Guru

Guru

Top Rated
Score 8.8 out of 10
Top Rated
Guru
Starting at $6 per month
View Pricing

Overview

What is Guru?

Guru is a knowledge management platform that integrates with Slack, as well as feeds product information into a company's sales enablement, customer support, and content marketing channels.
Read more

Recent Reviews

Add more features

4 out of 10
June 25, 2022
I use Guru to document processes for other employees' reference. By outlining the steps, employees find it easy to do things on their own …
Continue reading

User of Guru.

6 out of 10
March 22, 2022
We utilized Guru as our company's central resource for all key documents or helpful reminders. We pushed out new hire onboarding through …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Guru, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Starter

$6

Cloud
per user, per month

Builder

$12

Cloud
per user, per month

Expert

$24

Cloud
per user, per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.getguru.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $6 per month
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Guru?

Guru is a knowledge management platform that integrates with Slack, as well as feeds product information into a company's sales enablement, customer support, and content marketing channels.

Guru Integrations

Guru Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Guru starts at $6.

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.4.

The most common users of Guru are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

 (93)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 35)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
June 25, 2022

Add more features

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use Guru to document processes for other employees' reference. By outlining the steps, employees find it easy to do things on their own which saves time as opposed to always scheduling a meeting just to provide instructions on how to get things done. Also, Guru serves as a repository of information that might be relevant for later use.
  • Store data or information.
  • Create how to or steps outlined in numbers and/or bullets.
  • Link other cards or topics related to the current topic you are putting in Guru.
  • Guru should allow users a seamless copy and pasting of sheets from Google Drive.
  • Guru should add more characters to make documenting steps easier and more personalized.
  • Guru should improve or add characters in creating tables (or sheets).
  • Guru should have an option to save videos directly to it so there will no longer be a need to have a third-party video downloader/folder.
Guru is well suited in a work where someone else has to countercheck your output because it gives an option to add a verifier and a time frame when to verify cards added to it. Guru is not that appropriate in creating cards that contain a lot of tables or sheets, in my opinion.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Guru as our knowledge base as our "Single Source of Truth". It addresses the issue of having too much information in many different places -- Guru helps us bring knowledge from knowledge experts together into a single place.
  • Knowledge base
  • Keeping content fresh
  • Sharing content
  • Content organization
  • Search functionality
I propose Guru if you have a sales team and many different people searching for information across the board. It's especially helpful for teams that are growing quickly where there isn't a single source of truth.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Guru for internal department process documentation onboarding of new team members creating an internal knowledge base for internal users to search.
  • Easy to capture knowledge into digestible "cards"
  • Easy to search, from browser plugins, to Slack to native web site
  • Tag information easily for easy searching indexing
  • Metrics are not easily understood - salesperson made it sound like the metrics would be easier to use
  • Editor for formatting cards could be improved
The entire enterprise is now using the tool—easy startup/learning curve.
Jeniffer Carlos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I like how Guru has helped us manage the most FAQs with an easy to use knowledge base which ensures real-time access to information across our entire organization with improved customer support. Guru is an effective product that allows easy employee onboarding with excellent content management capabilities across all our channels. Easy to create and edit Guru card and it integrates easily with Slack and runs very well on Chrome extension, always available on the go.
  • Guru helps manage FAQs with effective knowledge base and real-time access.
  • Excellent content management capabilities.
  • On boarding new employees.
  • Sometimes it seems to be slow on performance but with improvement it will superb.
  • It requires administrative overhead to ensure cards are verified .
  • Data importation and exportation needs improvement.
Guru enables easy knowledge sharing across our organization and an effective knowledge base with easy access to required information hence improving customer support and cross-team collaboration capabilities. Guru is an insightful tool with quality information on our sales enablement and has excellent content management across all our channels. Effective on onboarding new employees and easily integrates with Slack and Chrome extension and provides an intuitive way to organize cards.
March 22, 2022

