TrustRadius
Higher Logic is a private community platform that empowers members, customers, support and product teams to create and manage meaningful, engaging online communities.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/nS/Kz/SFMQHKSRQTKT.jpegPositive Committee EngagementOur association uses the Higher Logic Connected Community as a communication tool for our committees, board of directors, staff, and other special interest groups within our association. This has helped us keep our volunteer committee members engaged and communicating between in-person meetings on a secure, central platform. Previously, each committee had its own method of communicating - Basecamp, Facebook groups, and more. Now, with Higher Logic, we are able to keep those communications centralized and on a consistent platform from year to year.,Easy to use - with just a few short informational handouts that we created in-house even our members who are less computer-savvy have been able to engage and connect on our site.,This may seem a small detail, but when tracking through our pages of communities, the user has to manually scroll back to the top after navigating to the next page. This can be a little frustrating! Sometimes the load time can be slow. We've experienced more outages with the site than we thought we might. Our members and leadership get frustrated when this happens. They don't want a break in their communications!,8,Higher Logic has definitely provided us the tools to allow our committees and special interest groups to engage with each other between meetings. This has encouraged a different type of committee engagement, which has been positive overall.,Adobe Acrobat DC, Microsoft 365 BusinessHigher Logic ReviewWe use Higher Logic to manage our online community. It's used by just one department to facilitate the community, share information and moderate discussions. It gets our members, who are doctors, to ask questions about procedures and patients that our staff otherwise couldn't answer.,Higher Logic is responsive to help desk questions or addressing problems or situations we may not understand. It's great because we always have support. The platform is easy to explain to members how to use. They don't have to go through a lot of steps to get set up and are able to move around the platform quickly.,The admin dashboard (which is already going to be changing). I think the new setup will be really beneficial for new staff members who may come on to assist with the community.,9,The community laid dormant for a while before we revitalized, but it has encouraged more communication between members and then when they have the chance to meet at our annual meeting, they feel like they already know each other and want to sign up for the meeting to communicate with their new friends.,Solid Product with Plenty of Options to UtilizeIt is being used by about 1/4 of our organization internally and a large portion of our members externally.,Holding their annual conference for the users; the Higher Logic User Group Super Forum. It's a great way to meet some of the people you've interacted with online or over the phone and get to the bottom of problems you're having in a relatively short amount of time. The online community onboarding program has been particularly helpful for me so far, while a different use than is typical, I'm new to the platform and needed extensive training to learn about and improve our site. Utilizing automation rules to make me feel engaged in their HUG community and encourage my participation.,The support ticketing system has an outrageous number of options that make it almost impossible to figure out what I'm supposed to input every time I experience an issue with the platform, which causes further frustration for fear of not knowing if you are sending your concern to the wrong place. When moving around pieces of information on an individual's profile it automatically moves that piece to the top of the section you are working in, leading to tedious reordering or demographic pieces. You have to copy/paste sections when trying to edit navigation of your pages instead of a simple, intuitive drag & drop. They claim to be changing this soon.,7,It has overall been positive and will continue to be positive the more I learn about what it has to offer.,Abila netFORUM EnterpriseHigher Logic, a review on why it took no logic to implement their productsWe started using Higher Logic (HL) for our online community about 6 years ago. When I came on board, we were integrating the HL community with another CMS platform hosting our website. It wasn't the best relationship, so when we redesigned our website we also switched to HL for our website CMS and hosting. These are the basis of our communication with and between our membership, so a reliable platform for both was necessary.,Higher Logic product managers are probably some of the best in the industry. They know their products and aren't pushy in trying to sell them to you. Don't get me wrong, they do try to sell you a product, but they understand that not everyone who is tasked with learning more is also a decision maker. That doesn't stop them from being professional and thorough in their demonstrations or explanation of fees. Their technical support is top notch. Not only do they work to resolve issues, they also work with you to help you with non-issues. Our initial redesign was done by an agency that worked with HL directly to set up the new site. When I was tasked with a mini-redesign this year, HL technical support offered me a lot of insight on how to best do this using just my skills and HL. They offer training on their platforms to ensure your success as an administrator. There is no cost and you can either go to their onsite two days "boot camp" or you can access a plethora of training videos and webinars through their online users' community.,They work with our AMS, but the version of our AMS isn't supported for all of their products which prevents me from using some of the products they offer that would make our organization's processes much easier to manage than they are today. Since they are a SaaS organization, each of their products is designed to work together. This is great. What isn't great is that they don't offer any kind of bundle pricing or combined billing. So each product is billed at its own rate, individually each year. This makes it hard for smaller and non-profit organizations to utilize a large number of their products because the cost can be steep in the long run and it's a billing nightmare since you might not get the invoices for all of the services at the same time (or in our case they might not be sent to the same person(s) for each invoice).,10,Our community usage is up since the integration of our community and websites on the same platform. A lot less crashing, which means a lot more happy members. Happy members renew their membership.,Sitefinity,Microsoft Office 365, Adobe PhotoshopHigher Logic Communities can expand your Membership participationWe currently use Higher Logic as a community site for various committees, collaborative and member groups for our association integrated with our current AMS system. This gives us one platform for our members to seek out resources and discussions with other members on current industry issues.,Integrates well with various database systems as well as email messaging systems. Excellent support staff. They are professional and quick in their responses. Security is a plus for us. Higher Logic's individual communities on each site can be as public or secure as you need it to be.,Additional reporting capabilities for the community admin. I know they are working on this piece so it will get there eventually.,10,Allowed more member participation with our Association. Allowed our Association to push out timely information to the majority of our members and have it accessible 24/7 for them.,Impexium
Unspecified
Higher Logic
20 Ratings
Score 9.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Higher Logic Reviews

