TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/jR/SF/S34RAR01AV53.PNGGoogle Forms at workWe use forms to track all kinds of things. Training of employees, discipline, safety logs, to name a few. All departments use it. Google Forms helps us streamline data so that it is easy to collect and it is easy to report on and track.,Collect data. Track progress. Allow creation of reports.,More question types.,10,Allows us to track customer complaints.,Trello, Google Drive,Employee Surveys Customer SurveysA Solid Catch All for Your Surveying NeedsGoogle Forms is being used by a few different staff members, but not consistently. We use it in one-off instances that require us to gather feedback from staff, our board, or our beneficiaries. For us, it's an easy way to collect information- anything developed by Google is extremely user friendly and doesn't require you having to get too familiar with a new data gathering source. The templates that are already created are helpful; however, we tend to create our own. For example, we used it a few months back to collect data from our grantee organizations. We give to a number of nonprofits and wanted to see the spread of where we give (regions) and the end beneficiary. None of the grantees reported difficulty in filling out the forms and my coworker, who has a more challenging time with technology, was able to put one of the sections together.,Design is appealing and simplistic Very easy for the user to figure out and run with The templates and examples they give are helpful for some,Variety of questions and answer options Being able to provide more complexity in routing responses into different question sets Analytics portion could use some growth,4,Affordable Not time consuming to build No need to do intensive training; can pass onto any staff member to build,SurveyMonkey,Evernote, SurveyMonkey, Salesforce for Nonprofits,Employee Surveys Customer SurveysGreat for basic stuff, not so much for advanced usage.We use google forms to gather feedback on certain decisions or products. Generally, we will create prototypes and send them out to different people, they will evaluate the prototype and answer questions on google forms to provide us with valuable feedback for the next iteration.,Simple & Easy to create. You need little to no knowledge on the working of Google forms, the process is intuitive and quick. Data collection is a breeze. The data gathered from google forms is precisely presented to you without modification. Integration with Google Sheets, provides us with more flexibility to filter and sort complex data fields. Personalization - Google forms allows us to brand the surveys/questionnaires that we send out. They feel a little more personalized and worked up that just generic forms that our competitors send out.,Collaboration sometimes causes the system to break and does not record changes made by everyone well. There have been instances where team members have been sure about making a change, only to realize it never synced the following morning.,8,Quick turnaround on surveys have really helped us make informed decisions or correct decision immidiately. Integration with Google Suite is great to perform basic activities.,Sketch, Axure RP, Slack, Skype, Adobe Acrobat DC, Adobe Illustrator CC, Adobe Photoshop, Adobe XD, Keynote Systems, Dropbox Business,Employee Surveys Customer Surveys Research StudiesGoogle Forms: A quick and easy way to gather informationGoogle Forms are used for quizzes, surveys, and feedback docs for professional development.,Forms auto-calculates quiz scores and results are compiled on Google Sheets that are easily customizable. Easy to use, customizable. An efficient way to tabulate scores for tests/quizzes, obtain feedback and simple surveys.,Interface should be more customizable. For example, text sizes, columns, etc. It should be easier to export the form if a paper format is needed. Currently, because of the size of the text, it prints to multiple pages which is a waste of paper. Sometimes when an entire class is using the form, it freezes during submission and students have to do it again. This can also be due to internet issues or connectivity.,10,Positive Impact: Easy to use and convenient. Gave teachers more time to plan. Reusable. Positive Impact: Cost Efficient: No need to stand in line at the copy machine. Saves money on paper supplies. Positive Impact: Connectivity: Integrates with other Google apps and Learning Management apps like Schoology and Google classroom Customizable to a certain degree. Features are adequate for secondary education.,Microsoft Access and FileMaker Pro,Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Acrobat DC, Adobe Connect, Adobe Flash, Adobe Illustrator CC,Employee SurveysData gathering in simple termsI use Google Forms for information gathering across departments for consistent input. It allows donors to provide data at their own pace and schedule. It solves the challenge of multiple sessions and schedule coordination.,Flexibility in format. Allows for many types of data collection. Intuitive. No special training is required to use. Rich in graphic integration. Allows for customization and branding.,Export tools. It could use additional exportable formats for integration with other reporting tools. Mobile formatting. Could improve in portable layouts for tablets or phones. Templates. Additional preset design templates would be welcome.,8,Saves time in person-direct sessions or interviews. Provide mass distribution in simple electronic mediums. Customization and branding reflects in a more personal experience for the donor.,Asana,Chartio, Asana, Evernote,Employee Surveys Customer Surveys,50,5,Client data gathering for design decisions Project data and statistics for maintenance and steering. New projects data input for consistency in accounting set up.,Customization in format resulting in improved response from donors Consistent type and quality of data from account execs for project statistics. Consistent data from PMs for new project set up and initiation,Understanding product and services preferences from clients to improve the design process To gauge internal preferences and trends of our designers and engineers,9Google Forms gets the job done with ease and simplicity of use!I use Google Forms to receive information about my clients after they’ve signed on for services, as well as after to gather feedback on their experience.,Super easy and intuitive ability to set up questions You can customize the layout and background which is a nice option You can easily get analytical data on your answers and replies,Going to the different responses via the buttons at the top is a little tedious. I'd actually prefer to just be able to scroll and have each form response show up inline in the window.,10,Positive - helps me collect important information from my clients before my classes to better understand who's in the room with me. Has helped me collect surveys for after class so I can add any improvements as needed and solidify strengths.,SurveyMonkey,Trello, Harvest,Customer Surveys Research StudiesGoogle Forms is the pragmatist's survey tool.Composed uses Google forms to create surveys for client research in the process of building ideal customer avatars. It's an easy way to collect large amounts of data for later sorting, and it provides a lot of control over how tight (name/email address required) or loose (anonymous) you want to be in collecting data from the people you survey.,The best part about Google Forms is that it's free. There are prettier solutions out there, but not at no cost, and that's important if you're running a small operation and won't use the product every month to generate the revenue to cover the cost of that solution. I like that Forms has a lot of question types so that you can control the data type for graphable data but leave the responses open for answers that may directly find their way into your messaging. It's also important that you can drop the data straight into a Google Spreadsheet so that you can manipulate it to look for trends.,Sorry, Google, but Forms is ugly. You can mess with the look a little bit to give it a branded feel, but you'll never get something beautiful like you might in Typeform or something similar. That said, it's hard to look a free gift horse in the mouth. I'd like to see a few more response types offered.,8,None.,Typeform,WordPress, Evernote, Canva,Customer Surveys,I wouldn't call any of its function elegant, but it's simple enough, and it gets the job done.,My only trouble using it is that it's impossible to make look like your survey was built in this decade.,Yes,9Google Docs Makes it Easy to ShareI use Google Forms to track tour guests and several people need to be able to access the list so Google Forms makes it easy for all of us to access the most current information without having to send copies back and forth.,Being able to share a document among several people. It is easy to use. I like being able to share a document but control the changes myself. Others can look but not touch!,Would like to be able to keep my documents separate from others in my organization,7,This has cut down emails by half as we don't send as many updates out to the the group of people who need to know about the tours. They are able to go in and check for themselves whenever they need to.,Review of Google FormsWe use Google Forms for both sides of our organization. While we also use other software that is similar in terms of application, Google Forms is great as it is a free alternative that is always reliable. While the interface could be improved, the functionality is complete and it is easy to use.,Very functional. Simple, easy to understand. Integrated in the Google Suite.,Design is lacking.,9,Google Forms has allowed us to easily track and analyze data from our events. It has saved us money as it is a great overall tool.,Typeform,Typeform, MailChimp,Employee Surveys Customer Surveys Research StudiesEasy Survey ToolWe use Google Forms to get a poll on what staff need or students would like to see in our organization. We also teach our students how to use Google Forms, so they can use it for school or work projects.,Surveys can be made easily. Google Forms shows survey results quick. Businesses can be sending quick and appealing surveys to their partners.,Formatting options