IBM Aspera on Cloud Reviews

28 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is best suited to products and companies which extensively use IBM cloud and other cloud hosted services by IBM. This is because since the existing interface is a little challenging to use, IBM's own products and platform is well integrated with IBM Aspera on Cloud and there's relatively little work for the integration team
Read this authenticated review
December 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Again, it is user friendly and able to transfer large data
Read this authenticated review
July 08, 2020
Ben Holmes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If most datasets are file-based and they are sizable, like 10-100 GB, then Aspera is worth connecting. It is built into IBM cloud and so no additional purchase. If your data is already in a multi-cloud environment, then the speed to movement is probably already resolved and Aspera would not be needed.
Read Ben Holmes's full review
April 20, 2020
Prathamesh Muzumdar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

IBM Aspera worked out well for my company. In online retail, you are subjected to huge data storage and a large amount of file sharing. The biggest concern with file sharing is the size of the file and the security standards you have to follow when sharing that file. IBM Aspera was able to fit the needs well. For file transfer it is the fastest tool, we have shared files that exceeded 300 GB, and sometimes more than 500 GB, and Aspera takes less than 5 minutes for the file transfer to happen with a medium-speed internet connection. Another reason we use Aspera is that we have multiple locations around which we share files and it not a hassle to implement and support Aspera on those locations. We support Aspera at our client locations as well, and it is very easy to give clients and vendors access to Aspera. The biggest challenge has been the frequent version updates, installing updates for a company that operates around the clock is a huge challenge. We also found some features missing like search and filtering, and it is very much required for our company that we have those features.
Read Prathamesh Muzumdar's full review
July 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

IBM Aspera on Cloud is well suited to deliver files across global distances--especially where workflows involve data being used by different workforces due to economic circumstances. For example, if you work in Post Production, you might use it for transferring digital film plates to be worked on by your cheaper workforce overseas.
Read this authenticated review
May 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Aspera was able to perform at a greater speed for file transfers than our normal cloud-based sharing solutions. Our clients have been pleased with our ability to share key information faster.
Read this authenticated review
May 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For large file exchange Aspera is great and you can count on it to get what you have sent. You can track its use and the progress of all transfers.

Unfortunately, some companies are using alternative solutions as Signiant and all technologies are not communicating directly.

Simple case, it would be great to have an FTP connector to avoid in some circumstances to have to get files from a FTP server to a personal computer to then reupload to Aspera, or the same to upload on a FTP server. This could be a degraded mode (in term of performances) but would be very convenient.
Read this authenticated review
May 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Great product, it just needs to be slightly more intuitive in the interface (unless it's just me!). But even after poking around, I can only find my month by month upload/download usage, not how much I have left in my current purchase plan.
Read this authenticated review
November 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

There is no better transfer service being offered for the price, and no other transfer service that isn't renting pipe from IBM can touch the speed. Aspera can be used by any part of an organization, workspaces can be spun up in less than a minute, files can be transferred as fast as the pipe allows, and shared in seconds.
Read this authenticated review
January 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

IBM Aspera is well suited to companies that span across the globe since it makes sense to use a cloud solution.
It is also great for enterprise-sized companies since it makes file sharing so much easier.
Read this authenticated review
November 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Aspera is perfect to share large-format files over internet, especially when the internet connection is not stable.

No value-added if it is for small and conventional sized files. Also in the case of migration of large volumes of data to the cloud, be ready to pay as the cost goes high. It is also not the best option to store and archive the files permanently due to the cost.
Read this authenticated review
November 29, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

This is well suited in a high paced, collaborative work environment where a large volume of media needs to constantly be shared on a regular basis.

I recommend this program if you need to share media with multiple partners, in smaller work settings this program might not be the best suited for media sharing.
Read this authenticated review
March 07, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Aspera Managed File Transfer is great for big organizations that require large file upload & downloads and want to maintain the integrity of the file quality. Its especially important for files with a graphic element as any degradation in the file quality can have serious consequences. Its a great system to be integrated into an already established workflow management system. The file transfer managed by Aspera maintain their quality and the speed of upload and download are both phenomenal compared to the other systems out there.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Versioning (1)
8
Video files (8)
7.9
Audio files (8)
8.0
Document collaboration (1)
10
Access control (9)
6.7
File search (1)
5
Device sync (1)
9
User and role management (9)
6.9
File organization (9)
7.2
Device management (1)
9
Performance (9)
7.2
Reliability (9)
7.2
Storage Reports (9)
6.8

What is IBM Aspera on Cloud?

IBM Aspera® on Cloud is a hosted service designed to allow users to quickly and reliably send and share files and data sets of any size and type across a hybrid cloud environment — according the vendor, up to hundreds of times faster than FTP and HTTP.

  • Collaborate with internal and external users using shared work spaces, while controlling access to your data.
  • Access data stored across multiple clouds and on-premises data centers.
  • Move files of any size and volume over any distance at maximum speed, regardless of network conditions.


IBM Aspera on Cloud Features

File Sharing & Management Features

Has featureDocument files
Has featureImage files
Has featureVideo files
Has featureAudio files
Has featureShared folders
Has featureAccess control
Has featureWeb interface
Has featureFile change notifications

Cloud Storage Security & Administration Features

Has featureSingle sign-on
Has featureEnd-user encryption
Has featureUser and role management
Has featureStrorage limit management
Has featureFile organization
Has featurePassword protected files

Cloud Storage Platform Features

Has featurePerformance
Has featureReliability
Has featureStorage Reports
Has featureMulti-language
Has featureMulti-currency

IBM Aspera on Cloud Videos (2)

IBM Aspera on Cloud helps organizations quickly move data of all sizes

Watch IBM Aspera Video Playlist

IBM Aspera on Cloud Integrations

IBM Aspera on Cloud Competitors

IBM Aspera on Cloud Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Pay as You Go$0.95per transferred gigabyte
Standard Edition$716.40per transfer volume starting at 1 terabyte per year
Advanced Edition$10,440.00per transfer volume starting at 6 terabytes per year
Enterprise EditionContact salesper transfer volume starting at 60 terabytes per year

IBM Aspera on Cloud Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Forum/Community

IBM Aspera on Cloud Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android

Frequently Asked Questions

What is IBM Aspera on Cloud's best feature?

Reviewers rate Audio files highest, with a score of 8.

Who uses IBM Aspera on Cloud?

The most common users of IBM Aspera on Cloud are from Small Businesses and the Computer Software industry.