Higher Logic
20 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 20 vetted Higher Logic reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-12 of 12)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Victoria Holmen profile photo
November 12, 2018

Higher Logic Review: "Positive Committee Engagement"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our association uses the Higher Logic Connected Community as a communication tool for our committees, board of directors, staff, and other special interest groups within our association. This has helped us keep our volunteer committee members engaged and communicating between in-person meetings on a secure, central platform. Previously, each committee had its own method of communicating - Basecamp, Facebook groups, and more. Now, with Higher Logic, we are able to keep those communications centralized and on a consistent platform from year to year.
  • Easy to use - with just a few short informational handouts that we created in-house even our members who are less computer-savvy have been able to engage and connect on our site.
  • This may seem a small detail, but when tracking through our pages of communities, the user has to manually scroll back to the top after navigating to the next page. This can be a little frustrating!
  • Sometimes the load time can be slow.
  • We've experienced more outages with the site than we thought we might. Our members and leadership get frustrated when this happens. They don't want a break in their communications!
Higher Logic works very well for our business purposes. We can very easily create new communities when we need to (and this is often!). Our association isn't as concerned with driving engagement, but the tools Higher Logic provides allows us to take a closer look at the engagement level of our committee members when needed.
Read Victoria Holmen's full review
Megan Kavy profile photo
November 12, 2018

"Higher Logic Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Higher Logic to manage our online community. It's used by just one department to facilitate the community, share information and moderate discussions. It gets our members, who are doctors, to ask questions about procedures and patients that our staff otherwise couldn't answer.
  • Higher Logic is responsive to help desk questions or addressing problems or situations we may not understand. It's great because we always have support.
  • The platform is easy to explain to members how to use. They don't have to go through a lot of steps to get set up and are able to move around the platform quickly.
  • The admin dashboard (which is already going to be changing). I think the new setup will be really beneficial for new staff members who may come on to assist with the community.
Higher Logic is great for our members across the world to engage and ask questions about patients or cases. The online platform allows more open discussion than an email chain would, especially because they have the opportunity to discuss people they may not otherwise have the chance to.

