TrustRadius
Google Marketing Platform (a combination of former DoubleClick advertiser tools and Google Analytics 360 Suite) is a set of tools for marketers to manage their advertising campaigns. DoubleClick was acquired by Google in 2008. It focuses on uploading ads and reporting their performance and also provides forecasting tools to help predict future campaign needs. Bid optimization tools help manage pay-per-click (PPC) campaigns across search engines (e.g. Bing, Google, Yahoo!).https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/gT/0f/RELOHWEA5NBL.PNGThe real inside info of DoubleClick and pain points.DoubleClick is being used to place and track ads on performance by segments. In addition, reviewing how CRM and PMP are performing. It also used to for retargeting certain segments.,I'm able to drill down to the exact link and click of the ad. Review performance by day and time Able to spot click fraud Able to exclude poor performing sites.,A lot of bugs, setting up ads doesn't work sometimes. Some tracking options aren't available. Updating an ad is a long and tedious process.,6,Able to optimize spend and improve performance over time. Certain times reports are not reporting correctly and managers at DoubleClick are lost and don't know how to fix it.,DoubleClickDoubleClick is being used as a platform that firstly, brings together data from multiple advertising engines, such as AdWords (Google), Bing Ads, Facebook, Google Analytics and the like. Bringing the data from these platforms allows for easy analysis of data and performance of our campaigns. In addition to this, DoubleClick has a wide variety of tools such as auto bidding tools, the creation, and tracking of floodlight tags and attribution tools that allows for in-depth analysis of information and the types of traffic that your adverts are driving. We use DoubleClick across the majority of the company, especially for clients who are multi-channel and/or engine. As explained above, it gives us one platform to browse all our data and also enables us to use auto bidding tools and rules, which helps with performance and also frees up time to do more in-depth analysis,Bringing together data from multiple channels and engines and allows you to visualize the data in an easy to use platform. This saves time from using multiple logins for the different platforms. Auto bidding tools save time from manual bidding, as it allows you to set the specific terms around what levels you want to cap your CPCs at. You then let DoubleClick adjust your bids to gain the most conversions from the cheapest CPCs. This frees up time to do other in-depth analysis and strategy. DoubleClick also has the ability to track conversions and clicks on any page using their floodlight tags. This is good for tracking certain actions on yours or a client's site and is especially good if they do not use any other tools, such as Google Analytics or Adobe, to track conversions and user actions on site. You can also use these in conjunction with the auto bidding tools.,Integration using social media engines such as Facebook is a bit complicated, I would like to see this improved. Syncing with AdWords and other engines only occurs once a day at the early hours in the morning, this means changes in AdWords is not picked up in DoubleClick, which means there is a gap in the metrics, which could lead to incorrect or mislead optimizations. Maybe allow for more frequent syncing.,9,Improved ROI and conversion volumes via the auto bidding tools Improved our strategy and planning, using the attribution tools.,Marin Software,B2CUsed Doubleclick basically my whole career!Doubleclick is used both for it's tracking capabilities and it's front-end management of Paid Search Marketing activities. It is also used as the main portal for reporting online marketing activity.,It provides excellent front-end bid manipulation across different marketing accounts which allows you to quickly navigate large amounts of digital marketing administration. You can easily schedule or automate certain repetitive activities, allowing more flexibility in how you work. When the Search product is matched with the Campaign Tracking product it allows for easy generation and manipulation of internal reporting.,There are certain segments such as location, demographics etc. that do not properly populate, especially in certain countries in the EU which means you have to revert to other products. It experiences intermittent issues in functionality and accessibility of data, with data sometimes taking a day or so to show up following a sync error or the portal being inaccessible / signing you out. Some of the bid strategies can be a bit opaque in regards to how they're functioning and it can require some trial and practice to get the most out of it.,6,DS3 has improved ROI considerably due to its ability to make the work of a team of digital marketers to go further and improving internal efficiency. There is a notable improvement in account performance for those integrated with DoubleClick as opposed to not, with better tracking, new bid strategy options, and a more responsive interface. The additional fee on top of media spend is a considerable expense for a large advertiser, but the necessity of a product/solution such as this means that there is always likely to be some comparative cost.,Kensho,B2CDouble Click - manage multiple accounts across all channelsThe data received from the DBM sales funnel helped optimise our spend on display and focus more different audiences in social media. It saves us a lot of time on optimizations, reporting and tracking, which we invest in working more towards growing our client's accounts. Its better than any other similar solution I've used in the past.,Setting up tracking URLs is very easy and it also helps us identify if any errors have occurred with it. This allows us track all types of conversions to the most granular level. Accessing all accounts from Double Click significantly reduces the hours we spend on reporting. Any level of detail could be easily pulled out from the reporting tab. A very big strength of Double Click is that it's integrated with other publishers, too, besides AdWords. Automated bidding is available.,Maybe if everything could be instantly synced with AdWords, this would also save time on the execution side of things and will decrease the possibility of errors. It's only available for big companies, because it's expensive. If there was a bit more limited version of it for smaller companies to be able to use it at a lower price, this could open doors to small agencies and companies, too.,10,Since we started using smart bidding, our CPCs went significantly down and the ROI improved by more than 30%. Being able to manage multiple accounts from one platform only saves us a lot of time. Cross-channel tracking helps us identify which channels work best and shift the budget towards the best performing ones.,Marin Software,BothDoubleClickDoubleClick is the third-party ad server used across our entire digital media department. Using DCM allows us to track and monitor the performance of digital campaigns. With these metric insights we can not only track delivery of the campaign but also set up specific conversions for the campaign or client. Doubleclick gives our organization more control of the digital media that is running on various sites.,One of the biggest advantages of using DoubleClick is the conversion/pixel platform. The platform allows you to customize variables for conversions and then send to your clients' site manager or developers. A huge plus in using DCM floodlight conversions is that they track both views and click through which Google Analytics does not. DoubleClick also allows you not only track display media but search as well. DCM being a Google company consolidates both display and search invoices for clients together which makes it easier for billing purposes. The overall DCM platform is very user-friendly and allows you to update creative assets very easily. This has often been a time-consuming process in our ad servers that I've used in the past. I feel as though DCM is very easy to navigate and learn in general. Prior to my position now, I had never used DCM and only took a few weeks to learn.,One issue I often run into for DoubleClick can be the editing tool in management. This tool allows you to update a number of things from placement or creative name to the landing page the creative should drive to. The problem that occurs is you're unable to click on the tool and typically to close your browser and restart DCM or your computer. This can be an inconvenience when you are in the midst of trafficking a campaign. When I first started using DCM, you could upload HTML5 creative assets on the campaign level which worked great. As of late they no longer allow you to upload to campaign but rather to advertiser. Adding this step, you have to upload creative from the advertiser to campaign which adds another step in the process of trafficking. Within DoubleClick Managment (DCM) there are placements, ads, and creatives. The ads are created after a creative unit is assigned to the placement. I've noticed sometimes the ads default to "inactive" which doesn't allow you to track the unit. I have not figured out how to prevent this rather I just ensure all ads are set as "active".,8,Most clients that we use DCM for don't have a direct ROI we can use as a basis for as that is internal data. When measuring if the platform makes sense I think you have to look at media display dollars spent and if you want to ensure that client their dollars are being tracked and monitored accurately.,Flashtalking and Atlas by Facebook,Both
Unspecified
Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick)
145 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
TRScore

