Gradle Reviews

29 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 01, 2021
Sharique Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Gradle is] being used as the build tool of choice for micro services based architecture backend of the next generation cloud product suite. It enables dependency management by referencing to both public and private artifact repositories. Using the cache feature while compiling the codebase it has overall helped to reduce compile time and increase developer productivity
  • Build Cache - Enables quick build on dev machines
  • Supports multi project builds - enabling modular architecture
  • Customizable build tasks
  • Support for multiple JVM languages
  • Need for ample documentation for its Groovy DSL to write build configs
  • System File Encoding
  • Environment variable changes tracking
[Gradle is by far the best] and industry leading solution and apt successor for Ant and Maven
Read Sharique Khan's full review
March 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gradle is used as a build tool for the application codebase. Used for both compiling and packaging the artefacts for the projects.
Its a good alternative for the Maven build mechanism and dependency management. It aids the CI CD process by seamless dependency management and also developer friendly definition mechanism.
  • Compiling and Build process
  • Artefacts Packaging and publishing
  • IDE integration for seamless development
  • Logging can be improved
  • dependency management and its eco system
Good for using in Microservice based applications. Good for teams which have common developers for both development and DevOps. It can be used for internal artefacts repository also.
Community is good
Read this authenticated review
December 16, 2019
Mohit Goenka | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gradle is being used across the company for the development of Android applications. In the recent times, Gradle has become the standard of development and delivery of Android applications. It helps us in creating different flavors of the build with various parameters. This helps us release multiple versions to different sets of users.
  • Integration.
  • Delivery.
  • Technical expertise required.
  • No easy integration.
Gradle is very well suited when you have a basic application that needs to be released to the users. It is also suitable for cases where there may be fragmentation needed to support the release of multiple applications. It is not a tool much needed outside the development of Android applications.
Gradle has been an excellent tool for Android development. It has helped us create multiple versions of the app for different environments. It also takes care of all the packaging needs in the background without having to write all the code related to that. It is a no brainer to use Gradle with Android applications.
Read Mohit Goenka's full review
November 11, 2019
Cameron Gable | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gradle is the only build tool we use. The Software team uses it to build all of our Java applications. Before, we were using Ant build scripts, but have since completely migrated to Gradle. Gradle, along with Google's Cloud Build, allows us to quickly build our applications in the cloud using automated builds.
  • Quick build time for quick deployments!
  • Integration with IDEs provides ease of use!
  • The speed of builds can always be improved.
  • Needs work for more complex builds like web applications.
Gradle is perfectly suited for Java builds. It is very easy to make a template build file and use it across multiple applications. However, we have had some issues implementing Gradle with our web applications.
Gradle seems to be picking up steam, and because of that, there are many courses and discussions about it online. I was able to quickly learn because of its online presence.
Read Cameron Gable's full review
October 24, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Gradle as a build tool. We are using it across all the departments in our organization. We are using Gradle to build all our Java applications. We were using Maven before but seeing the advantages of using Gradle we recently migrated all our projects from Maven to Gradle.
  • We use it as a build tool.
  • We build Java applications using this tool.
  • We also use Gradle to test our apps.
  • It becomes a bit tricky when we use Gradle demon.
We can use Gradle in many ways, we can build our apps, test apps, and also for dependency management. Gradle manages cache in a very good way. We just need to add a plugin to build and test any Java projects. I don't recommend using Gradle for app deployments, data migrations, etc.
We haven't taken any support package, but it has very good support from the community especially from Stackoverflow. We basically go to the Stackoverflow for most of the issues. The documentation from the Gradle's website is really good. I don't even think we need to buy a support package for Gradle.
Read this authenticated review
May 14, 2019
David Tanner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gradle is being used to build the server service. We use it to compile Java, run tests, and some of the deployment work. The backend team uses the service, as well as the integration test project. Gradle allows us to share the build process between developers and the various build machines.
  • It allows us to share configurations between machines and developers
  • It makes builds reproducible
  • It allows us to tweak how our server gets bundled and deployed
  • Still under development, not as mature as Maven
  • Build files aren't as easy to follow because they are so loose
  • The community isn't as large as Maven
Gradle seems to be the new kid on the block, and provides better support for parallel tasks. Getting started can be very easy, but projects quickly need more control, or customization which Gradle has a hard time providing. The rapid changes to the tool also make it difficult for organizations that aren't actively developing in Gradle, and so the tool might be better suited to companies willing to spend the time on the build configuration.
Read David Tanner's full review
April 13, 2017
Dirce Richards | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization, Gradle is being used in conjunction with Jenkins, to support a model of Continuous Integration. It is being used across a distributed organization, encompassing three geographic locations. It addresses the business model of CI/CD. With Gradle we were able to automate the building of a complex backend application, supporting a variety of branches, daily builds, and distributed development teams.
  • Gradle's methods to manipulate files is very flexible. It minimizes the amount of code one has to write to copy, move, or expand zip or tar files.
  • Gradle uses Groovy, which is a Java like language. This allows for most computer engineers to come up to speed fairly quickly, for writing or maintaining gradle code.
  • Gradle also supports DSL (Domain Specific Language), which is based on Groovy. The DSL language allows engineers to automate build jobs that otherwise could be very cumbersome to maintain or modify.
  • The Gradle documentation is available online, and it is quite comprehensive. However, more real life examples could be useful.
Gradle is an ideal tool to build an application that is complex and/or distributed. It is well suited for builds that use a CI engine such as Jenkins or Bamboo, and a repository such as Artifactory.
Read Dirce Richards's full review
January 23, 2017
Gabriel Freire | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Gradle when developing Java applications in both professional and personal/academic projects. It is a great tool when building said applications with plug-ins and frameworks available in the community.
  • Cross-version compatibility testing
  • Inspection of build outcome and output
  • Build automatically when sources change
  • Continuous build detects changes that occur during build execution
  • Ease of use
  • Gradle's configuration isn't always intuitive
  • Changing a project from Maven to gradle sometimes proves to be a difficult task
I'd say Gradle is very well suited for Java projects that require managing lots of plug-ins and frameworks but I don't think it's well suited for project builds with other programming languages.
Read Gabriel Freire's full review
January 24, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Gradle to manage the build lifecycle of our applications. It's used by the IT department, we are currently using it with applications written in Java and Groovy as well.

