Google Trends Reviews

73 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 27)

Lauren Ericksen | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Easy To Use Product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Measuring how popular a keyword is.
  • Using graphs to compare the search volume of different queries over time.
  • If monthly searches are around ten or less the graph can be difficult to read.
  • Could provide different types of graphs to show differences.
Read Lauren Ericksen's full review
Robbin Block | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Get Fast Results Comparing Keyword Phrases with Google Trends.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Researching industry seasonality.
  • Researching product purchase intent by keyword search.
  • You can narrow your search by industry, but Google doesn't always have a category that applies. It would be nice to be able to drill down and even search for what may be a closer fit.
  • Perhaps some integration between Keyword Planner and Google Trends would be nice, so you don't have to bounce between them.
Read Robbin Block's full review
Austin Voigt | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

Google Trends is Neat!

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great job at estimating seasonality for different industries & areas of interest.
  • Does well at helping determine potential competition during different times of the year.
  • Does a good job with helping us determine recommendations for clients in terms of tactics, budgets, etc. throughout the year, and with different strategies.
  • It would be great if Google Trends had more specific data, and wasn't so aggregated.
  • We would like if Google Trends could get more granular into different topics or industries.
  • It would be nice if we could combine Google Trends data with our initiatives in SEO and paid search directly, without having to try to combine & analyze all of that data ourselves.
Read Austin Voigt's full review
Lindsay Halsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Google Trends is Insightful, Easy to Use, and Free!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Google Trends shares interest in a keyword or topic over time.
  • It allows you to filter by geographic area.
  • Google Trends shares related topics and queries.
  • The data nicely exports to a CSV file. It would be nice to be able to also export to PDF as a more styled way of sharing this information with teams.
Read Lindsay Halsey's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

Google Trends offers a quick and easy way to assess how your company is being searched

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ability to compare different search terms against one another.
  • Ability to show search interest over a period of time.
  • A relatively simple graphic interface to show how issues are being searched online.
  • Some of the data is a bit lacking as it only shows Search Interest over time and not actual searches.
  • Google Trends always defaults to the USA. It would be nice if it would save your search preference.
  • It would be helpful if it also helped to present the top search results over time.
Read this authenticated review
Brittney Collier | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2019

The Best Free Keyword Research Tool I've Ever Used!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I love how Google Trends presents the popularity of a specific query by location. For example, my product may be more popular or more "searched" in a specific state or city. This helps a lot for direct mail campaigns or any sort of in-person marketing efforts like events or pop-ups. You could use the information from Google Trends to decide what locations will be more receptive of your product/industry or you could see where people have little to no interest and build a brand awareness campaign focusing on those areas.
  • Another great feature within Google Trends is that it shows "Related Queries", which are basically suggestions of better keywords or phrases to incorporate into your content. If you search for data on a keyword you're using that's too broad (your content won't stand out among other web pages) or too narrow (not many potential customers are searching that keyword or phrase), Google Trends will suggest a related keyword or phrase that is more appropriate or trending at the moment. You could go back and incorporate these phrases into your content so that it's more likely to be found on search engines.
  • Within the Google Trends "Related Topics" section, you can choose whether you want to see topics that are "Top" or "Rising". I like this feature because looking at a "Rising" topic can help you create content that's more likely to be seen - especially if you're a beginner. Most topics that are in the "Top" category can have thousands of web pages that you're competing against and you can feel like your content is drowning. But the topics in the "rising" category can be great for newer sites that haven't developed authority online yet. You can write on one of these topics and be one of the first sites to create content on that topic, which gives you a head start over other sites.
  • Google Trends "Categories" is also a great feature. If you don't have any content ideas for your website, you can easily find inspiration by selecting a category that's relevant to your industry. The top keywords or topics will come up and you can create content on those topics to increase your number of web visitors. For example, if you work in the fashion industry and you don't have content ideas, you can have Google Trends generate data for the "Beauty & Fitness" or "Shopping" categories to see what's trending. Google will tell you if a specific brand, person, or event is trending and you could write an article based on one of those trends. Since people are searching for that topic, your content will be seen. This is a great way to create timely content even if you're new to an industry or simply haven't kept up with it.
  • I think that Google Trends needs a tutorial mode or some sort of instructional pop-ups. The only reason why I understand how or why the information on Google Trends is useful is that I took a course on it prior to using it professionally. For a beginner, it's very possible that you could look at all of the graphs and information available and have no idea how you can apply it in your role. It would be helpful if each feature gave examples on how it could be used. However, Google Trends is free and this is the only con I see within the platform.
Read Brittney Collier's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