User of Guru.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We utilized Guru as our company's central resource for all key documents or helpful reminders. We pushed out new hire onboarding through Guru so new hires would have access to a single place for basic company knowledge and integrated it to streamline all internal communications (like all hands recording or important company announcements).
  • Single repository for company wide communication.
  • Easy search functions to quickly find necessary documents.
  • Would have liked to use it for audit documentation purposes (limited functionality in the regulatory space).
I wasn't involved in the purchase process, but unsure whether this is worth the extra cost (versus utilizing a cloud sharing site like box). We didn't have it integrated with our other tools like Slack and Microsoft Teams (only the tech team used Slack not commercial organization and we didn't use Teams as an organization), so I don't think we got the full product functionality which may skew this response.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Guru is a superb instrument for executives! It makes it very basic for my group to scatter data to our client base and for all time have that information base accessible whenever our clients need to get to it. We have recently managed applications that are difficult to look at. Guru is extremely natural and requires low exertion for our clients to rapidly find the exact thing they are searching for on a given subject. This gives our clients additional time back in their day to perform esteem-adding exercises. As an item group, we frequently get posed inquiries over and again. With Guru, we can add inquiries to the information base so clients can rapidly track down their responses as opposed to hanging tight for a reaction from us. It has saved us a ton of time, and our clients have been more fulfilled by and large!
  • When you open one topic, it will give suggestions on what to open next.
  • I can easily search for keywords pertaining to any topic
  • The ability to set cadences for verifying information over time is helpful to make sure that everything is up to date.
  • Cannot customize or make our folder or even notepad
  • It requires someone to maintain the knowledge base and keep it up to date frequently
We are taking care of the issue of client information. Also, fast client information at that. Our clients frequently need to go to different sources, channels, and individuals to respond to an inquiry. With Guru, our clients can track down their normal inquiries in a single spot.
Saptarshi Mukherjee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Guru cards are used for knowledge transfer and sharing in our organization. We have Guru cards for FAQs and common issues that we face. Guru cards are also used as an internal knowledge-sharing tool to encourage cross-team collaboration. The use of Guru helps us with a one-stop solution to issues and queries encountered in the past, so they can be handled with ease, which in turn saves time.
  • Guru cards are used for knowledge transfer and sharing in our organization.
  • Guru cards are also used as an internal knowledge-sharing tool to encourage cross-team collaboration.
  • The use of Guru helps us with a one-stop solution to issues and queries encountered in the past, so they can be handled with ease, which in turn saves time.
  • Guru is not always friendly for searches basis keywords or similar topics.
  • The interface is not user-friendly.
  • The Chrome extension has some bugs and is not always efficient.
We have Guru cards for FAQs and common issues that we face. Guru cards are also used as an internal knowledge-sharing tool to encourage cross-team collaboration. The use of Guru helps us with a one-stop solution to issues and queries encountered in the past, so they can be handled with ease, which in turn saves time.
March 15, 2022

Guru for you!

