IBM Cloud App ID Reviews

35 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 27, 2021
Julian Patdu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use App ID as a simple login solution for clients of our SEQu-SUITE line of products so that our clients' admin users will only get to see and edit their company's data.
Instead of creating our own auth server, or using a third-party solution, we used IBM App ID since it is relatively simple considering our use case did not need the additional features of other providers. It also plays nicely with our app, as our backend is run on IBM Cloud Functions, so being able to keep the auth server and app backend on one vendor saves a lot of administrative effort.
  • Uses OIDC/OAuth, so the protocols for accessing user info and token management is familiar
  • Clear pricing model
  • API binds nicely with IBM Cloud Functions
  • Billed as part of our IBM Cloud, along with our other services
  • Front-end SDK for Vue, works well
  • API reference lacks examples
  • Social login limited only to Facebook and Google
  • Only logo is customisable in ready-made sign-in interface
For applications with infrequent auth events, especially those built on IBM stack, this is a good option. Comparable to Auth0. If you are creating an internal tool and just need basic auth functionality, this is also good.

However, for applications with high usage, public-facing with lots of auth events, the per-login pricing may not make App ID suitable.
I use IBM App ID with IBM Cloud Functions as my backend. It has been easy to integrate App ID with Vue.js. The UI is handled for me. The auth function is handled for me. Turning on auth for Cloud Functions is very easy. I just have to pass the token from App ID to Cloud Functions and CF does the rest.
Read Julian Patdu's full review
March 11, 2021
Carlos Bittrich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it as part of apps that we develop for customers. Is used to validate access of end-users to different apps and get access to specific microservices.
  • Easy management of user authentication
  • Protection of backend resources
  • Profiling of users to specific roles
  • Storage of user personal information
  • Easy the location of user profiles by username without going the UUID.
  • Improve the sample "password management" program
  1. Password management instead of creating an own system or process.
  2. Password enforcement policies
  3. Protecting backend microservices
This is exactly why we use IBM Cloud App ID. Development time has been reduced thanks to using IBM Cloud App ID. Also the management of users.
Read Carlos Bittrich's full review
November 14, 2019
ANDREY SHOBANOV | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud App ID is used to implement SSO between web applications deployed and running in IBM Cloud and IBM Connections running on-premise. App ID addresses the following business problem: it enables a web application to be used only by users authorized by company's LDAP server. Only authorized users can access the web application running in IBM Cloud.
  • Ease of use and configuration
  • Free App ID instance available for evaluation
  • Stability and availablility (no incidents so far)
  • Documentation can be improved
IBM Cloud AppId is well suited to add authentication to applications running in IBM Cloud with minimal development effort.
Using IBM Cloud App ID we have easily added authentication to a web application deployed and running in IBM Cloud. The application is now secure and can be accessed only by users authenticated by the company's LDAP.
Read ANDREY SHOBANOV's full review
November 11, 2019
Srinivas gannu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the organization for SSO authentication for cloud applications.
  • Easy to set-up.
  • Saves a lot of time that otherwise would be spent setting up and using the SSO SAM login.
  • Secured, as we don't need to expose any of the SAM security credentials.
  • Login/logout set-up in the application is easy and smooth.
  • Straight forward examples in different programming languages like JS/node, Java and others would help developers set-up applications faster.
The single sign-on with SAM is very useful. It is great for securing applications.
Read Srinivas gannu's full review
July 17, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses IBM Cloud App ID as a way to add authentication, secure our backend and APIs and manage the access controls and user data for our mobile and web apps. I was involved in developing mobile apps to aid our organization's research efforts. IBM Cloud App ID has allowed us to have a much easier time to set up identity management and get our participants involved with the research.
  • Seamless integration.
  • Fast set-up.
  • Easy user access control.
  • Requires buy-in into the ecosystem.
  • Cloud subscription.
  • Initial learning curve.
IBM Cloud App ID is well suited if you are part of the IBM Cloud ecosystem. When we built our mobile apps with IBM Cloud App ID, it made integration and registration of users rather painless. This is something good for researchers as we can easily get access to our testers and have them using the tools.
It was something very useful because it helps with getting testers onboarded for our research apps and experiments. Many of our testers are repeat testers so having their credentials for single sign-on reduces the need for multiple registrations. As such, the authentication feature has greatly benefited our use case.
Read this authenticated review
February 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We offer digital transformation solutions to our customers in key geographies and being an IBM business partner, we recommend IBM products to our customers. In fact, we were one of the early adopters of IBM Cloud (then Bluemix). We have used App ID for internal mobile applications. We use Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) in many of our solutions and with App ID it is easy for us to use MFA. Deployment is quite fast and deployment across channels is easy.
  • MFA- multi factor authentication
  • Session
  • Ease of use
  • HSM integration
  • RSA integration
Well-suited to financial applications mainly with retail and payments.
Read this authenticated review
February 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM App ID is being used by the development team for App to API authentication to solve lack of security at in-between points. Using IBM App ID is helping to create a stronger, secure connection between our API and the app we are developing.
  • The app is easy to use and navigate
  • The app enhances security greatly
  • IBM App ID is incredibly reliable and has yet to fail while utilizing it in my team's course of app development
  • The cost is a bit heavier than anticipated or wanted
  • Higher availability to scale solutions
IBM App ID is well-suited in scenarios where you need to enhance security and authentication, email/password verification, and SDKs. For example, if you are developing an application that will require logins - IBM App ID will be incredibly useful in the authentication of that information. Additionally, when developing using this, the API guides are thoughtful and concise to provide a plethora of helpful tips and information to properly use it.
Read this authenticated review
February 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to authenticate our mobile apps. Mostly to get social media login support.
  • Easy to use for less technical and newer developers.
  • Good integration with Facebook and Twitter.
  • Secure interface.
  • Sometimes non-intuitive interface.
  • Help doc could be better.
We’ve used it mostly for mobile apps with good success.
Read this authenticated review

IBM Cloud App ID Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

ID-Management Access Control (8)
8.0
ID Management Single-Sign On (SSO) (8)
8.3
Multi-Factor Authentication (6)
8.1
Password Management (8)
8.2
Account Provisioning and De-provisioning (6)
7.7
ID Management Workflow Automation (5)
6.9
ID Risk Management (6)
6.8

What is IBM Cloud App ID?

IBM Cloud App ID helps developers who are not security experts to easily add authentication to their apps, and protect their APIs and app back-ends running on IBM Cloud.

Developers can add a variety of login-in types:
  • Email or username and password
  • Enterprise
  • Social
App ID includes a cloud user repository to on-board new users, so they can log-in with email/username & passwords, with pre-built self-service workflows (password reset, email validation etc.) App ID also manages user specific data that developers can use to build personalized app experiences.

Additional documentation, pricing, tutorial, and support information.

IBM Cloud App ID Video

IBM Cloud App ID Supported Products

IBM API Connect, IBM Cloud Functions, IBM Kubernetes Service, IBM Developer Experience Dashboard

IBM Cloud App ID Competitors

Google Firebase, Microsoft Azure Active Directory B2C, AWS Cognito

IBM Cloud App ID Availability

Geography:Available in the following IBM Cloud Regions: US South, Sydney, Germany, United Kingdom
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese/Brazil, Spanish, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional

Frequently Asked Questions

What is IBM Cloud App ID's best feature?

Reviewers rate ID Management Single-Sign On (SSO) highest, with a score of 8.3.

Who uses IBM Cloud App ID?

The most common users of IBM Cloud App ID are from Enterprises and the Computer Software industry.