HPE Nimble Storage Reviews

48 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-22 of 22)

Sam Fowler | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Jack Be Nimble

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Small organizations with enough budget and are in a full refresh project where they can justify the cost. Organizations only going through a partial refresh may not be able to justify the cost or have all of the hardware (network for iSCSI) to support the requirements.
Read Sam Fowler's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 24, 2019

Great product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pretty much any medium or high-performance applications and server hosting. I would use it where you need a traditional SAN. The models we had were the hybrid or all-flash. On the market, they have similar performance specs, but in real-time use, the all-flash array did laps around the hybrid flash one.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

The best storage solution available if you have the budget

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In an environment where high availability is key, Nimble is excellent. In the five years I've used it, it has never caused downtime for my company. Even when repairs, physical or software, have been required (which has not been often), the failover process between controllers has worked perfectly, and there has been no interruption to services hosted on the device.
Read this authenticated review
Omar Khalid | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Implementation of an HPE Nimble Hybrid Array for Backup/DR

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We Primarily use HPE Nimble for:
  • Primary storage for a SAN environment.
  • Backup storage for a SAN environment.
  • A full HPE network where Infosight can be utilized from the servers to the network level.
  • Secondary replication source.
  • Cloud using Nimble Cloud volumes for Disaster Recovery.
Read Omar Khalid's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

HPE Nimble boxes are a great choice for any organization, small or large.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

HPE Nimble is well suited for any situation where a company wants a stand along or synced across the WAN San solution without needing to invest in too much training for the admins. Since they sell both partly SSD based cache devices as well as all SSD devices, they have the best of both worlds whether you need consistently fast storage with some front end cache or high-level box that is always serving up fast. As in our case, it is also well suited as a back end iScsi based box for cluster scenarios.

If a company is just looking for Standard hard drive storage then Nimble is overkill.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2019

Good performance, easy to manage.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Very suitable if you want to use it as primary tier 1 storage, it features easy snapshots and replication between sites, but it is not suitable if you want to use it as low tier slow storage with a lot of read-only due to the cost factor. Each shelf is easily expandable just like most storage arrays too.
Read this authenticated review
Curtis Jackson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

Nimble Storage

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is very well suited for VMware infrastructure usage including VDI deployment. We were able to spin up the hybrid storage as a datastore in our VMware environment quickly and easily. There is a plugin available for VMware vCenter to assist with datastore maintenance including resizing, cloning, deleting, and creating snapshots. The management console is easy to use and gives insight into space utilization and monitoring. Software updates are also very simple.
Read Curtis Jackson's full review
Jeff Koelker | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2018

Nimble Storage - Excellent choice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Nimble is able to handle a multitude of data repositories very well by applying "performance policies" to their storage volumes. This allows you to fine tune your environment and ensure mission critical repositories always have the appropriate resources attached to them where as your test volumes would get less. Some organizations may not need a separate storage device for their virtual machines and may opt to have their storage they use be built right into their hypervisor. Either way would work but I trust the Nimble equipment to house my data with that being their primary objective.
Read Jeff Koelker's full review
Paul Nicholson | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2018

HPE Nimble Storage - Great Solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

HPE Nimble has worked great for our Windows and SQL Servers. For low usage SQL servers, you may have to pin items into cache so you don't experience slowdowns. If the box is sized correctly, it can handle most loads. It does not do great on data warehouse scenarios where large datasets get recreated daily.
Read Paul Nicholson's full review
Josh Rice, MBA, ACSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2018

Nimble brings the flexibility that growing companies need.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Nimble is ideal for a production VM environment. The performance boosts you will gain from using Flash storage is noticeable at nearly every level. However, I would not advise using Nimble for DR as the cost is hefty for storage that you will likely not need to utilize often. Whether you are a large business or a small business, Nimble can scale to fit your needs.
Read Josh Rice, MBA, ACSP's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2018

Nimble is the no compromises, best of all worlds, storage solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Nimble has simplified storage for organizations of any size. If you're a small to medium organization that has enterprise storage requirements, Nimble can help you meet that need without having to have a storage engineer on staff. Nimble also has larger arrays that scale to provide solutions for large environments, while also reducing costs compared to other storage vendors.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2018

Nimble is the right fit for me and should be for you as well

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think any small to medium business and enterprise would be able to use this storage. I am not used to working in the enterprise space so I cannot say exactly but I think the ROI on this storage is incredible and is worth looking at. I assume in a petabyte or more environment things might get a little tricky, but I think at the last class I was in they mentioned they can handle that as well. I think they are a great fit for most any situation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2018

Good and reliable Storage system, I highly recommend Nimble Storage for all of your SAN storage needs!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

HPE Nimble Storage provided the best performance per dollar. We were able to decommission our legacy NetApp system which resulted in higher performance, reduced size in our rack, and lower costs than replacing with a competitive NetApp product. Other vendors were considered though none could match the overall value of the Nimble solution. ”
Read this authenticated review
Jeremy Judnic | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2017

Nimble performance that won't slow down your budget.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Nimble Storage is well suited to small/mid sized environments who are budget conscious. We asked another vendor for a similar unit and it was over 100K, while this Nimble unit was less than 50K. It allowed us to provide a high amount of iOPs without breaking the bank to a good amount of applications in our VMWare cluster.
Read Jeremy Judnic's full review
Larry Askew | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2014

Nimble SAN revew

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Really anybody needing a high performing iSCSI SAN with great performance, ease of use and support would be well served by the Nimble, that is if cost isn't a primary deciding factor.
Read Larry Askew's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 16, 2016

Nimble Storage Keeping It Awesome

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Nimble Storage works well for storage of anything. It is fast and reliable. Nimble storage is great for virtual machines, SQL databases, exchange, backups, and anything else you would put on a SAN. Nimble is especially good at compression and consolidation. If you have a rack now with 24U of storage, you can most likely knock that down to 4U with Nimble. You get more space for your money on both storage and rack space.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2016

Nimble Storage - a great solution for our growth

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We use our Nimble for a Windows Server farm of web and database servers. We also have some P2V legacy servers where the hardware is obsolescent, but we still can use the OS and legacy software as we migrate into new versions of the software.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Flash Array Performance (5)
9.4
Flash Array Integration (5)
8.6
Data Compression (5)
8.8
Non-Intrusive Upgrades (6)
9.5
Simplicity (6)
9.5
Power Savings (5)
7.4

About HPE Nimble Storage

Nimble Storage was acquired by HPE in 2017. The enterprise flash array product line now goes by the name HPE Nimble Storage.

HPE Nimble Storage Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No