Skip to main content
TrustRadius
IBM AIX

IBM AIX

Overview

What is IBM AIX?

IBM AIX (for Advanced Interactive eXecutive) is a Unix operating system, developed, offered and supported by IBM.

Read more
Recent Reviews

IBM AIX at it's best

10 out of 10
August 17, 2022
We do use the IBM AIX Operating system to divide the memory and CPU between various jobs and provide support to the customers. This …
Continue reading

IBM AIX review

8 out of 10
September 24, 2019
Incentivized
IBM AIX is used by the entire organization. We run propriety processing apps in production, mostly legacy software.
Continue reading

AIX decline in usage

4 out of 10
January 17, 2019
Incentivized
IBM AIX is used on hardware supporting both database and middleware and applications. It is used across the enterprise, supporting …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Return to navigation

Product Details

What is IBM AIX?

IBM AIX Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(82)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-11 of 11)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
August 17, 2022

IBM AIX at it's best

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • The newer version of IBM AIX allows to apply new patches without system restart
  • IBM AIX was the first operating system to have a journaling file system and have enhanced software features.
  • IBM AIX will have good vendor support 24/7 and will ensure reliability to the customers and more performance when compared to it peers.
  • IBM AIX will not support in cloud environment, it should start with support of cloud.
  • The cost is expensive when compared to it peers.
  • IBM AIX has preferred licenses
  • IBM AIX doesn't have GUI feature enabled by default.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Reliable servers
  • Excellent performance
  • Fully supported for all versions of Oracle
  • Proprietary IBM AIX multi-threaded architecture makes it difficult to estimate required CPU power for new systems
  • Would help if AIX shell command set would be 100% compatible with Linux
  • Some of the performance metrics seem proprietary to AIX, and it would be good if this was more standard and closer to Linux
March 17, 2022

IBM AIX Review

Vikas Arjune | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Centralized management
  • Easy to patch with an alternative disk
  • Easy to analyze errors
  • An opensource file set customization should be made
  • Yum creation should allow for checking updates on a regular basis
  • Snapshot options to add by default for the profile itself
March 11, 2021

AIX Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • AIX is very stable, We have had systems running for years without rebooting
  • AIX is secure
  • AIX is easy to manage
  • There is no real GUI interface which some people could see as a drawback
  • AIX can be expensive
September 24, 2019

IBM AIX review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • It is extremely reliable
  • Feature rich, fully fledged *IX system
  • Delivers good performance on IBM POWER
  • Management of the virtualization, especially using IVM can be clunky
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • IBM AIX is a very stable server product, and I can't recall a time when the server has crashed due to a hardware fault.
  • If you have legacy software that can't run on the new-fangled Linux flavors, AIX might be the way to go.
  • AIX has a host of built-in management tools that makes system configuration easy for a novice.
  • A lot of the built-in commands have not been updated in years. If you're used to some fancy CLI options in Linux, you may be out of luck with AIX.
  • Out of the box, you cannot run open-source Linux utilities on AIX. There is a toolbox you can install, however, it's not the same versions as you would get in different Linux flavors.
  • Tab completion for files and Up arrow to re-run previous commands don't work out of the box without running a Korn shell. A small annoyance, but one that catches me every time!
Paul Lemmons | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Stability. In the 14 years that I have used the product, I cannot think of a single time that we had an OS level failure. It is rock solid. We have had systems that have been booted and run for literally years without interruption.
  • Virtualization. We run IBM AIX as LPARS on Power infrastructure. All of our AIX infrastructure is virtualized making it easy to scale as needed.
  • Their logical volume manager makes the task of managing storage very simple. It is feature complete and they have mitigated much of the complexity that usually is inherent in LVM implementations.
  • I have a love/hate relationship with Smit. It is their administrative interface. It is very powerful and very complete which is why I marked it as a pro. It is also a bit clunky and somewhat arcane in its interface but still usable.
  • Staying current with open source software such as MySQL, Apache, Python, Perl, PHP, etc. These packages are usually only available from third parties and are often very out dated and difficult to implement.
  • Software maintenance is cryptic, difficult to manage, and fragmented. There are Service packs, Technical Levels, APARS, RPM updates, CPAN updates, and each has its own way of being managed and applied.
  • IBM AIX could be more security conscious. By default, insecure protocols such as Telnet and FTP are enabled and are the expected interface.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Aix has exceptional security, if you configure it properly to best security practices.
  • Using the new Power9 platform we are able to have great price to performance ratios on our workloads.
  • Aix is now available in a cloud option so we are looking at extending our hybrid configurations.
  • While there are options to install some standard Linux tools like Bash, they are not always easy to procure
  • Allowing easier flexibility in how some tools and CLI options work would make it easier for admins to float between operating systems.
January 17, 2019

AIX decline in usage

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Very high performance; handles load very well
  • Very stable, not a lot of OS issues with this system
  • Solid vendor support
  • Very Expensive
  • Doesn't always handle non-IBM offerings very well
  • Seems to be shrinking, as we find it difficult to find AIX resources
Return to navigation