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Reviews

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick)
145 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 145 vetted Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 31)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
May 23, 2018

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "The real inside info of DoubleClick and pain points."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DoubleClick is being used to place and track ads on performance by segments. In addition, reviewing how CRM and PMP are performing. It also used to for retargeting certain segments.
  • I'm able to drill down to the exact link and click of the ad.
  • Review performance by day and time
  • Able to spot click fraud
  • Able to exclude poor performing sites.
  • A lot of bugs, setting up ads doesn't work sometimes.
  • Some tracking options aren't available.
  • Updating an ad is a long and tedious process.
It's well suited if you want to target people in your database on a 1 on 1 relationship.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 09, 2018

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "DoubleClick"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DoubleClick is being used as a platform that firstly, brings together data from multiple advertising engines, such as AdWords (Google), Bing Ads, Facebook, Google Analytics and the like. Bringing the data from these platforms allows for easy analysis of data and performance of our campaigns. In addition to this, DoubleClick has a wide variety of tools such as auto bidding tools, the creation, and tracking of floodlight tags and attribution tools that allows for in-depth analysis of information and the types of traffic that your adverts are driving.

We use DoubleClick across the majority of the company, especially for clients who are multi-channel and/or engine. As explained above, it gives us one platform to browse all our data and also enables us to use auto bidding tools and rules, which helps with performance and also frees up time to do more in-depth analysis
  • Bringing together data from multiple channels and engines and allows you to visualize the data in an easy to use platform. This saves time from using multiple logins for the different platforms.
  • Auto bidding tools save time from manual bidding, as it allows you to set the specific terms around what levels you want to cap your CPCs at. You then let DoubleClick adjust your bids to gain the most conversions from the cheapest CPCs. This frees up time to do other in-depth analysis and strategy.
  • DoubleClick also has the ability to track conversions and clicks on any page using their floodlight tags. This is good for tracking certain actions on yours or a client's site and is especially good if they do not use any other tools, such as Google Analytics or Adobe, to track conversions and user actions on site. You can also use these in conjunction with the auto bidding tools.
  • Integration using social media engines such as Facebook is a bit complicated, I would like to see this improved.
  • Syncing with AdWords and other engines only occurs once a day at the early hours in the morning, this means changes in AdWords is not picked up in DoubleClick, which means there is a gap in the metrics, which could lead to incorrect or mislead optimizations. Maybe allow for more frequent syncing.
DoubleClick works very well if you are running a search or programmatic campaigns, especially with search campaigns, you are able to consolidate your campaigns from multiple engines and apply its bidding tools to improve your performance and get the greatest amount of conversions for a reasonable CPC. However, these tools are not best suited when it comes to mobile advertising.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 28, 2018