Read Megan Kavy's full review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

Higher Logic Review: "Solid Product with Plenty of Options to Utilize"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by about 1/4 of our organization internally and a large portion of our members externally.
  • Holding their annual conference for the users; the Higher Logic User Group Super Forum. It's a great way to meet some of the people you've interacted with online or over the phone and get to the bottom of problems you're having in a relatively short amount of time.
  • The online community onboarding program has been particularly helpful for me so far, while a different use than is typical, I'm new to the platform and needed extensive training to learn about and improve our site.
  • Utilizing automation rules to make me feel engaged in their HUG community and encourage my participation.
  • The support ticketing system has an outrageous number of options that make it almost impossible to figure out what I'm supposed to input every time I experience an issue with the platform, which causes further frustration for fear of not knowing if you are sending your concern to the wrong place.
  • When moving around pieces of information on an individual's profile it automatically moves that piece to the top of the section you are working in, leading to tedious reordering or demographic pieces.
  • You have to copy/paste sections when trying to edit navigation of your pages instead of a simple, intuitive drag & drop. They claim to be changing this soon.
The Higher Logic platform is very well suited for an association.
Read this authenticated review
Theresa Grier profile photo
April 05, 2018

"Higher Logic, a review on why it took no logic to implement their products"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Higher Logic (HL) for our online community about 6 years ago. When I came on board, we were integrating the HL community with another CMS platform hosting our website. It wasn't the best relationship, so when we redesigned our website we also switched to HL for our website CMS and hosting. These are the basis of our communication with and between our membership, so a reliable platform for both was necessary.
  • Higher Logic product managers are probably some of the best in the industry. They know their products and aren't pushy in trying to sell them to you. Don't get me wrong, they do try to sell you a product, but they understand that not everyone who is tasked with learning more is also a decision maker. That doesn't stop them from being professional and thorough in their demonstrations or explanation of fees.
  • Their technical support is top notch. Not only do they work to resolve issues, they also work with you to help you with non-issues. Our initial redesign was done by an agency that worked with HL directly to set up the new site. When I was tasked with a mini-redesign this year, HL technical support offered me a lot of insight on how to best do this using just my skills and HL.
  • They offer training on their platforms to ensure your success as an administrator. There is no cost and you can either go to their onsite two days "boot camp" or you can access a plethora of training videos and webinars through their online users' community.
  • They work with our AMS, but the version of our AMS isn't supported for all of their products which prevents me from using some of the products they offer that would make our organization's processes much easier to manage than they are today.
  • Since they are a SaaS organization, each of their products is designed to work together. This is great. What isn't great is that they don't offer any kind of bundle pricing or combined billing. So each product is billed at its own rate, individually each year. This makes it hard for smaller and non-profit organizations to utilize a large number of their products because the cost can be steep in the long run and it's a billing nightmare since you might not get the invoices for all of the services at the same time (or in our case they might not be sent to the same person(s) for each invoice).
Higher Logic is a great solution for a lot of different needs. If you are looking for a website CMS or an online community, my experience makes me feel like they are a top-notch organization that is well suited for these needs regardless of the industry you are in. They offer a lot of add-on software that I don't currently use because they aren't right for my organization.
Read Theresa Grier's full review
Peg Stiffler profile photo
April 04, 2018

Review: "Higher Logic Communities can expand your Membership participation"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Higher Logic as a community site for various committees, collaborative and member groups for our association integrated with our current AMS system. This gives us one platform for our members to seek out resources and discussions with other members on current industry issues.
  • Integrates well with various database systems as well as email messaging systems.
  • Excellent support staff. They are professional and quick in their responses.
  • Security is a plus for us. Higher Logic's individual communities on each site can be as public or secure as you need it to be.
  • Additional reporting capabilities for the community admin. I know they are working on this piece so it will get there eventually.
The security of only allowing those members that need to see a particular resource or discussion is very valuable to us.
Read Peg Stiffler's full review
Luke Zimmer profile photo
March 28, 2018

