IBM Aspera on Cloud Reviews

21 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Prathamesh Muzumdar | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2020

IBM Aspera is a reliable and efficient solution for file transfers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Aspera has been the most favorable file sharing and cloud transfer solution that my company has used. It is very reliable and efficient when it comes to file sharing and file transfer. My company is in the online retail sector, and we have multiple software that we use and that are a part of our operational model. Some of the software we use deals with sales, logistics, CRM, HR, etc. We require a reliable tool to share files on software installation, and these files also include authentic information that is sensitive and cannot be disclosed to unauthorized personnel. IBM Aspera for us, is the fastest file sharing solution in a highly secured environment. The embedded protocols meet our security standards and speed requirements. Most files that we transfer take a huge amount of space and IBM Aspera allows us to transfer those huge files very quickly. It's a fast-paced transfer tool even when the internet speed is not that high. Aspera makes sharing large size files over the internet very easy.
  • Very easy to configure, implement, administer, and support. In my company, we don't require a vendor to support Aspera. We have a dedicated team, which does the work for us. This makes it cost-effective.
  • Features include file-sharing options for users outside the organization. This is a great feature especially if you deal with multiple sales vendor who requires restricted access to your software. Aspera allows you to share certain software access files with them.
  • The biggest issue is with version control, there are frequent requests that come along to update to the latest version. This becomes a challenge if you use Aspera around the clock. Any updates will halt Aspera's use and this can create operational inefficiency.
  • File download with the same file name creates an issue because the system doesn't distinguish between the files. No error message is shown and the file gets downloaded as it is on the desktop.
IBM Aspera worked out well for my company. In online retail, you are subjected to huge data storage and a large amount of file sharing. The biggest concern with file sharing is the size of the file and the security standards you have to follow when sharing that file. IBM Aspera was able to fit the needs well. For file transfer it is the fastest tool, we have shared files that exceeded 300 GB, and sometimes more than 500 GB, and Aspera takes less than 5 minutes for the file transfer to happen with a medium-speed internet connection. Another reason we use Aspera is that we have multiple locations around which we share files and it not a hassle to implement and support Aspera on those locations. We support Aspera at our client locations as well, and it is very easy to give clients and vendors access to Aspera. The biggest challenge has been the frequent version updates, installing updates for a company that operates around the clock is a huge challenge. We also found some features missing like search and filtering, and it is very much required for our company that we have those features.
The support from IBM is fast and reliable. Very knowledgeable engineers provide you with the support on Aspera. We had a very good experience when opened tickets and we were able to get our issues resolved quickly. Most solutions are provided within a day so you can expect a quick turnaround time. Overall, the support has been very good.
Read Prathamesh Muzumdar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2020

Sports media delivered worldwide to allow fans to enjoy their team!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Aspera On Cloud is used to deliver sizeable media files (often upwards of 20GB) in as fast a manner as possible across large WAN connections. Using this technology helps us to get our product to our clients that are located on distant continents so that they can meet their broadcast deadlines. This would be impossible with simple FTP methods--the transfer would be too slow.
  • Ease of use: the Graphical User Interface doesn't require technical know-how to operate
  • Delivery Receipts: this allows us the confidence to know our files have reached our customers
  • Activity Monitor: lets you know how much data you have used, which is important for budgeting reasons.
  • I would like more easily scriptable workflow support - perhaps some Python libraries?
  • Email notifications when data quotas have been reached
  • I would like to see the price difference between Standard and Advanced come down.
IBM Aspera on Cloud is well suited to deliver files across global distances--especially where workflows involve data being used by different workforces due to economic circumstances. For example, if you work in Post Production, you might use it for transferring digital film plates to be worked on by your cheaper workforce overseas.
We have absolutely benefitted from the speed of IBM Aspera on Cloud: of our approximate 170Mbps upload bandwidth, we can get on average around 150Mbps into the Cloud storage provided. So, realistically, a 40GB upload of our media files takes about 30 minutes. From there we then send it for delivery to our clients in India and China. There are two fantastic benefits. Firstly, Aspera on Cloud is able to push the files onwards through its network at speeds of nearly 400Gbps. Secondly, in terms of total data transferred, you only have to upload it once, and then you can push it to as many client downloads as you want.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2020

Aspera was a good solution for our transfer needs.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were having data transfer issues with our usual cloud-based sharing solutions. The switch to Aspera has sped up our workflow exponentially.
  • Speed
  • Size
  • Ease of use
  • GUI is confusing.
Aspera was able to perform at a greater speed for file transfers than our normal cloud-based sharing solutions. Our clients have been pleased with our ability to share key information faster.
This speed upgrade has allowed us to get files to our clients quicker, which in turn, allowed them to increase their output.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2020

