Google Workspace (formerly G Suite) Reviews

316 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 72)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 22, 2020
Amy Pyles | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Collaborative documents
  • File storage & management
  • Email
  • Easy video conferencing through Google Meet
  • Easy to use
  • It isn’t accessible by all organizations causing barriers to sharing documents and using the full functionality.
  • Google Meet is handy but doesn’t perform at the level of Zoom.
  • More robust features needed in Sheets to get full team adoption.
Read Amy Pyles's full review
November 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Google Workspace is incredibly useful for user management. Automatically assigning licenses or restrictions by organization is particularly great.
  • Google Workspace is reliable. We haven't had a major outage in all the time we've used it.
  • Support is actually pretty good. Calling my ISP or domain registrar is always a pain, as I usually find I know more than them about their own products. Google Support is generally competent with helping people with Google Workspace.
  • Google needs to work on a more consistent onboarding process for organizations that haven't used Workspace before. A bad agent can delay the process by weeks.
  • Google needs to work on consistent naming and branding for things. Workspace/G Suite/Apps, Hangouts/Chat/Talk/Meet/Voice and various permutations have made the past 5 years of Google products a chore to keep straight.
  • While the constant updates and feature updates are nice, they can mean an interface that changes regularly, and occasionally good features that are lost.
Read this authenticated review
April 22, 2020
David O'Leary | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lots of integrations with other providers.
  • Simple/intuitive interface (easier than Office 365).
  • Lots of google features that are a luxury (e.g. predictive text in emails, boomerang, etc.)
  • Contacts isn't great. Lots of multiple entries often get created and I can't figure out why. There's not enough customizability in the fields you can track for each contact.
  • Some of the email features are inferior to Office 365 (I dislike how when you reply to an email, where you type the response is at the very bottom of the long chain of previous emails. So if you want to see what they last said to you as you're writing the response, you have to keep scrolling back and forth. If there's a setting to change that, it isn't obvious how and it shouldn't be the default.)
  • Office 365 has done a great job integrating Teams. Google Hangouts isn't as useful.
Read David O'Leary's full review
March 06, 2020
Brian Chung | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use. It's simple and anyone can learn how to use it.
  • There are a lot of resources - from organization users to handling business documents.
  • The help function! If you don't know how to use it, there's a simple help function.
  • GSuite can do a better job at connecting it Google Analytics vs. having a separate sign-in.
  • Their admin console could be more customizable and have things like analytics up in the front.
  • The pricing could be lower.
Read Brian Chung's full review
May 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Directory management for users and groups.
  • Email and calendaring.
  • Document creation and storage.
  • Ability to share subfolders of Team Drives.
  • Calendar sharing and delegation.
  • Resource management.
Read this authenticated review
April 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Search across its different tools.
  • Allow for seamless editing of a document while in various locations.
  • Provides an easy standard to follow across departments.
  • Email search sometimes has wonky results and will find an email from months ago when searching a user as opposed to the one that came in 10 minutes ago.
Read this authenticated review
October 12, 2019
Will Manuel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fast "cloud services provider" for all of their major tools.
  • Seamless integration between tools.
  • Always up to date and bugs are minimal.
  • I've had some issues with Gmail loading/sending messages in the past but it has been minimal and intermittent.
  • It would be great if they had a simple graphic editing tool.
  • They should carry over the voice to text tool form G Docs into all their applications, especially Gmail.
Read Will Manuel's full review
February 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integration - Similar user interfaces, consistent updates across the board.
  • Searchability - Hangout messages can be searched in email, documents are easy to find in Google Drive, calendar events are searchable.
  • I'd love for some of the email lab features to be made permanent and more effective, such as canned responses.
  • It would be amazing if there was a way to find, organize, and delete/combine duplicate documents in Google Drive - a suggested cleanup feature.
Read this authenticated review
December 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simplicity and intuitiveness contribute to a beautiful, clean, and professional UI that makes Google apps easy to learn and a pleasure to use.
  • Integration between spreadsheets, PDFs, text documents, etc. without the bugs and constant, maddening design flaws inherent in the counterpart Microsoft offerings.
  • I've been advised by people smarter than me that Google apps don't have the highest levels of security - they're great for work that isn't highly sensitive or have statutory security requirements.
  • In various apps, Microsoft apps will offer a greater range of functionality (at the cost of usability, complexity, and poor UI/UX).
Read this authenticated review
July 30, 2019
Kristopher Kauth | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It has good uptime and redundancy. Certainly better than we had when we were managing our own email server.
