Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Heap

Heap

Overview

What is Heap?

Heap is a web analytics platform captures every user interaction on web iOS with no extra code. The tool allows you to track events and set up funnels to understand user flow and dropoff. It also provides visualization tools to…

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

Heap is a highly versatile analytics platform that has been widely used by organizations to collect and analyze customer data. Users have …
Continue reading

Solid Data Tool

7 out of 10
December 15, 2022
Incentivized
Heap is currently used across my whole organization and has helped us to democratize our data greatly. The tool allows all employees …
Continue reading

Heap Product analytics

9 out of 10
December 03, 2022
Incentivized
We are using Heap to track and analyze user interactions on the product and determine adoption, usage and other funnel related statistics. …
Continue reading

Heap Review

8 out of 10
December 03, 2022
Incentivized
In our company, we need to build customer's digital journey because we are not following well our customer nor understand them.
So we are …
Continue reading

Good product

6 out of 10
December 03, 2022
Incentivized
We want to see what is happening in our products and assess the users experiences. We wanted to see what features they are using most and …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Free

$0

Cloud
Up to 10k sessions/month

Growth

Starting at $3,600 annually

Cloud
Up to 300k sessions/year

Pro

Contact Heap Sales

Cloud
Custom sessions per month and unlimited projects

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://heap.io/pricing?utm_medium=revi…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Fibonacci Heap Demo

YouTube

Imogen Heap Performance with Musical Gloves Demo

YouTube

PANASONIC - BREAD MAKER (SD-P104) - (DEMO) BY HEAP SENG GROUP

YouTube

HAPPYCALL - 'DIAMOND' DOUBLE PAN (DEMO) BY HEAP SENG GROUP

YouTube

Heap: A Smarter Approach to Product

YouTube

The Gloves Music Controller Demo with Imogen Heap | Digital Transformation

YouTube
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Heap?

Heap analyzes datasets to illuminate hidden insights within the user’s digital journey, to act with confidence. Heap helps to see and understand every single thing users do, so product and marketing teams know where to make the most impactful improvements to the digital product or website.
  • Improve customer experience: Pinpoint exactly where users are struggling and make improvements to the customer experience, driving an intuitive, enjoyable user experience.
  • Speed time-to-market and optimize the impact of product and business teams: Rather than relying purely on gut instinct, leverage digital engagement data to test hypotheses and answer questions as they arise. With data-driven insights, confidently bring new features & experiences to market.
  • Build increasingly valuable features and experiences: Leverage data to build consensus on engineering investments that can be clearly tied to business outcomes.
Over 8,000 businesses use Heap to drive business impact by delivering better experiences and better products. Customers include companies in B2B SaaS, eCommerce, and Financial Services such as Twilio, Logitech, Snapfish, Eventbrite, Esurance, Northwestern Mutual, and e*Trade.

Heap Features

  • Supported: Autocapture (Codelessly capture every interaction/event in a product or website)
  • Supported: Event Visualizer (Locate, tag and name events with this tool)
  • Supported: Data Engine (Data Dictionary and Governance tools provide control and organization of data)
  • Supported: APIs (Augment data with flexible APIs)
  • Supported: Sources (Import data from other tools)
  • Supported: Reporting and Dashboards (Get insights on activation, retention, conversion, engagement and other key digital/product metrics)
  • Supported: Ad-hoc Analysis (Retention, Conversion, Funnel, Cohort analysis, etc)
  • Supported: Heap Connect (Bring user data with managed ETL into warehouses such as Snowflake, Redshift)
  • Supported: Heap Activate (Drive action base on Heap data via connectors to Appcues, Marketo, Intercom, and Salesforce)

Heap Screenshots

Screenshot of Dashboard in Heap (Use to get Product or User Behavior Insights)Screenshot of Effort Analysis provides the first-ever quantitative measurement of user friction, capturing the difficulty users face when moving through every step of every user flow across the digital experience.Screenshot of Heap Illuminate looks for the most common events between two steps in a funnel and generates a Top Events table that displays how well paths including different events convert to the next step so you can understand how that behavior is helping or hurting conversion.Screenshot of From Top Events you can choose an event and use Path Comparison to fork your funnel and see how the selected behavior impacts conversion downstream.

