Grasshopper Reviews

79 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 53)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 08, 2021
Diane Helbig | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Answers my business phone for me.
  • Provides the opportunity to have a welcome greeting, extensions.
  • Takes voicemail messages for me.
  • It would be nice to be able to see who is calling. Right now the call shows up as my Grasshopper number.
  • Better set up of number of rings before going to voicemail. Seems I struggle with setting up the phone to ring on my cell long enough to determine if I should answer it.
Read Diane Helbig's full review
April 07, 2021
Scott Banks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of management of utility
  • Ease of implementation
  • Appearance of professionalism to first-time callers
  • Tax exemption could be made easier
Read Scott Banks's full review
November 06, 2019
Sal Lettieri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Professional answering service
  • Great app and notifications
  • Easy to use and setup
  • Great customer support
  • Better call display
  • My name and sales are similar, so I sometimes get calls sent to the wrong extension.
Read Sal Lettieri's full review
September 27, 2019
David Renberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I like that there are differing voicemails for each extension, to keep up with the image of calling a separate line.
  • I love the voicemail text emails. I believe we pay a little extra, but worth every penny for those urgent calls while I am in a meeting.
  • The cost is very reasonable for the value added to our company.
  • I do not care for the distinction between department extensions (with 1-digit extensions) and employee extensions (3 digit extensions). We have 8 who use extensions, but there is not functionality to make each of them a 1 digit extension.
  • I would love to see a revolving extension. For example, we have "for the next available agent, please press 0". The system proceeds to call each of the assigned numbers in order. I would love for the order to automatically rotate that way the same person is not called first every time.
  • The app could be more use-friendly.
Read David Renberg's full review
September 19, 2019
Trisha Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Extremely user-friendly interface - even non-tech-savvy users can manage their user setup and call handling on their own.
  • Excellent customer support.....on the few occasions that I've need help the Grasshopper team has been quick, helpful, professional, and friendly.
  • Impressive voice talent for those who don't want to (or shouldn't!) creates their own greetings and messages.
  • It would be nice to have the ability to transfer some calls to another Grasshopper IVR, for those customers who mistakenly dial the wrong number (we have two incoming numbers, one for corporate and one for sales).
  • Likewise, it would be nice to have the ability to forward to a toll-free number, which would have allowed us to work around the inability to transfer between IVRs (see above).
  • Lastly, it would be great to have an 'emergency' switch setting (default off but could be toggled on) that would let us override all IVR settings and transfer all incoming calls elsewhere (either to a direct dial or toll free number) for those rare times when we cannot take any calls (such as a weather emergency OR the one time each year we take all of our staff on a retreat) - that would allow us to send all calls to a backup answering service rather than just voicemail.
Read Trisha Miller's full review
September 28, 2019
Sam Bean | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows you to keep a consistent phone number over time.
  • Allows instant contact between the customer and the business.
  • Easily replaces more cumbersome and expensive physical phone systems.
  • There is a bit of a learning curve in setting up systems, but that is not unusual for any system.
  • In years of experience, that's all I can come up with that poses any sort of problem!
Read Sam Bean's full review
September 28, 2019
steven rudd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows texting with clients
  • Protects personal cell phone numbers from being used by clients in off-hours
  • Allows for access to phone lines from any location
  • Initial setup can be very cumbersome
  • Adding voice messages is challenging if the system is not cooperating
  • Like to be able to customize the hours to incorporate a lunch message
Read steven rudd's full review
September 28, 2019
John La Belle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Works well with mobile phones.
  • Easily set up a virtual operator/answering service and forward to unlimited departments/phone numbers.
  • Inexpensive compared to traditional business landlines.
  • There's a bit of a longer delay in voice transmission times since the calls are being picked up by Grasshopper and forwarded to you. On a Cell phone, that increases the lag in the time it takes the signal to go back and forth.
  • Honestly, I can't think of anything else that Grasshopper doesn't do well since I've started using it.
Read John La Belle's full review
September 27, 2019
Naketa Thigpen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Extensions are easy to set up!
  • The voice to text is irreplaceable
  • Uploading replacement messages with a quick MP3 makes our life easier behind the admin curtain
  • It would be phenomenal if receiving and sending text messages was included in a flat fee package.
  • The option to pay quarterly or semi-annually would be ideal.
Read Naketa Thigpen's full review
September 26, 2019
James OToole | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Message boxes.