Predict search trends

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tracking relative search volume over time.
  • Comparing volume for multiple search queries.
  • Forecasting future search volume.
  • Not a robust keyword tool.
  • Data is general, not specific.
  • Would like to see a professional version beyond the free features.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Use Google Trends to discover market and competitor trends

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's extremely easy to use. You don't even need an account and it's free! In terms of accessibility, it's a dream.
  • It's made by Google, the largest search engine on earth, so you feel the data is reliable.
  • It creates useful visualizations of the data - including line charts and geographic spreads. It also suggests related topics for further research.
  • I know Google can't tell us for privacy reasons, but it would be cool to see the actual volume of searches for a term. Everything is shown on a 1-100 scale, which means you only see relative, not absolute data.
  • Google could let you refine searches a bit more with boolean language.
  • I'd like to see a feature which lets you select multiple countries at once. You can only select 'worldwide' or a specific country, which isn't too great if you want to group countries e.g. English speaking, Scandinavia, European etc.
Read this authenticated review
Rachel Hensley | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2018

Google Trends and Your Customers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Explains interest over time.
  • Gives other relevant search information.
  • Breaks down information by subregion.
  • I wish you could go deeper into the subjects, like see the individual search results.
  • I also wish that you could really define the subregions and go to a city by city level.
  • It would be nice if you could organize material by age group and genders.
Read Rachel Hensley's full review
Raghu Nandhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2018

An amazing free tool from Google to know what the world is searching for the most!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Real-Time data on any given topic using Explore
  • Point out the latest trends: by default it provides the latest trends from all around the globe on the homepage. I can choose the technology that I am interested in, and start doing some research on the trends. This helps me to strategize better on how to use this technology in my projects.
  • Clean UI: Simple and Easy UI, easy to navigate.
  • No Transparency on how the calculation happens at the back end and the numbers are arrived in Google Trends.
Read Raghu Nandhan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2018

Great platform to learn about trends

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is free and always available
  • User interface is clean and very convenient
  • Gives lots and lots of valuable data
  • I wish notifications were more customizable
  • Reports could be more customizable too
  • It'd also be great to have company's profile there and share and discuss results with colleagues in live mode
Read this authenticated review
Greg Dungan | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2018

Google Trends | Good for SEO, Social Media Posting, & Online Ads

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Google Trends shows me geographic locations where a particular topic may be useful for advertising.
  • Google Trends allows me to drill down into those locations to metro and city levels where I can focus on exactly what local business clients need to know.
  • Google Trends allows me to identify and qualify search terms that my client's need to optimize their websites and social media content for.
  • Google Trends shows me what people are talking about in a specific location over a specific period of time. This is a great way to know what I should be posting on social media.
  • It would be nice to have breadcrumbs available so that I can go backward in a particular search. One I click a topic and then click the related terms two or three times, I find that I'm so far down the rabbit hole that the "Back" button in my browser is a really inconvenient way to find my way back to a certain stage of my search. If there were breadcrumbs I could jump directly back to a particular stage and chase another rabbit from there.
  • It's easy to get lost searching in here for an extended period of time. I would be nice to be able to print a report of my whole session when I have finished.
  • It would be nice to have a Top Tends board of job searches or other information related to jobs that are currently popular Google searches.
Read Greg Dungan's full review
Jeremy Waszak | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2018

