Terraform Reviews

63 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-22 of 22)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 27, 2021
Fraser Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The IT team use Terraform to deploy & manage our AWS infrastructure as code.
The main reason for using Terraform is to allow us to reliably deploy AWS infrastructure and have change control/management over changes made to any infrastructure. It gives us the ability to roll out new AWS accounts very easily and quickly, using Terraform with a code repository also provides pipelining/PR approval etc.
Read Fraser Clark's full review
February 15, 2021
Ben Carter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Terraform to deploy our infrastructure into AWS at an enterprise level. We support more than 700 developers across different brands and businesses with a small team. That means we had to establish a baseline standard for how we work, and then provide a common language and the tooling teams at the edge necessary to meet the needs of the individual brands (but without the unnecessary overhead expenses and production logjams).
Read Ben Carter's full review
February 12, 2021
Jude Allred | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Terraform is used to manage the vast majority of our cloud infrastructure. We happen to primarily use AWS, however we are mindful that some components of our system may need to move to other cloud providers in the future, so the cross-platform abilities of Terraform are of particular relevance to us.
More than anything else, Terraform is the tool that we use to realize the "infrastructure as code" ideal throughout our organization.
Read Jude Allred's full review
February 12, 2021
Abdullah Khawer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Terraform is being used here for the infrastructure provisioning. Whenever we want to create any new resource on our AWS cloud or update an existing one by providing different variables, we use Terraform to do so. The whole organization uses it for the same purpose. It makes it easier for us to provision infrastructure by having that infrastructure as a code using Terraform.
Read Abdullah Khawer's full review
February 20, 2021
Kulbhushan Mayer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Good tool that will help me to manage multiple Infra platforms from one tool for quick automation and provisions. I am currently using it for AWS, Azure, Kubernetes, Rancher, Gitlab, MySQL, SQL Server, and few more tools.
Read Kulbhushan Mayer's full review
February 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization is migrating our infrastructure to Terraform, to great effect. Starting around the time we implemented Kubernetes, we began to build new infrastructure using Terraform. This provided us with confidence on our ability to recreate our infrastructure and allowed us to iterate quickly, changing and improving things with confidence that we wouldn't be losing changes that were made. In addition to increasing our confidence in our ability to recreate and modify our infrastructure safely, it also has had a great benefit on our ability to implement security changes, providing a history and source of truth to the policy and security decisions we make.
Read this authenticated review
March 31, 2020
Michael Jenkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Terraform is my team's primary Infrastructure as Code (IaC) application. And while it's not a mandated requirement, it's almost expected that all teams in my organization use Terraform as they build out cloud resources. Using Terraform, we can produce code that can be shared across teams, build common knowledge on best practices for cloud architectures, and build cloud resources quickly.
Read Michael Jenkins's full review
December 17, 2019
Ronak Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our AWS environment is defined through Terraform configuration scripts for the entire engineering organization. We manage our AWS environment using Terraform configuration files stored in our GitHub. We format the configuration files, run the plan command to review changes (additions, drops, and changes) when compared to production and then apply the changes if everything looks good!
Read Ronak Shah's full review
January 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We in the software engineering department use Terraform management of AWS and Datadog. Terraform allows us to store and set up host configuration, load balancers, Datadog monitors all as code that can be checked into version control. Terraform neatly abstracts away the details of AWS and Datadog and exposes a simple API, so it makes it possible for every single team, even those without much infrastructure experience, to help maintain the infrastructure. It is also a key component in our deployment process.
Read this authenticated review
September 18, 2019
Jeffrey Severance | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Terraform for the creation and management of infrastructure in AWS and VMware. This tool allows users from our application teams to self manage infrastructure as code in their projects. Terraform also does not require our users to learn the of each specific provider. It provide us one uniform way to accomplish infrastructure changes This uniformity allows us to train our technical staff on one common platform. It improves consistency and repeatability because it is an automation engine.
Read Jeffrey Severance's full review
August 19, 2019
Erlon Sousa Pinheiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Terraform to manage our entire environment as a code. We're controlling it with VCS (in our case, Github) and performing a good automation process with Puppet and Jenkins. Terraform helps us to achieve that in a quite organized way, structured and reliable. Furthermore, we now have versioning of our environment allowing us to have more control about how things change, how that was performed, and in the case of a mistake, it is quite easy to rollback.
Read Erlon Sousa Pinheiro's full review
May 16, 2019
