HPE Nimble Storage Reviews

48 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-22 of 22)

Sam Fowler | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Jack Be Nimble

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive - Storage for all VM's.
  • Negative - ROI was longer than other storage but performance gains justified the increase of time.
Read Sam Fowler's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 24, 2019

Great product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Didn't take much time from me.
  • Very little maintenance required.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

The best storage solution available if you have the budget

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has allowed for greater expansion of the network, as it is far higher capacity than we were previously using.
  • For my company, even a few hours downtime can cost us tens of thousands of pounds, so to have had zero downtime caused by storage (whereas previously we had normal hardware issues, such as failing hard drives, take out services) has been greatly valued.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

HPE Nimble boxes are a great choice for any organization, small or large.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Nimble's snapshot capability has saved us several times. It would be hard to estimate the amount of money we would have had to spend, in additional support, without the capability to quickly revert a LUN/VM back to its previous state. Much better than relying on VMware or MS Snapshots.
  • Having the Nimble has allowed us the capability to build better and faster clusters which in turns as allowed our users to do more work in less time.
  • Nimble can be expensive to start off with so initially it took a while for our ROI to turn positive.
Read this authenticated review
Jeff Koelker | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2018

Nimble Storage - Excellent choice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We've had to spend less time managing the product daily due to its ease of use within the GUI.
  • Upgrades are easier so there is less research to be done ahead of time compared to our last product.
  • Nimble came in quite a bit cheaper than other competitors when we upgraded our storage environment.
Read Jeff Koelker's full review
Josh Rice, MBA, ACSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2018

Nimble brings the flexibility that growing companies need.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Employee experience is a positive impact and allows our staff to be more efficient because they can access network resources quicker than in a spinning disk infrastructure
  • Initial start-up cost was steep as we needed multiple controllers and 17 TB of data, but once you work the startup cost out of the way maintenance is comparable to other solutions.
Read Josh Rice, MBA, ACSP's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2018

Nimble is the no compromises, best of all worlds, storage solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • 100% uptime 4 years and counting in a 24/7 environment.
  • Long hardware support lifecycle, with extremely affordable maintenance renewal plans that provide real value.
  • Nimble has been the most cost-effective SAN solution I have ever deployed.
  • The inital costs, ongoing maintenance, and administration requirements were all 50% less than EMC and NetApp.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2018

Nimble is the right fit for me and should be for you as well

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • People walked by my office for the first time ever asking what did we do to the servers because they are much faster. I have never experienced that before when putting in a new piece of equipment.
  • It has paid for itself in space savings of not having to increase the size of the array.
  • Speed and performance and data migration times are all parts of my ROI. Its been a great ride so far.
Read this authenticated review
Bear Golightly | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2017

Looking at Nimble Storage? I hope you like consistently sub-millisecond latency!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our Nimble array has experienced a total of one incident, which had zero impact on the business, since installation.
  • Our previous solution had at least one incident a month, each of which brought production to its knees for a while, costing us thousands (or tens of thousands) per incident.
  • We have now automated many of our storage operations, eliminating both human work and human error from ongoing operational and development work.
Read Bear Golightly's full review
Jeremy Judnic | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2017

Nimble performance that won't slow down your budget.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have been able to increase the amount of data we can use without increasing the cost of that data using the de-duplication and compression features. We have been able to utilize 7TB of Virtual Machine data but the footprint is only 3.5TB after de-duplication and compression.
  • This unit cost significantly less than the competitors unit we compared it to, under half the cost for similar iOPs.
Read Jeremy Judnic's full review
Nicolas Tenthorey | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2016

Nimble Storage - an "A Team" product. Easy to use and deploy across multiple sites.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Revolutionary technology, easy to use and integrate with our servers. Our first real NAS and one of the best in the business.
  • Support for Nimble products rocks! We have called in a middle of the night and support is on the phone right away!
  • Performance of Nimble is amazing.
Read Nicolas Tenthorey's full review
Larry Askew | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2014

Nimble SAN revew

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • In our environment the financial impact is really in terms of time we don't spend managing the storage. Nimble gives us quick access to useful information allowing us to focus on the servers, applications and networks.
  • As stated before, our applications don't cause our Nimble arrays to begin to sweat, but if our application environment becomes more demanding, we have lots of headroom which should eliminate the need to move to another platform.
Read Larry Askew's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 16, 2016

Nimble Storage Keeping It Awesome

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Consolidated space in our rack at our data center. Legacy storage was 12U. By switching to Nimble we only had to use 4U and saved 8U for other expansion needed. We didn't have add another rack saving $1,200 a month.
  • We haven't had any issues with Nimble in 3 years. Our up time has been 100% with the SAN. Firmware updates have been flawless.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2016

Nimble Storage - a great solution for our growth

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • From the IT perspective, Nimble has been a great return on investment. We are able to do things we were not able to do before, I can spin up a new server for testing or deployment in a matter of minutes.
  • Also for IT, I am able to test Linux and Windows machines and delete them after I am done testing. This has allowed a lot of flexibility for me and saved time and expense of not needing additional hardware.
  • The business side has not seen the return on their investment yet, but that is primarily that the management has a different focus and hasn't fully developed a budget for the changes from a physical to virtual environment.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Flash Array Performance (5)
9.4
Flash Array Integration (5)
8.6
Data Compression (5)
8.8
Non-Intrusive Upgrades (6)
9.5
Simplicity (6)
9.5
Power Savings (5)
7.4

About HPE Nimble Storage

Nimble Storage was acquired by HPE in 2017. The enterprise flash array product line now goes by the name HPE Nimble Storage.

HPE Nimble Storage Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No