Google Compute Engine Reviews

121 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 27)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 08, 2021
Frank Palladino | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Google Compute Engine across the organization along with other Google Cloud Platform Services. We have interconnected collections of Google Cloud Platform Services which include among these sets of services components deployed on the Google Compute Engine, which act as the backbone of multiple customer facing production deployments.

To be more precise we have one product which is a web app for monitoring and prediction of household energy consumption and household solar panel power generation. To implement this on GCP we are using numerous GCP services including Google Compute Engine but not limited only to GCE.

Additionally, we have another product which focuses on voltage optimization primarily for the purpose of conservation voltage reduction at a particular customer site (e.g. a substation controlling a factory, school, large building or facility, etc). The voltage optimization consists primarily of monitoring sensors and performing a near real-time prediction and optimization, and then providing recommended voltage levels for an OLTC controller. This particular deployment must occasionally be deployed on-site, however we also support production level cloud deployment. The cloud deployment will use Google Compute Engine to host a Docker environment, that mirrors the Docker environment that we set up on the machines for the onsite deployments.

We also use Google Compute engine in a number of prototype builds for testing the efficacy of data science and machine learning models and as a platform for quick collaboration during remote work. Though the number of such deployments are myriad, hence I will forgo the details.








Read Frank Palladino's full review
April 30, 2021
Manjeet Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Google Compute Engine is being used across the company for all of the server needs. It lets us create VMs with a variety of customizable options. It does give us a predefined set of VMs that can be directly used based on needs. It also helps us to reduce the cost by using the right size of VMs.
Read Manjeet Singh's full review
April 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Google Compute Engine to support almost all of our in house computer. We have a web application that has a distributed backend of various workloads, all of which run on Compute Engine. Some of these workloads are even containerized. These workloads support the whole organization and provide analysis for research and development.
Read this authenticated review
April 23, 2020
Lukasz Stadnik | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

For hybrid cloud solution we decided to use the separated cloud provider as a DR (pilot light model) in our project. Compute Engine was created in one Region with general purpose machine family. The project requirements were set - one of the first priorities - cloud provider independence.
Read Lukasz Stadnik's full review
October 04, 2019
Aditya Mohan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Google Compute Engine (GCE) is used for most of the AI workload spanning both on-prem private cloud and public cloud. It is used for both onetime training phase for our Deep Learning workload as well as ongoing Deep Learning inference for customer facing applications.
Read Aditya Mohan's full review
August 22, 2019
Brendon Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Google Compute Engine for staging deployments in the web development department. We are operating off an external assessment that competitor services offer better pricing on production units, so we've agreed to keep Compute Engine in a low tier staging system only. We have yet to do our own audit from an internal efficiency perspective, and how that will impact pricing assessments.
Read Brendon Brown's full review
August 19, 2019
Thomas Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Google Cloud Compute Engine is used by the organization to do automated advanced analytics for clients across the world. The software addresses two important aspects of our business: first, it runs in the background and with speed and accuracy that works well for the analyst as well as others; second, the software runs in the cloud, which makes analyzing the data generally easier.
Read Thomas Young's full review
August 16, 2019
Tristan Dobbs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use compute engine across a number of departments at our company. We deploy temporary workloads to VMs on a daily basis and have deployed our production systems to GCE for deployment and CI/CD pipelines, ETL for data projects, and for large-scale customer engineering.
GCE is in play primarily for our engineering department as well as our customer engineering and sales teams.
Read Tristan Dobbs's full review
August 12, 2019
Vinicius Lima | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Google Compute Engine as IaaS provider across the whole organization. Almost all of our servers are deployed in this environment. We also help some of our customers to deploy virtual machines due to our expertise in cloud computing. We think it is a reliable platform that delivers everything we need regarding IaaS.
Read Vinicius Lima's full review
August 12, 2019
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Google Compute Engine is being used for Google Cloud Platform centralized workloads. With AWS as a primary cloud, GCE and GCP are used to support customers centralized in those systems. It is used by the entire organization, primarily to support customers in those environments with minimal latency. Since G Suite is also deployed, the tight integration is a benefit.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
August 16, 2019
Josh Ashby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The big advantage of using Google Computer Engine is that pricing is much less than if you bought your own hardware. You are only paying for what you need, there's no over-spend required for redundant systems. Google Compute Engine is one of the best IaaS cloud solution at the moment.

