HCSS

HCSS

Score 8.5 out of 10
HCSS

Overview

What is HCSS?

HCSS is a construction software suite. It includes functionality for bidding, time card and project management, safety, planning, scheduling, equipment management, and data warehousing and reporting. Each module can be purchased separately. The suite can be hosted in the cloud.
Read more

Recent Reviews

HCSS Feedback

9 out of 10
January 19, 2018

Our foremen currently use the Field System to create and send timecards. We will begin our testing phase to transition to mobile devices …

Continue reading

HCSS product review

9 out of 10
January 09, 2018
We use Heavybid across our organization for all estimating, in both our NE and SE offices; this includes both our construction and paving …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 9 features
  • Photo documentation (25)
    10.0
    100%
  • Jobsite reports (30)
    8.0
    80%
  • Mobile app (28)
    6.1
    61%
  • Collaboration & approvals (19)
    4.1
    41%

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of HCSS, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is HCSS?

HCSS is a construction software suite. It includes functionality for bidding, time card and project management, safety, planning, scheduling, equipment management, and data warehousing and reporting. Each module can be purchased separately. The suite can be hosted in the cloud.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee required

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

2 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Procore?

Procore is a project management software designed specifically for the construction industry. Procore is cloud-based and allows unlimited users per instance, so that construction team members and stakeholders can all access project information and documents.

What is monday.com?

monday.com Work OS is an open platform designed so that anyone can create the tools they need to run all aspects of their work. It includes ready-made templates or the ability to customize any work solution ranging from sales pipelines to marketing campaigns, CRMs, and project tracking.

Return to navigation

Product Demos

Construction Software Development Company - Estimating, Bidding, & More | HCSS
01:57
Return to navigation

Features

Construction Project & Field Management

Features related to collaboration between construction management and project execution (e.g. the office and the job site, general contractors and subcontractors)

6.8Avg 7.6
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is HCSS?

HCSS is a construction software suite for estimating, operations, project management, safety, and equipment management used by the top contractors in transportation, oil & gas, power, industrial, telecom, and water/wastewater. Contractors use the software suite to win profitable work, keep projects on track and on budget, manage key assets, and then they integrate that information directly into their accounting system.

Suite components include:
  • HeavyBid (estimating)
  • HeavyJob (time cards, job costing, project management)
  • HCSS Safety
  • HCSS Plans
  • Equipment360
  • HCSS Telematics
  • HCSS Dispatcher
  • FuelerPlus
  • HCSS eLogs
  • HCSS Cloud
  • HCSS Skills
  • HCSS Forms

HCSS Features

Construction Project & Field Management Features

  • Supported: Plan distribution & viewing
  • Supported: Plan markups & sharing
  • Supported: Document sharing
  • Supported: Issue tracking & punchlists
  • Supported: Photo documentation
  • Supported: Jobsite reports
  • Supported: Collaboration & approvals
  • Supported: Mobile app

Additional Features

  • Supported: Estimating and bidding
  • Supported: Invitation to bid
  • Supported: Quote management
  • Supported: Timecards
  • Supported: Daily diaries
  • Supported: Production quantities
  • Supported: T&M Reporting
  • Supported: Equipment Maintenance
  • Supported: Equipment Work Orders
  • Supported: Alerts & Notifications

HCSS Screenshots

Screenshot of HeavyBid - build the structure of your estimateScreenshot of HeavyBid - manage sub and material quotesScreenshot of HeavyBid - create professional bid proposalsScreenshot of HeavyJob - manage your job site from your mobile deviceScreenshot of HeavyJob - capture job site photos from any deviceScreenshot of HeavyJob - review, edit, and approve time cards from a mobile deviceScreenshot of HeavyJob - review daily job information and crew performance on a mobile deviceScreenshot of HeavyJob - see how your jobs are performing from your mobile deviceScreenshot of HCSS Safety - lead effective safety meetingsScreenshot of HCSS Safety - keep permanent inspections in one central locationScreenshot of HCSS Safety - capture near misses in the fieldScreenshot of HCSS Safety - capture incident information as soon as it happensScreenshot of HCSS Safety - JHAs/JSAs/AHAs

HCSS Video

Construction Software Development Company - Estimating, Bidding, & More | HCSS

HCSS Integrations

HCSS Competitors

HCSS Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported CountriesUnited States, Canada

Frequently Asked Questions

HCSS is a construction software suite. It includes functionality for bidding, time card and project management, safety, planning, scheduling, equipment management, and data warehousing and reporting. Each module can be purchased separately. The suite can be hosted in the cloud.

