HCSS Reviews

103 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 26)

Dan Watkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

The Cadillac Software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We did not try any other software. In discussions with employees that have worked with other companies, they said to go with the Cadillac of softwares from the get-go, and that's what we decided to do. We wouldn't have it any other way now that we have used HCSS.
Read Dan Watkins's full review
Doyle Potts | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2018

HCSS review from a long time user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We researched other software companies but none provided the depth of support and knowledge that HCSS brought to the table. HCSS is also always growing and listening to its customers. Customer support seems to remain the backbone of the company that is always striving to grow with the industry.
Read Doyle Potts's full review
Michael Daughters | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2017

HeavyBid for Industrial Estimating

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Other estimating products I have used consist of ICE/MC2 and MS Excel. ICE was not a good fit for our company, as they have awful technical support and offer very poor training. MS Excel is great for simple estimates where there is not a lot of data being compiled. However neither hold a candle to the power of HCSS Heavybid.
Read Michael Daughters's full review
Dave Luytjes | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

Heavybid Review from a Long time User.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • spreadsheets
Occasionally I have come across an individual you is a spreadsheet user for estimating. and has not used heavybid. Usually after a little bit of orientation the individual can readily see the increased efficiency and the potential for less errors. I have also talked to estimators that have used other software products and most prefer heavybid.
Read Dave Luytjes's full review
Heather Gunzelmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 01, 2017

You won't be disappointed with HCSS!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've looked at a couple different software systems, both at this company and others, and nothing has compared to Heavy Bid and Heavy Job. The versatility and functions of both are truly amazing and have helped us in many ways. Other systems just don't compare.
Read Heather Gunzelmann's full review
Jim Murray | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2017

Best on the Market

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I worked for Kiewit for 26 years and they wrote their own program which is similar to HCSS, but their operations program was better than HCSS.
Read Jim Murray's full review
Jack Fink | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2017

Too much

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

None. Outside of Excel spreadsheets Heavy Bid is the only estimating program I have used.
Read Jack Fink's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2018

Behind the scenes review.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I don't have any other to compare to, as my previous company we built a software system from the ground up that did all of these functions already.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2017

HCSS Suite

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Viewpoint Field, Viewpoint Teams, Microsoft FLow, SSRS, TMW, FiveCubits and MS SharePoint / SQL
In general, HCSS has allowed us to grow to a point with technology as a company where we're now confident in pursuing more advanced technologies to help in other back office areas. We have also been able to grow our IT support team to open new doors for us that didn't exist when we first started with HCSS over 10 years ago. They're great for businesses looking for automation of manual, paper based tasks and are affordably scalable as well. For companies with little IT support or skills, HCSS is hard to beat. HeavyBid is one system we will likely stay with for a long time to come. We are exploring additional options that will improve field collaboration that provide more flexibility and better integrate through workflow with our office systems. We are also searching for two-way mobile field data gathering that will provide project activity feedback overall to a foreman in the field. Viewpoint has some great products but we are also looking at possibly building some apps ourselves. No decisions made just yet. The biggest difference between Viewpoint's Field and Team products is that they work with any tablet operating system and have two-way data sharing in addition to future integration with our Spectrum Accounting system (now a Viewpoint product). We are also looking at using SharePoint through Office 365 for collaboration and document sharing across all platforms. All items we consider "next steps" in our technology road map.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Plan distribution & viewing (9)
6.8
Plan markups & sharing (6)
6.0
Issue tracking & punchlists (13)
8.8
Photo documentation (25)
9.8
Jobsite reports (29)
9.4
Document sharing (17)
7.1
RFI tools (1)
3
Collaboration & approvals (18)
9.2
Mobile app (27)
9.8

About HCSS

HCSS is a construction software suite for estimating, operations, project management, safety, and equipment management used by the top contractors in transportation, oil & gas, power, industrial, telecom, and water/wastewater. Contractors use the software suite to win profitable work, keep projects on track and on budget, manage key assets, and then they integrate that information directly into their accounting system.

Suite components include:
  • HeavyBid (estimating)
  • HeavyJob (time cards, job costing, project management)
  • HCSS Safety
  • HCSS Plans
  • Equipment360
  • HCSS Telematics
  • HCSS Dispatcher
  • FuelerPlus
  • HCSS eLogs
  • HCSS Cloud
  • HCSS Skills
  • HCSS Forms

Categories:  Construction

HCSS Features

Construction Project & Field Management Features
Has featurePlan distribution & viewing
Has featurePlan markups & sharing
Has featureDocument sharing
Has featureIssue tracking & punchlists
Has featurePhoto documentation
Has featureJobsite reports
Does not have featureRFI tools
Has featureCollaboration & approvals
Does not have featureAs-built drawings
Has featureMobile app
Does not have featureSubmittal design and management
Does not have featureChecklists
Does not have featureMeeting Minutes
Does not have featureSpecifications
Does not have featureChange orders
Estimating Features
Does not have featureTakeoff tools
Does not have featureJob costing
Does not have featureCost databases
Does not have featureCost calculator
Does not have featureBid creation
Human Resource Management Features
Does not have featureEmployee demographic data
Does not have featureEmployment history
Does not have featureJob profiles and administration
Does not have featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Does not have featureBenefits information
Does not have featureOrganizational charting
Does not have featureOrganization and location management
Does not have featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Does not have featurePay calculation
Does not have featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Does not have featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Does not have featurePayroll history for each employee
Does not have featureBenefit plan administration
Does not have featureDirect deposit files
Does not have featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Does not have featureSalary revision and increment management
Does not have featureReimbursement management
Does not have featureStatutory form management
Asset Management Features
Does not have featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Does not have featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureDashboards
Does not have featureStandard reports
Does not have featureCustom reports
Does not have featureData exportability
Additional Features
Has featureEstimating and bidding
Has featureInvitation to bid
Has featureQuote management
Has featureTimecards
Has featureDaily diaries
Has featureProduction quantities
Has featureT&M Reporting
Has featureEquipment Maintenance
Has featureEquipment Work Orders
Has featureAlerts & Notifications

HCSS Screenshots

HCSS Integrations

Microsoft Project, Vista by Viewpoint, Primavera P3, P6 Project Management, RSMeans

HCSS Competitors

ViewPoint ProContractor, InEight, B2W Software, Microsoft Excel, Predictive Solutions

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

HCSS Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
55%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
15%

HCSS Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

HCSS Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:United States, Canada