Heap Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
90 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 41)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 27, 2021
Claire N. Thomas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • If I want to track a new event, I can set it up and they already have data for that event, no waiting.
  • Many ways to slice and dice data to get the insights I need.
  • It doesn't require developer time to set up each event.
  • There's a bit of a learning curve; it's not hard when you get the hang of it but we've had lower adoption among the company because of it, which is a shame because it's a great tool.
  • It may just be the permissions I have, but it's hard to clean up events that I defined poorly when I was learning to set up events in the first place.
Read Claire N. Thomas's full review
March 09, 2021
Jono Child | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Out of the Box Tracking
  • Retrospective Definitions
  • Easy to use Graphs and Analytics
  • The ability to adjust graphs colours to ensure that say Mobile users are always blue across every graph
  • Real time data out
Read Jono Child's full review
March 24, 2021
Michael Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Events are automatically captured.
  • Defining Events is simple and intuitive.
  • Report building interface is easy to setup and configure.
  • Improved error messaging with links to Help articles.
Read Michael Brown's full review
March 19, 2021
Sam Dowd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Universal event collection so that we can start capturing data immediately and plan the implementation out while events are being captured.
  • The developer docs are very helpful. Our devs don't want to spend too much time figuring out the APIs and webhooks so accurate and helpful docs are a huge help to getting dev buy in.
  • The visualizations in Heap are really helpful and we look forward to creating very useful and actionable dashboards for our company.
  • Connecting Heap to Salesforce will be invaluable for us to understand the context of a user without manual intervention.
  • Sending events and data to our data warehouse (Snowflake) will also be very helpful to our goal of storing data in a single source of truth. Though we may create dashboards and reports in Heap, this warehouse connection will allow us to match Heap data up with other company data.
  • Onboarding using a 3rd party has been a struggle. They have been somewhat pushy and impatient with us.
  • I don't think we've used it enough to experience its limitations too much, but I'm sure we will come across some.
Read Sam Dowd's full review
March 09, 2021
Tim Aderman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great reporting on user engagement
  • Easily save reports to access at any time
  • Fantastic event tracking
  • Can take some time to learn as there is a lot to the platform
Read Tim Aderman's full review
March 09, 2021
Daniel Denunzio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Visual event definition.
  • Real-time analytics and reporting in the UI.
  • Flexibility in implicit and explicit tracking.
  • Increased export frequency via Heap connect to data warehouse.
Read Daniel Denunzio's full review
March 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great UI - easy to read and perform analysis.
  • Event Visualizer to allow anyone to easily set up an even to track.
  • Live view that allows a user to see how performing certain actions on the site are reflected in Heap for tracking.
  • Although I love the event visualizer, it can sometimes be a bit buggy and not work correctly.
  • I think it'd be awesome if Heap added some "suggested" reports to track, where they pre-populate the data that's being suggested and create a dashboard from it.
  • It'd be great to see an onboarding experience where a newly login in user is taken through a basic flow to create a report or analysis.
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provide insight into specific user sessions
  • Provide high level analytics of app use and feature effectiveness
  • Equips product and engineering to provide tailored support to customers having issues
  • We had two recent releases that crashed some part of Heap so that missing data has affected our interpretation of certain data
  • Not able to look backwards before heap was installed to get a complete picture
  • Custom events created by engineers tend to be complex and not immediately easy to understand their definitions
Read this authenticated review
March 17, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very straightforward presentation, little fluff.
  • Quick and simple to put together most basic KPI charts, do historical comparisons, etc.
  • Event definitions are easy to access, especially if you can understand the code snippets.
  • Difficult (and as far as I can tell, sometimes impossible) to do some more advanced segmentation, or group comparisons within one chart.
  • Can get very lengthy and laborious to create more detailed charts.
  • There aren't as many "default" filters or segments as I'm used to (device type, location, etc), but this could be due to our set up.
  • I really don't like that there isn't a way to add notes or comments or sections or anything into dashboards (or even individual charts). Sharing context is just as important as sharing numbers.
