HCSS Reviews

103 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 37)

J. Mickey Merguerian | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

A Leader in the Construction World

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

HCSS is used by various departments. Mostly in the field for timecards, cost controls, and engineering/bidding.

Timecards are kept in HeavyJob, which correlates and feeds info into JDE. The field uses these applications which are then analyzed and approved by cost controls.

HeavyBid is used by our engineering/bidding department. All major bids use this HeavyBid and we find it to be an extraordinary program. Allows us to compile a lot of historic data to be used in current bids. Truly a blessing.
Read J. Mickey Merguerian's full review
Dan Watkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

The Cadillac Software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

HCSS is being used in our Earthwork/Utility division as our bidding and project management software. Heavybid allows for consistent bidding while allowing us to pull bids together quickly. Heavyjob is being used for electronic time cards, quantity tracking, and labor/equipment tracking.
Read Dan Watkins's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2020

HCSS... a rockstar in the field!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

HCSS is mainly used by our production/operations department with HCSS Heavy Job and HCSS Dispatcher and our estimating department with Heavy Bid. It is a great tool in the field for capturing progress quantities and daily time cards. It has been extremely easy to use in the field which has, in turn, made it very easy to adopt by many as it takes little effort to master.
Read this authenticated review
Olaf Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

From a Paper Notepad to a Sofeware Program, what an upgrade.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

HCSS products are being used at almost every level of our company. Project managers are using Heavy Bid. Foreman are using Heavy Job to report time and quantities. The Scheduling group is using Dispatcher to schedule and move equipment, Heavy Job to follow up on production and quantities on certain projects and GPS on all rolling stock. The repair shop is using Equipment 360. Dispatcher is a tool I would no longer want to be without. The advantages it gives me from an organizational stand point are tremendous. I can quickly see where are of my equipment is or has been, what resources I have available and where they are located.
Read Olaf Johnson's full review
Mike DeRousse | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

Spot on estimating and Field Management software!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

HCSS is being used across most of our organization. It starts with estimating projects, continues thru project management. The software is extremely versatile and powerful and HCSS is always continuously strengthening their products. HCSS helps us to be extremely competitive in our field and allows us to keep track of our costs in the field as well as managing our resources that are needed throughout our project locations.
Read Mike DeRousse's full review
James Duncan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2018

HCSS is great

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

HCSS programs are used across the board in our company. Our field guys use HCSS Mobile and Safety for their time cards. Our mechanics and drivers use Equipment 360 and eLogs. All our time cards are directly exported into a file for ease of import in accounting. We use Telematics and OEMLink to track equipment usage and location.
Read James Duncan's full review
Doyle Potts | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2018

HCSS review from a long time user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are daily and hourly users of HCSS products. Every facet of our business runs with and through HCSS products. We use Heavy Bid and Heavy Job to begin planning on jobs and to assist our payroll, we use Heavy Bid and dispatcher to track material and equipment through the progress of jobs. We use telematics to assist managers in controlling units and tracking their use. We use Safety on daily basis to track all of our daily huddles to weekly training and site inspections.
Read Doyle Potts's full review
Julia Salgueiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2017

Now Trending... Make the software work for you, don't you work for the software!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using HCSS across multiple departments in our organization.

We initially purchased the HCSS software (HeavyJob, HeavyBid, and Dispatcher) to focus on resource management and project cost. The programs have their upsides and downsides. Basic functions of dispatched crews, field-generated time cards, to time card review/approval and minimized keystrokes for reduced errors in the payroll department are great. The hardest part, is getting full use of the program to be earning a ROI that the HCSS salespeople sell companies on.

As with most technology, the purchase is not the solution, and the new business problem created by purchasing HCSS, was that people were only using it for time cards (which makes for one expensive time card program). Prior to purchasing HCSS (or any technology for that matter), a company needs to take a long hard look at the company culture and establish a good implementation plan to ensure that your company utilizes HCSS to it's fullest potential. After all, you are paying for the fancy modules even if you are not using them. Commit to continual improvements and a training program.

HCSS is FANTASTIC at collecting and implementing customer feedback; they want to build a product that we heavy civil contractors want to use.