Viewpoint ProContractor, InEight, and Microsoft Excel are common alternatives for HCSS.

Reviewers rate Photo documentation highest, with a score of 10.

The most common users of HCSS are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).

HCSS Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)55%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)15%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 38)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
J. Mickey Merguerian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
HCSS is used by various departments. Mostly in the field for timecards, cost controls, and engineering/bidding.

Timecards are kept in HeavyJob, which correlates and feeds info into JDE. The field uses these applications which are then analyzed and approved by cost controls.

HeavyBid is used by our engineering/bidding department. All major bids use this HeavyBid and we find it to be an extraordinary program. Allows us to compile a lot of historic data to be used in current bids. Truly a blessing.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
HCSS is mainly used by our production/operations department with HCSS Heavy Job and HCSS Dispatcher and our estimating department with Heavy Bid. It is a great tool in the field for capturing progress quantities and daily time cards. It has been extremely easy to use in the field which has, in turn, made it very easy to adopt by many as it takes little effort to master.
January 15, 2020

The Cadillac Software

Dan Watkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
HCSS is being used in our Earthwork/Utility division as our bidding and project management software. Heavybid allows for consistent bidding while allowing us to pull bids together quickly. Heavyjob is being used for electronic time cards, quantity tracking, and labor/equipment tracking.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I work for a concrete subcontractor and we utilize both Heavy Job Mobile and Desktop versions. We use it for our mobile timecards, productivity tracking, dispatching, safety documentation and inspection management as well as training logging. With the exception of our accounting department, the rest of the company directly uses HCSS modules on a daily basis, including all field management personnel.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
E360/Fueler Plus is mostly used by the equipment department. We now are using the mobile app that operators can notify my shop foreman about issues on the equipment he is running. It addresses scheduled PM service alerts and tracks all repairs and costs to each equipment. This is all done electronically now rather than paper and file folders.
Daniel Duke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
HCSS is primarily used at our organization by our Underground group. The primary product we use is HeavyBid for estimating new projects as well as large change orders on existing projects. While we have licensing for both HeavyJob and Dispatcher also we have not had much success utilizing them to their full potential due to internal company issues. Overall HCSS provides a robust project management solution allowing for the information to flow freely from the estimators to the project teams.
January 19, 2018

HCSS Feedback

Mildred Rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User

Our foremen currently use the Field System to create and send timecards. We will begin our testing phase to transition to mobile devices in the near future. Our Office Managers are the final approval level for timecards sent in by the foremen. They track attendance to manage paid and unpaid time off from work. Engineers and Superintendents use the Manager System to review and approve the first two approval levels. They review labor hours, cost codes, quantities and equipment codes and hours. They use the Production Analysis and Planner as well as other reports available in the Manager System.

We recently upgraded to 2016, and we have had a few kinks that we are working through, with HCSS. Overall, I feel the upgrade went well with a lot of work from HCSS and our team. Our company uses Specialty Jobs which is a complex element to manage.

Olaf Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
HCSS products are being used at almost every level of our company. Project managers are using Heavy Bid. Foreman are using Heavy Job to report time and quantities. The Scheduling group is using Dispatcher to schedule and move equipment, Heavy Job to follow up on production and quantities on certain projects and GPS on all rolling stock. The repair shop is using Equipment 360. Dispatcher is a tool I would no longer want to be without. The advantages it gives me from an organizational stand point are tremendous. I can quickly see where are of my equipment is or has been, what resources I have available and where they are located.
January 09, 2018