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "Used Doubleclick basically my whole career!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Doubleclick is used both for it's tracking capabilities and it's front-end management of Paid Search Marketing activities. It is also used as the main portal for reporting online marketing activity.
  • It provides excellent front-end bid manipulation across different marketing accounts which allows you to quickly navigate large amounts of digital marketing administration.
  • You can easily schedule or automate certain repetitive activities, allowing more flexibility in how you work.
  • When the Search product is matched with the Campaign Tracking product it allows for easy generation and manipulation of internal reporting.
  • There are certain segments such as location, demographics etc. that do not properly populate, especially in certain countries in the EU which means you have to revert to other products.
  • It experiences intermittent issues in functionality and accessibility of data, with data sometimes taking a day or so to show up following a sync error or the portal being inaccessible / signing you out.
  • Some of the bid strategies can be a bit opaque in regards to how they're functioning and it can require some trial and practice to get the most out of it.
DoubleClick (DS3) is very well suited to a company that is operating several accounts across several Brands / Products / Regions and is heavily invested in Search and/or Native. If you're using DCM/Floodlights, the tracking is very accurate and very easy to import into DS3 to have full front-to-back tracking, especially with the Business Data element.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 20, 2018

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "Double Click - manage multiple accounts across all channels"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The data received from the DBM sales funnel helped optimise our spend on display and focus more different audiences in social media. It saves us a lot of time on optimizations, reporting and tracking, which we invest in working more towards growing our client's accounts. Its better than any other similar solution I've used in the past.
  • Setting up tracking URLs is very easy and it also helps us identify if any errors have occurred with it. This allows us track all types of conversions to the most granular level.
  • Accessing all accounts from Double Click significantly reduces the hours we spend on reporting. Any level of detail could be easily pulled out from the reporting tab.
  • A very big strength of Double Click is that it's integrated with other publishers, too, besides AdWords.
  • Automated bidding is available.
  • Maybe if everything could be instantly synced with AdWords, this would also save time on the execution side of things and will decrease the possibility of errors.
  • It's only available for big companies, because it's expensive. If there was a bit more limited version of it for smaller companies to be able to use it at a lower price, this could open doors to small agencies and companies, too.
I'd recommend it 100%, there is Google support if any help is needed, there are tutorials and certificate for the ones, who want to become experts and use the platform to its highest potential. Smart bidding strategies really improve account performance. Data attribution tracking has changed the game for search specifically entirely. Having Double Click on all channels allows tracking overall performance, so it's best suited for big companies, where there are different channels involved. It's less appropriate for small companies, who don't really have much to spend and only have 1 account on AdWords, since they could simply use AdWords features to manage it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 07, 2018

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "DoubleClick"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DoubleClick is the third-party ad server used across our entire digital media department. Using DCM allows us to track and monitor the performance of digital campaigns. With these metric insights we can not only track delivery of the campaign but also set up specific conversions for the campaign or client. Doubleclick gives our organization more control of the digital media that is running on various sites.
  • One of the biggest advantages of using DoubleClick is the conversion/pixel platform. The platform allows you to customize variables for conversions and then send to your clients' site manager or developers. A huge plus in using DCM floodlight conversions is that they track both views and click through which Google Analytics does not.
  • DoubleClick also allows you not only track display media but search as well. DCM being a Google company consolidates both display and search invoices for clients together which makes it easier for billing purposes.
  • The overall DCM platform is very user-friendly and allows you to update creative assets very easily. This has often been a time-consuming process in our ad servers that I've used in the past. I feel as though DCM is very easy to navigate and learn in general. Prior to my position now, I had never used DCM and only took a few weeks to learn.
  • One issue I often run into for DoubleClick can be the editing tool in management. This tool allows you to update a number of things from placement or creative name to the landing page the creative should drive to. The problem that occurs is you're unable to click on the tool and typically to close your browser and restart DCM or your computer. This can be an inconvenience when you are in the midst of trafficking a campaign.
  • When I first started using DCM, you could upload HTML5 creative assets on the campaign level which worked great. As of late they no longer allow you to upload to campaign but rather to advertiser. Adding this step, you have to upload creative from the advertiser to campaign which adds another step in the process of trafficking.
  • Within DoubleClick Managment (DCM) there are placements, ads, and creatives. The ads are created after a creative unit is assigned to the placement. I've noticed sometimes the ads default to "inactive" which doesn't allow you to track the unit. I have not figured out how to prevent this rather I just ensure all ads are set as "active".
DoubleClick is a great platform to use if your clients are interested in seeing a number of metrics outside of the standard clicks/impressions from a campaign. It would also be necessary for the digital display campaigns you have running that have significant budgets as DCM is billed on a CPM basis. For video specific campaigns you can track a number of granular metrics that you would otherwise rely on the site to provide.

