Google Hangouts (Classic) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
447 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Martín Stricker | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2020

Hands down best videocall app

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
We've only experienced some minor bugs a couple of years ago regarding audio quality (the voice used to sound a little "robot-like") so we contacted customer support after it repeated 2 or 3 times, and they guided us until the problem was solved and we never had that problem again. It was the only situation in which we needed assistance, and it was great.
Read Martín Stricker's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2020

The Connector - Google Hangouts

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
It is easy to use and helped to connect with people from different places at a time. I liked this app because it provides screen sharing, audio conferencing, call recording features, etc . While Emailing or using Gmail we can chat with anyone. There are lots of emojis that excite me more.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Hangout with Google Hangouts

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
We have never called support really for any help. The tool has basic features which served our needs. Besides this, there are several people that use google products and google hangouts. A lot of information is available online for free. One can easily "google" about google hangouts and the search engine will display all the information.
Read this authenticated review
Richard Crane | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 23, 2019

Google Hangouts is a Great Option if Budget is a Concern

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
Hangouts is great for what it is, but I'm not going to give it higher than an 8 because I just don't believe it offers that same level of professionalism that Teams or Webex provides. Again, it's great for volunteer work or collaboration on a small to no budget, but I would be hesitant on going solely with Hangouts, especially for my professional career.
Read Richard Crane's full review
Kaleb-John Loo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Come Hangout With Google Hangouts

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Google Hangouts works great and does not require a lot of work to troubleshoot. Everything is simple and easy to use. Google provides all of the tools that one requires to utilize Google Hangouts and any information can be found in the built-in help tools. There is also a forum for users to report issues and typically, Google responds well and will try to work out any issues.
Read Kaleb-John Loo's full review
Shannon McNamara | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Google Hangouts - the easiest option out there

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
The Google Support is great and willing to help, I find that it's usually easier to just get on the phone with them and speak to someone that way rather than wait for an email or live chat response because sometimes that can take longer and when you call their support you will always speak to someone.
Read Shannon McNamara's full review
Vivian Vassar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

Google Hangout Has Potential But Still Needs Improvement

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

5
I would like Google Hangouts to offer clear trouble shooting guides that can be easily accessed while you are using it. Questions are answered in the help section but you have to search and read through a lot of information. When you try the answers the results are hit or miss. You end up going back and forth to get help and get the connection set up.
Read Vivian Vassar's full review
Jason Kelly | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Google Hangouts is a great product for inter-office communication (and fun!)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
As a Google product, the support for Hangouts is of high quality, but limited mostly to documents and forums. Google does not provide an account representative or a help desk to troubleshoot problems, but you should be able to find support from a number of different forums and websites. Google also provides thorough and up-to-date documentation.
Read Jason Kelly's full review
Gabriela Band | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Amazing product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
As with the rest of Google´s product suite, their support team is limited. Usually, it's a standard response you will get for any issue. However, I never had to call support for Hangouts, as it is a program that works really well and I have never encountered an issue I couldn't solve online.
Read Gabriela Band's full review
Christopher Interisano | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2019

Google Hangouts is a great product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
There is not much support with Google Hangouts as when your dealing with Google its unlikely that you are going to receive one on one support from their rep, however the platform is so reliable and easy to use that there is really no training or customer success that is needed when implementing at your company.
Read Christopher Interisano's full review
Jamie Drahos | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2019

A nice addition to G Apps

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
Google has never been great at support. They are getting better and provide priority support to Google apps users. Overall, the products are intuitive enough that a great deal of support is not needed. Since using the product, I have not required support for Hangouts.
Read Jamie Drahos's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2019

One tool for all the platforms and an entire world of users to Hangout

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
My experience has not been the greatest one of all, but it has been pretty good anyway. I have found a lot of documentation online regarding features, interactions or technical problems and it's resolutions or workarounds, but not always had the human Technical Assistance Center experience I would like to have for a company's communications platform.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2019

Convenient Solution for Video Conferencing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
I never had to reach out for Google's support with the product but I am still rating it a 10 because so much of the product is intuitive and the rest can be found in easily accessible documentation. In the entirety of my use of the product it never crashed and I have yet to experience an outage.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

Great Free Video Conference Tool

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

1
Google is horrible with customer support. The only support you have is links and forums with users if that is possible. There is no number to call and nobody to really email. You just need to search for other users that may be having the same problem. I wish there was a number to call.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Hosted PBX (15)
7.5
Multi-level Interactive Voice Response (IVR) (22)
8.3
User templates (17)
7.6
Call reports (29)
7.5
Directory of employee names (37)
8.4
Answering rules (28)
7.8
Call recording (28)
7.8
Call park (15)
6.8
Call screening (33)
8.1
Message alerts (43)
8.1
Video conferencing (58)
9.0
Audio conferencing (58)
8.9
Video screen sharing (28)
8.6
Instant messaging (31)
9.2
Mobile app for iOS (53)
9.2
Mobile app for Android (52)
9.2

About Google Hangouts (Classic)

Google Hangouts is a communication platform that includes messaging, voice, VoIP, and video call capabilities. This platform is part of Google’s G Suite offering and integrates with applications such as Gmail and Google+. Pricing for G Suite plans range from $5-$25 per user per month.

Callers can use Hangouts to:

  • Start a chat conversation or video call.
  • Make phone calls using Wi-Fi or data.
  • Send text messages with a Google Voice or Google Fi phone number.

Hangouts sync automatically across devices. Hangouts started on a computer, can continue with chat on another device, like a phone.

  • In March 2017, Google announced plans to evolve classic Hangouts to focus on two experiences designed to help bring teams together: Hangouts Chat and Hangouts Meet. Both Chat and Meet are available for G Suite customers and will be made available for consumer users as well. Google is planning to transition users from classic Hangouts to Chat and Meet after June 2020.
  • Classic Hangouts is not available in China.

Google Hangouts (Classic) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No