HCSS Reviews

103 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 32)

J. Mickey Merguerian | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

A Leader in the Construction World

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

8
I can not speak for other data systems, but I know with JDE it works wonders. It allows the user to update the cost codes and have the field see them almost instantly. I can't think of a better system for implementation if you're a GC or a subcontractor looking to dig into the numbers with accuracy.
Read J. Mickey Merguerian's full review
Olaf Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

From a Paper Notepad to a Sofeware Program, what an upgrade.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

9
My company is 1/5th of the WALBEC GROUP. Prior to my company getting and using Dispatcher it had previously been used in one of our other companies. With that being said a lot of the struggles that would have been felt during implementation had already been worked through 2 years earlier. I did however have to device some work a rounds for the speed at which things move and or change with our operation compared to how dispatcher is truly meant to be used.
Read Olaf Johnson's full review
Mike DeRousse | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

Spot on estimating and Field Management software!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

10
You will get tired of HCSS calling you back to make sure you are fully trained! I don't say that in a bad way only to help others understand their resolve in properly training you to operate their software. They are very proactive during training and implementation and follow up once you are operating.
Read Mike DeRousse's full review
Doyle Potts | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2018

HCSS review from a long time user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

10

I have been fortunate to go to their home office for a program kickoff and to have them visit our offices. Both are incredible experiences.Going to the HCSS home office is simply fun and exciting. Everyone there is excited about their job and their opportunity to share some knowledge and experience. You have to be excited about your future purchase if you go there to do a kickoff with these people.

Having a software professional come to your office is just simply comfortable. You feel at ease with your environment and they come into your place of work and make it feel like they have been there every day with you. They quickly get a feel for how you do things and help adjust your way with the HCSS software to make it seem seamless. You can run with their software at the end of the experience like you have had it in place for months or years.

Read Doyle Potts's full review
Julia Salgueiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2017

Now Trending... Make the software work for you, don't you work for the software!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

1

I was not employed with PPI upon implementation.


I would prefer to reference my previous statement, that each company needs to evaluate its culture and address your implementation accordingly. The purchasing company should assign an employee as point person and really take charge of not just the technical side of the implementation (HCSS pretty much handles that), but focus on company culture and training.

Read Julia Salgueiro's full review
Michael Daughters | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2017

HeavyBid for Industrial Estimating

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

10
I was directly involved in the implementation of the HCSS cloud software package. The HCSS team migrated all of our data to their cloud server and we were up and running in a matter of a few hours, with no hiccups or issues whatsoever. The whole process was completely seamless.
Read Michael Daughters's full review
Dennis Daikoku | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2018

Good equipment cost program, but needs better initial setup.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

5
I believe impementaon was ok, like I said earlier that more insight of how the program works [is needed]. Like when setting up equipment type is important to the PM schedule, fuel type is tide to the gas boy import and setting up the hour meter/odometer 9for PM alert) Just to name a few.
Read Dennis Daikoku's full review
Joseph McElwee | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2017

HCSS Software = Successful Construction Management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

8
It is a good idea to phase the implementation of HCSS over the course of a few weeks rather than trying to get all your personnel set up at the same time. When we switched to Heavy Job Mobile and started using HCSS Safety, we had about 25% of our company start. After a week, we had another 25% join in. The implementation was phased in over a 4 week period and that worked well for us.
Read Joseph McElwee's full review
Dave Socci | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

HCSS product review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

9
It has been a long time since implementation occurred, so I have little to offer here. For any new users, I would strongly recommend spending time in training with one of the HCSS trainers and also obtain guidance on how to best structure the various databases.
Read Dave Socci's full review
Heather Gunzelmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 01, 2017

You won't be disappointed with HCSS!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

7
The implementation team is not given enough time to work with their clients. There should be a follow-up visit, included in the price, after the initial implementation. We had various issues and paid to have the implementer come back to help and then we went to a user group and got the rest resolved. We implemented in April of 2015 but didn't get all the value out of Heavy Job and Heavy Bid until we came back from a user group in January of 2016. We had so many issues between Heavy Job and Timberline, issues between what the salesperson told us would happen versus what the system did, and a lot of prep and follow-up that just isn't enough to really get the programs going.
Read Heather Gunzelmann's full review
Matt Snow | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2017

The HCSS Effect

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

8
Implementation has gone well, but has had its fair share of a learning curve for many people involved. Some are due to old habits and some are due to the fact of doing something new. The implementation is a full company effort that everyone has to buy into.
Read Matt Snow's full review
Michael Trotta | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2017