Heap Videos

Heap Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesAmericas, EMEA, APAC
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Heap is a web analytics platform captures every user interaction on web iOS with no extra code. The tool allows you to track events and set up funnels to understand user flow and dropoff. It also provides visualization tools to track trends over time.

Heap starts at $0.

Adobe Analytics, Google Analytics, and Google Analytics 360 are common alternatives for Heap.

Reviewers rate Support Rating and Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 9.

The most common users of Heap are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).

Heap Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)40%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)40%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)20%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(379)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Heap is a highly versatile analytics platform that has been widely used by organizations to collect and analyze customer data. Users have found Heap to be a powerful tool for automatically tracking customer behavior and understanding their journey. From keeping metrics in check and tracking against key performance indicators, Heap has proved its effectiveness. It has helped teams track the performance of newly released features, identify areas for improvement, and understand both user and system behavior of applications.

Heap has been valuable in enhancing the understanding of customer behavior, improving user engagement, identifying pain points, and mapping out the user journey. It enables organizations to validate hypotheses, pilot test new features, and determine the success of those features. Users appreciate how Heap helps them identify issues in the user experience, summarize interactions, and ultimately improve the overall user experience. By delving into customers' digital journeys, Heap allows companies to better design processes, increase platform usage, and pinpoint areas of easiness and difficulty for customers.

In addition to these applications, Heap serves as a powerful tool for tracking and analyzing user interactions, determining adoption and usage statistics, segmenting users into multiple buckets, verifying default assumptions, locating friction points in processes, building customers' digital journey, creating graphs and charts for analysis in various industries such as healthcare and finance. Heap also supports funnel optimization by providing insights into drop-off points and channel performance. Whether it's the product team making data-driven decisions or marketing personnel measuring traffic sources and conversions, Heap offers valuable analytics data across different functions within organizations.

Overall, users rely on Heap to gain deep insights into user behavior, make informed business decisions, improve user experience based on audience segments, track conversion rates and usage patterns, measure product performance against competitors. It helps understand customer engagement with websites or apps, extract insights on users' tendencies within pages or forms. It evaluates clicks and funnels while monitoring various metrics such as conversions, page views, enrollment rates, etc. Heap's ability to provide comprehensive data analyses, flexible tracking capabilities, and valuable input for product decisions has made it an essential analytics tool for companies seeking to improve their understanding of customer behavior and drive business growth.

Intuitive and User-Friendly Interface: Users have consistently praised Heap for its intuitive and user-friendly interface. It has been mentioned by many reviewers that the interface makes navigation and task completion easy.

Highly Praised Event Visualizer Tool: The event visualizer tool in Heap has received high praise from users for simplifying the process of defining elements to track engagement without the need for additional coding. Several reviewers have highlighted this feature as a standout aspect of the platform.

Auto-Capture Feature: Many users appreciate Heap's auto-capture feature, which automatically records all events on their website. This eliminates the need for manual tracking and saves valuable time for businesses. The convenience provided by this feature has been highly regarded by multiple reviewers.

Confusing User Interface: Several users have expressed frustration with the user interface, particularly when it comes to defining reports. They feel that the current approach is confusing and suggest a simpler and more intuitive design.

Difficulties with Filtering and Group-by Selection: A number of users have encountered difficulties while filtering events in the graph report. Additionally, they mention that the group-by selection often gets reset in funnel reports, causing inconvenience and extra effort.

Steep Learning Curve: Users have found the learning curve for using the platform to be steep. Many feel that technical knowledge is required to use it proficiently, which can be a barrier for non-technical or less experienced users.