Read this authenticated review
March 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gives you all the data you will need
  • Easy to set up and install
  • Helps track user issues in our app
  • Better, user-friendly UX
  • Report organization
Read this authenticated review
April 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Event visualizer makes it easy to define and verify events.
  • Reduce engineering overhead to track events (in contrast to Google Analytics).
  • Reporting functionality is limited (e.g. dashboard visualizations).
Read this authenticated review
April 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Detailed documentation.
  • Responsive support.
  • Robust API.
  • UI isn't as friendly as it could be.
  • Can be complex for less technical users.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Nice interface.
  • Easy to understand visualizations.
  • I'm not a daily user, so I have to relearn what the primary navigation. What's a Report vs. Definition vs. Analyze?
  • I only use my personal space to create definitions, because when I try to publish a message is sent to the admin and that takes too long.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Accessibility for anyone to use the tool.
  • Ability to build useful dashboards.
  • Ability to track various stats.
  • No SQL experience needed.
  • Dashboard tool could be a bit easier to use.
  • The graphics that it outputs could be more readable.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy transition to get our data to flow into Heap.
  • Easy to create reports/dashboards.
  • Data accuracy generally pretty good.
  • A bit restrictive in terms of what types of charts we can create.
  • A bit restrictive in terms of how to cut data different ways.
  • Not the fastest onboarding (but that was partially our fault).
Read this authenticated review
March 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provide the data directly in our database.
  • Fairly easy to understand the schema.
  • Cost effective.
  • Depending on the tracking, the schema changes.
  • Would like to get more frequent data exports from them.
Read this authenticated review
March 19, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Being able to create events after the fact and still view the data is simply fantastic
  • The configuration is point and click, which makes for an easy set up, especially for non-technical users
  • I don't worry about the idea of creating a customer acquisition plan from the beginning because Heap helps me do it
  • There are a lot of features and functionality of Heap and it can be a little overwhelming at first; this is a good problem to have but I definitely found it intimidating at first but stick with it
  • If you are used to Google Analytics, it takes a bit of time to understand Heap metrics, as they are quite different--more user based and funnel based
  • It can be difficult to navigate and can be confusing to know which primary menu item will show the appropriate sub menu items
Read this authenticated review
March 16, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Heap makes it easy to create reports on the fly. I didn't need any training - I was able to jump in and start getting useful data.
  • Heap is very quick - I get results right away.
  • I don't really have any negative things to say about Heap. It seems to do the job. It would be great if it starts to build more direct connections with CS software platforms. I've yet to see that. It seems you need to push the Heap data into a data warehouse which can be costly.
Read this authenticated review
March 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integrate with other data sources
  • Granular or grouped user behavior
  • White glove implementation
  • Tracking network responses in the browser
  • I wish I could change the timeframe of a report right from overview
  • Tracking client side errors
Read this authenticated review
March 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy-to-use interface
  • Easy-to-define events
  • Many features for different use cases
  • Sometimes inconsistent in data collection
  • Dashboard functionality is slightly hard to navigate
Read this authenticated review
March 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Heap allows you create tracking information by using your actual site.
  • Heap allows you to save a link to a graph/study of what you are interested in. This is important because I can make a spreadsheet of all possible clicks and flows through the site and jump right into a chart review.
  • Heap has a training program that is very useful.
  • Heap 101 has some mistakes. Perform the tasks section and you will discover it.
  • Paring to mobile devices is a painful experience.
  • Very pricey.
Read this authenticated review

What is Heap?

Heap is a web analytics platform captures every user interaction on web iOS with no extra code. The tool allows you to track events and set up funnels to understand user flow and dropoff. It also provides visualization tools to track trends over time.

Heap Video

Heap: A Smarter Approach to Product

Heap Pricing

Starting Price: $59

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$0per year
Business12,000per year

Heap Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No