HPE Nimble Storage Reviews

48 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-22 of 22)

Sam Fowler | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Jack Be Nimble

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used two Nimble CS210 as storage across the whole organization. We were able to migrate 98% of our physical hardware to 2 Hyper-V clusters that were cross replicated between the Nimble units in two locations. By doing this, we had a snapshot solution for backups and cross replication for disaster recovery.
Read Sam Fowler's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

HPE Nimble boxes are a great choice for any organization, small or large.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Nimble Storage to host our CSV and shared volumes among our Microsoft Hyper-V Cluster Hosts. Each user at our company relies on it to serve data to them each day. When we first started considering a clustered approach virtual computer we needed to find something to host the VM's on such that they could be accessed by any clustered host and Nimble was the perfect solution for us.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 24, 2019

Great product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used as the primary and secondary Sans. I put it in 5 years ago and then last year we upgraded to an all-flash array with 2x the storage we had. It stored all the server virtual machines, and with the second one, it provided replication for all production high-level virtual machines.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

The best storage solution available if you have the budget

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Nimble is used as the core storage for our virtual infrastructure at two of our sites. The high availability and reliability of the hardware have meant that in the entire time we have been using it, we have never had any company downtime due to the Nimble storage. Due to the failover ability between the controllers, it also means that it can be kept up to date without needing to schedule in downtime each time, allowing us to be more secure.
Read this authenticated review
Omar Khalid | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Implementation of an HPE Nimble Hybrid Array for Backup/DR

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using the HPE Nimble Storage array as our secondary (backup) storage array for the corporation. Alongside our backup software, we use the array and software to transfer nightly primary array data to the backup array in a fully hydrated system while utilizing their deduplication to improve storage retention.
Read Omar Khalid's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2019

Good performance, easy to manage.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it as our primary T1 storage to host our VM. We have 2 arrays in 2 different locations that replicate to one another for disaster recovery purposes. It's used by the whole organization. Snapshot and replication features along with integration to a lot of 3rd party apps have been very beneficial to our day to day operations.
Read this authenticated review
Jeff Koelker | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2018

Nimble Storage - Excellent choice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The Nimble storage device is our primary source of network based storage. We house all of our virtual servers on this device which includes our test environment as well as our production environment. We noticed an enormous leap in ease of management as well as performance when comparing this device to our previous NetApp storage device.
Read Jeff Koelker's full review
Curtis Jackson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

Nimble Storage

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our Nimble storage array is used as SAN storage for our VMWare infrastructure across the district. It is fast storage and easy to manage.
Read Curtis Jackson's full review
Lee Holland, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2018

Nimble, a breath of fresh air!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Nimble for our high end applications run on VMware. It is used for all virtual machines running all company applications, citrix farms, sql servers, web applications, and file servers. The entire organization uses it. We consider it our mission critical array to deliver availability and performance.
Read Lee Holland, CISSP's full review
Josh Rice, MBA, ACSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2018

Nimble brings the flexibility that growing companies need.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using HPE Nimble Storage for all of our production VMs. The VM infrastructures touch the whole organization and we are very happy with the decision we made to go down this road. We were looking for improved performance for our VMs and with the Flash storage Nimble offered we are enjoying quick and responsive experiences.
Read Josh Rice, MBA, ACSP's full review
Jerry Balch | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2018

Great company, great support and rock solid performance!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our entire storage infrastructure is on Nimble arrays. We have multiple at our HQ as well as remote arrays that we replicate to at our branch offices. If the data is not on the cloud (40% of our data) then it resides on Nimble.
Read Jerry Balch's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2018

Nimble is the no compromises, best of all worlds, storage solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our HPE Nimble SAN is the core storage backend for our virtualization infrastructure. This allows us to leverage VMware cluster capabilities for high availability. We have utilized Nimble for the last 4 years and it is our only storage solution for the entire organization. It provides a self tuning "set it and forget it" storage for our growing enterprise.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2018

Nimble is the right fit for me and should be for you as well

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use our Nimble Storage as our primary production storage solution. We run our ERP and all other domain servers off of it and have excellent performance. We originally purchased it with 1 gig networking on the controllers to enable us to buy in at a cheaper price. We have now upgraded to 10 gig and also upgraded our ISCSI, switching back end to 10 gig as well and have seen a huge boost to throughput and a dive in latency seen by the VMs in Infosight's VM-Vision Logging. Sometimes a 75-80% drop in latency caused predominantly by our networking. It mostly addressed the issues we were having with our old EqualLogic Array with huge latency in the 45-150ms range.The inline de-duplication and compression technologies allowed us to buy small. The fact that the storage came with an A-shelf fully populated and B-shelf empty, we were able to populate that later on and grow the device without growing the footprint.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2018

