HCSS Reviews

103 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

J. Mickey Merguerian | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

A Leader in the Construction World

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
I have NEVER put in a ticket to our IT team at HeavyJob and not received a response or resolved an issue within a few hours and at the very max a day. They seem to take extreme notice of issues and resolving them so overall, their customer service is unparalleled as far as I can tell.
Read J. Mickey Merguerian's full review
Olaf Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

From a Paper Notepad to a Sofeware Program, what an upgrade.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
I am always treated with the upmost respect from the personnel. Most time the person will be able to fix the issue I have, give me a work around or get back to me after they have consulted and figured out my issue. Sometimes I feel like the call tree does not direct you to the correct person to handle your issue.
Read Olaf Johnson's full review
Mike DeRousse | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

Spot on estimating and Field Management software!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
10 +++ HCSS support is well above average and basically, they are the benchmark that we place all other software support against. We have no other software in our business that is even close to the level of support and attention that HCSS has to educate, train and create an environment where you can be successful with utilizing every bit of their software that you need. Most software purchased has more to it than most companies need. The difference with HCSS is they explain how to make all their features work and help you be successful with training and implementation. Once you are done with training and implementation they follow up and ask questions to make sure they are convinced you are fully trained to operate their software.
Read Mike DeRousse's full review
Doyle Potts | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2018

HCSS review from a long time user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
I have never had a bad experience or heard of one in 4 years of doing business with HCSS. That is unheard of even with the hurricanes and flooding in Houston area it feels like HCSS was always there and willing to help in every way.
Read Doyle Potts's full review
Julia Salgueiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2017

Now Trending... Make the software work for you, don't you work for the software!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9

The people at HCSS who I interact with, whether it is a support technician, product manager, or the HCSS President, Mike Rydin, are as passionate at making construction management for heavy civil contractors a valuable experience as I am. They want to get us emphatic, project management addicted people in to tell them why their product is not working, and work with us to design the software to work for us.

HCSS is good for the heavy civil contractor; it is going to help us to manage our projects with precision, accuracy, and accountability.

Read Julia Salgueiro's full review
Michael Daughters | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2017

HeavyBid for Industrial Estimating

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
HCSS offers 24/7 support for any technical issues. They have a tech support team who consists of the people who programmed the software, and thus knows the features inside and out. I have rarely called the tech support line when I was not able to be helped and my issue solved.
Read Michael Daughters's full review
Joseph McElwee | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2017

HCSS Software = Successful Construction Management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
HCSS Technical Support has the best customer service that I have even seen. Phone calls into the help center are answered immediately and problems can usually be solved right over the phone. Their technical support staff is very knowledgeable.
Read Joseph McElwee's full review
Mildred Rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2018

HCSS Feedback

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Excellent Customer Service Support Team. Ease of system both Field and Managers. We are just commencing our Mobile roll out. So far, everything is going well.
Read Mildred Rodriguez's full review
Drury Ellard | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2018

HCSS is a trusted go-to tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
Almost always able to answer the questions. Too often they are pushing for the upgrade. If an issue is known to exist in the program it should be fixed. I don't like to be told the only way to get around that is to buy the upgrade.
Read Drury Ellard's full review
Dave Socci | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

HCSS product review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
I give it this rating as, over the many years of dealing with the staff, they have always been available, helpful and stick with an issue until it has been resolved. And I never give anyone a 10 for anything.
Read Dave Socci's full review
Dave Luytjes | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

Heavybid Review from a Long time User.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
I like that I will always be talking to a knowledgeable individual when I call. They make a point of answering the phone within 3 rings, this is huge when I am having a problem. Even during off hours, if I call and have to leave a message, I will get a call back in a matter of minutes not the next day.
Read Dave Luytjes's full review
Heather Gunzelmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 01, 2017

You won't be disappointed with HCSS!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
I have had frustrations with the support. The more senior support reps are amazing. A lot of newer ones do not seem to understand the system and they don't seem to get how everything connects, specifically between Heavy Bid and Heavy Job. Almost all our significant problems had to be escalated to an implementer, programmer, or higher level individual. I find support lacking in in-depth issues but fine for basic questions. Although sometimes I have been given conflicting information from different reps. The best thing that happened for me was to be able to go to a user group last year, get everything I had issues with resolved and then didn't have to get in touch with support at all.
Read Heather Gunzelmann's full review
Bethanie Larson | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 01, 2017