Review: "Higher Logic is a great tool for non-profits"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Higher Logic is being used within our department to create an online space for member interaction and to connect our program participants across the country.
  • Organizing discussions and delivering them to members in customizable digests.
  • Creating tools for managing a number of engagement opportunities with constituents.
  • Addressing user needs and problems with their own online community.
  • The ability to incorporate community elements/widgets into external websites needs improvement.
  • While useful, digest emails need to be more configurable to meet company branding requirements and to make digests more visually appealing.
  • The platform needs a tool that allows users to create pop-up chat rooms with select users. It could also benefit from the ability to create spontaneous video hangouts among groups of users--more synchronous community features.
Higher Logic is very well suited for small organizations that are in need of a full suite of community and website management tools. When incorporating the tool into large organizations and well-defined technical infrastructures, more work is needed to ensure that the system is fully integrated and works well within the existing technical environment as well as the front-end user experience.
Read Luke Zimmer's full review
No photo available
April 20, 2018

User Review: "Higher Logic is #1"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Higher Logic is the provider of our online community and our volunteer management system. They are by far are one of the best vendors that we utilize. Their support staff and leadership is top notch. I trust the company and the direction the company is headed in.
  • Customer support is reactive and communicates well.
  • Sales team does a great job in providing opportunities to utilize more of their product offerings.
  • R&D is always ahead of expectations.
  • My only concern about the vendor is the speed at which they are growing.
Higher Logic is the premier vendor for online community management. They offer a great product, that when needed they support their customers, and provide opportunities for their clients to grow with their offerings.
Read this authenticated review
Rachael Bell profile photo
June 20, 2017

Higher Logic Review: "Top member benefit"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Higher Logic to provide online communities for our members: an Open Forum for all members as well as smaller communities for each of our committees and interest groups. It also provides a robust searchable member directory for our members.
  • A user-friendly forum for members to ask questions and provide answers.
  • A robust, searchable member directory for our members.
  • Integration with our AMS (Aptify).
  • A strong admin interface for managing the community, viewing usage stats and creating automated rules for messaging, process flows, etc.
  • Top-notch customer service.
  • A commitment to continually updating and enhancing their product.
  • The UX for the document library needs to be improved.
From what I've observed with other Higher Logic clients, the platform is scalable for virtually any size company/association.
Read Rachael Bell's full review
No photo available
October 19, 2017

Higher Logic Review: "HL cares about their client usage experience"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for Community Management and for Volunteer Manager. Used mainly by Membership department, slowly by marketing. Main objective it serves is member benefit and engagement.
  • Great resourceful Community Management
  • Volunteer Manager
  • HUG - Community of all other Community Managers
  • Functionality: Polling. Survey. Pin Communities (certain Communities vs others)
  • Report enhancement on VM.
  • Better Client Example library with up-to-date resources
  • Having the chat support available more often
Organization needs to have set strategy and goals of what they wish to achieve. Also discuss the nature of your Communities and your members. Having a good insight on what your members expect and how they use Communities, will give you better idea if Higher Logic is the right fit for you. Do your members actually discuss or do they only need "announcements"? Do all your members want to get more involved or are you only targeting certain audiences from your membership? What staff member will be trained with Higher Logic? How many staff do you need to manage your Communities? Do you need to train other departments as Super-Admins?
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 05, 2017

Review: "Higher Logic can be a great solution for your member organization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Higher Logic across our entire organization and a means for member communications, member resources, committee participation and to house members only content.
  • Managing committees has been our main use for Higher Logic, you can organize materials easily and facilitate discussion between calls with ease as well.
  • Automation rules are an addition to the system added over the past couple of years and they have helped a ton with the day to day communications with our membership, allowing us to get more specific information out to certain segments of our membership and only having to set the automation rule up once to benefit from it for as long as you need.
  • Higher Logic is really good at keeping up with current technologies and trickling that down to their user experience. They strive to consistently improve their product.
  • Because Higher Logic is on the cutting edge of keeping things current as a community manager it can be really hard to keep current on all their updates and releases.
Higher Logic is well suited for membership organizations that are looking to replace their outdated listserv, blogs, discussion boards, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Michelle Bovee Martin profile photo
May 26, 2015