Alexis Culp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Guru helps to organize company information and be able to access it anywhere. It is a great software to manage workflow and to be able to give access to all employees. It helps with onboarding and streamlining internal communications so we do not have to use multiple forms of communication.
  • communication
  • organization
  • management
  • mobile formatting
  • price
  • updates during the night
Guru is well suited for a company that is managing multiple departments. The onboarding is easy to allow new staff to find all the company knowledge that they need. It is easier than hiring an admin role because Guru takes over all the paperwork. It works great for onboarding and paperwork management.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Guru for internal communication and tribal knowledge sharing. If there are new products or initiatives being rolled out we can access the parameters and guidelines without pinging the owner. I generally use Guru to find answers to questions on my own before looping in a stakeholder for 1:1 help.
  • Knowledge base.
  • Internal communication.
  • Help Center.
  • Massive library, can be hard to navigate.
  • Sunsetting of old workflows.
  • Kind of like Wikipedia, seems like anyone can add or edit.
Guru is well suited for large teams with ever-evolving products and initiatives. If there are new hires trying to ramp Guru is a great resource for learning and sharing tribal knowledge from and with colleagues. Guru is very helpful for self-sourcing answers to questions and for continuous learning within an organization.
Jon Walka | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Today Guru is being shared between our Sales, Onboarding, and Marketing Teams. It is an information pass and vault for pretty much anything from case studies to battle cards to pricing matrixes. It's helped our team share knowledge across these channels and not be left to look at one person to be able to answer questions. It is an excellent resource while on sales calls, working on projects, or when people are not available to answer questions. My favorite aspect is the ability to seamlessly pass information as well as the Slack integration to keep up to date with any new cards that are added. The accountability in the program to update cards is also great for keeping the information fresh.
  • Information sharing
  • Checks to make sure information is still relevant
  • The web interface can use some work with helpful information and more clickable items.
  • More accountability for unverified cards.
If you're using Google Drive, DropBox, or any file storage system to share information, you're missing out. Those systems are very clunky, and as much as they try to make accessing information easy, they fail tremendously short compared to Guru. For the most, Guru is great for quick hits that aren't pages long. The idea is to get the information fast without having to dive into folders upon folders of info to find out one snippet that is needed directly for a conversation.
The only time I've ever had to reach out to Guru, the response was fast, and the team was pleasant to work with answering my question, checking in if I needed further assistance.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Guru is utilized by all members of our company to store historic and verified information about all of our products, processes, procedures, and more. It's extremely helpful to find information easily and quickly and enables team members to be proactive about doing their own research before asking questions in public channels.
  • Stores information that is easily searchable.
  • Asks for verification of information to ensure knowledge does not become outdated/stale.
  • Chrome extension makes it super easy to find information as you need it.
  • Easy to lose track of verifying information on a regular basis.
  • Over-reliance on it as a way to announce important company updates can happen and is not a great way to share key information.
  • Can easily get to be too big to manage.
Guru is the perfect tool for when you need to document processes and updates that you know your team will need to reference on a regular basis. You can link to other documents and cards if there's additional information they will need, but you want to be careful not to use it as the one way you communicate information to your team members, as it can quickly get out of hand.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are currently using Guru for our Customer Support team and our Account Manager team. This helps with any information that needs to be easily referenced as we have a lot of "tribal knowledge" here. This addresses the problem of leadership receiving several repetitive questions every day from multiple individuals.
  • Easily accessible > you can use the extension in any browser you are in. This helps us as we live in Slack and Zendesk
  • Easy to read > The cards are easy for the agents to read through and click on videos
  • Easy to create cards > We can create a card from the extension, we do not have to log into the website to create a card.
  • Available on more browsers such as Firefox > we have agents who use Firefox and have issues using Guru
  • Being able to add a videos to cards that are not on a website > We have to upload all of our videos to YouTube before we can embed it to the Guru card
  • Being able to have groups on the free version > I know this is a business decision, but when we send knowledge alerts, we are sending to the whole team including CX & AMs
Guru is great for a reference tool. It works great for processes where you can describe in pictures and videos. This works well since everyone learns differently.

Guru is less appropriate as a learning management system -- we have a separate LMS. Guru is great for if you need a quick answer to a specific question.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Guru helps our team track training material and have a single hub to find battle cards and competitive learning. We can file everything we need in guru through cards and simply search bar what we are looking for to find content. I would recommend it to anyone in sales, marketing, operations, or HR and of course company-wide
  • Hub for resources
  • Team focused
  • Great as a company library
  • More search options
Well suited if you needed to provide a place for new colleagues or team members to be able to search and leverage as a training resource. Also if you need somewhere to store documentation and don't want a huge excel or doc out that has to be passed around and share with everyone
Christtian Pinto | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We started using Guru within a few departments here at Zoom and now it is being used across all departments. It allows us to quickly search for content as we write our emails (using the Google Chrome extension) and we can easily share the information with internal and external parties. On top of that, it is easy for us to distinguish between internal-only and external content.
  • Knowledge Triggers - Identify suggested knowledge articles based on what you are typing.
  • Differentiate internal-only from external articles, allowing you to efficiently and quickly decide what can be shared and what can not.
  • Speed - it can be quite slow some times when you search.
Guru is very well suited for knowledge search especially when you have a product with a big range of functionalities. It does allow you to quickly search for knowledge topics and get yourself up to speed, giving you confidence when talking and instructing customers, all of which I can do with a few clicks.
To this day, I have not had the need to engage Guru's support.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is currently being used across the whole organization, but in particular, it's the go-to resource for my department (the largest one in the company). It serves as a comprehensive knowledge base, and it's the first place that my colleagues and I look when seeking information ranging from clinical topics to HR/employee handbook details.
  • Clear, straightforward system to organize LOTS of information.
  • Information is easily accessible—searches always result in finding JUST what you need.
  • The interface could be slightly smoother.
Guru is fantastic when there's a need for a knowledge base or a repository of information, big or small. As a department of 1000+ remote employees, Guru is always the first stop for any employee who has a question. It houses employee information (HR, compliance information), as well as clinical knowledge & topics necessary for our day-to-day responsibilities.
Our Guru system administrators have been well equipped by the Guru team!
Matt Eaton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Guru was used across our whole organization as a repository for knowledge and processes. Recently, however, we've moved to replace Guru with Confluence. When we were using it, it helped with onboarding new employees and referencing things like a glossary.
  • Guru's search feature was very efficient and users are able to quickly find what they're looking for.
  • Guru also tracks when the last cards were updated and if the information is still current.
  • Guru has a clean and efficient presentation. Good design.
  • A table of contents or a way to see how different guru cards are structured.
  • Need a better way to export and import content to and from Guru.
  • Images were not easily copied from Guru cards to other formats.
Guru was very good for say posting a glossary with frequently used industry terms and definitions. However, Confluence proved to be a better tool for our company. This was especially true because it gave us the ability to have many different focused spaces.
I never actually required contacting the Guru support team. That could be because creating new Guru cards or editing existing ones was very intuitive. One issue I did have was that when it came time to export all of the content in Guru it was very difficult and cumbersome so I would recommend making that an easier, cleaner process.
November 07, 2019