HCSS - Payroll Processing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
I enjoy the fact that you always receive a live person on the phone and they are willing to do whatever it takes to assist you with your question. They log right on to my computer so I can show them the issue at hand, that way they can see exactly what I'm talking about. It provides an effective and efficient way to problem solve.
Read Bethanie Larson's full review
Matt Snow | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2017

The HCSS Effect

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
The HCSS support line always has the answer to any question and can always provide the correct way to approach a problem. This includes problems in the field and in the office.
Read Matt Snow's full review
Linda Pawlak | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2017

HCSS -- A great business partner!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
Overall support at HCSS is great. The "support call" line is better suited for users at small companies that are not likely to have questions that may rely on client specific use and installation of the product for it's business process.
Read Linda Pawlak's full review
Randy Gambrill | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2017

HCSS, YES, YES, YES

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
As newer users of Heavy Job, my superintendents, field users, and administrative assistants, along with myself, have called for support on several occasions. Each time the support people are very courteous and knowledgeable. If they cannot answer the question, they make sure to get it from someone and get the issue resolved asap.
Read Randy Gambrill's full review
Jack Fink | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2017

Too much

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
Rarely do we have a problem that support has not been able to help us solve. The HCSS rule is if you have to spend more than two minutes solving a problem then call support.
Read Jack Fink's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Plan distribution & viewing (9)
6.8
Plan markups & sharing (6)
6.0
Issue tracking & punchlists (13)
8.8
Photo documentation (25)
9.8
Jobsite reports (29)
9.4
Document sharing (17)
7.1
RFI tools (1)
3
Collaboration & approvals (18)
9.2
Mobile app (27)
9.8

About HCSS

HCSS is a construction software suite for estimating, operations, project management, safety, and equipment management used by the top contractors in transportation, oil & gas, power, industrial, telecom, and water/wastewater. Contractors use the software suite to win profitable work, keep projects on track and on budget, manage key assets, and then they integrate that information directly into their accounting system.

Suite components include:
  • HeavyBid (estimating)
  • HeavyJob (time cards, job costing, project management)
  • HCSS Safety
  • HCSS Plans
  • Equipment360
  • HCSS Telematics
  • HCSS Dispatcher
  • FuelerPlus
  • HCSS eLogs
  • HCSS Cloud
  • HCSS Skills
  • HCSS Forms

Categories:  Construction

HCSS Features

Construction Project & Field Management Features
Has featurePlan distribution & viewing
Has featurePlan markups & sharing
Has featureDocument sharing
Has featureIssue tracking & punchlists
Has featurePhoto documentation
Has featureJobsite reports
Does not have featureRFI tools
Has featureCollaboration & approvals
Does not have featureAs-built drawings
Has featureMobile app
Does not have featureSubmittal design and management
Does not have featureChecklists
Does not have featureMeeting Minutes
Does not have featureSpecifications
Does not have featureChange orders
Estimating Features
Does not have featureTakeoff tools
Does not have featureJob costing
Does not have featureCost databases
Does not have featureCost calculator
Does not have featureBid creation
Human Resource Management Features
Does not have featureEmployee demographic data
Does not have featureEmployment history
Does not have featureJob profiles and administration
Does not have featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Does not have featureBenefits information
Does not have featureOrganizational charting
Does not have featureOrganization and location management
Does not have featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Does not have featurePay calculation
Does not have featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Does not have featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Does not have featurePayroll history for each employee
Does not have featureBenefit plan administration
Does not have featureDirect deposit files
Does not have featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Does not have featureSalary revision and increment management
Does not have featureReimbursement management
Does not have featureStatutory form management
Asset Management Features
Does not have featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Does not have featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureDashboards
Does not have featureStandard reports
Does not have featureCustom reports
Does not have featureData exportability
Additional Features
Has featureEstimating and bidding
Has featureInvitation to bid
Has featureQuote management
Has featureTimecards
Has featureDaily diaries
Has featureProduction quantities
Has featureT&M Reporting
Has featureEquipment Maintenance
Has featureEquipment Work Orders
Has featureAlerts & Notifications

HCSS Screenshots

HCSS Integrations

Microsoft Project, Vista by Viewpoint, Primavera P3, P6 Project Management, RSMeans

HCSS Competitors

ViewPoint ProContractor, InEight, B2W Software, Microsoft Excel, Predictive Solutions

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

HCSS Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
55%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
15%

HCSS Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

HCSS Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:United States, Canada