to be more flexible. Allow more ways to create applications.,10,More youth have been able to apply to our program because they can easily submit it online versus coming out to our office to turn it in. Youth have been interested in learning more on how to use Google Forms, Docs, etc.,,Trello, OneNote,Employee Surveys Customer Surveys Research StudiesGoogle FormsGoogle forms are used for office meeting and taking polls and opinions. I don't think it is used by our whole department. Google Forms addresses the problem of taking in everyone's opinions. Some examples of polls I run have to do with routes to take within our research. Since this is an active research project I can't give exact details but the surveys mostly ask about which approaches we should take in recruiting participants.,Easy to use Free Can edit easily,Could be easier to share Aesthetically it could look cleaner,8,Google Forms has made my job easier. Being able to quickly make a survey for small events and opinions is really helpful when trying to get things done in a quick and orderly manner. I like how easy it is to use. You don't have to have an extensive tracking and coding background to use the program.,Qualtrics,Research StudiesGood, Quick and Simple Survey ToolGoogle Forms is being used as an independent survey tool that we use to conduct surveys within our teams. It helps to get feedback on processes and policies.,Easy to use Easy to get the data Easy to distribute,Not too many customization options Could have some improvement in the data download section Having lots of experience with WYSIWYG types of assessment some other options of building/coding would be nice,7,Helps improve workflows by allowing quick and easy surveys to help identify issues The fact that the free personal version is available is always a plus.,SurveyMonkey,Tableau Desktop, Alteryx Analytics, Tableau Server,Employee SurveysGoogle Forms-- Great for Data CollectionGoogle forms is used by my organization for internal information tracking and survey taking. It is used from a project based standpoint as well as fast internal information collection. It is an easy way to quickly develop a survey/data collection form and brand it with internal company colors/themes. Compilation of information and data analysis is easy and quick.,When submitting information to cross-department teams, Google Forms are used. When submitting information to management team, Google Forms are used to track and store employee information.,Google forms could improve by allowing for more integrations with other data analytics tools when analyzing larger populations.,10,Positive impact to internal operations Positive impact to external communications with clients or vendors Positive impact to collection of information both internally and externally,Harvest, Forecast, SnapEngage,Employee Surveys Research StudiesGoogle Forms have saved me!We are currently using Google Forms across our department. This allows for quick editing, and the ability for everyone to see the data at the same time. We no longer need to send via email the spreadsheet for one person to review and pass on to the next. This has expedited our process for reviewing information in a timely manner.,The ability to share and everyone have access simultaneously. The ability to capture the data in one location.,The themes are very limited, and don't allow for a lot of personal touches.,9,The overall ROI has been substantial for my office. This has increased productivity, timeliness, and change in attitude. The most dreaded task has been transformed the outlook with Google Forms.,Microsoft 365 Business,Customer SurveysSmart, free, and collaborative tool.Google Forms is used in many ways at my company. For my specific team we use it to capture new hire information. It helps us to gather the information we need to create a more streamlined and personal onboarding experience. We also use it to collect travel information so that we can build travel profiles for our new hires upon their start date.,It's easy to set up and manage. It's simple for the user to fill out the form, I never get any questions or confusion on their end. It's easy for my whole team to manage and make changes, we like the collaboration aspect.,I do question how secure the forms are at times, we have to be careful what information we collect with these forms.,7,Google Forms helps us streamline in a couple of different areas, therefore, saves us time and money. It provide a better experience for our new hires, which is invaluable.,Typeform,Smartsheet, Google Analytics, screenflow,Employee SurveysGoogle Forms is great for surveying customers/participants!Many employees in our organization use Google Forms for events. We ask people who will be RSVPing to events to enter information such as what department/organization they belong to in order to keep track of where our attendees are coming from. We are also able to track food preferences for events we are catering. We also use Google Forms when we host workshops to keep track of attendees and get answers to content questions prior to the workshop in order to tailor the material. For example, if I am presenting a professional development workshop for graduate students about how to facilitate effective classroom discussions, I can ask them in advance to share issues that have come up for them in class when they have tried to facilitate discussions (such as having quiet students who seem anxious to participate in discussion) and I can use that data to create case studies that will be valuable to participants during the workshop.,Pre-event survey: collect information from participants that will help you make an event more meaningful/valuable Post-event survey: collect feedback that will help you revise the event so that it will be more beneficial the next time around RSVP instrument for events,Limited ability to change the appearance of a form Cannot capitalize/bold/italicize text in Google Forms,10,It has helped us have greater efficiency in our processes It has helped us develop more meaningful events,Qualtrics,Google Drive, Trello,Customer SurveysUse Google Forms!We used Google Forms for everything from monthly breakfast selection to Employee Engagement surveys. We love the ability to transfer the responses into Excel, making it easy to analyze, translate into graphs, etc. It's super customizable, flexible, and very, very user-friendly. Sure, it's not the prettiest or most robust tool you'll ever use, but Google Forms is easy, and gets the job done!,Easily customizable Easy data import and analysis Easy interface for form creation and filling out forms,The platform could be a little more aesthetically pleasing and sophisticated,9,Using Google Forms has saved us a ton of money - we've been able to gather the data we need without spending tons on the large range of software options out there,SurveyMonkey,Employee SurveysA Simple Option for Online FormsI use Google Forms to make and track progress in training module quizzes for the academic coaches that I hire and train in my academic support program. Google Forms makes it simple and free to provide training assessments in an easily accessible, online format to maximize convenience for employees. Because the quiz access is granted through a link and individuals simply input their email address as they start the quiz, it's much less complicated than using a product or site that may require all users to set up an account and keep track of a username and password. Other employees on my campus use Google Forms for quick event sign-ups or other non-academic purposes where a high level of security and confidentiality isn't needed.,There are various control settings that are useful, such as whether or not to have a user provide their email address, so that you have options to gather info anonymously or track data from the forms in the case of a sign-up or training. Other settings include requiring responses to certain items and controlling access by sending via a link or to certain emails, or making a Google Form publicly available. Like other documents in Google format, Google Forms are created and stored within Google Drive, so it's easy to create and keep them with other Google format documents, even filed within specific folders. The participant responses to the Google Form are simply accessed through the Form itself under the "Responses" tab. It's nice not to have each separate response arriving as an email or a file that would be accessed separately; it's all in one place. Google Forms has a variety of document types, such as a sign-up sheet, basic poll, or a quiz. Within each type, you have various options regarding the layout and item formatting. For example, the quiz option allows you to choose a question format (multiple choice, T/F, scaled response, etc.) for each individual question and you can also program an answer key.,My number one issue is that in quizzes, the Multiple Choice Grid format (essentially, a matching section, which is the ideal format for some information) will not allow an answer key to be programmed. This means manual grading of an item of this type. Some features are not very intuitive, such as adding an answer key. It's rather buried. The Help option will provide guidance, but I feel that as a relatively tech-savvy person, I should be able to find and use all commonly used features without having to go to the Help section. Forms do not automatically include email notifications to the creator when participants finish the quiz, and this setting has to be turned on manually for each form you create. It would be handy if there were an across-the-board option to indicate that you do or don't want email notifications for responses to all your Forms.,8,It has made it easier and more convenient for new hires to access training and work through module quizzes on their own when they have time. The ability to leave in rich, personalized feedback for them is a great component, as well. I now have a permanent record of all trainee module assessments in one place should I need it for accreditation purposes, etc.,SurveyMonkey,Google Drive, Doodle,Research StudiesA surprisingly robust, free form optionWe currently use Google forms in a couple of places on our website as student survey tools/to gain feedback. We have one form that is accessible from the footer of our site and asks students