  • Call forwarding.
  • iPhone calling app.
  • Through the past 20 years, they have added many features based on suggestions. I cannot think of anything else I would want.
Read James OToole's full review
September 25, 2019
Bryan McAnulty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy routing to multiple phone numbers including mobile phones
  • Call screening and flexible extension directories
  • Ability to receive voicemails as emails with audio attachments
  • The web interface is outdated and could use a design update.
  • Voicemail transcription has an additional cost
Read Bryan McAnulty's full review
September 19, 2019
Dan Lea | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It works seamlessly once set up.
  • Between Grasshopper and my cellular carrier callers have multiple options for leaving voice messages on those rare occasions when I am not able to answer immediately.
  • Perhaps most important, Grasshopper costs 1/3 what our former landline carrier did.
  • Grasshopper does everything I need. No complaints here.
Read Dan Lea's full review
September 19, 2019
Rene Agredano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Offers a simple dashboard for scheduling live operator availability.
  • Intuitive interface for setting up account and recording hold messages.
  • Ease of use for non-technical users.
  • Conference calls require calling each participant, they can not call in to attend.
Read Rene Agredano's full review
September 19, 2019
AJ Brock | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We never miss a call.
  • Grasshopper is easy to set up and customer support is always there to help.
  • There are many options with Grasshopper, easy customization.
  • I have not encountered any problems at this time.
Read AJ Brock's full review
September 19, 2019
Guy Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Offers a good answering service.
  • Setting open hours.
  • Forwarding emails that coincide with voicemails.
  • I get two voicemails and two emails with every message and I'm not sure how to change that.
  • I wish I could set my number to our specific city. It comes up as a city an hour away and sometimes confuses people.
  • I'd like more extensions for less $.
Read Guy Smith's full review
September 11, 2019
Chris Donald | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy Setup, you can be up and running in 24 hours or less.
  • You get unlimited extensions, so growing your team doesn't cost an arm and a leg.
  • The Voicemail to email feature is great when you are on the go. You can even send voicemail messages to multiple people if needed.
  • The Voice to text (email) could be a bit more accurate, but sometimes it's because the person doesn't speak clearly or they have an accent and that can cause issues with the voice to text feature.
Read Chris Donald's full review
September 28, 2019
Kelly McGovern | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Calls are directed to individual salespeople or if that salesperson is not available we program the call to ring another so we don't lose a potential client.
  • Faxes come to us via a PDF in our emails.
  • Have an app so it is easier to change setup of voicemails or new numbers to direct to.
Read Kelly McGovern's full review
September 28, 2019
Jerry Lisman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quick easy change of the numbers our calls get routed to.
  • Super customer support and a ton of follow-up.
  • I would like to be able to have different greetings for different incoming numbers... i.e. sales, customer support, etc.
Read Jerry Lisman's full review
September 28, 2019
McKenzie Hambsch | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Notify me when someone has called or left a voicemail.
  • The connection is always good and usually never lose a call.
  • Affordable. Very affordable for what you get.
  • The only thing that I would change is having text be part of the service without costing more.
Read McKenzie Hambsch's full review
September 27, 2019
Brian Kidd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy setup
  • Multiple extensions with greetings per extension
  • Recorded calls if no one is able to answer
  • Sometimes the call gets forwarded to me and other times the app notifies that I have a voicemail waiting when I never received the call.
Read Brian Kidd's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Hosted PBX (22)
9.6
Multi-level Interactive Voice Response (IVR) (24)
9.2
User templates (19)
9.5
Call reports (32)
9.4
Directory of employee names (33)
9.3
Answering rules (45)
9.2
Call recording (21)
8.4
Call park (11)
8.8
Call screening (35)
9.3
Message alerts (41)
9.5
Video conferencing (3)
7.9
Audio conferencing (7)
7.7
Video screen sharing (3)
8.2
Instant messaging (8)
8.4
Mobile app for iOS (32)
9.4
Mobile app for Android (27)
8.5

What is Grasshopper?

Grasshopper is an IP telephony business communication solution that provides companies with a toll-free or local phone number. It has both desktop and mobile applications and includes features such as custom greeting recording, call forwarding, call transfer, call reporting, and voicemail.

Key Features
  • Desktop + Mobile Apps
  • Voicemail Transcription
  • Simultaneous Call Handling
  • Custom Greetings
  • Reporting
  • Business Texting
  • VoIP/Wifi-Calling
  • Virtual Fax
  • Incoming Call Control
  • Business Phone Number
  • Call Forwarding
  • Voicemail
  • Extensions
  • Call Transfer
  • Instant Response
Categories:  VoIP

Grasshopper Video

What is Grasshopper?

Grasshopper Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Solo$29per month
Partner$49per month
Small Business$89per month

Grasshopper Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No