Aspera - the right system for large file transfers

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Aspera is being used to exchange Broadcast video files along various metadata files and auxiliary files among the European Broadcasting Union members. We have about 25 contributing members from different places in Europe and even from Japan, Canada and other places. We have about 50 members receiving the packages prepared depending on their requests.
  • Reliability of transfers.
  • Simplicity of use once well configured.
  • Availability of specialists to help building solutions.
  • UI is not always consistent nor working (drag and drop buggy in certain areas).
  • Missing contextual help.
  • Missing some granularity for the activity feature.
For large file exchange Aspera is great and you can count on it to get what you have sent. You can track its use and the progress of all transfers.

Unfortunately, some companies are using alternative solutions as Signiant and all technologies are not communicating directly.

Simple case, it would be great to have an FTP connector to avoid in some circumstances to have to get files from a FTP server to a personal computer to then reupload to Aspera, or the same to upload on a FTP server. This could be a degraded mode (in term of performances) but would be very convenient.
We did not analyse the actual transfer rates as this was not the main criteria for us. Indeed the transfers were fast and we were able to launch many transfers at the same time (some were queued). At the end, all the transfers were completed after some hours. It was interesting to be able to launch all the transfers at once and see the day after that all has arrived perfectly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2020

Very happy with product, would appreciate more intuitive manager interface.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it primarily in my department to transfer large media files from one person to another for review. It's primarily needed due to the increased need to work from home, but is useful even during regular times.
  • Upload/download large files without it failing and starting over
  • File integrity/no corruption
  • Storing files for re-download
  • Track upload/download usage OVERALL to know how much space is left
  • Track cloud storage overall to know how much space is left
  • More easily send single links to users for download, rather than full access (I know it is possible, but it is not intuitive)
Great product, it just needs to be slightly more intuitive in the interface (unless it's just me!). But even after poking around, I can only find my month by month upload/download usage, not how much I have left in my current purchase plan.
We only use IBM Aspera on Cloud, I believe.
Yes - even working from home I can set the bandwidth in such a way that it doesn't choke the internet for other uses, which is very useful. Most other upload and download services just go as fast as they go. For a large file that takes several hours to upload, it's great to have the option to slow down the transfer, and therefore still be able to do other bandwidth-intensive tasks simultaneously.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

IBM Aspera on Cloud Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to transfer data within the organization and between external parties. It addresses problems like file collaboration, sync, automation, and migration needs. The support of large files also is helpful. Structured and unstructured data files also a benefit. Moreover, since this is in the cloud, we don't have to have our own servers to host this.

  • File collaboration.
  • Transfer large files.
  • UI could be improved.
  • Plugins can be a pain point.
IBM Aspera is well suited to companies that span across the globe since it makes sense to use a cloud solution.
It is also great for enterprise-sized companies since it makes file sharing so much easier.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Thinking about Aspera? Prepare to leave your competition in the dust!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Aspera On Cloud is a solution used by our company to fulfill complex, bespoke file sets in excess of 300 GB. The business requirement is that we fulfill these packages in a single business day, globally. It's quite a challenge to do so in an industry where security is tight and connections are varied. The FASP Protocol in Aspera helps us meet our goals, both allowing us to turn around our workspace contents quickly, and offering the absolute fastest, safest connection possible. It meets both our stringent security standards and our speed requirements.
  • Totally secure workspaces. Files are invisible unless shared and authenticated.
  • Unparalleled speeds of transfer - Haven't capped the speeds yet, across multiple users.
  • Top-notch support services. I've never had a ticket go longer than 24 hours without being reviewed by an engineer, resolved, and closed.
  • Functionality is growing, and new features are being added (sometimes changing the experience without warning).
  • The UI is rather sparse and requires some getting used to.
  • Features like search and filtering on workspace names are still missing, so some scrolling is required to work within the Files menu.
There is no better transfer service being offered for the price, and no other transfer service that isn't renting pipe from IBM can touch the speed. Aspera can be used by any part of an organization, workspaces can be spun up in less than a minute, files can be transferred as fast as the pipe allows, and shared in seconds.
IBM Support is fast, knowledgeable, and works as a team. When I open a ticket, regardless of severity, I get an answer in an hour or less. A team of engineers looks at the problem and provides documented solutions, and even gives a post-mortem of an event so that we can easily understand what went wrong. I have never had a ticket open for more than 24 hours.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

When it comes to large file transfers, Aspera allows us to do the impossible

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use Aspera on the cloud to share software installation files and marketing contents to customers and partners.
  • Easy to use and easy to configure and administer.
  • Desktop Sync Client is now free!
  • Options to share files or request files from users outside the organization.
  • Integration options can help save on costs.
  • Frequent request to install the latest version of the client.
  • Intermittent errors on IOS client when receiving packages as a guest.
Aspera is perfect to share large-format files over internet, especially when the internet connection is not stable.