to provide suggestions of new topics and tutorials they would like to see at our site. This is pretty open-ended and is available to every visitor to our site. We use this feedback to determine which content we choose to add to the site. Other forms are used to gather feedback regarding specific education programs and tend to be more specific regarding the student's experience within the program. These forms are used to ensure that we are providing a quality experience and determine if there are any issues with the program that needs to be addressed. These forms are provided to learners at the conclusion of the program.,Ease of Use: No special skills or even advanced experience with technology is required. Most employees should be able to use the products with little assistance. Robust features: Google Forms was recently updated with more features, making it a rather robust, feature-rich tool. There are still limits to customization but it should provide you with at least 95% of what you need from it. Cost: Using cloud-based, open platform tools like Google Forms (G-suite) helps organizations like mine (a nonprofit) to be productive without worrying about the bottom line.,Lack of options: For all of the features that have recently been added, Google Forms still lacks some customization options and may not provide you with some features that a paid option may provide. "Clunkiness": Elements, once created within one question "box", can't be moved or easily duplicated and added to another box. There's a lot of manual copying and pasting/retyping when you'd expect to be able to just duplicated or freely move elements within the entirety of the form. Lack of clarity around some features: With the addition of new features recently, it has also made the overall tool a little less intuitive. While still relatively easy to use, some features or options are not obvious from the start. There is probably more clicking around and exploring to discover what some features and options actually do now.,8,We've been able to gather feedback quickly and efficiently without spending any of the organizational budget. We've been able to address concerns or issues due to the feedback, therefore improving our programming. We continue to get great suggestions and feedback from learners regarding what they want to learn or see on our site.,,Basecamp, Slack,Customer SurveysA great tool for simple user surveys and quick pollsI have used Google Forms to collect answers to basic survey questions to help guide actions and collect preferences from the end users of my product. I use it to collect survey information in a way that I can easily download and analyze.,Allows me to download the results in a universal (csv) format for further analysis. Good response visuals (such as pie charts) baked in to allow me to see how responses are going, at a glance. Good flexibility on the front end to allow me to design a survey that looks the way I want it to look.,I wish I could pre-schedule a time for surveys to close. As it is, I have to remember to log in and "lock" it or responses keep rolling in (unnoticed) over time. Some question types are not currently supported (option ranking).,9,Google Forms gives me an extremely easy way to get a basic survey out to the public quickly to collect responses.,SurveyMonkey,Employee Surveys Customer SurveysGoogle Forms, the BEST free option available.Google Forms is being used across the whole organization to aide in sign-ups for off-site events we plan and also to gather needed information for on-site activities. It is used across the board but is primarily used by our Children & Student Ministries, as they have the activities within our church organization. The main problem it helped address was centralizing our sign-up process. Previously, we would have multiple printed sheets to sign-up with and occasionally those forms would get lost. With Google Forms, we are able to have our sign-ups digital and across multiple platforms and social networks.,Centralized location for collected information. Does not matter what device you use, the information will be collected the same. Easy learning curve. Takes some time to understand where a few of the settings are, but once learned it is very easy to use. Helpful templates and customizable options. You can use ready to made templates or make one completely custom.,It would be helpful to have the settings for the forms in one central location. Sometimes you have to search for a while to find a feature. Would be beneficial to have add-ons already as options within the forms. Can be difficult working with teams to ensure people know which add-ons to use. Ability to add URL's in the final message page after your users submit a response.,9,Positive - ease of use for sign-ups for our users. Positive - many customizable options to help it work for your own specific needs. Positive - the cost, FREE!,,Wunderlist, Trello, Buffer,Customer SurveysGoogle's Mundane FormsGoogle Forms was used as for surveying our audience for an email marketing campaign, so that we could use the information to populate areas of another campaign.,Easy to use and customize to fit your brand Good for surveys Easy for survey takers to see their progress and get a good since of how much of the survey has been completed or needs to be completed,Could do a better job at sectioning questions. Possible to have a form with 20 questions all on one page, that could seem very overwhelming. Failed to load more often than not. Could be easier to customize. At the time, it was difficult to customize the form for less technical people.,6,For the specific campaign, the form was offputting to respondents and they were very reluctant to answer questions. While I did increase response rates by 300%, the portion of the campaign which only used the Google Forms underpeformed and the increase was only after I had shifted away from the forms. In general, the forms had a negative impact.,,Customer Surveys,Not Sure,Product Usability,I would have used Google Forms as a secondary product, possibly just to gather basic information, like age, name, etc... and use it as a interview scheduling process versus the only/primary form of surveying/interviewing.Google Forms - Surveying Our EmployeesI used Google Forms in my department. We conducted virtual and in-person employee training, then assessed the learners' training experience with Google Forms. It allowed us to gain quick, no-cost feedback from training participants. We then used the feedback to adjust our training to make it more effective for the learners/employees.,Google Forms automatically creates charts of the numerical data you collect. There is no need to create this on your own. It is simple to send the live Google Form link to respondents via email. All they have to do it click on the link to access the form. When you create the form there are a variety of participant responses you can implement, including multiple choice, Likert Scale, short answers and more.,I was unable to save the form charts in any other format (e.g. PDF). They remained in Google Forms version. In order to have a Word version of the form/survey you have to recreate it manually in Word. The formatting is limited to the Google Forms options. This limits how creative you can be with the form layout.,9,We were able to capture responses from a global audience at no extra cost. Sending the survey was easy - we simply included a link to the survey in an email with basic instructions for the respondent. During a year-long training project we used Google Forms to assess the program's impact. We were able to take the results and report them to our leadership with ease.,Survey Monkey,Google Drive, Tibbr, Huddle,Employee SurveysThe pros and cons of Google FormsGoogle Forms was used by myself for creating surveys for one of my research projects. I also use it for my clubs and for class work. These forms are normally used to connect people for housing, ride share, etc. Users can enter their "needs" and it will be submitted into a spreadsheet. Then other users who are providing those specific services can contact the users based on the info they have given.,Easy to use interface makes creating and deploying forms easy. Any user with average computer knowledge can create forms and deploy it. The wizard is simple to use. A What-You-See-Is-What-You-Get interface makes it easy to drag and drop form elements and organizing them based on actions or events. The forms are integrated with Google Sheets which gives a spreadsheet view of the data collected, making it easy to analyze. The type of data that can be inserted into a field can be customized based on regular expressions for advanced users. This gives the ability to customize the form even further.,The design customization for the form is very limited. If the users could change the design to make it look for formal, then it can be used for more purposes. If the forms provide APIs for the data, then the developers will be able to collect and analyze the data even faster. Sometimes developers tend to like more dynamic interfaces. For example, instead of the WYSIWYG interface, if there was a way to build these forms themselves using HTML or other languages, then it gives users more control over their forms.,10,It saved a lot of effort to build the research survey as the whole procedure was completed within half an hour as opposed to the long time I would have taken in Mechanical Turk.,SurveyMonkey,SurveyMonkey,Customer Surveys Research StudiesGreat tool for surveysIt was used as a way to poll my students about meeting times and general opinions about my effectiveness as a TA. I also used it to make practice exams for students to study with, which allowed me to see their scores as they came in. It was a helpful tool because it was convenient for both me and the students.,Students found it easy to use. It was easy to share via email. Very versatile for different needs.,Multi-page forms can appear clunky,10,Research Studies
Unspecified
Google Forms
347 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Google Forms Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Google Forms
347 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 347 vetted Google Forms reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 33)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
May 09, 2019