David Tanner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Terraform is being used as infrastructure as code solution. We deploy it to all of our environments as part of the code that is deployed. This allows the developers to own the infrastructure, and changes can be made to our servers quickly and reproducibly. Since Terraform is an open source tool, we also get community support and don't need to maintain it ourselves.
Read David Tanner's full review
August 08, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Terraform is currently being used to provision our resources in the cloud. This is by far the best way to achieve full automation when migrating to the cloud and is great a working with AWS.
Read this authenticated review
January 30, 2019
Dhruba Jyoti Nag | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Terraform is used to automate resource deployment in AWS using scripts. It is used by entire IT to deploy systems in AWS. The automation has saved hundreds of thousands of dollars in time and money. Since there is no manual deployment, there are no errors during deployments and developers can deploy in production since everything is defined in scripts.
Read Dhruba Jyoti Nag's full review
December 18, 2018
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Terraform is the cloud configuration management tool that is used to bring SaaS product configurations into text (and version control). By bringing the configurations into text and version control, stricter change management and review procedures can be used. Terraform has a large number of providers (services that Terraform can connect with), including AWS, GCP, Microsoft Azure, etc.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
August 15, 2017
Murugan Mani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's a great IaC to develop your private/public cloud environment. It almost covers major devops tools and other provisioners which help to plan the complete pipeline in one framework. It's lightweight and easy to start the basic blocks and integrate. Features like backend and iterations are great options to maximize the scale of infrastructure.
Read Murugan Mani's full review
January 16, 2017
Charles Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using Terraform in some early development projects and looking at it as a possible replacement for Amazon Cloud Formation. So far, this is experimental and not production. We are provisioning virtual infrastructure in AWS - i.e., we are not using any of the cross-provider facilities. That said, avoiding vendor lock-in is an appealing benefit of Terraform.
Read Charles Anderson's full review
April 26, 2017
Aiman Najjar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Terraform for our clients to implement Infrastructure as Code. Our clients are typically seeking our services to get up to speed on DevOps strategies and culture. We almost always recommend Terraform for cloud infrastructure orchestration especially since Terraform supports various cloud providers and has rich constructs for modularity and reusability.
Read Aiman Najjar's full review
April 14, 2017
Kyle Rockman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The entire Under Armour Connected Fitness business unit leverages terraform to treat our infrastructure as code - with a UI wrapped on top of it to give federated access to all our developers.
Read Kyle Rockman's full review
February 15, 2017
Deepshikha Gandhi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Terraform is being used by our DevOps team to manage mainly our AWS infrastructure as code. It enables us to collaborate, automate and share pieces of our cloud infrastructure amongst and across teams. Terraform enables us to maintain reproducible, shareable and version-controlled infrastructure and deployments as compared to the older methodology of owning and configuring machines by hand.
Read Deepshikha Gandhi's full review
December 15, 2016
SHASHIDHAR REDDY MALLEPALLY | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently we are using terraform in our department. We are using to implement AWS stack creation with Terraform. It's easy to use compared to CFT. We are developing infrastructure with Terraform and currently deploying into AWS. In future if we want to use a different cloud it's easy to reuse this.
Read SHASHIDHAR REDDY MALLEPALLY's full review
April 12, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Terraform is used by our monitoring team and I used Terraform to architect it to connect to OpenStack and spin up VMs for monitoring. The monitoring team uses it for installing/configuring monitoring software. Again Terraform's script has everything to stage the VM, connect to Chef and install/configure all the required software. Terraform addresses our on-demand provisioning issue, which in turn helps in IT flexibility to cope with business demands.
Read this authenticated review

What is Terraform?

Terraform from HashiCorp is a cloud infrastructure automation tool that enables users to create, change, and improve production infrastructure, and it allows infrastructure to be expressed as code. It codifies APIs into declarative configuration files that can be shared amongst team members, treated as code, edited, reviewed, and versioned. It is available Open Source, and via Cloud and Self-Hosted editions.

Terraform Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$0per month
Team & Governance$20per user/per month
BusinessContact sales team

Terraform Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Terraform?

Terraform from HashiCorp is a cloud infrastructure automation tool that enables users to create, change, and improve production infrastructure, and it allows infrastructure to be expressed as code. It codifies APIs into declarative configuration files that can be shared amongst team members, treated as code, edited, reviewed, and versioned. It is available Open Source, and via Cloud and Self-Hosted editions.

What is Terraform's best feature?

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Terraform?

The most common users of Terraform are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.