Review: "Higher Logic Connects Doctors Around the World"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Higher Logic is used across the organization for our physician member only communities through our web presence or on all mobile devices. Our Higher Logic platform allows our members to communicate privately in a secure environment across the United States and internationally. Physician members network and discuss complicated medical issues and hot topics, and receive immediate feedback and answers. The library feature allows them to share images with their colleagues by attaching them to a post. Images are then automatically uploaded to the library or can be uploaded separately. Higher Logic provides our members, both single practitioners or large group practices access to a larger internationally diverse community of physicians.
  • Ability to access Higher Logic through all platforms. Our members can access the Higher Logic community anywhere or using their preferred method of device.
  • Continually updating software from user feedback. Higher Logic is continually updating their software product using their customers' suggestions. Not only do their updates reflect their users suggestions but it is done quickly, sometimes within hours.
  • Customer support response time and intelligent employees. Higher Logic's support is fantastic. We have always received quick responses and Higher Logic's employees are intelligent and go above and beyond to resolve your support case.
  • Higher Logic's own user community is very active and also provides great support and interesting ideas. The community members, themselves are creative thinkers so there are many avenues available to overcome obstacles, solve problems, or just get good ideas. Higher Logic employees are also very active on the user community website daily interacting with Higher Logic users in a positive and creative way.
  • Reporting is copious but you cannot build your own reports so you may have lots of information in several different reports and have to pick and choose across several to combine manually. Exporting functionality is there but there are some reports that are only a screen shot and you cannot export them.

Do you integrate with our data base so that members can be automatically brought over?

Can you facilitate single sign on?

What level of IT support do I need to provide before and after the deployment of Higher Logic?

What is the largest and smallest number of users on your Higher Logic sites?

Do you provide ongoing technical support?

Read Michelle Bovee Martin's full review
Shannon Johnson profile photo
May 26, 2015

Review: "Higher Logic is a win-win for you and your members"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Higher Logic as a social CRM platform and connected community. Our organization is a national, web-bsaed, not-for-profit nursing association, and we needed a way to connect our members. Through our connected community, provided by Higher Logic, we now have a robust platform for members to search for one another, discuss questions and help each other out, create profiles to showcase their accomplishments, and share valuable resources with one another. We simply wouldn't be able to provide this kind of social environment without Higher Logic's help.

Not only does our connected community provide value and benefit to our members, it also benefits our association. We use the platform for community groups for our Board of Directors, volunteer groups, staff group, and expert panels to discuss and share with one another.
  • Higher Logic listens to their clients needs and continually improves services and offering based on customer feedback to meet our needs.
  • The support I receive is fast, accurate, and reliable.
  • They are a great group of people with bright minds and creative ideas, and treat you like a friend who wants you to succeed.
  • They really care about your success, and when you aren't completely satisfied, they do something about it.
  • Some people are not as tech-savvy as Higher Logic staff and other clients, making it challenging to always keep pace with others.
1. What is your primary need/goal you want to fulfill?
2. Are your current members/clients using something less sophisticated, such as Facebook groups, to meet this need currently, or would you be introducing this as a brand new feature?
3. Are your members/clients shy/outgoing?
4. What is your budget and what elements might you be interested in? (App, mentoring program, discussion groups, etc.)
5. What is your client/member demographic?
Read Shannon Johnson's full review

About Higher Logic

Higher Logic is a private community platform that empowers members, customers, support and product teams to create and manage meaningful, engaging online communities.
Categories:  Community

Higher Logic Features

Has featureDiscussions
Has featureFully Responsive Web Design
Has featureAutomation Rules
Has featureCRM/AMS Integration
Has featureResource Library
Has featureWiki
Has featureDirectories
Has featureEvent Manager & Calendar
Has featureCMS

Higher Logic Screenshots

Higher Logic Integrations

Salesforce.com, Microsoft Dynamics, 30+ Association Management Software plaforms, Parature

Higher Logic Competitors

Jive, GetSatisfaction, Small World Lab

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Higher Logic Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
28%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
64%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)Enterprises (> 500 employees)
8%

Higher Logic Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Higher Logic Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS
Supported Countries:World
Supported Languages: English, with self-translation available