User Review: "Google Forms at work"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use forms to track all kinds of things. Training of employees, discipline, safety logs, to name a few. All departments use it. Google Forms helps us streamline data so that it is easy to collect and it is easy to report on and track.
  • Collect data.
  • Track progress.
  • Allow creation of reports.
  • More question types.
Well suited for data collection, tests, daily data input.

Not suited for the collection of huge amounts of data that need to be cross-compared. Need to put straight in a spreadsheet in this case.
Read this authenticated review
Kelsie Hamilton profile photo
December 14, 2018

Google Forms Review: "A Solid Catch All for Your Surveying Needs"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Forms is being used by a few different staff members, but not consistently. We use it in one-off instances that require us to gather feedback from staff, our board, or our beneficiaries. For us, it's an easy way to collect information- anything developed by Google is extremely user friendly and doesn't require you having to get too familiar with a new data gathering source. The templates that are already created are helpful; however, we tend to create our own. For example, we used it a few months back to collect data from our grantee organizations. We give to a number of nonprofits and wanted to see the spread of where we give (regions) and the end beneficiary. None of the grantees reported difficulty in filling out the forms and my coworker, who has a more challenging time with technology, was able to put one of the sections together.
  • Design is appealing and simplistic
  • Very easy for the user to figure out and run with
  • The templates and examples they give are helpful for some
  • Variety of questions and answer options
  • Being able to provide more complexity in routing responses into different question sets
  • Analytics portion could use some growth
If you're wanting to gather some relatively easy responses and gather them quickly, I've found Google Forms very well suited to pulling something together and gathering less complicated responses. If I have something that needs to be built out a bit more, have different tracks for responses, I typically turn to something more robust, such as SurveyMonkey. Perhaps I haven't explored Google Forms to its full extent, but I've found SurveyMonkey having more analytics options and more question options. When I have a need for quick survey buildout, Google Forms is my go-to. PLUS, it's free. With SurveyMonkey, you have to pay to get some of the more robust options.
Read Kelsie Hamilton's full review
Sanchit Gupta profile photo
December 14, 2018