  • Implement Heap as soon as possible to start capturing all analytics and defining events easily. Prioritize creating a data strategy beforehand, including key performance indicators (KPIs) and meaningful analytics for the organization.
  • Complement Heap with other analytics tools to cover everything not planned for in regular analytics. Consider using Heap as a separate tracking system compared to traditional tools like Omniture or Google Analytics.
  • Thoroughly learn the documentation of Heap to fully utilize its capabilities. Do not hesitate to reach out to Heap support for assistance with any questions that arise.

Users also find Heap valuable for understanding user behavior, making data-oriented decisions, and improving products. They appreciate its ability to capture all analytics and save time by enabling more employees to build out analytics.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 232)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Madison Sophia Bennett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The use of Heap in the company is focused on the development of automated data collection and processing systems. [We use this] to obtain a complete analysis of different areas that require tools with robust analysis systems that can provide verifiable reports to know the possible changes that we must perform. [This allows our] clients [to] feel that we are continuously working to satisfy their needs and also to increase our vision of events and projects in relation to the data that we manage to process in Heap. Although Heap is not the only solution that we are implementing to perform data analysis of the behavior and interests of customers in the company, we can use this tool for more specific aspects that result in productivity growth in high percentages.
December 15, 2022

Solid Data Tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Heap is currently used across my whole organization and has helped us to democratize our data greatly. The tool allows all employees access to performance data and empowers users from various departments to engage in site testing by simplifying the reporting process. We use it for everything from tracking daily health metrics to making large-scale decisions about test performance.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Heap is much better compared to Google Analytics/Adobe Analytics as I can label the user tracking events on an adhoc basis. It allows me to get insights quicker and make much better-informed decisions.

Team is now able to track how newly released features and releases recently gone live are performing and helps us get observability level as to what we can be done better for those that aren't performing upto the expectations. Heap is a great tool to help us understand how exactly users are engaging with our platform and what they see as trouble areas.

It helped us summarise out numerous interactions that are used to identify issues in the user experience.
Anmol Dubey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The majority of our experience has been pleasant. With Heap, you have the ability and freedom to assess the user experience of your website at the most fundamental level and then build upon it. This tool, which again operates right out of the box, is the easiest available for determining how each button, design, feature, functionality, page, and tool affects our consumers.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Heap was used and tested for an insights platform. It can enhance the understanding of any type of customer behaviour and path. These insights can be used for better design of processes, understand the user experience, as well as make them use the platforms more. It can pinpoint areas of easiness and difficulty for the customers and this way enable solutions.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
How you use Heap in your organization?
We use Heap to auto-capture every user interaction in our website. it used by the product and marketing teams to better understand user behavior, find errors, and make more informed decisions about product changes.

What are the business problems the product addresses and what is the scope of your use case?
When one of our users informs us that he has encountered an issue with our site we use Heap to define events retroactively and immediately do analysis on those events.
Zeel Pandya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
we're having company portfolio site that we recently redesigned. to ensure optimal ROI, we went to the market and stumbled upon this magnificent gem of a tool.
even non-technical staff at our office seems to work with Heap just fine. it is heavily dependent on visual aspect like UI/UX. by no means, I'm implying that their backend logic is not sound. its advance and uses latest AI and ML practices to derive its results. they manage a perfect balance and gives best of both worlds.
some of the useful features that we heavily used were, session replay. we pin-pointed customers from certain industry and analyzed their behavior. for example one of our well established customer already had their applications running in cloud, they specifically navigated to the DR (disaster recover) part on the page. after collecting this insight, we approached them and it was a hit. we're now serving them DR solutions.
December 03, 2022

