reducing need for on-prem compute
  • Improved agility by providing the option to take on new AI workloads for test and dev without the need for upfront investment in
Read Aditya Mohan's full review
August 22, 2019
Brendon Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Because GCE is not mission-critical for us, I would not be able to speak to ROI. Since our machines and instances are almost a match, once configured, there's really no difference.
  • Bean counters will be able to speak to ROI.
Read Brendon Brown's full review
August 19, 2019
Thomas Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Google Compute Engine has had a positive return on investment in that it has expanded the offerings of the business, and clients seem to like the shift towards Google services.
  • Google Cloud Compute Engine was a poor return on investment at first because it required a good deal of effort to figure things out.
  • Google Cloud Compute Engine is a positive return on investment by allowing multiple users to work on the same project in the cloud.
Read Thomas Young's full review
August 16, 2019
Josh Ashby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Reduce costs
  • Management the resources
  • Assure redundancy
  • Be in compliance with the business needs
Read Josh Ashby's full review
October 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Allowing GCE to handle the infrastructure has allowed us to focus our time on our product.
  • The ease of spinning up new instances for development and testing has allowed us to be more productive.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Dynamic allocation of computing when we need them.
  • Faster experimentation.
  • Reduced time troubleshooting.
Read this authenticated review
August 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Saves time.
  • Cost management.
  • Manage computing resources.
  • Avoid the high costs.
  • Assure business continuity
Read this authenticated review
June 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have been able to create server instances in regions of the US where AWS doesn't have a data center, which has allowed us to secure customers with the highest performance possible, instead of having them connect to AWS data centers much further away.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2019
Fedor Paretsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive. Suggestions on re-configuring specs. If you aren't using all the RAM or CPU threads, suggestions are sent to re-configure your virtual machine to minimize your bill at the end of the month.
  • Negative. Expensive custom machines. If you're looking for a more exact figure of RAM or CPUs, the virtual machines get quite expensive fairly quickly.
  • Negative. Internet bandwidth variability. The internet bandwidth you get, from my experience, is all dependent on your luck. :(
Read Fedor Paretsky's full review
May 04, 2018
Tyler Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We don't need to hire server admins or infrastructure engineers and instead our web engineers are more than capable of maintaining all of our services.
  • Fast-boot VMs and top-tier SLA mean that GCE keeps up with our fast release cycle.
  • We use instance templates to quickly launch dedicated services for our clients. They are often amazed at our less than a 24-hour turnaround.
Read Tyler Johnson's full review
October 11, 2017
Sazzad Hossain Sharkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Google Compute Engine's startup prices are quite reasonable to get started.
  • Started with $300 free credits that help to sustain the business structure.
  • Our primary servers hosted at our nearest locations that help to reduce time to load. Also getting good feedback from users server speed is overall because of closest location.
Read Sazzad Hossain Sharkar's full review
February 24, 2017
David Long, SPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • With Google Compute we don't have the overhead of managing our own data centers reducing costs and reducing the staff needed to manage systems.
  • As I said earlier, Google's costs are ~1/2 of AWS, so we are able to see a ROI much faster.
Read David Long, SPA's full review
May 24, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive: We had good cost savings
  • Positive: Very good stability and reliability compared to hosting in on-prem.
  • Negative: Had to re-architect some part of the application to fit the limitations.
Read this authenticated review
August 17, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Less worry about infrastructure
  • Cheaper than competitors
  • Good customer support
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (26)
8.9
Dynamic scaling (24)
8.4
Elastic load balancing (20)
8.7
Pre-configured templates (26)
8.3
Monitoring tools (27)
7.6
Pre-defined machine images (27)
8.1
Operating system support (27)
8.2
Security controls (27)
8.7
Automation (1)
7

What is Google Compute Engine?

Google Compute Engine is an infrastructure-as-a-service (IaaS) product from Google Cloud. It provides virtual machines with carbon-neutral infrastructure which run on the same data centers that Google itself uses.

Predefined Machine Types
Virtual machine configurations for micro instances to instances with up to 160 vCPUs and 3.75 TB of memory

Custom Machine Types
Or create and customized, virtual machines with the shape (i.e. vCPU and memory) needed for each project

Persistent Disks
Network storage, up to 64 TB in size, can be attached to VMs as persistent disks. Create persistent disks in HDD or SSD formats. If a VM instance is terminated, its persistent disk retains data and can be attached to another instance. Take snapshots create new persistent disks from that snapshot.

Local SSD
Always-encrypted local solid-state drive (SSD) block storage. Local SSDs are physically attached to the server hosting the virtual machine instance. Local SSD sizes up to 3 TB are available for any VM with at least 1 vCPU.

Global Load Balancing
Distribute incoming requests across pools of instances across multiple regions.

Batch Processing
Cost effectively run large compute and batch jobs using Preemptible VMs. Fixed pricing and no contracts or reservations make it easy: simply check a box when you create the VM and turn them off when the work is done.

Containers
Run, manage, and orchestrate Docker containers directly on Compute Engine VMs or with Google Kubernetes Engine.

Google Compute Engine Competitors

Amazon Web Services, Microsoft Azure, Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service)

Google Compute Engine Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Google Compute Engine?

Google Compute Engine is an infrastructure-as-a-service (IaaS) product from Google Cloud. It provides virtual machines with carbon-neutral infrastructure which run on the same data centers that Google itself uses.

What is Google Compute Engine's best feature?

Reviewers rate Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses Google Compute Engine?

The most common users of Google Compute Engine are from Small Businesses and the Computer Software industry.