I wouldn't suggest trafficking display campaigns that don't have significant budgets because there won't be much insight to gain from minimal budget or dollars spent.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 05, 2018

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "DoubleClick - the best data management platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by the search, display, social advertising teams for multiple clients. The main reason to use it is that it makes it easier to access data on all channels, track performance and create reports. It's easy to sync with any publisher, the platform is very easy to use, speeds up our work and offers many opportunities for performance improvement. Wherever I've worked, DoubleClick has been the most preferred data management platform for advertising channels.
  • Syncs up data very quickly
  • It's very easy to manage multiple accounts and report on their performance
  • Bidding strategies and automatic rules are easy to set up
  • Tracks performance on all URLs, not just the paid media
  • Bidding strategies based on revenue would be a nice improvement
  • Being able to easily access remarketing audience from different channels would make advertiser's life easier
  • Easier integration with Adobe Analytics would be a good improvement
Well suited for search and social channels integration, however, integrating with Adobe analytics is not clearly explained anywhere. Sharing audience lists between channels is not an easy task, if possible at all
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2017

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "DoubleClick Does It Right"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DoubleClick is used by the media department to execute display, mobile and video campaigns through DCM and DBM. DoubleClick allowed the agency to bring programmatic media buying in-house at a reasonable expense. It also allows agency to track direct buys through DCM thereby keeping an eye on the performance of media dollars being spent outside the agency.
  • The relationship between DCM and DBM allows for a seamless integration between adserver and DSP.
  • DBM has great third-party and custom audience segments.
  • DBM's reporting suite offers an array of metrics and dimensions to report on.
  • Having the cost of DBM flow easily back through to the DDM reporting suite would be very helpful.
  • Being able to traffic and serve native assets through DCM the same way a display ad is served.
  • If DBM had keyword targeting capabilities that mirrored AdWords keyword structures.
DoubleClick is well suited for general display, mobile and video campaigns. I am not sure how it would work for a retail of CPG client.
Read this authenticated review
Dana Berardi profile photo
February 12, 2016

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "DoubleClick for Search for Lead Generation"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DoubleClick is being used for the management of PPC campaigns and bid automation. Our team currently manages over $1 MM in ad spend and a large number of search accounts across multiple engines. Centralizing all those accounts in one place and having an automated solution for keyword bidding in place increased efficiency significantly.
  • Bid strategies based on a variety of goals for automated bidding.
  • Bid rules to automate bidding for lower volume campaigns.
  • Centralized reporting with all engines available in one UI.
  • Reporting for display campaign - currently DoubleClick for Search doesn't provide reporting on the placement level and data is only rolled up to the ad group level.
  • Yahoo is currently not supported, but it's supposed to be on the road map
  • Conversions are not being pulled in from the engines. It is required to implement DoubleClick's floodlights to track conversions.
We are a lead generation business mainly for B2B with a lead verification process that causes a delay in revenue that is coming in. DoubleClick allows us to insert offline conversion data and update that data multiple times which is extremely important for businesses that have a verification process in place and/or delayed revenue data availability. DoubleClick also has the option to use an 'availability time stamp' that tell the system what the latest available data is.
Read Dana Berardi's full review
Brian Schlager profile photo
November 02, 2015

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "Streamlining Digital Ad Management with Google's DoubleClick Platform"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DoubleClick is used by my organization for digital ad serving and data collection, on behalf of our clients. It is primarily used across our whole organization to streamline the management and delivery of various advertisements as a delivery tool. It is also used to collect various data on our ads, which are then used by our analytics teams and third-party partners to help our clients understand the impact of their digital media investment.
  • DoubleClick is widely accepted as the industry leader in digital ad serving and management, therefore allowing for a simple launch process with media publishers.
  • There is an ease of implementation and integration with other points in the tech stack due to DoubleClick's history as an industry leader and continuous development of the road map for this platform.
  • The user interface for DoubleClick is very intuitive, allowing for ease of use for anyone who is familiar with any other Google products.
  • Somewhat frequent bugs and data delays or loss can result in major problems when working with clients who demand to know all details about their ads.
  • Being owned by Google, clients frequently question the safety of their data, typically requiring an extensive legal process to ensure all detail remains proprietary.
  • There are a number of media partners, primarily in the social space, that do not allow for tracking or ad serving via DoubleClick. This results in a fragmented view of client's media programs since everything cannot be served and tracked through a single platform.
DoubleClick is suitable for both small and large business, however, the management of ad tracking and analytics resources to help interpret the large amounts of data that ads generate, is a major consideration. Advertisers typically underestimate the amount of man hours that are required to set up, manage, and analyze large scale media programs via DoubleClick.
Read Brian Schlager's full review
Debora Ramos profile photo
April 27, 2016