Read Julia Salgueiro's full review
Michael Daughters | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2017

HeavyBid for Industrial Estimating

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

HCSS Heavybid is being used as our estimating software. We use it to manage every proposal and estimate that is produced by Haskell. It is specifically used in our estimating department. The field uses HeavyJob to track and earn progress on projects as they work and progress through the jobs. HeavyBid interfaces with our accounting software, allowing us to dump a code of accounts to actual pay items and bill accordingly.
Read Michael Daughters's full review
Dennis Daikoku | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2018

Good equipment cost program, but needs better initial setup.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

E360/Fueler Plus is mostly used by the equipment department. We now are using the mobile app that operators can notify my shop foreman about issues on the equipment he is running. It addresses scheduled PM service alerts and tracks all repairs and costs to each equipment. This is all done electronically now rather than paper and file folders.
Read Dennis Daikoku's full review
Joseph McElwee | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2017

HCSS Software = Successful Construction Management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At Anchor Construction, we use HCSS products for bidding, managing, and promoting safety for all of our projects. Our Estimators use Heavy Bid to price all possible projects. Heavy Bid makes it easier to get accurate cost projections and help us win competitive bids. Foremen use Heavy Job Mobile out in the field to track their labor and equipment hours, as well as their daily production. Our Safety Department used the HCSS Safety Application to help with inspections out in the field. Safety Observations are recorded while the work is taking place. Our shop uses Equipment 360 to manage our fleet of vehicles and equipment. Project Management uses Heavy Job Manager to verify our crews are meeting or beating their production goals. Heavy Job Manager helps us identify problems on jobs early so we have more time to address these problems. HCSS products are a vital part of the success of our company.
Read Joseph McElwee's full review
Daniel Duke | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2018

What's so HEAVY about HCSS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

HCSS is primarily used at our organization by our Underground group. The primary product we use is HeavyBid for estimating new projects as well as large change orders on existing projects. While we have licensing for both HeavyJob and Dispatcher also we have not had much success utilizing them to their full potential due to internal company issues. Overall HCSS provides a robust project management solution allowing for the information to flow freely from the estimators to the project teams.
Read Daniel Duke's full review
Mildred Rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2018

HCSS Feedback

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our foremen currently use the Field System to create and send timecards. We will begin our testing phase to transition to mobile devices in the near future. Our Office Managers are the final approval level for timecards sent in by the foremen. They track attendance to manage paid and unpaid time off from work. Engineers and Superintendents use the Manager System to review and approve the first two approval levels. They review labor hours, cost codes, quantities and equipment codes and hours. They use the Production Analysis and Planner as well as other reports available in the Manager System.

We recently upgraded to 2016, and we have had a few kinks that we are working through, with HCSS. Overall, I feel the upgrade went well with a lot of work from HCSS and our team. Our company uses Specialty Jobs which is a complex element to manage.

Read Mildred Rodriguez's full review
Drury Ellard | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2018

HCSS is a trusted go-to tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize the HCSS platform for estimating our construction projects. It is mostly used in the estimating department, but construction managers or project managers may also use it to evaluate costs for change orders or design refinements.
Read Drury Ellard's full review
Dave Socci | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

HCSS product review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Heavybid across our organization for all estimating, in both our NE and SE offices; this includes both our construction and paving divisions. Similarly, we use HeavyJob across all regions and divisions. For estimating, it provides a single system used by all estimators. In the field, HeavyJob provides payroll and labor/equipment cost information.
Read Dave Socci's full review
Dave Luytjes | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

Heavybid Review from a Long time User.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use the heavybid product in 4 of 5 company subsidiaries. It is used for estimating bids, preparing budgets and preparing change orders. It helps bring consistency to our estimates and budgets and when set up properly and used by trained individuals is faster than any other methods. It also helps as a bridge between different subsidiaries.
Read Dave Luytjes's full review
Dave Steely | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

Awesome System

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a general contractor doing earthwork, utilities ( dry, water, sewer, storm ), gravel and asphalt placement. We do private, municipal, federal and state highway construction. We use HeavyBid for all of our cost estimating for our bids.
Read Dave Steely's full review
Heather Gunzelmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 01, 2017

You won't be disappointed with HCSS!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Heavy Job Mobile in the field, Heavy Job Manager in the office, Dispatcher in the office, and Equipment 360 in our fleet department. It is used across the whole organization. Heavy Job addresses the prior problems we had with: time sheets and information from the field, production reports and planning, forecasting, time and material reporting, true up with our accounting system and many others. Dispatcher has not been as effective as we would have liked and found some basic issues with its use. Equipment 360 has helped track maintenance and other issues.
Read Heather Gunzelmann's full review
Matt Snow | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2017

