HPE ProLiant DL Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
28 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 22, 2020
Dmitry Malafeev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HPE ProLiant DL servers for core computing in our Data Center. They are in use for the whole organization. Our high loaded cluster virtualization platform uses a few DL servers. HPE servers provide DBs, Apps, and Web hosting. Also, we run SRM and Financial software for internal and external clients. Monitoring and reporting tasks are also a large part of our everyday activity.
  • Service support for HPE is good
  • Reliable hardware with handy management tools
  • iLo management interface is best through server vendors
  • Bios is convenient and easy maintained
  • Overall design of the chassis could be better.
  • Drivers for hardware have room to improve.
  • Manuals and documentation should be more clear for technicians.
In general, HPE ProLiant DLs are servers that can provide a range of performance and uptime for your computer room. The servers are well suited for virtualization and stand-alone usage for offices and data centers. With good reliability and handy management tools they bring lots of benefits.
Overall, HPE support meets our requirements. They offer handy 24x7 phone support with clear case resolution interface. Engineers from HPE know their hardware and software. They are polite and help to find quick solutions for their customers. We don't need to prioritize our service requests to account managers to find how to fix or improve our service support.
Read Dmitry Malafeev's full review
September 22, 2020
Glen Ferris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization. HPE ProLiant DL solves ease of remotely managing servers in other locations where physical access is not possible.
  • ILO remote management interface works well.
  • Integrated storage arrays are easy to configure.
  • Reliable when used as ESXi hosts.
  • Firmware updates can be confusing and cumbersome.
  • Better compatibility with browser based remote control in ILO.
Reliable framework for all in one VMware ESXi host.
Quick response time on support regardless of priory level. Very helpful in addressing issue as well as any other questions you may have. Will escalate as necessary to get an answer if required.
Read Glen Ferris's full review
September 18, 2020
Jorge Vasconcelos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization has been using ProLiant DL servers for about a decade now. Over the years, we had a chance to try other products from several other competitors and we always seem to come back to Proliant, not only due to high reliability but also for the excellent support provided by HPE. One of the best tools of ProLiant is the built-in iLO that allows you to control this amazing hardware remotely as if you were right in front of it.
  • Performance
  • Reliability
  • Longevity and years of service they provide
  • Price, but I guess you pay for what you get.
  • New Smart Start could be a bit faster.
HPE Proliant DL, although maybe a bit more applicable to medium to large organizations, can also be very well suited to a small business that has a need for a reliable server for any sort of function, storage, web, or internal—they are very versatile, and again, offer great performance. Might be a bit overkill for smaller businesses with basic needs.
In over a decade, not once had we had a bad call with HPE support, not only were they have extremely qualified engineers but the speed in answering and addressing users is bar none. The same can not be said about support from other competitors in our experience over the years.
Read Jorge Vasconcelos's full review
October 07, 2020
Miguel Maldonado | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use HPE ProLiant to virtualize the VM of call manager and contact center solutions. We use it in the IT department. Currently, we have seen the benefits of the HPE vary and we have begun to use it in equipment for the sale of call manager and contact center solutions, being equipment that provides great versatility, functionalities, capabilities and a good price compared to other brands. That's why we recommend HPE.
  • High performance and performance, maximizing the resources available to the equipment.
  • Business-class equipment at very affordable prices.
  • Equipment that adapts to the growth of companies.
  • Different sizing scheme.
  • Ability to integrate more powerful processors that meet the new market requirements.
  • Clearer documentation and in different languages.
We have done very well in what is the virtualization of telephone exchanges as well as in contact centers. In environments of high demand for resources and functionalities, HPE lags behind compared to superior products, for obvious reasons.

Another area where we have done well with this equipment is with clients with less upfront capital because the business is just starting or in new branches where they require the storage of data or the virtualization of specific applications for that branch.
Because they are equipment that has many characteristics that can continue to be improved as in any equipment or manufacturer, the equipment itself has already earned a space in the market and a name that trains it not only because of the brand but also because of its good quality and performance.
Read Miguel Maldonado's full review
October 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ProLiant DL servers as VMWare hosts that support all 300+ virtual servers in our enterprise. ProLiant is the foundation hardware under every process.
  • Highly reliable. We've never had one go down unexpectedly in 11 years.
  • High performance. Current 380 G10s are configured with 1.5TB of RAM, always the shortest commodity in virtual environments.
  • Great manageability: iLO boards allow us to run headless without the Advanced license even.
  • Firmware updates are a major pain. Requiring registration, user accounts, and complex connectivity from the iLO. Bring back the downloadable ISO images, please.
  • Two sets of identical NICs on the back with the same labels. 1,2,3,4 twice. Please use some unique port numbers.
Where high performance and high reliability are required, you can't beat an HP server. At least as good as IBM but not as weird to work on. Much better engineered than less expensive competitors like Dell.
In the rare instance HP support is needed they have been responsive. This is always, for us, during deployment. Once they're deployed we've never needed support.
Read this authenticated review
September 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ProLiant DL is used all throughout our company for any on-premises physical servers that we have. For my role, as a Skype for Business Architect, I manage 90+ servers, which are all servers using HPE ProLiant DL.