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "A tool to manage large Google Adwords and Bing Ads accounts"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the PPC on the Marketing Department to generate leads
  • Combines Data from different advertisers
  • Allows bulk changes
  • Allows labelling making it easy to maintain and organized
  • Competitor auction insights as there is no such facility
  • First column freeze on the reports would make life easier
  • Could allow for import at different levels such as Ad Copy
Read Debora Ramos's full review
Stephanie Pan profile photo
February 29, 2016

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "What I Really Think of DoubleClick"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DoubleClick is used across search teams in my organization to manage paid search campaigns. It allows us to manage separate engines from a centralized location quickly and efficiently.
  • Bid Strategies
  • Pacing
  • Quick changes to the campaign
  • Does not fully sync with Bing (i.e. does not show status of campaign at keywords level)
  • Unable to manage Yahoo Gemini campaigns
It's better for client's who do high levels of reporting and bulk changes.
Read Stephanie Pan's full review
Namit Narain profile photo
December 20, 2014

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "Seamless Ad-Server - DoubleClick Manager for Advertiser"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DoubleClick is an ad-server, which we use for serving display ads in various formats (such as rich media, etc.) for our clients across multiple publishers. These publishers can be direct media buys or DSP's. Most of the publisher and DSP's do accept DFA tags, hence it was the best and easy pick for us. DCM made this integration easy and not working with multiple ad-servers.
  • Trafficking of banners are easy and simple. It involves a little bit of technical knowledge but those challenges can be resolved over a period of time. It also helped me to add click trackers on specific emails and outbound links for an ad campaign.
  • Double Click Studio helped us to create and traffic rich media, video, and expandable creatives. DCM and Double Click Studio are seamlessly integrated, hence it is easy for a creative team to pick up with the technology.
  • Implementing FloodLight Container Tags and Reporting is so easy that it helped us to derive attribution models for our clients. Again setting up proper conversion tracking and attribution models in this tools is simple and easy. You can place as many third party publisher conversion pixels as you want in FloodLight containers.
  • Also, since it is a Google Product - hence the technology is always updated, with new industry methods of Display advertising. The tool is not a laggard rather it adopts really quick, keeping IAB standards into consideration.
  • Double Click needs to give direct access to the small advertisers and agencies rather than small players getting access only through resellers.
  • The pricing model should be only based on impression volume or CPM not with respect to the type or size of creative you serve. This is a huge pain in the neck when a client or advertiser really needs to move forward with new formats or size of creatives and they have to redo their math on platform fee/spend level. Hence it is a simple case of cost-benefit analysis.
  • The UI of trafficking needs to be a little more tidy rather making it complex and comprehensive.
  • Also, the support for direct advertisers, small agencies or client's needs improvement. Rather, than all these small players going to the support team of resellers, they need to have a direct touch point access from Google itself.
  • For example, I reached out directly to the sales team of Double Click as a representative from my agency, where I needed to move away from my reseller rather to have the direct Double Click access, I never received a response from Google back on the request.
There are plenty of rich media trafficking and ad-server competitors out there such as PointRoll, etc. Before picking up with the tool, the major question you have to ask yourself as an advertiser is, do you or your team have expertise to get on board with the tool? Second major question is - Have you or your client as an advertiser evaluated the creative specs or formats? And last but not the least - what is the depth of reporting and attribution you are looking for?

Read Namit Narain's full review
Brad Turner profile photo
February 22, 2014

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "Doubleclick clicks for ad serving and reporting"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses Doubleclick to create Ad Serving tags to run digital media with online media publishers. We are a full-service business-to-business advertising agency and the media department uses this software on a daily basis for managing digital ad campaigns. In addition to providing a solution for serving digital ads, it provides essential reporting and metrics on the ad placements and allows for easy optimizations.
  • Doubleclick is strong at providing an integrated platform for all things digital media. Its capabilities are thorough ranging from basic ad serving to detailed conversion tracking. And because it is owned by Google, the interface is designed similarly to Google Analytics, allowing for a seamless experience for those who work with both.
  • The latest interface update has made it more intuitive and easier to create, view, and update ad placements. It's now much faster to set up a new ad and traffic it out, which allows media planners to spend more time planning and less time setting up digital ads.
  • The DFA reporting summary view is extremely helpful for getting a quick visual glance at how a campaign is performing. My team uses it weekly to check on campaign performance and determine any needed optimizations. Rather than having to download a report and create pivot tables, this tool creates a visual chart and shows the essential details on impressions, clicks, and click-through rate needed to make decisions. It's easy to look at data for specific publishers or placements and it even allows you to compare two time periods to determine any trends.
  • Recently Doubleclick changed the process for adding new publishers so that we now have to send their team an email with details about the publisher to be added to their database and system. While they are usually able to set things up quickly, within 24 hours, it still can create delays--especially when you're on a tight timeline.
  • Support is one of the challenges with Doubleclick. As a smaller agency, we do not have a dedicated support team and have to submit questions via email. Usually response time is decent--within 2-4 hours, but there is no telephone support for high priority issues.
  • One area we've run into trouble with before is that the system does not allow Click Tracker ad tags to be completely turned off. Full Flash ad tags can have a hard cut-off, but not for Click Trackers. As a result, we've occasionally incurred ad serving costs for placements and campaigns after they have ended and should no longer be running.
Doubleclick is best suited for media teams focused on optimizations and reporting. The summary reporting view has been a game-changer for our team--not least because of how easy it is to use. Those considering ad serving software should make sure to demo the reporting side of things to get comfortable with how to pull reports and the capabilities for viewing topline data. For our team, it's less useful for running rich media ads as we do not do enough of these for it to be included in our account. Knowing minimum ad serving spends and needs is helpful to make sure it's your best option for serving all of your typical types of ads.
Read Brad Turner's full review
Anish Koppula profile photo
September 12, 2014

