IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers

Customer Verified
Top Rated
TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.1 out of 100
Top Rated
TRUE
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers

Overview

Recent Reviews

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers

10 out of 10
December 01, 2021
We are using IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers in our organization to host our servers in the cloud. IBM Cloud provides us with a really …
Continue reading

Very helpful tool

10 out of 10
December 01, 2021
These servers are fully dedicated servers. it's providing us the maximum performance and security-related stuff. When I use it I felt that …
Continue reading

IBM Cloud review by communicAVIA

10 out of 10
November 19, 2021
We use it as development and testing platform. It turned out that the stability is top notch. We got 100% uptime during last 4 years, so …
Continue reading

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers

10 out of 10
November 16, 2021
We are using IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers in our IT infrastructure for the purpose of hosting our servers in the IBM Cloud. At times when …
Continue reading

Offers functions as advertised

9 out of 10
May 17, 2021
Our company uses Cloud Bare Metal Servers in multiple cases. It helps in improving our data security and is easier to manage when compared …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 8 features

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (44)

9.3
93%

Operating system support (43)

9.3
93%

Security controls (42)

9.0
90%

Monitoring tools (39)

8.7
87%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews (1)

Record

Pricing

View all pricing

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers

starting at $0.51

Cloud
per hour

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers

starting at $241.00

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://cloud.ibm.com/gen1/infrastructu…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS)

9.2
92%

Product Details

What is IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers?

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers on IBM Cloud Classic Infrastructure are presented as ideal for large, steady state, predictable operations that rely on traditional cloud networking. IBM Cloud Bare Metal Server can be customized with over 11 million different configuration combinations. IBM boasts 17% lower prices, on average, and included 20 TB of bandwidth. Pay-as-you-use with hourly, monthly, or reserved billing at prices set for smart cost management. Choose CPU technology from Intel® Xeon® , and AMD EPYC™ , and add the latest NVIDIA Tesla GPUs.

Over 11 million different configurations

Processors are available to meet a variety of performance needs. Upgrade from the base configuration to fine-tune the hardware for a workload with customizable RAM, SSD. Available options from single processor 4-core architectures to quad-processor 20-core architectures and up to 3 TB RAM. Local storage can scale up to 36x 12 TB HDDs (432 TB) or 24x 7.6 TB SSDs (182 TB) and up to 36 drivers per server.

GPUs

Provision bare metal servers with GPUs to handle complex compute-intensive workloads. NVIDIA Tesla GPUs on IBM Cloud are designed for high-performance acceleration of scientific computation, data analytics, and professional-grade virtualized graphics.

SAP certified infrastructure
By Deploying SAP landscapes to IBM Cloud the vendor states users realize the advantages of cloud: cost reductions, on-demand flexibility, and limitless growth potential. IBM Cloud offers a full complement of SAP HANA certified servers and SAP Application Servers. The SAP servers range in size from single socket servers with 32 GB of RAM up to the latest eight socket Intel Cascade Lake processors with up to 12 TB of RAM. Additionally, almost every IBM Cloud SAP-Certified Bare Metal Server is available in configurations that can be provisioned with Red Hat Enterprise Linux, SUSE Linux Enterprise Server, or VMware ESXi as a programmatically installed hypervisor for virtualization of SAP workloads.

VMware certified infrastructure

Order IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers that include the VMware ESXi hypervisor that automatically installs. Select a "Configurable" server and choose VMware v6.5 or v6.7 as the operating system.

Users can find vSphere 7 hosts that are all certified for vSAN, and choose from a range of optional VMware software licenses on the VMware vSphere on IBM Cloud order page.

For other VMware services that rapidly deploy and can configure the full VMware stack by using IBM’s advanced automation, see the IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions portfolio. Users can also see more information about the VMware-powered IaaS platforms and optional add-on services for IBM Cloud Backup, Disaster Recovery, and security and compliance readiness in the VMware Solutions portfolio.

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Features

Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) Features

  • Supported: Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime
  • Supported: Dynamic scaling
  • Supported: Elastic load balancing
  • Supported: Pre-configured templates
  • Supported: Monitoring tools
  • Supported: Pre-defined machine images
  • Supported: Operating system support
  • Supported: Security controls

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Screenshots

ConfiguringBandwidth ProvisioningRemote ManagementFirmware Management

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Video

IaaS Explained

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Downloadables

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Integrations

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Competitors

  • Alibaba ECS Bare Metal Servers
  • Oracle Bare Metal Servers
  • Rackspace Bare Metal Servers

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationMobile Web

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Compare with

Frequently Asked Questions

What is IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers?

IBM Cloud bare metal servers are cloud servers configurable in hourly/monthly options, on-demand, from any location—with a selection of standard features and services for small businesses and enterprise demands. Users can customize RAM and SSDs with 11M+ configurations from which to choose.

