Google Content Experiments (discontinued) Reviews

74 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Google Content Experiments for AB testing in our Digital Marketing Department. Google Content Experiments allows us to test bounces, duration, click-throughs and session duration of users that enter our consumer websites. This tool allows us to test different marketing messages and designs to enhance the users experience, and helps us convert shoppers into buyers.
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2015
Mark Castaldo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Google Content Experiments to regularly test and improve website performance, primarily on our lead generation websites. Content Experiments has also been used to settle what design elements to move forward with and what ones to let go when planning new updates.
Read Mark Castaldo's full review
February 04, 2015
Salvatore Polizzi McDonagh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Google Content Experiments to run A/B/n split test and optimize landing pages.

Pros:
* Easy to set up a test and use content experiments to monitor ongoing test metrics, if you already have Google Analytics installed.
* Good entry level tool: Due to the relatively low skill required - so even entry level staff will be able to run a split test.with minimal training and supervision. Interpreting the results however...requires appropriate training. Caveat emptor! As with any other A/B test tool, badly designed tests result in useless data.
* Fully integrated with Google Analytics, so you can use existing goals, all the metrics are the same as in Google Analytics, and are measured in the same way as the rest of the Google Analytics metrics. Makes life much easier when interpreting the results.
* Run test only using a percentage of website traffic (current options are 1%, 5%, 0%, 25%, 50%, 75%, 100%) to reduce risk when testing radical changes.
* Free
* Huge volume of online resources to help with getting started and using it.

Cons:
* Tests cannot be paused - only ended.
* Losing variants cannot be removed before the test is complete - although if you choose the default setup option to not split traffic evenly, Google will optimize throughout the test and reduce traffic to the losing page(s) while increasing it to the winner(s).
* Same proportional split only - i.e. you cannot give one version 90% and the other 10% of the traffic (You might want to do this to confirm that your current champion page is consistently winning over the demoted loser over a long period to rule out seasonal variations, etc. Or you might not want to risk 50% of your traffic on a radically different landing page and subsequent revenue loss if it is a loser.) You can (partially) work around this by having multiple versions of one page and testing against a single version of the other (max 4:1 to get 80%:20% split)
* A/B/n testing only: Google killed it's (in some ways better) Website Optimizer to replace it with Content Experiments - and in so doing dropped the ability to run multivariate tests. This could also be seen as a pro ;-) Multivariate testing requires much better design of experiments, more traffic, and more time than A/B testing. Since Google measures everything, they presumably found that their customers were doing A/B and needed a better integrated tool, and that MVT was not being used, or was not appropriate for this market sector.
* Tests must run for 3 days minimum (works for us at SpamTitan, but in a previous job with much higher volume of traffic, and same day sales conversions, a valid winner could be called much sooner. Your sales cycle, traffic volume and conversion funnel will determine if this is a negative factor)
* Tests cannot be run for more than 3 months (I believe!) so if you have a long, complex sale cycle, this may not work for you - you can only use it for micro-conversions. So you'd best be sure they are actually relevant factors influencing the sale. It probably goes without saying, but I'll say it anyway - it's easy to optimize for registrations at the expense of actual sales. Sometimes a lower conversion rate for a microconversion will result in higher profits.
* Almost zero support from Google - you probably cannot get support direct from the vendor unless you are spending enough on Adwords to have an account manager. Luckily, you probably won't need help as the product is easy to use and limited in scope.
Read Salvatore Polizzi McDonagh's full review
February 04, 2015
Jenny DeGraff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As a digital marketing agency, we develop and optimize landing pages and websites for internal and client use. To aid in our conversion rate optimization efforts, we need a robust landing and website page testing solution that incorporates existing and new Google Analytics goals.
Read Jenny DeGraff's full review
January 22, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Google Content Experiments was one of the tools that we used when looking to do A/B testing within the organisation. Typically we would work with customers to determine what elements were important to their business and use this to come up with ways to validate the ideas or disprove them. Content Experiments was ideal as it was a free tool - that could be rolled up quite quickly and was free!
Read this authenticated review
June 02, 2014
John Mills | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have used Google Content Experiments as a great way to introduce various businesses to the idea of conversion testing and to create a conversion culture. Its ease of use, the fact that it is available to anyone that uses Google Analytics and also its agreeable price tag (it is free,) have made it my go to tool when I need to demonstrate and educate businesses to the value of conversion testing.
Read John Mills's full review
June 13, 2014
Antonio Segovia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Google Content Experiment is used to optimize our websites through A/B/n testing. It is utilized by a user in Marketing and IT. It allows our company to improve our visit to lead conversion rate, which translates to higher sales and ROI of all marketing campaigns.
Read Antonio Segovia's full review
June 02, 2014
Lee Duong | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Google Content experiments to run in house A/B testing as part of our Google Analytics package. The tool enables us to test significant web page variation changes default vs. new test variant. This allows us to identify the performance changes of new pages if they increase/decrease conversion rate.
Read Lee Duong's full review
May 13, 2014
David Jackiewicz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My organization was interested in examining how we could redesign webpages to reduce bounce rate. We thought rewriting product descriptions was as far as we would need to go, however we learned differently. Google CE taught us that we needed to mix good design with good content and streamline product searching on our site.
Read David Jackiewicz's full review
May 13, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I used to train marketing and development folks on how to use Google Content Experiments. We used it primarily when we needed to tie success of the test to a non-destination URL type goal (e.g. event triggered). Given that these non-destination URL goals were already setup in GA, it was easier to configure content experiments to measure against these goals than other testing tools. Additionally, we could see how the testing groups performed against other goals on the site, including both destination URL goals, engagement goals, and event-based goals.
Read this authenticated review
June 10, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used to create A / B tests inside Google Analytics to test and optimise pages on websites, identify issues in flow on websitses and to find ways to rectify these issues.
Read this authenticated review

Google Content Experiments (discontinued) Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

a/b experiment testing (1)
9
Split URL testing (1)
10
Multivariate testing (1)
10
Multi-page/funnel testing (1)
9
Cross-browser testing (1)
8
Mobile app testing (1)
8
Test significance (1)
9
Visual / WYSIWYG editor (1)
10
Advanced code editor (1)
9
Page surveys (1)
8
Visitor recordings (1)
8
Preview mode (1)
8
Test duration calculator (1)
10
Experiment scheduler (1)
10
Experiment workflow and approval (1)
8
Dynamic experiment activation (1)
10
Client-side tests (1)
10
Server-side tests (1)
10
Mutually exclusive tests (1)
10
Standard visitor segmentation (1)
10
Behavioral visitor segmentation (1)
10
Traffic allocation control (1)
10
Website personalization (1)
10
Click analytics (1)
10
Form fill analysis (1)
10
Conversion tracking (1)
10
Goal tracking (1)
10
Test reporting (1)
9
Results segmentation (1)
10
CSV export (1)
10
Experiments results dashboard (1)
10

What is Google Content Experiments (discontinued)?

Google Content Experiments was a tool that can be used to create A/B test from within Google Analytics. It has been discontinued since 2019, and Google now recommends using its Google Optimize service for A/B testing.
Categories:  A/B Testing

Google Content Experiments (discontinued) Competitors

Google Content Experiments (discontinued) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No