ProLiant DL allows for easy management of physical servers via its configuration management software, which allows robust options to manage servers. It is a software that has helped a great deal for us at our organization.
  • It has an intuitive interface for managing servers.
  • It is feature-rich and can do most things like you are standing right in front of the server.
  • HPE Support is excellent and very responsive.
  • Console support for more browsers, seems to only work well on a select few.
  • Screen resolution in console could be improved.
  • There are a lot of features that are hidden in the interface, it would be nice if the important ones are pushed out to the forefront for users to see.
For physical server management, HPE ProLiant DL is superb and best-in-class. The features allow you to manage your servers, even if you are thousands of miles away from the DataCenter. It's as if you are standing right in front of the server for management. This is where HPE ProLiant DL exceeds expectations.

HPE ProLiant DL's support is exceptional. They are very quick to respond to issues when you put in a ticket or make a call. Their technicians have a very quick turn-around time and this has made our organization very satisfied. Whether it is an issue with the network, hard drive, faulty card, etc., their support is knowledgable and can assist in all scenarios.
Read this authenticated review
September 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using these in our main data center with a bunch of other systems. It is mainly being used to host our virtual infrastructure of multiple servers. It is a very sturdy and robust machine and can handle high loads during our peak hours of activity. With these machines, we are able to remove our old desktop servers. The management and flexibility of deploying new servers have greatly improved.
  • Works well with high loads
  • Great capacity to add more hardware for future deployments
  • The support of HP is great
  • Cost effective
  • Fewer network ports
  • Less options for expansion drives
  • No front indicators for network ports
It is a robust and reliable machine and can be used in different scenarios. If you have a requirement for a high end physical server to host your organizations different online services then you can use ProLiant DL. It can also be used in an environment where there is a need to host multiple different virtual machines on two or more physical servers.
The technical support of HP is great. Whenever we have any issue whether it is a hardware fault or some bug in the software or even just a misconfiguration the technical support team of HP is always there to assist us. In case of a hardware failure, they quickly locate and replace the faulty component with minimal to no impact on our business.
Read this authenticated review
September 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ProLiant Servers are very flexible and easy to deploy. They are used primarily as virtualization hosts to achieve high-density compute clusters and lower TCO. In the case of my organization, they are used by all departments for back-end services, development, file sharing, directory authentication services, backup, management, etc. The ability to remotely deploy and administer them makes them very powerful. No need to visit the datacenter if one or more needs to be rebuilt, you remote in via iLO (Integrated Lights Out), which is a bare metal remote access technology that allows one to manage a crashed server, perform diagnostics, or install an operating system remotely and virtually.
  • They are very reliable.
  • They are very well designed.
  • They are very modular and use hot swappable parts.
  • They are cost effective.
  • iLO can be improved with faster co processors.
  • Lower costs on some of the internal add-ons/hardware components.
  • Improved customer service.
  • Longer warranties given reliability track.
Best designed and most flexible configuration options available in a server line. They come in 1U, 2U, 4U, and 9U footprints for a variety of use cases. Overall, they are priced competitively but offer a premium build quality over the competition. If there is a need for a small or large computer cluster, the ProLiant DL line will shine.
Having offshore support is sometimes challenging and HP uses India for its call centers. While knowledgeable, the support staff sometimes has trouble with the English language, and time is wasted understanding one another. Depending on the time of day, time on hold can also be long, but that is common in the industry and not restricted to HP.
Read this authenticated review
September 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
HPE ProLiant DL series servers are used for various of our projects as well as we sale, implement, operate and manage for other organization also. HPE ProLiant DL servers help us to built various of our compute infrastructure in smart cities and various of our other operating model based projects. Specifically HPE ProLiant DL rack servers are very much efficient for running various work loaded in production and building private cloud solutions. These help us building proactive supported environment for various security and business workloads.
  • Rack servers are very much energy efficient
  • HPE ProLiant DL very simple to install and manage
  • Operating HPE ProLiant DL at very lower cost
  • long term support mechanism for the HPE ProLiant DL series
  • rack servers storage capacity can be maximized
  • SAP HANA support on all range of x86 HPE ProLiant DL.
HPE ProLiant DL are very much suitable for various bare metal and virtualized workload in Airport and smart city environments. HPE ProLiant DL are very much used in the SMB market also. HPE ProLiant DL rack servers are very much suitable for creating scale-out cloud infrastructure. Building application stack for various proactive support required environment. I would recommend the HPE ProLiant DL rack server specifically for running most of the enterprise grade workloads and various new edge applications.
HPE ProLiant DL customer support is good as per various available support levels. For production and mission critical CTR kind of scenario the support is very much upto the mark and maintain the SLA levels as per requirement and expectations and also the proactive support for various suitable environment is very good.
Read this authenticated review