Google Forms Review: "Great for basic stuff, not so much for advanced usage."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use google forms to gather feedback on certain decisions or products. Generally, we will create prototypes and send them out to different people, they will evaluate the prototype and answer questions on google forms to provide us with valuable feedback for the next iteration.
  • Simple & Easy to create. You need little to no knowledge on the working of Google forms, the process is intuitive and quick.
  • Data collection is a breeze. The data gathered from google forms is precisely presented to you without modification. Integration with Google Sheets, provides us with more flexibility to filter and sort complex data fields.
  • Personalization - Google forms allows us to brand the surveys/questionnaires that we send out. They feel a little more personalized and worked up that just generic forms that our competitors send out.
  • Collaboration sometimes causes the system to break and does not record changes made by everyone well. There have been instances where team members have been sure about making a change, only to realize it never synced the following morning.
For simple and short surveys, Google Forms is great. It allows for quick collaboration, working with your teammates parallelly and quick rollout to the participants with instant data collection. But for complex data collection, Google Forms becomes a handful to deal with. The system keeps crashing and remains out of sync and data sorting is limited to Sheets features. Often times we have found ourselves copy-pasting the data into Excel to access advanced features.
Read Sanchit Gupta's full review
Ai Ashe profile photo
December 14, 2018

Review: "Google Forms: A quick and easy way to gather information"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Forms are used for quizzes, surveys, and feedback docs for professional development.
  • Forms auto-calculates quiz scores and results are compiled on Google Sheets that are easily customizable.
  • Easy to use, customizable.
  • An efficient way to tabulate scores for tests/quizzes, obtain feedback and simple surveys.
  • Interface should be more customizable. For example, text sizes, columns, etc.
  • It should be easier to export the form if a paper format is needed. Currently, because of the size of the text, it prints to multiple pages which is a waste of paper.
  • Sometimes when an entire class is using the form, it freezes during submission and students have to do it again. This can also be due to internet issues or connectivity.
Google forms are suitable for the following: Quick Surveys, feedback for professional development, quizzes/tests, and Data collection. It is less appropriate if you need more customization of the look of the document.
Read Ai Ashe's full review
Gil Lopez CTS ING profile photo
December 13, 2018

Google Forms Review: "Data gathering in simple terms"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Google Forms for information gathering across departments for consistent input. It allows donors to provide data at their own pace and schedule. It solves the challenge of multiple sessions and schedule coordination.
  • Flexibility in format. Allows for many types of data collection.
  • Intuitive. No special training is required to use.
  • Rich in graphic integration. Allows for customization and branding.
  • Export tools. It could use additional exportable formats for integration with other reporting tools.
  • Mobile formatting. Could improve in portable layouts for tablets or phones.
  • Templates. Additional preset design templates would be welcome.
Great tool for data gathering direct to clients and users, distributable via Google Form direct invitation, email, or link. Many customizations for the type of input makes it nimble: button types, fields, mutually exclusive buttons, text input, etc.
Read Gil Lopez CTS ING's full review
Dawn Herring profile photo
December 07, 2018

Review: "Google Forms gets the job done with ease and simplicity of use!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Google Forms to receive information about my clients after they’ve signed on for services, as well as after to gather feedback on their experience.
  • Super easy and intuitive ability to set up questions
  • You can customize the layout and background which is a nice option
  • You can easily get analytical data on your answers and replies
  • Going to the different responses via the buttons at the top is a little tedious. I'd actually prefer to just be able to scroll and have each form response show up inline in the window.
It's super easy to use, build new forms, copy them, edit, etc. You can get notifications from who's filled them out. You can track emails of those who submitted. You can get an aggregate of the scores, drop into spreadsheets, and more. You can embed them, send out as a link in email. Easy Breezy.
Read Dawn Herring's full review
William Laurienti profile photo
August 28, 2018

Review: "Google Forms is the pragmatist's survey tool."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Composed uses Google forms to create surveys for client research in the process of building ideal customer avatars. It's an easy way to collect large amounts of data for later sorting, and it provides a lot of control over how tight (name/email address required) or loose (anonymous) you want to be in collecting data from the people you survey.
  • The best part about Google Forms is that it's free. There are prettier solutions out there, but not at no cost, and that's important if you're running a small operation and won't use the product every month to generate the revenue to cover the cost of that solution.
  • I like that Forms has a lot of question types so that you can control the data type for graphable data but leave the responses open for answers that may directly find their way into your messaging.
  • It's also important that you can drop the data straight into a Google Spreadsheet so that you can manipulate it to look for trends.
  • Sorry, Google, but Forms is ugly. You can mess with the look a little bit to give it a branded feel, but you'll never get something beautiful like you might in Typeform or something similar. That said, it's hard to look a free gift horse in the mouth.
  • I'd like to see a few more response types offered.
The best marketing use I've found for Forms is collecting a good sample size for preliminary surveys to direct a company's messaging. If you can get enough participation to make it worthwhile, the ability to manage the data in Sheets is as good as about anything, and if you need to do more with it you can export a .CSV file and drop into another program (I've never needed this).

This is not the kind of software you want to wow a potential client with or use to collect prospect information from your website on. It never quite looks polished enough to use for your contact forms, etc...
Read William Laurienti's full review
Diana Robinson profile photo
December 17, 2018

Google Forms Review: "Google Docs Makes it Easy to Share"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Google Forms to track tour guests and several people need to be able to access the list so Google Forms makes it easy for all of us to access the most current information without having to send copies back and forth.
  • Being able to share a document among several people.
  • It is easy to use.
  • I like being able to share a document but control the changes myself. Others can look but not touch!
  • Would like to be able to keep my documents separate from others in my organization
It is well suited for documents/worksheets where several people have to have access to the information.