Guru Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Guru is primarily used as a depository of information for our sales, marketing, and customer teams. It's not used across the entire organization. Having a central repository for sales and marketing allows our sales team to get the information they need quickly and in a manner that's easy for them to explain how our pricing or software works to prospects. Guru is also an internal resource to find information about our software for our customer-facing teams.
  • How it's organized by boards and cards, but also permits tagging.
  • Permissions can be set for different types of users.
  • It can be cumbersome in linking cards or boards.
  • This isn't necessarily an area of improvement for Guru, but the information on Guru is only as good as it's updated by set people in your organization.
I've had experiences with wiki-pages and Guru reminded me very much of that except it uses boards/cards rather than pages. I think this visually works well for sales teams as the information is presented quickly in front of them. During the time that I used Guru, we primarily had our software information and spec details for our customer-facing teams. We also tried to leverage Guru to hold internal onboarding information for new hires, but I felt that Guru fell short as a repository for onboarding activities and content. It can be done if you have it planned well, but I think if you have other things like Google Docs and their shared drives, you'd be fine without having Guru.
I never had to use Guru Support because I was not one of our main Guru administrators despite having admin access for my team. Nevertheless, I do recall our administrators needing to talk to Guru and they had a satisfactory experience. Implementation seemed pretty simple that we were onboarded on Guru fairly quickly.
Sam Asher | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We started using Guru in the department of customer support. We needed a way to get all of the technical bits of knowledge and workarounds out of the heads of our experts and onto paper so that newer team members could help customers without constantly shoulder-tapping the experts. This enabled experts to quickly send out complete, helpful responses to their coworkers in the form of Guru cards. Soon, other departments at Looker realized the value behind the knowledge base that we've built and begun requesting access to Guru as well.
  • It's easy to send other people cards via URL. This works well when your workflow is mostly browser-based like ours.
  • Excellent Slack integration. Cards can be searched, created, and posted from inside Slack. A recent update allows the card title to show up with the option to unfold if desired, which really helps with readability!
  • The API is user-friendly. We use it for exporting data to Looker to perform analytics.
  • The chat support is great. It usually takes them a few hours to respond, but their responses are always very helpful. I never feel like they are trying to brush me off or get through a queue; I feel that that is truly invested in my company's success and in improving their product.
  • There is no notion of "drafts" (yet). This can be difficult when you want to write something in Guru but you're not necessarily ready to share with the world yet.
  • There is no way to add default search filters. As an administrator of the tool, this means I have to choose between restricting the information that certain users may not need on a daily basis or allowing said information to dilute search results simply because it might be useful to them at some point.
  • My users occasionally complain of slow performance, and of losing in-progress cards entirely if their browser crashes.
Guru is great for allowing experts to quickly and easily get knowledge out of their heads to share with the rest of the team. It does, however, require significant administrative overhead to ensure that cards remain verified and that users can easily find the information they need.
Though they aren't fast (their chat says "typically replies in 3 hours" and that feels accurate), Guru support is comprehensive and helpful. I feel like they truly care about my company's success and about improving Guru. Our conversations have led to meetings with engineers and the product team when appropriate.
November 05, 2019

