Heap Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
132 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 74)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 24, 2021
George Fang | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Heap's biggest value proposition is their automated capture system. After the data is captured, the quality is decent, but not as high as if you were using a dedicated analytics platform, like Amplitude or Mixpanel. It's definitely nice to have all data backed up, but if I were to have a team dedicated to analyzing data, it would be useful to have an Amplitude type product installed as well.
Read George Fang's full review
April 24, 2021
George Fang | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Heap is great if you are unsure where to start or don't have the resources to invest [in] a bigger analytics plan. If you have an analytics team or have specific things you want to track, Heap still works well but is often overkill and you might be confused by the number of extra features. Even if you have a solid analytics plan today, Heap is still useful to back up your front-end data, in case you forgot to track something.
Read George Fang's full review
April 24, 2021
Gabe Romero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In scenarios where the user data can be highly controlled, or private by code it is very easy to inject personal data or corrupt the data and the integrations with other systems, when implementing Heap its important to design a data governance model to reduce the noise to other experiments, it's better to use on a pure product placement tracking environment.
Read Gabe Romero's full review
April 21, 2021
Deb Sohrweide | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Since we are not able to track personal data of our users, Heap is great and removing that information, however to group items together without personal data we had to include custom attributes. Heap uses a lot of the "path" or domain details to tell where the events are coming from - when in reality a lot of the applications are single page applications so that the path never changes - so some of that become annoying - as we need to add different attributes to track the "pages" within single page applications - but we have managed it.
Read Deb Sohrweide's full review
April 20, 2021
Nicholas Menendez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Heap is well suited for Product teams that have a working technical knowledge of their platform and that are willing to invest the time to get up and running with the tool. Overall, it is a very powerful tool in tracking and analyzing user behavior. However, as with any product analytics tool, Heap will take some time to get set up. Our team has been working with Heap for a few months now, and we are just starting to really understand how it can be a part of our day-to-day decision making process.

If you do not have the time to invest in learning Heap, then I would not recommend it for your team.

Read Nicholas Menendez's full review
April 20, 2021
Benjamin Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Heap IS product analytics, and user action tracking. We deliver a product on many platforms, and prior to Heap we couldn't follow users as they move from web to mobile, etc. Heap is great at capturing this entire picture and letting us dive into the whole user journey. For discovering how your product is really being used, where users are really finding value, Heap is great.
It does not handle non-user data well. One thing that Marketing really wants to tie in is ad spends and customer acquisition costs, but since those are calculated monthly and not tied to individual users we can't connect it into Heap. I've also wanted to pull in server error logs and server performance (large payloads, slow page loads), but again since they're not tied to specific people it can't be understood in the universe of Heap.
Read Benjamin Smith's full review
April 20, 2021
Katherine LaFata | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for marketing departments running multiple campaigns with tracking links attributed to each one. It is not so appropriate for smaller companies only launching one or two initiatives or updates at the same time; manual tracking and reporting using your company's e-commerce platform is probably better for that. This product is meant to help companies aggregate data/insights that are too difficult to do manually, so companies testing and scaling are perfect.
Read Katherine LaFata's full review
March 27, 2021
Claire N. Thomas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Heap is great for tracking insights about how users interact with the product, and finding quick answers to questions. Oftentimes we'll be discussing an issue and wondering about a specific conversion rate or usage metric, and we can set up the Heap event and dashboard and have the information already. No waiting for a developer to set up the event or waiting or information to come in.
Read Claire N. Thomas's full review
March 09, 2021
Jono Child | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Heap is great for measuring how your users use your website without using Engineers to create events. It tracks everything for you and then allows you to define events yourself, when you define these events it is retrospective in naming all past interactions as defined with this name since Heap was installed. It, therefore, allows you to track a lot more than you think, and when you want to look at something new you did not think of you have all the past data to see how that event performed.

Its graphing functionality is also super easy to use and allows users to build analytics very easily.
Read Jono Child's full review
May 08, 2021
Tim Johnston | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

This tool is fully featured and provides amazing services with excellent results. In addition, its pricing policy is also very professional and offers great customer service so I will definitely recommend you to try it once by choosing the most reliable plan. It is good at tracking all activities and bringing success to us.
Read Tim Johnston's full review
May 06, 2021
Bharat Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

They come with a price tag but the ROI makes it an easy decision. I would recommend Heap to anyone who is serious about learning more about their product usage and customer behavior.
Read Bharat Singh's full review
April 22, 2021
Courtney Buch | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Heap is well suited for companies looking to improve their website, product, and marketing efforts. If you're looking to back up some information in a CRM, would say it is only useful for companies who require users to set up an account with user information. It's great for separating out areas of purchase/clicking that Google Analytics and other platforms do not do.
Read Courtney Buch's full review
March 24, 2021
Michael Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

As a long-time Product Management professional, Heap is the most intuitive and helpful product analytics tool that I've used to-date. The richness of detail is far and away better than what is available in Google Analytics. Plus, the auto-capture functionality for events ensures that you never miss a behavior on the site or need to do extra setup every time a new feature or piece of functionality is introduced. It's just there and ready for analysis.
Read Michael Brown's full review
March 19, 2021
Sam Dowd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well-suited:
1. When you don't have a solid idea of the data you want to collect so universal data collection is helpful since it is retroactive.
2. When you have limited dev resources and want to generate data and insights quickly.
3. When you need a connection with Salesforce or Snowflake.
4. When you need a cost-effective solution.