Read Diana Robinson's full review
Jannah Babasa profile photo
December 10, 2018

"Review of Google Forms"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Forms for both sides of our organization. While we also use other software that is similar in terms of application, Google Forms is great as it is a free alternative that is always reliable. While the interface could be improved, the functionality is complete and it is easy to use.
  • Very functional.
  • Simple, easy to understand.
  • Integrated in the Google Suite.
  • Design is lacking.
We use Google Forms for mostly everything on our website. The interface is great and the feedback is easily stored and view able. Given the lack of design customization is very limited; thus, it does not blend well within websites or any other page we have created that is intended to appeal to a wider audience.
Read Jannah Babasa's full review
luisa sicairos profile photo
December 07, 2018

Google Forms Review: "Easy Survey Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Forms to get a poll on what staff need or students would like to see in our organization. We also teach our students how to use Google Forms, so they can use it for school or work projects.
  • Surveys can be made easily.
  • Google Forms shows survey results quick.
  • Businesses can be sending quick and appealing surveys to their partners.
  • Formatting options to be more flexible.
  • Allow more ways to create applications.
Google Forms is useful when making online applications, tests, or surveys. It is easy to use both for the creator and for the intended audience.
Read luisa sicairos's full review
Sydni C. Warner profile photo
December 07, 2018

User Review: "Google Forms"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google forms are used for office meeting and taking polls and opinions. I don't think it is used by our whole department. Google Forms addresses the problem of taking in everyone's opinions. Some examples of polls I run have to do with routes to take within our research. Since this is an active research project I can't give exact details but the surveys mostly ask about which approaches we should take in recruiting participants.
  • Easy to use
  • Free
  • Can edit easily
  • Could be easier to share
  • Aesthetically it could look cleaner
It's well suited for small casual things but I wouldn't use it for super professional meetings. I like to use them as casual follow ups for our small lab meeting. However when working with community partners I found they are more familiar with Qualtrics and tend to lean more towards them and other survey outlets when working with other communities outside of UMICH.
Read Sydni C. Warner's full review
Clinton Shields profile photo
December 07, 2018

Google Forms Review: "Good, Quick and Simple Survey Tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Forms is being used as an independent survey tool that we use to conduct surveys within our teams. It helps to get feedback on processes and policies.
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to get the data
  • Easy to distribute
  • Not too many customization options
  • Could have some improvement in the data download section
  • Having lots of experience with WYSIWYG types of assessment some other options of building/coding would be nice
Google Forms are great when you need to quickly conduct some sort of simple survey. It's fast and easy to get out to the users and will allow you to get to your answers quicker than other types of survey programs.
Read Clinton Shields's full review
No photo available
December 17, 2018

Review: "Google Forms-- Great for Data Collection"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google forms is used by my organization for internal information tracking and survey taking. It is used from a project based standpoint as well as
fast internal information collection. It is an easy way to quickly develop a survey/data collection form and brand it with internal company colors/themes. Compilation of information and data analysis is easy and quick.
  • When submitting information to cross-department teams, Google Forms are used.
  • When submitting information to management team, Google Forms are used to track and store employee information.
  • Google forms could improve by allowing for more integrations with other data analytics tools when analyzing larger populations.
Google Forms is well suited for data collection between clients and internal cross-department teams. This can be branded for your company and used to view and analyze data collected for subsequent action. It is well-suited for not only small populations but larger groups and will support the compilation of medium - complexity data sets.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

User Review: "Google Forms have saved me!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Google Forms across our department. This allows for quick editing, and the ability for everyone to see the data at the same time. We no longer need to send via email the spreadsheet for one person to review and pass on to the next. This has expedited our process for reviewing information in a timely manner.
  • The ability to share and everyone have access simultaneously.
  • The ability to capture the data in one location.
  • The themes are very limited, and don't allow for a lot of personal touches.
In my current position, we need feedback for various services provided across campus, but we do not have the man power to physically walk to each location. Therefore, we depend on feedback from customers regarding the services offered. Because we didn't want to receive hundreds of phone calls regarding the issues we created the Google forms. This allows our customers to submit feedback online, and the data be kept in a secure location that is easily accessible for the staff to review. Google Forms has been very beneficial in allowing multiple users, and the ability to edit from any location.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 13, 2018

Google Forms Review: "Smart, free, and collaborative tool."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Forms is used in many ways at my company. For my specific team we use it to capture new hire information. It helps us to gather the information we need to create a more streamlined and personal onboarding experience. We also use it to collect travel information so that we can build travel profiles for our new hires upon their start date.
  • It's easy to set up and manage.
  • It's simple for the user to fill out the form, I never get any questions or confusion on their end.
  • It's easy for my whole team to manage and make changes, we like the collaboration aspect.
  • I do question how secure the forms are at times, we have to be careful what information we collect with these forms.
It's a great tool for companies that need to create templated forms that they use often. It's a zero cost option if your company has email set up through Google. It's all on the cloud, so the information is stored and you can revisit past forms and submissions. It may not be the best tool to use to collect certain sensitive information.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

Review: "Google Forms is great for surveying customers/participants!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Many employees in our organization use Google Forms for events. We ask people who will be RSVPing to events to enter information such as what department/organization they belong to in order to keep track of where our attendees are coming from. We are also able to track food preferences for events we are catering. We also use Google Forms when we host workshops to keep track of attendees and get answers to content questions prior to the workshop in order to tailor the material. For example, if I am presenting a professional development workshop for graduate students about how to facilitate effective classroom discussions, I can ask them in advance to share issues that have come up for them in class when they have tried to facilitate discussions (such as having quiet students who seem anxious to participate in discussion) and I can use that data to create case studies that will be valuable to participants during the workshop.
  • Pre-event survey: collect information from participants that will help you make an event more meaningful/valuable
  • Post-event survey: collect feedback that will help you revise the event so that it will be more beneficial the next time around
  • RSVP instrument for events
  • Limited ability to change the appearance of a form
  • Cannot capitalize/bold/italicize text in Google Forms
I recently used Google Forms as a way for students to respond to a "call for proposals"...so they could share their proposals for presenting at a showcase event, and I could be very specific in the fields I was asking them to respond to. I asked them the title and topic of their proposed presentation, and also what method of delivery they would be using to ensure that the presenters we chose would be using a compelling form of storytelling, such as a Ted-style talk. I appreciate the ease of using Google Forms to solicit that information, especially the ability to use a shared link- I could easily embed that in an email in the call for proposals.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 17, 2018

User Review: "Use Google Forms!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Google Forms for everything from monthly breakfast selection to Employee Engagement surveys. We love the ability to transfer the responses into Excel, making it easy to analyze, translate into graphs, etc. It's super customizable, flexible, and very, very user-friendly. Sure, it's not the prettiest or most robust tool you'll ever use, but Google Forms is easy, and gets the job done!
  • Easily customizable
  • Easy data import and analysis
  • Easy interface for form creation and filling out forms
  • The platform could be a little more aesthetically pleasing and sophisticated
If you're looking to gather internal data, don't look any further than Google Forms. If you're looking for external data, like from customers, it might be worth looking into just how much you can customize the appearance of the forms. There's quite a lot you can do, but you should check if you'd be able to manipulate the forms to look in a way that would represent your company in the way that you'd want.
Read this authenticated review
Becca Guler profile photo
April 19, 2018