  • It's highly customizable and easy to understand
  • It's quite simple to write an additional plugin if that's necessary
  • Provides support for Groovy and the latest versions also support Kotlin
  • The gradle wrapper is awesome because it allows to use Gradle without installing it
  • I'd like to see a way to specify how to run only certain tests in parallel, I tried this feature and for tests that involve interaction with SQL Databases sometimes I can't because of deadlocks.
  • Not sure if there is something else, gradle has been working really good for us and they are adding improvements all the time which is awesome. I used to think the performance is a deal but the latest versions are addressing this issue very well
I highly recommend Gradle to manage the build lifecycle of applications, we have been using it with Java and Groovy applications, mainly with spring-boot to build microservices oriented systems.

I don't recommend using it for Scala applications since SBT would be a better choice for it.
Read this authenticated review
March 29, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for all of our build management software, from testing, building, to deploys.
  • Portability
  • Ease of customization
  • Ease of readability
  • Better integration with IntelliJ. I have to hit refresh on Intellij Gradle tool window all the time.
  • Better speed.
[Gradle is well suited for] All Java, Kotlin, Scala language projects. Probably not suited for legacy maven projects.
Read this authenticated review

What is Gradle?

Gradle is an open source build system.
Categories:  Build Automation

Gradle Video

What is Gradle?

Gradle Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Gradle?

Gradle is an open source build system.

What is Gradle's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.8.

Who uses Gradle?

The most common users of Gradle are from Enterprises and the Computer Software industry.