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "DFA - the ad serving solution to be considered for adverstisers"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DoubleClick is a central system for ad reporting and tagging. The organization relied on DFA's reporting for media optimization and reporting.
  • It provides access to log level information
  • It allows easy access to daily reporting and schedules
  • Tag uploads and monitoring is simple
  • Their recent switch to the Cloud API has not been optimal. The settings from DFA to DCM were not transferred
  • The custom variables available for populating any other third party data could be made more optimal
What is the tag management solution you use? Bright Tag/ Google Tag Manager?
What other third party solutions do you use for ad reporting and campaign management?
Do you use DFA as the primary ad server? Any others in concurrent use (MediaMind? Atlas?)
Read Anish Koppula's full review
Michael Orlando profile photo
March 21, 2014

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick): "Honest review of DoubleClick from a Vendor Perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Double click is used (I'm assuming) across all of our offices. The use of DoubleClick addresses the creative ad serving / tracking functions and is ultimately determined by the media planning agency. From my perspective,
  • The flexibility to pull current and past reporting has come in handy countless times when reviewing previous campaign performance. I have used other competitor formats that are limited in regards to the flight date parameters for pulling reports.
  • In comparison to competitor formats, the format and layout is much more user-friendly resulting in a more efficient workflow.
  • The ease of grouping and sorting multiple campaigns for daily reporting is seamless offers an effective approach to quickly reference multiple campaigns from one report.
  • Unless I'm mistaken, there isn't an option to duplicate a placement setup. This would save a lot of time and error if you could simply duplicate and change only edit what is needed. Having to go through and select all the same details (creative size, max weight, etc) is repetitive and feels inefficient.
  • A small detail, but the standard view of RFPs is set at 10. Every time I log on, I have to scroll to the right and increase to 100. It would be a lot easier if the page was set to view all content without having to scroll to the left and if by default it showed 100 RFPs.
  • I wish there was the ability to sort RFPs by all columns, not just by advertiser or owner.
With a little bit of training, I feel the interface and functionality is very user friendly. Used by the majority of media vendors, it's ability to merge the needs of advertisers and publishers makes the entire media planning / selling more efficient.
Read Michael Orlando's full review
No photo available
June 21, 2016

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick): "DoubleClick Digital Marketing Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses DoubleClick products within the digital media department, excluding SEM (which uses Kenshoo). The specific tools we subscribe to include Planning, Trafficking, Reporting & Attribution, and Studio.

We use DoubleClick for trafficking our digital ads, generating insertion orders for publishers, reporting and billing, tag management, rich media development, and more recently, for ad verification (viewability and brand safety). It addresses the following business problems: third party ad tracking, media planning/flowchart building, consolidated reporting, tag management, and viewability monitoring.

DoubleClick is used at my company nationally for all of the previously mentioned functions.
  • Reporting - reporting interface is easy to use, and reports typically generate quickly.
  • Tag Management - creating Floodlight tags is very simple and allows customization through custom variables. In addition, it is very easy to append other tracking pixels (from publishers, attribution partners, etc.) to Floodlight containers. DoubleClick also makes it easy to append campaign-wide pixels for universal tracking tags, e.g. Brand Study tracking tags.
  • Seamless process with publishers - because most publishers are familiar with DoubleClick products, it is generally easy to grant reporting access to publisher contacts so that they can monitor campaigns and be proactive about making optimizations.
  • DoubleClick support could use some improvement. We submit questions/requests to a support alias, and often experience long delays in response time and less than thorough responses. Because DoubleClick uses an alias, we often have multiple support technicians involved in responding to our questions/requests, which can make it more challenging to get a clear response. It is difficult to get a support technician on the phone to help resolve highly technical issues.
  • Product updates - our DoubleClick client services team is not proactive about sharing new features available within DoubleClick. For example, DoubleClick has had an ad verification product for a few years now. When the product first came out, it wasn't up to standards with other third party verification products, in my opinion. My organization has been paying for another third party verification company due to assumed limitations of DoubleClick in this area. However, I recently requested that DoubleClick schedule a department-wide meeting to give updates, and learned that DoubleClick's offering in this area is actually on par with, if not better than, the other company we were paying for ad verification. DoubleClick's offering is included in my company's contract with DoubleClick, and I feel we could have accrued some savings had DoubleClick proactively shared this feature with us earlier.
  • Attribution - DoubleClick's attribution tool does not provide many valuable insights, in my opinion. For complex attribution, my organization still contracts with other companies.
From my experience, DoubleClick is the best tool out there for ad serving and third party reporting. As mentioned previously, I don't think DoubleClick is the best tool for attribution currently. However, I think it has made some strides recently in improving its verification product. Lastly, while I am not focused in SEM, the SEM team at my company feels that Kenshoo is a better product for SEM ad serving.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 22, 2016