September 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HP ProLiant DL is a great, compact solution for virtual environments. It allows us to have our host and servers within the device all in one. It is a very powerful device and also has lots of great features for notifying team members of performance maintenance. A lot to like with the DL series. With the more powerful processor and storage, our users are able to much more easily access network resources and files. Upload times have decreased when adding to network folders dramatically!
  • Performance for users accessing network resources
  • Reporting on data usage and overall health of the server
  • The DL server will have years of support, so from a security perspective, patches are very important!
  • More ease of use out of box
  • Faster boot up times
  • Shorter upgrade processes
If your IT room is compact or you wish to have a smaller factor server, along with a budgeted device, this is a great option. Although this may not be the most powerful, for most small-mid sized businesses that have 3-4 Virtual Machines, this is a great server to get introduced with.
HPE Support is one of the best. To same day service and prompt phone support, you never feel left out with HPE.
Read this authenticated review
November 24, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our server infrastructure is based on ProLiant hardware. We use a mix of blade and rack servers and currently have a wide range of hardware including some older stuff that isn't in frontline/production, but is still reliable enough to use for other purposes. Most of our usage is for VMware ESXi, but we also have a few domain controllers, one backup server, and a few file servers attached to MSA shelves in service as well.
  • Remote management is excellent. The newest iLO software is really good and has more than enough options to satisfy most datacenter needs.
  • Uptime! These machines just keep trucking and don't need much care and feeding, even with mechanical drives where they're used.
  • Centralized management is a breeze.
  • Provisioning has been good for some time and has gotten even better recently.
  • Security is good and very rarely are the units in need of an urgent security update.
  • iLO Advanced - I feel like this is just a money grab. Give me the remote features, at least the remote console, with the purchase. I'd be OK with paying for the advanced license for more centralized functionality, but straight remote sessions? That should just be there.
  • Software entitlements and online interaction are a little wanting. This isn't the hardware per se, but enterprise products are often heavily tied to online services and tools and that could be a lot better.
The DL series are beasts and well suited for environments that need uptime with little maintenance. Our datacenter is local, but I'd feel completely at ease with these in a rack in rented space where physical access is limited.
Contract support is great and remote diagnosis, when necessary, is typically very good. There have only been one or two occasions where this wasn't the case, and in at least one of those HPE dispatched an onsite tech when I requested it because the agent was asking for information I couldn't retrieve from a downed IPMI interface, so it may be one and a half instead of two.
Read this authenticated review
February 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have always used HP Proliant DL servers in this organization. We use them for AD Domain controllers and file servers. This goes back to when these were used as physical Windows Servers running everything from Server 2003 to Server 2008 R2, these were DL160 and 180 G6. In the last 4 years, we purchased 3 new Proliant Dl 360p servers to run VMware. These only have flash drives installed to run VMware on them. These are connected to a SAN which houses our Virtualized Servers. As some of these older servers have legacy software on them, we virtualized all-out physical servers and now run a totally virtualized environment.
  • Runs VMware well, these have been very reliable.
  • We were also able to expand our storage by adding hard drives to these servers and that integrates well with VMware.
  • HP support has helped us maintain these and been able to provide extended parts availability.
  • With upgrades to newer versions of VMware, HP has not provided VMware images with loaded drivers, this could be an issue for future upgrades to VMware users on HPs. The support forums discuss this and we wonder why no images are available.
  • Lilo support can be limited. These servers were preconfigured for us. HP was not able to help with this, telling us it must be in the preconfigured setup.
  • The base server did not meet our needs and the price ramped up quickly with add-ons to utilize SAN.
These are well suited For VMware, they are workhorses for that. We have also had great luck with these as physical servers running Windows. They were great file servers and AD domain controllers. With them virtualized, we have a lot of added functionality in setting up web servers for new software we run and also keeping our legacy software running. We have more issues with legacy Windows server software than anything with these servers.
Read this authenticated review
November 02, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HP ProLiant servers are the core of our server infrastructure. We operate in a 100% VMware virtualized environment and use HP servers exclusively. They offer great value, performance, and reliability. Our existing servers have been in production for 5 years with issues. They run the full workload of our organization. The servers offer great longevity which translates into excellent ROI. HP continues to offer extended support our servers at a nominal cost for the next several years providing critical service in our 24x7 environment.
  • Rapid deployment
  • Longevity in the form of extended support and reliability
  • Cost effective solutions with excellent ROI
  • I would rate support and an area for improvement. The oversea call centers can sometimes present communication challenges. Luckily, the servers are extremely reliable and that helps us prevent for ever having to contact support.
VMware unlocks the incredible value of HP ProLiant servers. The two solutions interoperate well. ProLiant is a solution brand that can scale from 2 to hundreds of servers and effectively serves both small and large deployments. I'm not certain there is a situation where ProLiant wouldn't be an effective solution.
Read this authenticated review

What is HPE ProLiant DL?

HPE ProLiant DL is a rack server, from Hewlett-Packard Enterprise.
Categories:  Rack Servers

HPE ProLiant DL Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No