HPE Nimble Storage Reviews

48 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-21 of 21)

Sam Fowler | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Jack Be Nimble

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

EMC - VNX E3500
The VNX management portal is not as simple to use. The support life-cycle of the VNX is also not as long. The features you get from Nimble are much better without having to pay for extra licenses.
Read Sam Fowler's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 24, 2019

Great product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We had some legacy EqualLogic that needed lots of care and feeding and performed on a so so rating. The Tintri appeared to perform well, it had some cutting edge things in the management of virtual machine data stores and siloing them out (pre-release of VVOLs). The price difference wasn't worth it and with the release of VVols, those features were brought into the Nimble storage.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

The best storage solution available if you have the budget

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The main selling point for Nimble was the high availability and read/write speeds, and how well it integrates with our virtual infrastructure. The support was also by far one of the best we have experienced across any of our vendors, with any queries we have had being resolved very quickly and efficiently each time.
Read this authenticated review
Omar Khalid | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Implementation of an HPE Nimble Hybrid Array for Backup/DR

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

HPE Nimble compares well from a performance and storage perspective. It is easy to manage and maintain and there is adequate support with a 4hr Same Business Day response for parts. The unit is a little larger than AFA from competitors however it fits well in a 4U rack. Pure still has the upper hand when it comes to performance and overall customer service.
Read Omar Khalid's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

HPE Nimble boxes are a great choice for any organization, small or large.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Starwind is much less expensive and is more of a virtual "provide your own hardware" San so its performance will really depend on how much extra money you put into building the back end. With that said the amount of work it takes to get Starwind working correctly and building the hardware side really makes Nimble seem like a better value in the end. And since Nimble is an all in one solution you do not have to worry about the vendor blaming any other hardware you brought into the mix. We selected Nimble because of the ease of management and lack of need to build the back end.
Read this authenticated review
Jeff Koelker | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2018

Nimble Storage - Excellent choice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When going with Nimble, I compared it against Nutanix (hypervisor/storage all in one), NetApp, and HPE Simplivity (hypervisor/storage all in one). Immediately I was drawn to the Nutanix and HPE Simplivity systems due to their performance capabilities of having everything within the same backplane. However, they were cost prohibitive for our needs. It then came down to the NetApp and Nimble options. The device being replaced was a NetApp so we were already familiar with them. When it came down to it though, the NetApp replacement was more costly, less intuitive and I was unimpressed with managing one for the previous 5 years. I was ready for a change and couldn't be happier with the end result.
Read Jeff Koelker's full review
Lee Holland, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2018

Nimble, a breath of fresh air!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used Dell Equallogic, Infortrend, Drobo, and Qnap. These products just aren't in the same league with exception to maybe Equallogic. Equallogic is enterprise grade and very good, but frankly still doesn't even compare to Nimble.
Read Lee Holland, CISSP's full review
Josh Rice, MBA, ACSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2018

Nimble brings the flexibility that growing companies need.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Nimble is much quicker and more efficient than the MSA solution, however we did roll out the MSA solution for DR purposes. Running them side-by-side you can see a significant variance between writing speeds between the two products. Because we are a 7 day shop and have high-throughput at some of our branches, the efficiencies of Nimble is what sold us on the product for our production cluster.
Read Josh Rice, MBA, ACSP's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2018

Nimble is the no compromises, best of all worlds, storage solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We were early adopters of Nimble. At the time of our SAN deployment, EMC and NetApp didn't have solutions that matched our needs. Nimble presented itself as a next generation storage platform that wasn't bogged down by legacy technologies. They had a turnkey solution for our needs that provided the best of all worlds (price, performance, reliability, and simplicity). EMC and NetApp couldn't touch the Nimble in all of the same categories.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2018

Nimble is the right fit for me and should be for you as well

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The expense and general cockiness of Pure Storage is what pushed me to Nimble. The guys at Nimble were laid back and had invited me to a bunch of events and I got to learn in a non-pushy environment about the technology that makes their devices tick. They were also there to show how much people liked them not their prowess and first to all Flash array like Pure Storage.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2018

Good and reliable Storage system, I highly recommend Nimble Storage for all of your SAN storage needs!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Purchase price was great and actually cheaper than most competitors but yet I felt like the product was better put together and further along than most of the others.
Read this authenticated review
Bear Golightly | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2017

Looking at Nimble Storage? I hope you like consistently sub-millisecond latency!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

All of the storage vendors we tested in a shoot-out performed pretty well, though I don't have the raw numbers. What sold us on Nimble is the service and support, which the others cannot touch.
Read Bear Golightly's full review
Jeremy Judnic | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2017

Nimble performance that won't slow down your budget.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We currently use EMC VNX in our environment and it works well, but after using Nimble we would probably continue that route. The bang for the buck is better with Nimble, and it is just as easy if not easier to use than EMCs product. Also, Nimble support has been some of the greatest support I've encountered from a technical aspect.
Read Jeremy Judnic's full review
Larry Askew | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2014

Nimble SAN revew

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

With the offerings available at the time in a similar price range, we perceived Nimble to offer better performance, better UI resulting in ease of configuration and ongoing access to information about the array and a minimal rack space requirement. Those were the differences we focused on.
Read Larry Askew's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 16, 2016

Nimble Storage Keeping It Awesome

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Comparing Nimble Storage to the top three players EMC, NETAPP, and HP was hard to do. Everyone had their own special perks. Those companies have been around a lot longer. Three years ago when we made our purchase with Nimble, the company was only 3 years old. We were skeptical about the future. As we learned more about Nimble Storage we found out the creator/owner moved from NetApp. He developed code and a new way of thinking for SAN infrastructure to use compression. We found it useful that the company wasn't fresh out of the water, but enhancing. When it came down to price it stacks up about the same as the top three players. You do get more storage for your money. You get compression which can save 5%-20% depending on the data you have. It works great and doesn't have any kind of performance impact. You also get a smaller foot print. I know to get some of the performance and features from HP you have to have two or three arrays. That is at least 12U. One Nimble array is 4U.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2016

Nimble Storage - a great solution for our growth

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • NAS
Hands down Nimble has been better able to handle the workloads and needs of IT and business growth vs. the NAS solutions I have used. I must also say, our NAS solutions have been primarily for storage and not server situations. The flexibility of Nimble paired with VMWare and Unitrends in our environment has allowed IT to maintain an environment that tripled in size without any additional staff.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Flash Array Performance (5)
9.4
Flash Array Integration (5)
8.6
Data Compression (5)
8.8
Non-Intrusive Upgrades (6)
9.5
Simplicity (6)
9.5
Power Savings (5)
7.4

About HPE Nimble Storage

Nimble Storage was acquired by HPE in 2017. The enterprise flash array product line now goes by the name HPE Nimble Storage.

HPE Nimble Storage Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No