Good and reliable Storage system, I highly recommend Nimble Storage for all of your SAN storage needs!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using HPE Nimble Storage arrays in our VMware environment hosting all our VM Servers. The entire organization has access to the server farm as end users and I manage Nimble and the associated devices. We have 2 HPE Nimble Storage with replication configured.
Read this authenticated review
Bear Golightly | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2017

Looking at Nimble Storage? I hope you like consistently sub-millisecond latency!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently servicing our entire VMware workload using Nimble Storage, including production systems as well as development and testing. The Nimble solution replaced a scale computing storage cluster we had for 5 years, and the difference is night and day. Everything in our environment is now instant, automatic, and reliable.
Read Bear Golightly's full review
Jeremy Judnic | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2017

Nimble performance that won't slow down your budget.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Nimble Storage to support our main data center VMWare environment. This main data center contains Exchange, Sharepoint and our ERP systems, as well some various other tier 2 applications and test environments. The majority of our user base uses these applications on a daily basis. We bought this Nimble unit to replace a EMC unit mostly due to differences in cost.
Read Jeremy Judnic's full review
Anthony Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2016

Nimble Storage - Highly Recommended

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using the Nimble Storage Array in our current VDI Environment. Last year when we decided to upgrade our old infrastructure with newer equipment, the question of storage came up and we needed to find a device that could handle our workload plus be easy to scale and have manageability. Our search took us to Nimble, which was already a leader in storage using adaptive flash arrays. Their patented CASL (Cache Accelerated Sequential Layout) was extremely impressive in I/O reduction and performance. The enhanced quickness could be seen immediately on our SQL servers, resulting in faster VDI times and related services. Nimble also has tie-in compatibility with other big named technology such as Cisco (SmartStack Integration) and VMware SRM (SAN Replication). This allowed it to easily be used with our Cisco USC and with our Disaster Recovery Site where we used VMware's Site Recovery Manager. It should also be noted that the Nimble team was extremely helpful during our POC (proof of concept), implementation, and post implementation. They provided knowledge, insight, and training to our group and were always ready to help, if we needed assistance.
Read Anthony Nguyen's full review
Nicolas Tenthorey | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2016

Nimble Storage - an "A Team" product. Easy to use and deploy across multiple sites.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have two Nimble storage arrays. One array is located in our HQ and the other at an offsite data center. These devices work together in perfect harmony. They are connected via an MPLS network and are constantly syncing our volumes. We have Hyper-V hosts at both locations and the Nimble serves as NAS for these hosts.
Read Nicolas Tenthorey's full review
Larry Askew | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2014

Nimble SAN revew

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We needed small SANs, each to support VMWare HA clusters at different sites. We needed ease of use, good data/reporting, minimal rack space and lastly, while our performance needs could have been met by a wide range of products, we didn't want that to be a limiting factor down the road. While we have a range of server types running on the Nimble arrays, MS SQL servers and application servers are the most important.
Read Larry Askew's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 16, 2016

Nimble Storage Keeping It Awesome

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Nimble Storage for all of our data storage needs. We have 155 virtual servers running off of our array. We have Cisco UCS blades running our hosts that connect to Nimble Storage. Our Nimble has 2 10GB network ports that we have aggregated on each controller. We are getting 20GBs network throughput. On average we are using about 3,000 IOPS, but our system can handle around 21,000 IOPS according to our tests. Our SQL servers all run on Nimble Storage. They are fast.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2016

Nimble Storage - a great solution for our growth

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Nimble Storage is our primary SAN device for hosting Windows servers and a few management Linux machines. We use VMWare hosts with Nimble. We use Nimble to host internal AD servers, websites and storage servers. The entire organization has access to the server farm as end users. I manage Nimble and the associated devices.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Flash Array Performance (5)
9.4
Flash Array Integration (5)
8.6
Data Compression (5)
8.8
Non-Intrusive Upgrades (6)
9.5
Simplicity (6)
9.5
Power Savings (5)
7.4

About HPE Nimble Storage

Nimble Storage was acquired by HPE in 2017. The enterprise flash array product line now goes by the name HPE Nimble Storage.

HPE Nimble Storage Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No