What is IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers's best feature?

Reviewers rate Elastic load balancing highest, with a score of 9.6.

Who uses IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers?

The most common users of IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (124)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 46)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
February 24, 2022

Heavy metal

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using it as a virtual data center.
  • easy to deploy new computer
  • storage
  • pricing is easy to understand
  • web portal works great
  • network setup
Well suited for expanding an existing on-prem environment as migration is seamless. More cost-effective than AWS/Azure.
N/A we have just begun to use IBM cloud
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being used as our primary production for our Web Apps, Internal Facing Apps, and our database warehouse.
  • Quick Deployment
  • Wide global footprint
  • Many auxiliary services beyond servers
  • Downtime!
  • Limited availability in certain markets
  • Some outdated documentation
Development, USA presence, and single source provider solutions are great for IBM Bluemix. You will need to establish DR locations as the uptime is not up to standards.
Not all applications make sense in cloud, which is why it is nice to have access to bare metal solutions as well as cloud based solutions. We achieve operational efficiency by keeping our 24hr / 365 day workloads and compute needs on bare metal
The support is decent and in an emergency they will help you if you make enough noise. However the creation of "class of customers" within the IBM ecosystem I think is a step backwards as it can put emergencies on the back burner simply because we didn't pay enough in monthly fees.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers in our organization to host our servers in the cloud. IBM Cloud provides us with a really cost-effective alternative for adding servers to our infrastructure. If we look to buy a physical server, the cost runs into thousands of dollars plus the cost to run and maintain it whereas the IBM cloud charges us on an hourly basis.
  • Ability to host resources quickly
  • Enhanced security
  • Easily Scalable reources
  • The user interface should be a bit more easier to use
  • The support resolution times should be reduced
  • VPN connectivity must be a basic feauture
IBM Cloud Bare Metal servers are best suited if you are looking for an alternative for adding computing resources to your organization's IT domain. The costs of owning and maintaining a physical resource in the organization are far more than renting computing resources on the cloud. The bare-metal servers allow you to utilize the entire server for your organization's requirements.
We had a requirement to provision a new server and the time allotted to carry out this activity was very limited. We were able to provision an IBM Cloud bare metal server and configure it in less than a day. Since the cloud provides the latest generation of processors and storage, the performance of this server was much better than expected.
December 01, 2021