Read Josh Ashby's full review
October 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Google Compute Engine to host a variety of services including proxy servers, small websites, and peripheral services. Additionally, we make use of the Google Compute Engine to quickly spin up instances for testing and experimentation and then destroy them once finished without incurring a lot of costs, both money and time.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Google Compute Engine is used for a variety of workloads. Its use is growing as larger parts of the organization start embracing cloud computing.
  • Internal applications.
  • Tools.
  • QA and testing environments.
  • Production deployment.
  • Experimentation with new technologies.
  • Migration from datacenter to cloud environments.
  • Training environments (they can be easily created and then deleted after the training).
  • Business processing.
  • Data processing and pipelines (in combination with various other products available in Google Compute Platform (GCP).
Read this authenticated review
August 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Using Google Compute Engine, you can manage your costs. It helps to avoid the high costs of buying hardware and setting up a new server infrastructure on your physical location. Also, Google Computer Engine offers you the possibility of accessing your files and data with higher security, and save days worth of time spent on setup and installation. We migrated from hardware to visualized servers hosted to Google Compute Engine. We made Windows and Linux servers and hostel our core-services: ERP, accounting, marketing app.
Read this authenticated review
June 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Google Compute Engine is used by the DevOps team for hosted Windows servers. This alleviates countless concerns with having a server on-site, and is very comparable to other hosting providers.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2019
Fedor Paretsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Google Compute Engine for creating cloud virtual machines that are GPU-accelerated. Because we have centralized most of our backend services to DigitalOcean, we use Google Compute Engine for most of the services that DigitalOcean doesn't offer. Additionally, we use the custom image functionality that GCE offers to create VMs with custom images.
Read Fedor Paretsky's full review
May 04, 2018
Tyler Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Google Compute Engine to host our cloud-based web application. We manage a multi-node, shared instance of our application for thousands of monthly users, as well as individual, dedicated instances for a few of our larger clients. We are a fairly small organization and GCE manages all of our hosting needs.

GCE is very straightforward to use, most of our engineers interact with it on a daily basis. Using GCE means that we can forget about the pains of maintaining computing hardware and just focus on making great software. As a Google Apps user, we also benefit from GCE's rich integration with the rest of the Google product line. Picking GCE over competitors was an easy choice for us.
Read Tyler Johnson's full review
August 04, 2017
Dmitry Sadovnychyi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Compute Engine is a general purpose VM on top of which you can run basically any software you want, including Windows. They are priced on per-hour basis with discounts when you use it for a long time, and also with an option to run a VM for a short time with significant discount, but at a risk that it could be terminated at any time (Preemptible VM) – it's very useful for data processing since you can spawn tens of VMs for cheap and even if they are terminated you can just do it again later.
Read Dmitry Sadovnychyi's full review
October 11, 2017
Sazzad Hossain Sharkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Google Compute Engine is for maintaining our organizational department wise projects such as online training applications, online student registrations, blog posts, tutorials, etc.