  • We can scale up or down in real time, and costs are pro-rated, which is important with any business that has fluctuation in it's employee base.
  • With email, document storage/sharing, and sites, it allows us to manage things in one location.
  • The fact that so many other services have built in "Sign In With Google", it makes it easier to deploy or integrate with other technologies.
  • It would be nice to have Google be the "be all, and end all" of our authentication across all systems. I know it is possible to do most things through Google Cloud Platform development, but that is beyond the capabilities of most smaller companies. IdP, LDAP, SSO, etc.
  • Better options for "network storage", to migrate off of a traditional model of having a network drive for company/team use. The higher tier of G Suite has Team Drives, which partially helps address this, but does not do it well enough to eliminate our old network drives without sufficient training of users to break habits that they have been trained to do for decades.
  • Where is the ability to "flag" emails as important/urgent? I know if someone using an email application such as Outlook flags an email and sends it to me, Gmail is able to show me that flag, but there is no way for me to actually set that flag from inside Gmail.
Read Kristopher Kauth's full review
June 29, 2019
Jillyn Dillon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Email, obviously.
  • Online video chat.
  • Document creation and sharing, even co-editing.
  • Online cloud storage for files, documents, etc.
  • Google Identity, which allows you to use your GSuite ID to log into all kinds of things online with good security and minimal password management.
  • Online surveys and forms.
  • Calendar and meetings.
  • Integrations.
  • The support is mediocre.
  • It can be confusing if you need to change something — upgrade, etc.
Read Jillyn Dillon's full review
May 25, 2019
Eric Omondi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's FREE to use.
  • It makes it easy for users to share and collaborate on their documents with others.
  • Has a great user interface that's easy and fun to use.
  • G Suite can be accessible at any time or place and from any device as long as the user has an internet connection.
  • You can use it without an internet connection.
  • Also, you won't get as many programs as you get with Microsoft Office (Access, Publisher, Project, and so on)
Read Eric Omondi's full review
March 30, 2019
Juan Esteban Camacho Rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fluid and well-integrated tools for teamwork. Shared files and co-op editing works just perfect.
  • Gmail integration with drive allows us to have any file at hand.
  • Cloud power + teamwork is the best tool for a Company. It makes everything easy and quick to use
  • The User interface could be improved more. Sometimes is not that intuitve.
  • The view configuration of Drive have always been hard to read. Locating a file isn't difficult but could be more visual-friendly
  • The Chat app could add the Group chat feature for teams.
Read Juan Esteban Camacho Rodriguez's full review
June 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • G Suite was built from the ground up as a web service and works extremely reliably. Office 365 was patched together from a legacy application and frequently breaks during weird processes.
  • G Suite is far more intuitive and easy to manage vs. Office 365.
  • Support for G Suite is far better than the alternatives.
  • While the Google productivity apps (Docs, Sheets, etc.) are good, the native desktop apps from Microsoft are still more powerful in some aspects (though not others, such as collaboration and revision history)
  • Gmail is a far better option than Outlook (having used both extensively), but many legacy users can't be convinced of this and insist on Outlook. This isn't a big deal, but the Outlook connector hasn't always had top priority for updates and support from Google, though this has improved some.
Read this authenticated review
March 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simple navigation of tools
  • Single sign-in
  • Managed account administration
  • Open live collaboration
  • Auto save
  • Embeds and links with other programs/apps
  • Advanced customization in google sites.
  • Google keep the background color. The white on white gets lost.
  • Something to help with drive organization/cleaning.
Read this authenticated review
April 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • How easy it is to use the calendar to schedule events and invite others to meetings.
  • Adding and sharing files in Google Drive.
  • All around simple ease of use.
  • More elaborate features in Google Sheets.
  • I love using Grammarly. If Google could do something similar that would be great.
Read this authenticated review
March 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • For Google Drive: Very easy to sync all my files into the cloud and send them to my clients.
  • For Gmail: It's the robust, clean interface that I love the most. It's so easy to use and has been my favorite email application of all time.
  • For Google Calendar: It's no fuss and I'm able to set up appointments and block times easily.
  • I wish Google would help new users understand all the features better. I feel like I'm only using half of what's available to me.
Read this authenticated review
February 07, 2019
Ed Hart | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fully integrated solution for us with email, documents & file storage.
  • Everything is backed up instantly & sharing/collaborating is really easy.
  • Pretty much maintenance free. Allows us to operate virtually with no IT staff.
  • G-Suite is a very economical solution for the company compared to having desktop applications and the necessary infrastructure to support.
  • I can really easily manage all of the users of the G-Suite applications & don't have to be particularly technical.
  • We run into some limitations around document formatting (both Docs & Sheets)