Google Forms Review: "A Simple Option for Online Forms"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Google Forms to make and track progress in training module quizzes for the academic coaches that I hire and train in my academic support program. Google Forms makes it simple and free to provide training assessments in an easily accessible, online format to maximize convenience for employees. Because the quiz access is granted through a link and individuals simply input their email address as they start the quiz, it's much less complicated than using a product or site that may require all users to set up an account and keep track of a username and password. Other employees on my campus use Google Forms for quick event sign-ups or other non-academic purposes where a high level of security and confidentiality isn't needed.
  • There are various control settings that are useful, such as whether or not to have a user provide their email address, so that you have options to gather info anonymously or track data from the forms in the case of a sign-up or training. Other settings include requiring responses to certain items and controlling access by sending via a link or to certain emails, or making a Google Form publicly available.
  • Like other documents in Google format, Google Forms are created and stored within Google Drive, so it's easy to create and keep them with other Google format documents, even filed within specific folders. The participant responses to the Google Form are simply accessed through the Form itself under the "Responses" tab. It's nice not to have each separate response arriving as an email or a file that would be accessed separately; it's all in one place.
  • Google Forms has a variety of document types, such as a sign-up sheet, basic poll, or a quiz. Within each type, you have various options regarding the layout and item formatting. For example, the quiz option allows you to choose a question format (multiple choice, T/F, scaled response, etc.) for each individual question and you can also program an answer key.
  • My number one issue is that in quizzes, the Multiple Choice Grid format (essentially, a matching section, which is the ideal format for some information) will not allow an answer key to be programmed. This means manual grading of an item of this type.
  • Some features are not very intuitive, such as adding an answer key. It's rather buried. The Help option will provide guidance, but I feel that as a relatively tech-savvy person, I should be able to find and use all commonly used features without having to go to the Help section.
  • Forms do not automatically include email notifications to the creator when participants finish the quiz, and this setting has to be turned on manually for each form you create. It would be handy if there were an across-the-board option to indicate that you do or don't want email notifications for responses to all your Forms.
Google Forms works well for relatively simple input needed, like participants registering for a workshop. It wouldn't work very well for a more complex sign-up, like volunteer coordinating where they need to pick a day and time and/or activity, because Forms isn't set up to track spots filled (you would get the info and have to manually handle it on the back end). It also isn't ideal for more sensitive situations or functions that need to comply with regulations like HIPAA or FERPA, since the user cannot ultimately control the security of the data.
Read Becca Guler's full review
Jessica Meadows Rich profile photo
April 18, 2018

Google Forms Review: "A surprisingly robust, free form option"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Google forms in a couple of places on our website as student survey tools/to gain feedback. We have one form that is accessible from the footer of our site and asks students to provide suggestions of new topics and tutorials they would like to see at our site. This is pretty open-ended and is available to every visitor to our site. We use this feedback to determine which content we choose to add to the site.

Other forms are used to gather feedback regarding specific education programs and tend to be more specific regarding the student's experience within the program. These forms are used to ensure that we are providing a quality experience and determine if there are any issues with the program that needs to be addressed. These forms are provided to learners at the conclusion of the program.
  • Ease of Use: No special skills or even advanced experience with technology is required. Most employees should be able to use the products with little assistance.
  • Robust features: Google Forms was recently updated with more features, making it a rather robust, feature-rich tool. There are still limits to customization but it should provide you with at least 95% of what you need from it.
  • Cost: Using cloud-based, open platform tools like Google Forms (G-suite) helps organizations like mine (a nonprofit) to be productive without worrying about the bottom line.
  • Lack of options: For all of the features that have recently been added, Google Forms still lacks some customization options and may not provide you with some features that a paid option may provide.
  • "Clunkiness": Elements, once created within one question "box", can't be moved or easily duplicated and added to another box. There's a lot of manual copying and pasting/retyping when you'd expect to be able to just duplicated or freely move elements within the entirety of the form.
  • Lack of clarity around some features: With the addition of new features recently, it has also made the overall tool a little less intuitive. While still relatively easy to use, some features or options are not obvious from the start. There is probably more clicking around and exploring to discover what some features and options actually do now.
If you need some basic/straightforward forms, such as quizzes, surveys, or other form input, Google Forms will likely serve your needs 95% of the time. If you need a feature-rich, complicated form solution, you'll likely need to build something in-house or purchase off the shelf. Also: plenty of companies would prefer to have something that can be completely customized and not have the distinct look of a Google Form, from a branding point of view. But for small organizations that aren't bothered by the look of Google Forms, don't care if people recognize it as a Google Form, or if for the organization that needs an economical option, Google Forms is a great solution.
Read Jessica Meadows Rich's full review
Jarod Bonino profile photo
May 24, 2018

Google Forms Review: "A great tool for simple user surveys and quick polls"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Google Forms to collect answers to basic survey questions to help guide actions and collect preferences from the end users of my product. I use it to collect survey information in a way that I can easily download and analyze.
  • Allows me to download the results in a universal (csv) format for further analysis.
  • Good response visuals (such as pie charts) baked in to allow me to see how responses are going, at a glance.
  • Good flexibility on the front end to allow me to design a survey that looks the way I want it to look.
  • I wish I could pre-schedule a time for surveys to close. As it is, I have to remember to log in and "lock" it or responses keep rolling in (unnoticed) over time.
  • Some question types are not currently supported (option ranking).
I have used Google Forms to collect answers to basic survey questions to help guide actions and collect preferences from the end users of my product. I use Google Forms for internal coordination surveys (“Should we offer training on A or B?”) and customer facing surveys (“If you are interested in participating in our Beta for feature X, please fill out this volunteer info survey”). In both cases I find the ease of use of Google Forms setup and downloading results much better than alternatives.
Read Jarod Bonino's full review
Brian Spatz profile photo
April 25, 2018

Review: "Google Forms, the BEST free option available."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Forms is being used across the whole organization to aide in sign-ups for off-site events we plan and also to gather needed information for on-site activities. It is used across the board but is primarily used by our Children & Student Ministries, as they have the activities within our church organization.