HCSS product review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Heavybid across our organization for all estimating, in both our NE and SE offices; this includes both our construction and paving divisions. Similarly, we use HeavyJob across all regions and divisions. For estimating, it provides a single system used by all estimators. In the field, HeavyJob provides payroll and labor/equipment cost information.
Dave Luytjes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use the heavybid product in 4 of 5 company subsidiaries. It is used for estimating bids, preparing budgets and preparing change orders. It helps bring consistency to our estimates and budgets and when set up properly and used by trained individuals is faster than any other methods. It also helps as a bridge between different subsidiaries.
January 09, 2018

Awesome System

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are a general contractor doing earthwork, utilities ( dry, water, sewer, storm ), gravel and asphalt placement. We do private, municipal, federal and state highway construction. We use HeavyBid for all of our cost estimating for our bids.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
HCSS is being used across most of our organization. It starts with estimating projects, continues thru project management. The software is extremely versatile and powerful and HCSS is always continuously strengthening their products. HCSS helps us to be extremely competitive in our field and allows us to keep track of our costs in the field as well as managing our resources that are needed throughout our project locations.
January 08, 2018

HCSS is great

James Duncan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
HCSS programs are used across the board in our company. Our field guys use HCSS Mobile and Safety for their time cards. Our mechanics and drivers use Equipment 360 and eLogs. All our time cards are directly exported into a file for ease of import in accounting. We use Telematics and OEMLink to track equipment usage and location.
Doyle Potts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are daily and hourly users of HCSS products. Every facet of our business runs with and through HCSS products. We use Heavy Bid and Heavy Job to begin planning on jobs and to assist our payroll, we use Heavy Bid and dispatcher to track material and equipment through the progress of jobs. We use telematics to assist managers in controlling units and tracking their use. We use Safety on daily basis to track all of our daily huddles to weekly training and site inspections.
Heather Gunzelmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Heavy Job Mobile in the field, Heavy Job Manager in the office, Dispatcher in the office, and Equipment 360 in our fleet department. It is used across the whole organization. Heavy Job addresses the prior problems we had with: time sheets and information from the field, production reports and planning, forecasting, time and material reporting, true up with our accounting system and many others. Dispatcher has not been as effective as we would have liked and found some basic issues with its use. Equipment 360 has helped track maintenance and other issues.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User

We are using HCSS across multiple departments in our organization.

We initially purchased the HCSS software (HeavyJob, HeavyBid, and Dispatcher) to focus on resource management and project cost. The programs have their upsides and downsides. Basic functions of dispatched crews, field-generated time cards, to time card review/approval and minimized keystrokes for reduced errors in the payroll department are great. The hardest part, is getting full use of the program to be earning a ROI that the HCSS salespeople sell companies on.

As with most technology, the purchase is not the solution, and the new business problem created by purchasing HCSS, was that people were only using it for time cards (which makes for one expensive time card program). Prior to purchasing HCSS (or any technology for that matter), a company needs to take a long hard look at the company culture and establish a good implementation plan to ensure that your company utilizes HCSS to it's fullest potential. After all, you are paying for the fancy modules even if you are not using them. Commit to continual improvements and a training program.

HCSS is FANTASTIC at collecting and implementing customer feedback; they want to build a product that we heavy civil contractors want to use.

Michael Daughters | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
HCSS Heavybid is being used as our estimating software. We use it to manage every proposal and estimate that is produced by Haskell. It is specifically used in our estimating department. The field uses HeavyJob to track and earn progress on projects as they work and progress through the jobs. HeavyBid interfaces with our accounting software, allowing us to dump a code of accounts to actual pay items and bill accordingly.
November 10, 2017

The HCSS Effect

Matt Snow | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
HCSS is used for our estimating department and management department. It is used in our field for daily reports and cost management. We are able to monitor jobs on a daily basis now with real-time costs. It allows our office to integrate with our field, and has empowered our foremen in the field to not only help the jobs they are currently on, but provide information needed for bids and future jobs. The whole organization uses the software in one way or another. The abundance of information we are able to gain from the software helps with documentation in the company, safety issues that we need to be aware of, and potential changes in scope on each job. The streamlined approach that Heavybid and Heavyjob have created in our company has helped with efficiency and quality control.
Return to navigation