Simple and Complete

Torrey Vegter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use it on the software development team to document our development standards, ETL processes, our websites, and our production support procedures.
  • Sharp looking interface.
  • Keeps it simple as far the rich text editor which helps in creating a more standard look.
  • Easy intuitive ways to organize cards
  • Updates to Guru have caused some of our older cards to render improperly
Not great for presenting graphical documentation such as flow charts. Works very well for step by step instructions and lists.
I've never had to use support so I'm not familiar with it.
November 05, 2019

Former Guru User

Kelsey Ward | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We no longer use Guru, but it helped us to share information across our growing organization. We are a global organization and were growing quickly. It helped by reminding us to document and acting as a centralized location for information across the company. It was super easy to use as a Chrome extension and Slack integration.
  • Anyone can create or edit cards.
  • Review and Verification by different team members to ensure consistent and up to date information.
  • Ability to save screenshots and other formats in a clean and effective manner.
  • Not centralized or easily able to manage administratively.
  • Still needed somewhere else to save the documentation - i.e. Google Drive.
It depends on what you have to store and how many people you are looking to share the information between. Guru is better for smaller teams with less information. It would also be good to start with a specific format before just jumping in and saving things.
I never used Guru support.
October 30, 2019

Simple and convenient

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Guru company-wide as a single source "help desk" of sorts. Employees across departments refer to it for product or policy-related information.
  • Ease of use.
  • Ease of access - If you set up a shortcut all it takes is a couple of keyboard strokes to access the info you need.
  • User-interface.
  • Can't think of any cons at the moment!
I think Guru is well suited for any company with more than a couple of employees. It's been especially helpful for companies who have remote employees where having online informational resources is especially important.
October 30, 2019

Guru Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Guru is being used by all our entire revenue organization including marketing, sales, and customer success. Each team has its own collection and viewing permissions, so we can easily share or hide information when necessary. We synced our external KB to Guru so we have one source of truth to all of the info in our org.
  • Power to the people - many contributors.
  • Searching abilities.
  • Analytics.
  • New functionalities resolve their cons - ability to use one card in more than one board
Before Guru, we used a Google Docs that had over 150 pages as our playbook. We couldn't search well in it (as it must be accurate terms) so eventually we lost time and trust. Since Guru, we have one source of truth that we can trust and see when it was last verified.
Overall good support that responds quickly.
October 30, 2019

Every team needs a Guru!

Taylor Paschal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our primary use is to deliver information to our coaching team. Other departments of the company plan to use Guru in 2020.
  • Organization of resources. Resources can be placed in intuitive categories that are easy to search (as a user) and easy to modify (as an author).
  • Ensuring information is up to date and trustworthy. Guru holds the authors accountable by requiring someone to verify the information.
  • Makes resources accessible. The web app, browser extension, Slack integration, and public cards make the knowledge accessible across platforms so our employees do not have to leave their workflow to find the answers to their questions!
  • Some features of the administrator role could be more autonomous.
  • The ability to set permissions is the best in the business, but I'd love to see it expand even further!
Guru has become an integral tool for our coaching team. We have such a wide variety of resources in Guru that it supports our coaches and leaders, alike.
Our customer support representative, Jamey, provides substantial support. We meet frequently and she provides the resources I need to further support the growth and improvement of our use of Guru.
Brett Eskelson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Guru is used by everyone in all departments across the organization. Every department use case is a bit different but this is our company communication record and any questions asked to any department where someone else may need that information is asked and shared on Guru.
  • Simple to use.
  • Fast.
  • Chrome extension rocks.
  • Easy to implement.
  • Our team members love it.
  • AI could use improvements.
Guru is a game-changer for every employee in every department. Everyone has questions that arise during the day and asking those questions takes others away from their job and out of their flow. When every question has an answer in Guru it increases productivity.
Their support was always very quick and they provided solutions.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our marketing team uses it to store content to support our sales organization.
  • Easy to search
  • Can hold a ton of information
  • Clean UX
  • Sometimes hard to sort through things
  • Expensive
  • Not enough support
It's best to enable sales orgs with tons of content and sales examples.
It was average support.
Return to navigation