The main problem it helped address was centralizing our sign-up process. Previously, we would have multiple printed sheets to sign-up with and occasionally those forms would get lost. With Google Forms, we are able to have our sign-ups digital and across multiple platforms and social networks.
  • Centralized location for collected information. Does not matter what device you use, the information will be collected the same.
  • Easy learning curve. Takes some time to understand where a few of the settings are, but once learned it is very easy to use.
  • Helpful templates and customizable options. You can use ready to made templates or make one completely custom.
  • It would be helpful to have the settings for the forms in one central location. Sometimes you have to search for a while to find a feature.
  • Would be beneficial to have add-ons already as options within the forms. Can be difficult working with teams to ensure people know which add-ons to use.
  • Ability to add URL's in the final message page after your users submit a response.
Honestly, this is a great tool for a wide variety of scenarios. For teachers, it can be for tests. For non-profits, this can be an excellent tool for gathering information or having customers leave feedback. For places of worship, this can be a beneficial tool to help with sign-ups and gathering information for events or special gatherings.
Read Brian Spatz's full review
Nilan J. Lovelace profile photo
July 13, 2016

Google Forms Review: "Google's Mundane Forms"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Forms was used as for surveying our audience for an email marketing campaign, so that we could use the information to populate areas of another campaign.
  • Easy to use and customize to fit your brand
  • Good for surveys
  • Easy for survey takers to see their progress and get a good since of how much of the survey has been completed or needs to be completed
  • Could do a better job at sectioning questions. Possible to have a form with 20 questions all on one page, that could seem very overwhelming.
  • Failed to load more often than not.
  • Could be easier to customize. At the time, it was difficult to customize the form for less technical people.
I'd recommend it for short surveys. The longer the form gets, the more of a burden it may be to use.
Read Nilan J. Lovelace's full review
Eric Batson profile photo
July 13, 2016

User Review: "Google Forms - Surveying Our Employees"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Google Forms in my department. We conducted virtual and in-person employee training, then assessed the learners' training experience with Google Forms. It allowed us to gain quick, no-cost feedback from training participants. We then used the feedback to adjust our training to make it more effective for the learners/employees.
  • Google Forms automatically creates charts of the numerical data you collect. There is no need to create this on your own.
  • It is simple to send the live Google Form link to respondents via email. All they have to do it click on the link to access the form.
  • When you create the form there are a variety of participant responses you can implement, including multiple choice, Likert Scale, short answers and more.
  • I was unable to save the form charts in any other format (e.g. PDF). They remained in Google Forms version.
  • In order to have a Word version of the form/survey you have to recreate it manually in Word.
  • The formatting is limited to the Google Forms options. This limits how creative you can be with the form layout.
If you need to quiz or survey your employees, Google Forms is a fairly easy tool to learn and employ. It will capture all of the responses and provide a summary of those responses so you do not have to manually collect and aggregate them. If you will need to transfer the feedback to another file format then this can be a problem because it may need to be done manually (copied and pasted).
Read Eric Batson's full review
Muhammad Fazalul Rahman profile photo
July 01, 2016

User Review: "The pros and cons of Google Forms"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Forms was used by myself for creating surveys for one of my research projects. I also use it for my clubs and for class work. These forms are normally used to connect people for housing, ride share, etc. Users can enter their "needs" and it will be submitted into a spreadsheet. Then other users who are providing those specific services can contact the users based on the info they have given.
  • Easy to use interface makes creating and deploying forms easy. Any user with average computer knowledge can create forms and deploy it.
  • The wizard is simple to use. A What-You-See-Is-What-You-Get interface makes it easy to drag and drop form elements and organizing them based on actions or events.
  • The forms are integrated with Google Sheets which gives a spreadsheet view of the data collected, making it easy to analyze.
  • The type of data that can be inserted into a field can be customized based on regular expressions for advanced users. This gives the ability to customize the form even further.
  • The design customization for the form is very limited. If the users could change the design to make it look for formal, then it can be used for more purposes.
  • If the forms provide APIs for the data, then the developers will be able to collect and analyze the data even faster.
  • Sometimes developers tend to like more dynamic interfaces. For example, instead of the WYSIWYG interface, if there was a way to build these forms themselves using HTML or other languages, then it gives users more control over their forms.
It is well suited for casual data collection, where the people who give the data are from the general public and there is no one to impress. However, when the data has to be collected from businesses or in a formal way, then Google Forms seem a lot more "kiddish" because of its simple material designs.
Read Muhammad Fazalul Rahman's full review
Tom Thomas profile photo
July 21, 2016

Google Forms Review: "Great tool for surveys"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used as a way to poll my students about meeting times and general opinions about my effectiveness as a TA. I also used it to make practice exams for students to study with, which allowed me to see their scores as they came in. It was a helpful tool because it was convenient for both me and the students.
  • Students found it easy to use.
  • It was easy to share via email.
  • Very versatile for different needs.
  • Multi-page forms can appear clunky
Great tool to use when you want to get answers from specific people. It was much easier than asking each individual student to tell me how they thought I was doing. Using it as a study tool for practice questions was great because it was able to be sent to them via email rather than me needing to hand them out and collect them in person to see the results.
Read Tom Thomas's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Survey templates (30)
7.8
Themes (30)
7.0
Custom logo/branding (26)
7.1
Changes to live survey (30)
8.3
Question design help (29)
8.1
Multiple question types (31)
8.9
Survey logic flexibility (28)
7.9
Response tracking (31)
8.5
Data export (30)
8.1
Standard reports (28)
7.7
Custom reports (22)
7.0
Analytics (24)
7.8
Access controls (27)
8.0
Compliance (20)
7.4
Vendor-offered crowdsourcing (9)
7.0
Respondent restrictions (20)
8.4

About Google Forms

Google Forms is an app for creating forms and surveys, and is part of Google Apps for Work. The product focuses on ease of use; the interface is similar to a document editor, with drop down lists of options and drag and drop question re-ordering. Users can embed images and video into surveys. Users can also program the question flow with custom logic. Google sends users basic summaries of the survey results automatically, or users can export the raw survey results data and analyze it via spreadsheets or other analytics software.

Google Forms Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No