Find Your Inspiration with Google Trends

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Content ideation. Brainstorming new topics for content your overall strategy and content calendars.
  • The ability to geotarget helps narrow down what your specific audience is talking about.
  • Targeting of trends based on a specific industry
  • Though it has the ability to narrow down results, it would be even better if you could get more specific data
  • I wish I could easily export data and graphics
Read Jeremy Waszak's full review
Caleb Unruh | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2017

Google Trends: A great place to start in content research

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A ton of data: Google Trends has it all.
  • Easy searching and sorting: Google knows search, and this plays out well in Google Trends.
  • Geotargeting: being able to zoom in on a specific region is helpful to us.
  • Top charts: would be nice to include top charts for the current month.
  • Explainers: would be good to have some information buttons next to graphics and charts to show in depth what criteria go into making those charts.
  • More images: would be interesting to see trending image searches.
Read Caleb Unruh's full review
Lee Whitehead | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2018

Google Trends for fashion retail

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Historical data
  • Search volume tracking
  • Competitor reports
  • Visual reporting
  • Data is aggregated so therefore does not provide detail on the actual volume of search activity online
  • Some of the industry segmentation could be improved to provider great insight on specific markets
Read Lee Whitehead's full review
Matthew Bernstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2017

Google Trends lets you stay ahead of the game!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Constant refreshing throughout the day
  • Aggregated results across various categories of interest
  • Ability to search trends
  • A little more context as to how long a certain topic is trending
  • Ability to sort trends by state, not just country
  • More granular information on trends (i.e. specific members of Trump's administration, rather than the broader topic)
Read Matthew Bernstein's full review
Kjell Arne Rekaa | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2017

Google Trend - a way to read the mind and interest among a broader population

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Google has the best available source of data out there for finding out what people actually are thinking about! (Read: searching for...)
  • Google is innovative in the sense of developing new innovative tools and products within the IT industry.
  • Google is committing to both using and delivering open source and open standards, which is benefiting everybody, just like how science has always worked. It has even worked as a poster child for other IT-related companies, which have not done this from the very beginning.
  • Try to compare the two programming languages: Java and Rust. You will see only a straight line on the bottom for Rust, but if you want to see the TREND between those two languages, Google could offer another scaling on the "underdog" search word, to see increase/decrease within the same time frame.
  • It is possible to download a CSV file, build it into HTML or share it on several social media, but I would like to bookmark any trend I've done and want to repeat at a later stage.
  • What about making a PNG-file for gluing into a report or other (Google) document?
  • I would love to see the following features: Mail me if any search item dealing with medicine start increasing within my geolocation; Mail me if any search item dealing within economy start increasing within my geolocation; Mail me if any search item dealing within politics start increasing within my geolocation; Mail me if any search search item start increasing more than ____ percent within my geolocation
Read Kjell Arne Rekaa's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2018

Great for quick check of keyword searches

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provides information on amount of times a keyword is searched
  • Useful for seeing the location of users searching the keyword
  • Allows the targeting of keywords based on trends for an industry
  • I think if they were to add a comparison tool, for comparing multiple keywords it would be very useful
  • It would also be useful to be able to export this info to a graphic
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Keyword analysis (25)
8.6
Backlink management (7)
4.8
SERP ranking tracking (11)
6.0
Page grader (7)
4.0
Competitive analysis (17)
8.8
Site audit / diagnostics (7)
7.0
Site recommendations (7)
7.0
Task management (4)
6.6
Local SEO (17)
7.0
Social SEO (13)
6.6
Mobile SEO (13)
6.8
Global SEO (20)
7.9
Multi-domain support (4)
5.9
Integration with web analytics tools (10)
4.6

About Google Trends

Google Trends is a search engine optimization software solution offered by .
Categories:  SEO