HPE Aruba Ethernet Switches Reviews

33 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 29, 2021
Chris Hein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use them for our internal office LAN. It connects our firewall, desktops, servers, and soon to be phones.
  • Redundant power supplies
  • Seems to be well built
  • UI is nice
  • More ability to use UI instead of CLI for configuration
  • Ability to download updates direct from HPE
  • Spanning tree not turned on as default
It works great when running a network LAN.
Read Chris Hein's full review
May 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HPE Aruba Switches all over our organization. They allow us to use extra switch features such as VLAN and trunking compared to a "dumb" switch that has no management capability. We like that they support SSH and SNMP access so we can monitor them remotely.
  • Simple configuration
  • Easy firmware upgrades
  • Supported by HP for a long time
  • Web interface is a bit weird
  • Some things can't be done in the web interface
HPE Aruba Switches are a good cost-effective alternative to high-end switches. They offer management capabilities which allow the extra features that are necessary in a corporate environment in today's world. Depending on budget, they may still be too expensive for some users.
Read this authenticated review
April 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HPE Aruba Ethernet Switches are used across the whole organization.
  • REST API capability
  • Wired & Wireless 802.1x configuration easiness
  • Wireless Access Points (APs) zero touch provisioning
  • Its high-end family (running the AOS-CX firmware) supports a virtualization technology called VSX (Virtual Switching Extension) which allows 2 switches to present itself as one virtualized switch under Layer 2, and as 2 separate routers under Layer 3; thereby providing high availability.
  • The AOS-CX family should have an easy way to backup their configuration rather than using an automation tool like Ansible or Python or Network Analytic Engine (NAE) to do it. Its PVOS family has that functionality which makes it easy to backup its configuration. That same functionality should be transferred to the AOS-CX family as well.
  • ArubaOS CLI commands should have backward compatibility with PVOS switches. These two are one company now.
  • I understand that there are a lot of automation tools now for orchestration and device management purposes but, adding the ability of Cisco's Embedded Event Manager (EEM) would definitely add to its pros.
Every switching functionality you need can be achieved with an Aruba switch.
Read this authenticated review
April 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HPE Aruba Ethernet Switches are being used across the entire organization. Ease of deployment and management have made for a smooth transition to this product in our environment. They provice network connectivity for IP phones, WiFi access points, computers, and IoT devices
  • Ease of deployment
  • Ease of management
  • Reliability
  • Command line learning curve.
HPE Aruba Ethernet Switches are well suited for all types of network connectivity to include PoE devices. With high bandwidth and switch stacking features, it is capable of handling high network traffic. They would not be suitable for an SDWAN solution.
Support cases are handled quickly and professionally. If problems are not resolved within a certain amount of acceptable time, the escalation process is fairly easy to get to problem resolution.
Read this authenticated review
December 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using and deploying Aruba Switches across our whole organization. We are upgrading our network with Aruba 2930m, 3810, 5412,5406 Gigabit Switches.
  • Aruba switches are well built the modular power supplies are a plus.
  • Swithces are so silent you don't even know they are on.
  • VSF Stacking is easy to setup.
  • I would like for the Aruba CLI to also support HP CLI commands as well.
We Deployed around 600+ Aruba Switches at multiple locations, we have not had any issues with switches just a couple of bad stacking cables and a power supply on a core switch.
Support has been excellent and support documentation is available on their support web site.
Read this authenticated review
October 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our network infrastructure is almost exclusively HPE or Aruba switches. These switches are a great value even before the lifetime hardware warranty is taken into consideration. We have switch models spanning module backbone down to client access roles. These switches are very easy to implement and manage and include a lifetime hardware warranty.
  • Some switch manufacturers require an additional license to be purchased to access some features. Aruba switches come with all features included.
  • The HPE Aruba lifetime hardware warranty is unbeatable. Not only are these switches very cost-effective but the warranty makes staying with Aruba switches a no brainer.
  • Aruba switches are very easy to implement and configure. A new switch can often be configured within a matter of minutes. Other switch operating systems have a much steeper learning curve.
  • I have had issues finding monitoring software that natively supports Provision/Aruba OS. Most are designed primarily with Cisco in mind.
  • HPE/Aruba switches have historically had issues with corrupt flash. This seems to be less common in more recent models.
  • HPE/Aruba's switching portfolio can be confusing. Some models run on the Aruba OS while some others run on Comware. There is some overlap in these model lines so at times is can be tough to tell which switch is right.
The cost, simplicity of use, lifetime hardware warranty and wide range of models make HPE Aruba a great fit nearly anywhere. HPE really stands by their switches with the lifetime hardware warranty. Once an issue is deemed to be hardware related I can expect to have a replacement very quickly. Usually, when I get a replacement it will be on my desk the next day.
HPE Support is very easy to reach. A knowledgable rep can be reached in a few minutes. After some basic troubleshooting if the failure is due to hardware I can receive a replacement within a day or even in a few hours.
Read this authenticated review
November 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use HPE Aruba Ethernet Switches to give our collaborations network access and to connect access points. We use them to access and for distribution, not for the network core.
  • Easy web administration.
  • Good price and features.
  • Not all features are configurable from web GUI.
We like HPE Aruba Ethernet Switches to provided network access to and from branch offices.
It is a very good product, has almost all the feature you can need to access switches, a simple web GUI management, but not all can be configured from the GUI interface.
Read this authenticated review
October 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I don't have too many complaints. CLI is similar to Cisco, not too much of a learning curve. The company I work for is almost all HPE switching gear. We use the Aruba campus wide for endpoint connectivities, etc. ArubaOS is a good OS so far, so good. The switches supports L3/L2 and also routing protocols.
  • Stacking switches very easier
  • Enhanced GUI for those that hate CLI
  • They are releasing firmware updates constantly
  • They can enhance the cli a little bit more
  • Need to fix SNMPv3 to send more information instead of syslog type messages
The company I work for is almost all HPE switching gear. We use the Aruba campus wide for endpoint connectivities, etc.
Limited life time warranty on a lot of the switching, pretty good support from my experience.
Read this authenticated review
September 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it all across the board. Their performance are very great, is very similar to Cisco switches. We use it to interconnect campuses with the Edge Devices. Mostly, we use it for access connections to end-devices.
  • You can make Stack. That is how we use them, using stacking cables to connect up to 4 devices in our case.
  • Better OS than old HP series.
  • Great GUI if you don't like the CLI.
  • They support 2 power supplies for redundancy
  • They need to improve on the delivery of traps to the NCM.
  • Traps and syslogs are sometimes too generics.
You can use it on any IDF to interconnect your network with the MDF and beyond. They are more useful for end devices connection bringing POE for Phones or cameras. Using them with Aruba WAP is a good combination.
I do not have any complain with the HPE Aruba support. You can also find more info and support on the Aruba community forum.
Read this authenticated review

HPE Aruba Ethernet Switches Scorecard Summary

What is HPE Aruba Ethernet Switches?

HPE offers Ethernet switches under the Aruba Networks product line.
Categories:  Ethernet Switches

HPE Aruba Ethernet Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is HPE Aruba Ethernet Switches?

HPE offers Ethernet switches under the Aruba Networks product line.

What is HPE Aruba Ethernet Switches's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.5.

Who uses HPE Aruba Ethernet Switches?

The most common users of HPE Aruba Ethernet Switches are from Mid-size Companies and the Education Management industry.