Heap Product analytics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using Heap to track and analyze user interactions on the product and determine adoption, usage and other funnel related statistics. There were many undefined events in the past for which we are now able to view the historical data easily, on the spot! It is also very helpful in building the entire funnel and journey of all the users and segment them into multiple buckets
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Heap is assisting us in determining our next course of action. We have the ability to verify or disprove any default assumptions we may have. We are better equipped to determine when further in-app or other messages is useful or essential. Naturally, one of the fundamental components is the ability to locate friction points in a process that has been created for our clients.
December 03, 2022

Heap Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
In our company, we need to build customer's digital journey because we are not following well our customer nor understand them.
So we are using Heap for the digital insights that the software is giving us.
December 03, 2022

Good product

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We want to see what is happening in our products and assess the users experiences. We wanted to see what features they are using most and which features are used least.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
As an implementation partner, I was tasked with product comparison and choose between various marketing analytics platform. We did a comparitive analysis between Heap and Google Analytics. The scope of my use case was

1. Reduce dependency on engineering team to generate perpetual dashboards.
2. Provide real time data insights for re-marketing and personalization.
3. Quick and continuous site(s) level implementation, based on data insights.
4. Side by side comparison of historical data
Fernando Roque | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The best tool to research user behavior in a storefront sales website. It gives information about the user's path from the website's landing from marketing campaigns or search engines. With this tool, you can track the reasons for a customer to shop and pay and what happens when your storefront does not succeed in a sale. You can research if a logically broken path is affecting your online sales.
Sachidananda Choudhury | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
In this modern world we always need to balance our organization objectives and the people's need which will eventually lead to successfully journey.

Heap does the exact same thing, it balances both using data analytics. using both predictive framework and adaptive framework it help to achieve the requirements.

In predictive framework it uses past data for analysis where as kn adaptive framework it uses data on fly to achieve the requirements.

Based on scenario we can use both the models.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Heap has also allowed us to see user funnels and behavioral trends. Heap gives us the ability to distinguish different users based on the actions they conduct within our application. While utilizing the tool, from operations to product to business stakeholders, have a real-time pulse on how features are being used by end users, which helps them identify spots of friction and prioritize projects.
December 02, 2022

Good tool for Analytics

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Heap analytics is a good platform for analytics and could be used for various use case to visualize data and learn more about it. It is very well priced for the features it has and could be used with so many integrations coming out of the box depending upon your use case.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I used Heap to better understand user behavior and our applications' system behavior. This helps us troubleshoot customer pain points in our system, and formulate a comprehensive solution to rectify the problem. Insights from Heap are also helpful with helping us prioritize what is urgent/important to our users.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Heap to collect customer data from our website and application. We use this data to understand how our customers interact and engage with our product. Heap addresses our business problem of having to automatically collect digestible data about our customers so that we can make informed data-driven decisions.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Heap is our core solution used across a large scope of business processes. Heap gives an understanding of customers’ digital journeys, so we can improve conversion, retention, and customer delight. For example, we can now discuss on client journeys in detail, and pinpoint where our pipeline is robust - and where improvements can be made. Heap has enabled us to leverage these insights and improve our ROI. <br>
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
In our scope we mostly use Heap for identifying and fixing issues. Heap allows us to have immediate insight in all our user behavior by analyzing each step they take on our web domain. If a specific step performs less well, Heap will show us exactly where the performance dropped and why.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Heap to help make more data-driven product decisions. The event visualizer allows anyone in the product team, from product designers to product managers to easily create events without having to know how to code. This means that we no longer have to go through different bottlenecks to get the data we need to make decisions.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We implemented Heap to be able to track behavior on our patients' and clients' sides. The benefits of the service are felt across the organization: from ops to product to business stakeholders, Heap users at Cerebral have a real-time pulse on how features are being used by end-clients and to understand points of friction and to prioritize projects.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Heap allows us to clearly segment between users based on actions taken in our application. It has allowed us to create and test various product experiences, both in-app and through our CRM platform. Heap has also allowed us to view user funnels and behavioral trends while interacting with the application.
Return to navigation