Less Appropriate:
1. When you have advanced needs and requirements that may require a lot of manual instrumentation.
Read Sam Dowd's full review
March 09, 2021
Tim Aderman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Heap is a fantastic platform for SaaS companies that want to be able to track their users' engagement within their software and not have to define all of the click tracking events ahead of time.
Read Tim Aderman's full review
March 09, 2021
Gilbert Warner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Heap is well suited for an organization that’s new or hasn’t done a lot of tracking within their applications before. I would see it being difficult to use it to replace and existing solution.
Read Gilbert Warner's full review
March 09, 2021
Brett Colangelo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Heap is very powerful for understanding how many users take certain actions on pages, but I have trouble leveraging those insights. Snapshots are helpful with app integrations but it would be nice if those events were more automated.
Read Brett Colangelo's full review
May 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Heap is well suited for PMs looking to gain fast insights/quickly identify who is clicking on what and how often. The data we collect from Heap is also leveraged and mixed into our more complex data science dashboards. I like Heap for its ability to answer specific questions quickly. However, if I wanted to be able to track time spent between events, I can only find the average. I also cannot follow a user through all the flows since our product has so many URLs and variations in the workflow. It's hard to read the flow result with so many cards popping up.
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Heap is great for business users because it's easy to understand how to define events and then to quickly investigate how users are interacting with those defined events. Heap provides online training that sets people up for success and gets them into the tool right away. When there is more complexity in what you are trying to measure, the team at Heap is there to help you and is quick to respond.
Read this authenticated review
April 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

My favourite part about Heap is that I don't need to pre-define events that I'd like to track because Heap records all events and properties on my website and app. I also absolutely love the UI - the product is really easy and delightful to use, especially in comparison to Google Analytics' clunky and outdated experience. I love that this product lets you combine both app and web analytics, so you can see your data in one place. For this reason, Heap is much better suited for SaaS companies compared to Google Analytics.
Read this authenticated review
April 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think Heap is great for seeking out answers to specific questions. It's easy to use even as a non-technical employee, I love that I don't have to ask an engineer for help every time I want to measure something new. Heap's data visualizations and automatically generated insights may be less sophisticated than what their competitors offer.
Read this authenticated review
April 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Heap is great at general analytics of a website and monitoring how a site is preforming. I would never use it to report actual exact data as there are too many bots and random website crawlers that skew the data in the wrong direction.
Read this authenticated review
April 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Heap shines in site wide analytics, user flows, data integrations, and in-app activity. It also puts so much power back in the user's hands by allowing you to create your own events on the site without involving engineering teams. It's a very powerful tool for marketing, and can likely solve most challenges you may have if you raise them to a Heap rep.
Read this authenticated review

What is Heap?

Heap helps those responsible for the digital experience surface blind spots where users struggle or drop off in multi-step digital journeys, so that product and marketing teams know where to make the most impactful improvements to the digital product or website. Heap can be used with the goal of:
  • Improving customer experience: Pinpoint exactly where users are struggling and quickly make improvements to the customer experience, ensuring an intuitive, enjoyable user experience.
  • Speeding time-to-market and optimizing the impact of product and business teams: Rather than relying purely on gut instinct, leverage digital engagement data to test hypotheses and answer questions as they arise. With data-driven insights, confidently bring new features & experiences to market.
  • Building increasingly valuable features and experiences: Leverage data to build consensus on engineering investments that can be clearly tied to business outcomes.
The vendor states that over 6,000 businesses use Heap to drive business impact by delivering better experiences and better products. Customers include companies in B2B SaaS, eCommerce, and Financial Services such as Twilio, Splunk, Snapfish, esurance, Northwestern Mutual, and e*Trade.

Heap Features

Has featureAutocapture (Codelessly capture every interaction/event in your product or your website)
Has featureEvent Visualizer (Easily locate, tag and name events with this tool)
Has featureData Engine (Data Dictionary and Governance tools provide control and organization of your data)
Has featureAPIs (Augment data with flexible APIs)
Has featureSources (Import data from other tools)
Has featureReporting and Dashboards (Get insights on activation, retention, conversion, engagement and other key digital/product metrics)
Has featureAd-hoc Analysis (Retention, Conversion, Funnel, Cohort analysis, etc)
Has featureHeap Connect (Bring user data with managed ETL into warehouses such as Snowflake, Redshift)
Has featureHeap Activate (Drive action base on Heap data via connectors to Appcues, Marketo, Intercom, Salesforce, and many more)

Heap Screenshots

Heap Videos (5)

Watch Heap - A Smarter Approach to Product. What is Heap and how does it work?

Watch Autocapture: Heap is the only tool that automatically captures all user interactions on your site, from the moment of installation forward.

Watch Customer story: Northwestern Mutual becomes data-driven with Heap

Watch Customer story: Snapfish Uses Heap’s Omni-Channel Tracking to Increase Conversions

Watch Heap Event Visualizer: With the Event Visualizer, anyone can find, name, and manage a complete set of user events, without touching your codebase.

Heap Downloadables

Heap Integrations

Intercom, Optimizely, Shopify, Amazon Redshift, Marketing and Product connectors (Marketo, Hubspot, Salesforce), Data warehouses connectors (Snowflake, Google BigQuery)

Heap Competitors

Heap Pricing

Starting Price: $59

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$0up to 10,000 sessions per month
GrowthContact Heap Salesup to 40,000 sessions per month
ProContact Heap SalesCustom Sessions per month
PremierContact Heap SalesCustom sessions per month and Unlimited Projects

Heap pricing is based on session volume. A session is a period of activity from a single user on your app or website. It can include many pageviews or events.

Heap Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
40%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
40%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
20%

Heap Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Heap Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Americas, EMEA, APAC
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Heap?

Heap is a web analytics platform captures every user interaction on web iOS with no extra code. The tool allows you to track events and set up funnels to understand user flow and dropoff. It also provides visualization tools to track trends over time.

How much does Heap cost?

Heap starts at $59.

What is Heap's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses Heap?

The most common users of Heap are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.