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "DoubleClick Bid Manager - Clarity for All"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DoubleClick Bid Manager to purchase digital network inventory without the vendor middle man. DoubleClick Bid Manager allows clarity on inventory and data segments to know we are getting what we pay for.
  • Targeting clarity.
  • Inventory verification.
  • Brand safety.
  • Budget pacing is a little quirky, doesn't take into account gaps in campaign pacing.
  • Easier screenshots and verification.
  • Better suggestions of optimizations.
For network ad buying we no longer use Undertone, Rocket fuel or Conversant as we get better overall performance from DoubleClick Bid Manager.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 29, 2016

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "DoubleClick forced me to Double take on my media buying preferences"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it as the primary DSP for our Online Advertising Agency. Doubleclick Campaign Manager also served as our 3rd Party Adserver. We used Doubleclick Bid Manager with the majority of our clients. It provided us with a more substantial reach of inventory as well as providing pretty indepth analysis of our Media Spend
  • The detail of reporting capabilities is awesome. The data that we can pull really allows us to narrow down to our desired target audience.
  • The UI is improving every day. I like how it has become a much more visual platform with high level data.
  • While the UI is getting better, I think having the option to view the most important metrics directly in the platform rather than in .csv exports would be beneficial
  • The load time of the Platform can be slow at times
  • The performance of campaigns has been poor in comparison to other DSP's we have used.
I think it is best suited to agencies selling media at a flat rate for brand awareness campaigns
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 26, 2016

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "DoubleClick Functionality is Great for small businesses!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Particular teams choose to use DoubleClick at Performics based on their clients' needs. I used it for one client but use a different third party source for another client so it varies widely but can be manipulated for all sizes for data. I think it works well but the overview tabs are not as consolidated and easy-to-read as Marin. I wish it could be simplified with rows and columns of data, almost like a spreadsheet.
  • Functionality in general. It works well and I have never had to question the accuracy of my data.
  • The real-time update is AMAZING, especially if you might expect a lot of traffic in a few campaigns.
  • The data manipulation and connectivity to other Google products is easy and smooth
  • Automated bid strategies are particularly confusing to set up compared to AdWords or Marin.
  • I wish there was a consolidated overview tab.
I guess it depends on what type of data and reporting is the client/campaign going to require? Certain dimensions and things are necessary for my client that DoubleClick wouldn't be able to integrate well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 14, 2016

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "DoubleClick: Streamlined, Efficient & Job-Enabling"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm with an agency, and our digital media department uses DoubleClick from both the advertising side (DCM) as well as the publisher side (DFP). DCM is used to serve, manage, track, assess and optimize all of our digital client campaigns - note that we use a reseller (AdSwerve) for DCM. DFP is used to assist in monetizing a client site and creating ad revenue stream.
  • Constant platform improvements and enhancements (e.g., increased reporting options and functions).
  • Owned by Google, so you know there's resources and money behind powering and evolving DoubleClick.
  • Recently found a great third-party rich-media creative vendor through DoubleClick's certified partnerships.
  • Fairly intuitive platform - when I was first introduced to and was expected to start using DoubleClick, I pretty much relied on self-training to set up and exectue a client campaign within a month.
  • Continue to add more content and articles to the resource/help center.
  • Provide thought leadership on industry topics (e.g., how ad blocking does/can/will impact DoubleClick tracking, serving, etc.)
  • Smaller agencies or organizations may be forced to work through resellers if DoubleClick doesn't deem you as a large-enough client (in our case, we have a fantastic reseller - AdSwerve).
I started out using DoubleClick and have used DoubleClick ever since - it's what I know and what I'm comfortable with. Ad servers are all rooted in the same technology, but ask about key differentiators when comparing vendors.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 08, 2015