We need to separate our organization projects in the various department because these applications are developed for solving several problems for filtered users. Google Compute Engine is used for hosting our online students' maintenance and other related tasks.
Read Sazzad Hossain Sharkar's full review
March 29, 2017
Raymond Hawkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're a small custom software company with one main web-based program which we host on Google Compute Engine. Over the years we've gained more and more users and we were having issues scaling up as we grew, sometimes slowly and sometimes rapidly. Finally our old hosting solution had a bad down period and we were forced to look elsewhere to get our software back online. Since switching to Compute Engine, we've been able to save money while scaling up as needed. It has been very reliable and overall a perfect fit for us.
Read Raymond Hawkins's full review
March 24, 2017
Andy Zhang | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used across the whole organization. It addresses the problem of providing solutions to customers who need an all-inclusive infrastructure solution for web services and apps. It has a lot of systems that are managed by Google which people commonly build themselves without knowing that they are reinventing the wheel.
Read Andy Zhang's full review
February 24, 2017
David Long, SPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We develop software for our clients and lean on Google Compute Engine and Google Container Engine for hosting those applications. These applications are used both across our clients' organizations as well as publicly by customers of these clients. We made the decision to use Google Compute Engine in order to reduce costs while getting solid reliability from a VPS platform. Google has provided us with both of those needs.
Read David Long, SPA's full review
May 24, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Compute Engine for one of our main consumer and business products. We have a globally distributed infrastructure for this. I believe we are using almost all the features/functionalities offered by GCE. e.g Instance, groups/templates with full rolling updates capability coupled with CI/CD. We also host part of our monitoring systems in GCE. Other than that, some other teams are on the POC phase for some critical backend products as well. Moreover, we experiment with some of our machine learning on Compute Engine. The benefit we get by using GCE is the combination of the autoscaling, rolling updates, preemptability, and global network.
Read this authenticated review
August 17, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it for running managing docker containers inside clusters. GCE provides the flexibility for auto scaling and managing application performance easily. It used for running all the applications across departments
Read this authenticated review
June 13, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Google Compute Engine (GCE) is Google's answer to AWS. We use GCE as a low-cost virtual host solution, and we purposefully migrated off AWS and Rackspace to GCE. We made the decision mostly based on cost, but also the flexibility of the toolkit and deployment. GCE is a one-stop shop for hosting virtual and scalable environments in the cloud.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (26)
8.9
Dynamic scaling (24)
8.4
Elastic load balancing (20)
8.7
Pre-configured templates (26)
8.3
Monitoring tools (27)
7.6
Pre-defined machine images (27)
8.1
Operating system support (27)
8.2
Security controls (27)
8.7
Automation (1)
7

What is Google Compute Engine?

Google Compute Engine is an infrastructure-as-a-service (IaaS) product from Google Cloud. It provides virtual machines with carbon-neutral infrastructure which run on the same data centers that Google itself uses.

Predefined Machine Types
Virtual machine configurations for micro instances to instances with up to 160 vCPUs and 3.75 TB of memory

Custom Machine Types
Or create and customized, virtual machines with the shape (i.e. vCPU and memory) needed for each project

Persistent Disks
Network storage, up to 64 TB in size, can be attached to VMs as persistent disks. Create persistent disks in HDD or SSD formats. If a VM instance is terminated, its persistent disk retains data and can be attached to another instance. Take snapshots create new persistent disks from that snapshot.

Local SSD
Always-encrypted local solid-state drive (SSD) block storage. Local SSDs are physically attached to the server hosting the virtual machine instance. Local SSD sizes up to 3 TB are available for any VM with at least 1 vCPU.

Global Load Balancing
Distribute incoming requests across pools of instances across multiple regions.

Batch Processing
Cost effectively run large compute and batch jobs using Preemptible VMs. Fixed pricing and no contracts or reservations make it easy: simply check a box when you create the VM and turn them off when the work is done.

Containers
Run, manage, and orchestrate Docker containers directly on Compute Engine VMs or with Google Kubernetes Engine.

Google Compute Engine Competitors

Amazon Web Services, Microsoft Azure, Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service)

Google Compute Engine Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Google Compute Engine?

Google Compute Engine is an infrastructure-as-a-service (IaaS) product from Google Cloud. It provides virtual machines with carbon-neutral infrastructure which run on the same data centers that Google itself uses.

What is Google Compute Engine's best feature?

Reviewers rate Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses Google Compute Engine?

The most common users of Google Compute Engine are from Small Businesses and the Computer Software industry.