The HCSS Effect

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

HCSS is used for our estimating department and management department. It is used in our field for daily reports and cost management. We are able to monitor jobs on a daily basis now with real-time costs. It allows our office to integrate with our field, and has empowered our foremen in the field to not only help the jobs they are currently on, but provide information needed for bids and future jobs. The whole organization uses the software in one way or another. The abundance of information we are able to gain from the software helps with documentation in the company, safety issues that we need to be aware of, and potential changes in scope on each job. The streamlined approach that Heavybid and Heavyjob have created in our company has helped with efficiency and quality control.
Read Matt Snow's full review
Jim Murray | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2017

Best on the Market

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

HCSS is used throughout the whole company; [it] starts with estimating and goes to the field for job site management.
Read Jim Murray's full review
Linda Pawlak | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2017

HCSS -- A great business partner!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

HCSS is used across our organization as a tool to efficiently share information, improve efficiency and manage our operational businesses through an integrated suite of products.
Read Linda Pawlak's full review
Randy Gambrill | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2017

HCSS, YES, YES, YES

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

HCSS Heavy Job is being used by a couple of departments in our company. One of the problems it addresses is the seamless transformation over from Heavy Bid. One of our departments uses this now and is expanding into other departments. Another department just uses Heavy Job, because it's a unit based contract with fixed pricing. Both capture the work performed and the hours associated with getting the work done. This way we can quickly invoice the work and also get the payroll hours sent.
Read Randy Gambrill's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Plan distribution & viewing (9)
6.8
Plan markups & sharing (6)
6.0
Issue tracking & punchlists (13)
8.8
Photo documentation (25)
9.8
Jobsite reports (29)
9.4
Document sharing (17)
7.1
RFI tools (1)
3
Collaboration & approvals (18)
9.2
Mobile app (27)
9.8

About HCSS

HCSS is a construction software suite for estimating, operations, project management, safety, and equipment management used by the top contractors in transportation, oil & gas, power, industrial, telecom, and water/wastewater. Contractors use the software suite to win profitable work, keep projects on track and on budget, manage key assets, and then they integrate that information directly into their accounting system.

Suite components include:
  • HeavyBid (estimating)
  • HeavyJob (time cards, job costing, project management)
  • HCSS Safety
  • HCSS Plans
  • Equipment360
  • HCSS Telematics
  • HCSS Dispatcher
  • FuelerPlus
  • HCSS eLogs
  • HCSS Cloud
  • HCSS Skills
  • HCSS Forms

Categories:  Construction

HCSS Features

Construction Project & Field Management Features
Has featurePlan distribution & viewing
Has featurePlan markups & sharing
Has featureDocument sharing
Has featureIssue tracking & punchlists
Has featurePhoto documentation
Has featureJobsite reports
Does not have featureRFI tools
Has featureCollaboration & approvals
Does not have featureAs-built drawings
Has featureMobile app
Does not have featureSubmittal design and management
Does not have featureChecklists
Does not have featureMeeting Minutes
Does not have featureSpecifications
Does not have featureChange orders
Estimating Features
Does not have featureTakeoff tools
Does not have featureJob costing
Does not have featureCost databases
Does not have featureCost calculator
Does not have featureBid creation
Human Resource Management Features
Does not have featureEmployee demographic data
Does not have featureEmployment history
Does not have featureJob profiles and administration
Does not have featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Does not have featureBenefits information
Does not have featureOrganizational charting
Does not have featureOrganization and location management
Does not have featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Does not have featurePay calculation
Does not have featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Does not have featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Does not have featurePayroll history for each employee
Does not have featureBenefit plan administration
Does not have featureDirect deposit files
Does not have featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Does not have featureSalary revision and increment management
Does not have featureReimbursement management
Does not have featureStatutory form management
Asset Management Features
Does not have featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Does not have featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureDashboards
Does not have featureStandard reports
Does not have featureCustom reports
Does not have featureData exportability
Additional Features
Has featureEstimating and bidding
Has featureInvitation to bid
Has featureQuote management
Has featureTimecards
Has featureDaily diaries
Has featureProduction quantities
Has featureT&M Reporting
Has featureEquipment Maintenance
Has featureEquipment Work Orders
Has featureAlerts & Notifications

HCSS Screenshots

HCSS Integrations

Microsoft Project, Vista by Viewpoint, Primavera P3, P6 Project Management, RSMeans

HCSS Competitors

ViewPoint ProContractor, InEight, B2W Software, Microsoft Excel, Predictive Solutions

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

HCSS Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
55%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
15%

HCSS Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

HCSS Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:United States, Canada