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "DoubleClick BidManager is Superior"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DoubleClick BidManager is utilized at VivaKi to implement, manage and optimize hundreds of online display media campaigns for brands across many verticals. Depending on the client's objectives, needs, and success metrics, we often select Doubleclick BidManager as the preferred DSP since it offers robust targeting capabilities, numerous inventory sources, an intuitive interface and solid support. DoubleClick BidManager allows advertisers to easily reach millions of users more efficiently and provides an endless amount of possibilities to reach each client's unique or custom goal.
  • Target the right user - DoubleClick BidManager offers thousands of thousands of third party data segments to easily identify and reach the target audience
  • Full transparency - Robust reporting to see exactly where the creatives are serving and how they are performing. All associated fees and exact costs are reported so there are no surprises for our company or the end-client.
  • Integrated with DFA Ad serving - Creatives, user lists and reporting are automatically and easily available in Doubleclick BidManager. This removes room for error and saves an ample amount of time.
  • Not all capabilities are available across other channels, including mobile and video. The DPS is built primarily for display.
  • Increase "real time". Data is recorded and shown within 4 hours - 24 hours, which causes delays and mis-judgments in optimizations.
  • Algorithm needs improvement as it not always delivers the most efficient and strong results.
- Well suited for large advertisers with considerable advertising dollars to spend towards digital media. Ask if budgets will limit delivery and/or performance before selecting Doubleclick BidManager.
- Ask what targeting capabilities are possible for the channel (display, mobile, video)
- Make sure the publishers and exchanges that are employed by BidManager will accept the brand. For example, alcohol-related brands will not be accepted and as a result, the DSP will not be able to serve the creative.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 30, 2015

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "Plenty room for improvement, but so far so good"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DoubleClick usage varies between different teams. The business problem it addresses is the simplicity of managing multiple campaigns at the same time.
  • User friendly interface
  • Quick response times
  • Pushes changes to Google and Bing quickly
  • The reporting templates are horrible
  • Bulk uploads always have issues
  • Cannot segment by publisher in an easy and efficient way
Any search team can utilize the functions of DoubleClick depending on their needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 27, 2015

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "Doubleclick has Easy Set Up, Falls Short on Optimizations and Reporting"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Doubleclick is used by most of the ad ops teams for tagging and tracking campaigns. It is also used by some of the programmatic teams for programmatic buying. Doubleclick allows us to see performance, optimize on a granular level and report back to the client with spend and impressions that can be used for billing purposes.
  • Doubleclick allows me to operate many silos in a single platform.
  • Doubleclick integrates with many partners to allow a large scale on my campaigns.
  • Doubleclick benefits from utilizing Google Data from search and audiences.
  • Doubleclick could benefit from better customer service.
  • The tool that shows why you lost an impression is often inaccurate.
The platform is particularly easy to use when Doubleclick for Advertisers is being utilized as the ad server. It allows the creative tags and floodlight tags to easily port into the system which make for a very easy campaign set up. I would not recommend DBM when recency is necessary for the campaign since you would need a different line item for each time differential.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 27, 2015

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick): "DoubleClick review from an agency perspective"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DoubleClick to track our online ad campaigns across display and video including impressions, clicks, cost and site actions. We use it within the media department of our agency.
  • User friendly UI
  • Improved trafficking functionality
  • Easy to pull campaign reports with report builder
  • Mobile in-app tags do not track all site activity
  • Reporting dashboard could be improved for viewability
  • Ad verification would be a helpful option
DoubleClick is one of the most widely accepted ad servers for publishers to implement tags. It is also fairly user friendly and used by most of the large agencies across the country. Therefore, it is the best ad server to learn how to use because you can apply those skills to other jobs at other agencies.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 12, 2016

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Review: "Ad serving and buying"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize DoubleClick for Publishers (DFP) as the preferred third party server and are managing the majority of programs through DoubleClick Bid Manager (DBM).
  • Consolidated buying platform with DBM
  • Industry standard and best ad server
  • Reporting interface
  • Better DSP transparency
DoubleClick is an industry standard tool.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Data Transfer (15)
8.5
DSP integration (15)
8.4
Ad campaign creation (19)
8.4
Ad deployment (19)
8.5
Display advertising (16)
8.4
Ad display and retargeting segmentation (17)
7.8
Sequence targeting (11)
8.9
Ad dashboards (18)
8.0
Ad performance reports (19)
8.5
Ad conversion tracking (18)
9.3
Ad attribution reporting (17)
8.3
Cross-channel ad management (12)
7.7
Ad forecasting and optimization (14)
8.1

About Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick)

Google Marketing Platform (a combination of former DoubleClick advertiser tools and Google Analytics 360 Suite) is a set of tools for marketers to manage their advertising campaigns. DoubleClick was acquired by Google in 2008. It focuses on uploading ads and reporting their performance and also provides forecasting tools to help predict future campaign needs. Bid optimization tools help manage pay-per-click (PPC) campaigns across search engines (e.g. Bing, Google, Yahoo!).

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Integrations

Frosmo, Dynamic Yield, Oracle DMP (Bluekai)

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Competitors

Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No