No value-added if it is for small and conventional sized files. Also in the case of migration of large volumes of data to the cloud, be ready to pay as the cost goes high. It is also not the best option to store and archive the files permanently due to the cost.
The support team is supportive and reactive. You can open a ticket and chat with the support team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2018

A Good Choice for Media Collaboration

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Aspera Managed File Transfer is being used by our marketing team, to share and receive media with outside affiliates. This program provides a hub to share and upload information to various partners and organizations.
  • This program provides a hub to share and upload information to various partners and organizations.
  • Media upload/download is fast and easy to use
  • Able to access this program anywhere
  • N/A
This is well suited in a high paced, collaborative work environment where a large volume of media needs to constantly be shared on a regular basis.

I recommend this program if you need to share media with multiple partners, in smaller work settings this program might not be the best suited for media sharing.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2018

Reliable & FAST File Sharing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The organization I work for made the decision to purchase Aspera and have it integrated with a new Workflow Management system for their Graphics Department. As the Graphics Department was sending large files to different artist and project leaders, they required a very fast, reliable system that supported large files to be uploaded and downloaded with speed and with the integrity and quality of the file intact.
  • The upload and download speed is very fast compared to the other systems we have used in the past.
  • The file uploader has a progress bar which very accurately shows in both visual and percentage manner, the quantity of the file uploaded and time remaining.
  • Ability to send multiple files to multiple people. A lot of these file transfer systems dont have that ability, so its a great plus for a big organization.
  • The upload window doesnt stay on top of the web browsers. It kept getting lost if another browser tab was opened.
  • The system lacks ability to customize the due notifications when the upload/download is completed. The users should be able to choose if they want a sound notification or another way to be notified of large uploads/downloads that take time.
  • Multiple downloads of the same name (same file)have no distinct file names automatically given by the system to distinguish between them. I think the system should prompt an error message in that instance.
Aspera Managed File Transfer is great for big organizations that require large file upload & downloads and want to maintain the integrity of the file quality. Its especially important for files with a graphic element as any degradation in the file quality can have serious consequences. Its a great system to be integrated into an already established workflow management system. The file transfer managed by Aspera maintain their quality and the speed of upload and download are both phenomenal compared to the other systems out there.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Versioning (1)
8
Video files (6)
7.7
Audio files (6)
7.8
Document collaboration (1)
10
Access control (6)
6.4
File search (1)
5
Device sync (1)
9
User and role management (6)
6.8
File organization (6)
6.9
Device management (1)
9
Performance (6)
7.5
Reliability (6)
7.9
Storage Reports (6)
6.4

About IBM Aspera on Cloud

IBM Aspera® on Cloud is a hosted service designed to allow users to quickly and reliably send and share files and data sets of any size and type across a hybrid cloud environment — according the vendor, up to hundreds of times faster than FTP and HTTP.

  • Collaborate with internal and external users using shared work spaces, while controlling access to your data.
  • Seamlessly access data stored across multiple clouds and on-premises data centers.
  • Move files of any size and volume over any distance at maximum speed, regardless of network conditions.


IBM Aspera on Cloud Features

File Sharing & Management Features
Does not have featureVersioning
Has featureDocument files
Has featureImage files
Has featureVideo files
Has featureAudio files
Does not have featureDocument collaboration
Has featureShared folders
Has featureAccess control
Does not have featureFile search
Does not have featureDevice sync
Has featureWeb interface
Has featureFile change notifications
Does not have featureSimultaneous editing
Cloud Storage Security & Administration Features
Has featureSingle sign-on
Does not have featureTwo-step verification
Has featureEnd-user encryption
Has featureUser and role management
Has featureStrorage limit management
Has featureFile organization
Does not have featureDevice management
Has featurePassword protected files
Cloud Storage Platform Features
Has featurePerformance
Has featureReliability
Has featureStorage Reports
Has featureMulti-language
Has featureMulti-currency

IBM Aspera on Cloud Videos (2)

IBM Aspera on Cloud Integrations

IBM Aspera on Cloud Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Pay as You Go0.95per transferred gigabyte
Standard Edition716.40per transfer volume starting at 1 terabyte per year
Advanced Edition10,440.00per transfer volume starting at 6 terabytes per year
Enterprise EditionContact salesper transfer volume starting at 60 terabytes per year

IBM Aspera on Cloud Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Forum/Community

IBM Aspera on Cloud Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android