  • Maintaining some consistency around the Drive file structure & organization when sharing is difficult
  • Cleanup of old and outdated docs can be hard to do.
Read Ed Hart's full review
February 27, 2019
JaCoby Marston, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • All functions of G Suite is in the cloud. No more worrying about losing files.
  • The ability to share with coworkers with ease.
  • Can access G Suite anywhere in the whole that has internet connection.
  • I do not care for the improvements made to the G Suite Calendar. They cause me to spend more time than necessary.
  • It would be nice to be able to access the files offline similar to Microsoft Products.
  • I wish the G Suite apps for smartphones were easier to use. I struggle with being able to have the same functions as a computer does for the G Suite apps.
Read JaCoby Marston, CPA's full review
January 11, 2019
Megan Ronecker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Anyone can open the documents regardless of computer software. You don't have to worry if they have Microsoft Word or Mac's Pages.
  • Easy to send and receive to and from clients. I can create spreadsheets and docs and easily save or send what I need to. I also love that I can see what others do to edit my document.
  • Access anywhere you have Internet access. They are automatically saved to your Drive so you don't have to worry about losing files or not having access to specific ones when you need it.
  • Gmail is so easy to use, looks clean and professional, and it's easy to find old emails that I wanted to refer back to.
  • Google Docs is great if you just need a simple document, but doing anything more than that, such as making it a little prettier by adding a design or imagery, is very limited. Of course, you can add pictures, but not in the capacity you can in Word or Pages. I've tried to create templates for clients in Google Doc and it just doesn't work. I wish it did, as it's a great universal software.
  • I wish that you could use your computer's own fonts for Google Docs and Sheets. You're stuck with the Google fonts and, while they have many to choose from, I would prefer to use the fonts that I always use in my branding.
  • I wish there was a way to create your own "tabs" in the Gmail filter when you configure your Inbox. While their algorithm is very smart, knowing what emails are promotional and which are from friends, there are certain ones I'd love to have grouped together in other categories.
Read Megan Ronecker's full review
August 15, 2018
Garett Dunn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Good integration between all the different apps
  • Everything is cloud-based, which makes it much easier to keep track of your files, keep them versioned, and work wherever you are. You don't need to keep an extra set of applications updated
  • Collaboration is much easier. Files in Drive (and the apps that access those files) can be shared easily and viewed and edited by multiple people in real-time
  • Much easier to keep track of files. No longer do you have to rely on emailing files back and forth, and worrying about whether everyone is looking at the same version of the file
  • Some apps have features that are missing from competing applications (Microsoft Office...). For example, the document applications lack a lot of the power-user features that Office apps have. But for 95% of the work you do it will suffice.
  • Some of the apps have weird limitations. For example, in Team Drive, you can't copy folders into it, only files. This makes it time-consuming to move files that were once in individuals' own Drives, and dumping them all into Team Drive, as you have to Manually create folders and put files into them, rather than just being able to copy a top-level folder into Team Drive. Features are consistently added over time, but some apps are missing features like this which would seem obvious to most users.
  • Getting buy-in from diehard Office fans can be hard. It's hard to convince some folks that they don’t want a local copy of every file they have on Drive (that's not synced, either), or to collaborate over docs online, or to be comfortable with the archiving functionality of Gmail (you don't have to worry about managing archive files) instead of managing GBs of Outlook archive files.
Read Garett Dunn's full review
August 08, 2018
Mike Madsen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • G Suite lets you manage your users in a robust and easy to understand fashion. Some of the tools they offer have a steeper learning curve but nothing that isn't easy to understand fairly quickly.
  • G Suite gives you fairly robust options when it comes to creating documents of all kinds. It doesn't have all the tools available in software like Microsoft suite but it's close. It is also much more universal in its capability than native Apple products.
  • G Suite allows a plethora of third party app integrations which come in handy, especially things like Draw.io and others. Very useful for creating flow charts and presentations.
  • G Suite does not always have the same functionality in it as things like Excel, however it is close. Anyone who is familiar with Excel should be able to use Google sheets with no trouble.
  • G Suite sometimes doesn't transfer things perfectly, like PDF's into document format. It could be a bit better.
  • Sometimes the differences in email addresses compared to aliases and groups wasn't as easy to comprehend when I first started using the program but things have gotten clearer over time.
Read Mike Madsen's full review

What is Google Workspace (formerly G Suite)?

Google Workspace (formerly G Suite) is a productivity suite for business that includes, Gmail, Docs, Drive, and Calendar for Business.
Categories:  Office Suites

Google Workspace (formerly G Suite) Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Business Starter$6per user/per month
Business Standard$12per user/per month
Business Plus$18per user/per month
EnterpriseContact sales team

Google Workspace (formerly G Suite) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No