Long time satisfied user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

9
Posillico has failed with implementation of many software products. We have failed with HCSS Safety and Dispatch. We need help in making sure the system works for our company and the people who use it.
Read Michael Trotta's full review
Linda Pawlak | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2017

HCSS -- A great business partner!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

9
HCSS is well prepared to provide scalable implementation services....from "train the trainer" through to full service implementation services.
Read Linda Pawlak's full review
Randy Gambrill | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2017

HCSS, YES, YES, YES

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

10
During the Heavy Job implementation process, we needed HCSS to create a special report to be used with our unit based contracts. They understood exactly what we needed and it worked out well. When everyone was going through the process, the implementer was very thorough and everyone understood the whole process. When it was finished, they had a good understanding of how everything worked.
Read Randy Gambrill's full review
Danny Stoppenhagen | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2017

Satisfied Customer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

9
The trainer when we implemented HeavyBid (Hugh McCullough) was very good at what he does and made it very easy for us to get up and running. When we implemented HeavyJob, Dan Lisbony was our trainer, and likewise did a great job working with superintendents, project managers, payroll, and accounting to get everything up and running.
Read Danny Stoppenhagen's full review
Jack Fink | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2017

Too much

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Implementation Rating

8
Convince your IT Department to give up management of the software and go to the cloud and let HCSS handle it all for you, especially if you can't convince your IT department to work closely with HCSS on updates, etc.
Read Jack Fink's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Plan distribution & viewing (9)
6.8
Plan markups & sharing (6)
6.0
Issue tracking & punchlists (13)
8.8
Photo documentation (25)
9.8
Jobsite reports (29)
9.4
Document sharing (17)
7.1
RFI tools (1)
3
Collaboration & approvals (18)
9.2
Mobile app (27)
9.8

About HCSS

HCSS is a construction software suite for estimating, operations, project management, safety, and equipment management used by the top contractors in transportation, oil & gas, power, industrial, telecom, and water/wastewater. Contractors use the software suite to win profitable work, keep projects on track and on budget, manage key assets, and then they integrate that information directly into their accounting system.

Suite components include:
  • HeavyBid (estimating)
  • HeavyJob (time cards, job costing, project management)
  • HCSS Safety
  • HCSS Plans
  • Equipment360
  • HCSS Telematics
  • HCSS Dispatcher
  • FuelerPlus
  • HCSS eLogs
  • HCSS Cloud
  • HCSS Skills
  • HCSS Forms

Categories:  Construction

HCSS Features

Construction Project & Field Management Features
Has featurePlan distribution & viewing
Has featurePlan markups & sharing
Has featureDocument sharing
Has featureIssue tracking & punchlists
Has featurePhoto documentation
Has featureJobsite reports
Does not have featureRFI tools
Has featureCollaboration & approvals
Does not have featureAs-built drawings
Has featureMobile app
Does not have featureSubmittal design and management
Does not have featureChecklists
Does not have featureMeeting Minutes
Does not have featureSpecifications
Does not have featureChange orders
Estimating Features
Does not have featureTakeoff tools
Does not have featureJob costing
Does not have featureCost databases
Does not have featureCost calculator
Does not have featureBid creation
Human Resource Management Features
Does not have featureEmployee demographic data
Does not have featureEmployment history
Does not have featureJob profiles and administration
Does not have featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Does not have featureBenefits information
Does not have featureOrganizational charting
Does not have featureOrganization and location management
Does not have featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Does not have featurePay calculation
Does not have featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Does not have featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Does not have featurePayroll history for each employee
Does not have featureBenefit plan administration
Does not have featureDirect deposit files
Does not have featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Does not have featureSalary revision and increment management
Does not have featureReimbursement management
Does not have featureStatutory form management
Asset Management Features
Does not have featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Does not have featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureDashboards
Does not have featureStandard reports
Does not have featureCustom reports
Does not have featureData exportability
Additional Features
Has featureEstimating and bidding
Has featureInvitation to bid
Has featureQuote management
Has featureTimecards
Has featureDaily diaries
Has featureProduction quantities
Has featureT&M Reporting
Has featureEquipment Maintenance
Has featureEquipment Work Orders
Has featureAlerts & Notifications

HCSS Screenshots

HCSS Integrations

Microsoft Project, Vista by Viewpoint, Primavera P3, P6 Project Management, RSMeans

HCSS Competitors

ViewPoint ProContractor, InEight, B2W Software, Microsoft Excel, Predictive Solutions

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

HCSS Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
55%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
15%

HCSS Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

HCSS Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:United States, Canada