Very helpful tool

Saman Zubairr | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
These servers are fully dedicated servers. it's providing us the maximum performance and security-related stuff. When I use it I felt that it gives us very high performance and I am fully satisfied with it. IBM is unique as it has the ability to bind IP addresses that can float across any data center region to allow for fault-tolerant applications bound by a static IP regardless of geographic location. This system has been [used] by [the] global R&D division with [collaborative] working. Our main reason for using Bare Metal is the speed and security it provides over a cloud-based distributed database. As a bare metal IBM Cloud customer, you have complete access to one of the industry's largest selections of standard features and services for bare-metal workloads in both small business and enterprise settings. We deployed the Kubernetes cluster & [are] managing it with the best security practices. Also, it provides direct root access over the hardware. We are using it across all the departments. At times when we have a requirement to add new servers to our environment, we may not have the required computational resources to host the servers or the procurement of new servers is taking time due to paperwork. in such cases, we utilize the IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers
  • The servers are very secure and IBM provides many tools to help [make] sure the servers stay that way.
  • I use IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers to support online gamers on some platforms (frontend and backend)
  • I use them for our production hosting.
  • Support is very expensive
  • Availability of data center in a particular location.
  • The UI is not user friendly
The streaming capability is extremely good. It is very fast and loads the website faster. Our backend server can hold multiple users simultaneously using the website and through multiple locations. We love it and want to keep going. We are fine with the Bare Metal Servers that we own. We get notifications every time we need to schedule the maintenance. Our clients are also happy the service is always up and running when needed. It has dedicated unlimited computational power. It has a good backup system with off-site backup servers and easy disaster recovery
John Reeve | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bare Metal servers for the database and search indexing layers of our software stack because it gives us dedicated memory and disks. We can fully control the configuration and fine-tune it as needed, which results in much faster response times for our web application. Our main reason for using Bare Metal is the speed and security it provides over a cloud-based distributed database.
  • Dedicated memory and disk.
  • Easy to deploy.
  • Configure the hardware according to your specs.
  • BIOS/Firmware upgrades can take longer than expected.
  • Rebooting could be faster.
If you need full control over a server's configuration and security, Bare Metal is the way to go. It not only gives you full control but also provides speed improvements over virtual servers. For example, if you don't want to rely on network-attached storage, which is your only option with a virtual server, the Bare Metal server will give you local SSD storage that has almost zero latency.
Our database reads and writes, along with search indexing, are the most compute-intensive workloads in our stack. However, having SSDs and a significant amount of memory has reduced these tasks and our application response times to record lows. In fact, we could throw even more at these servers as they are currently underutilized.
Pooja Bhadja | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
These servers are fully dedicated servers. it's providing us the maximum performance and security-related stuff. When I use it I felt that it gives us very high performance and I am fully satisfied with it. I use it in big and complex business logic. My server is placed in the USA. I used a dedicated server. and I also recommended using it to everyone.
  • It's provide us wide range of management options[.]
  • It's provide us CPU configurations for maximum flexibility and scalability[.]
  • Right now nothing I have to improve.
I highly recommended using this IBM server. I am very satisfied to use this server. it reduces the time for getting data from this server. And the best part is [I] put minimal effort [into] this and it gives the best of best performance. It provides us with more bandwidth compared to their cost.
Yes, it's definitely I felt that it's useful for us and its efficiency is very high. we use this server in every project and we are recommended to our all clients to use this if they have a big or complex project or business logic then. It gives us a high-security level.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Teamcenter constructed on IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers. We have been collaborating using data online systems so far, but we have had to rework due to data selection mistakes, and we needed to change to working in a common platform environment. This system has been [used] by [the] global R&D division with [collaborative] working.
  • Excellent robustness
  • Excellent maintainability
  • Excellent flexibility in system changes
  • Response time for network troubles
  • The process of isolating the problem
  • Setting priorities according to importance
When used globally or at multiple locations, duplicate systems can be eliminated and management costs can be reduced, but it is not suitable when used at one site.
You can flexibly change the configuration such as memory capacity, disk capacity, and improvement of disk performance according to the load of the system. For example, when the disk capacity was insufficient, the performance and capacity could be flexibly selected, and it could be mounted and used immediately.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers to support online gamers on some platforms (frontend and backend) and provide a backend for the game hosted on other platforms. I've used IBM Cloud Server for 12 years starting from the time it was Softlayer. I hosted it in a couple of datacenters so far. I use Microsoft Windows and MSSQL Server software.
  • Good quality support
  • Good quality of hardware
  • Transparency about technical issues, security issues
  • The new IBM cloud customer site is not convenient
  • Relatively high prices of hardware and bandwidth
  • Relatively high prices for storage
  • Not flexible server storage configuration (SSD options related)
Scenarios where IBM Cloud Servers are well suited: 1. When you need a backend server with database to handle many simultaneous users online. 2. When you need robust solution with high quality support. 3. When you need server based in many different locations around the world Scenarios where IBM Cloud Servers are less appropriate: 1. When you need a corporate server with low number of users. 2. When you would not need high quality support. 3. Relatively small budget.
I used IBM Cloud Metal servers for 12 years (from the times it was Softlayer). I used it for intensive applications and games with tens of thousands and sometimes hundreds of thousands of users online. I use Microsoft Windows and MSSQL database server with large databases. So far IBM Cloud Metal Servers had proven to provide robust solution.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as development and testing platform. It turned out that the stability is top notch. We got 100% uptime during last 4 years, so we highly consider it as our production platform too. The platform is no longer supported since it has been discontinued and considered as legacy service, but we still use it by our own risk since the platform is really stable & reliable.
  • Reliable platform, never have any issue with the hardware.
  • Reliable infrastructure, 100% uptime during last 4 years in service.
  • The service price is higher than most competitors but it is worth considering its reliability.
  • Ability to switch OS/platform license to customer's own license without being re-deploy.
  • Procedure for easy hardware refresh (especially hard drive) to ease cloning content to new hard drive. We have a 6 years disk and we very concern about it.
  • Other than that, everything is OK.
The reliability is the keyword. We've recommended this to many partners & customers. Some of them have tried it and like it, they are really pleased with it. Some have tried the service, but discontinue for various reason, but at the end they came back to IBM again since no competitor in the market can offer the same reliability as IBM does.
We're making an AFTM/ACDM (Air Traffic Flow Management/Airport Collaborative Decision Making) system based on IoT and real data processing. We process aircraft data in milliseconds resolution, that about 500 aircraft per second with up to 50 parameters per aircraft. The Bare Metal we use is the benchmark how far our system can be pushed to process air traffic in a real-time. It became the minimum specs for our system.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers in our IT infrastructure for the purpose of hosting our servers in the IBM Cloud. At times when we have a requirement to add new servers to our environment, we may not have the required computational resources to host the servers or the procurement of new servers is taking time due to paperwork. in such cases we utilize the IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers
  • Excellent Network layer
  • Superior Tech Support
  • Reasonable Pricing
  • VPN Connectivity is a bit complicated
  • Documentation needs to be improved
  • Need to Improve resource availability in all regions
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are well suited when:
1. There is a requirement to host servers in a different geographical location
2. Require non virtualized computing power in the cloud
3. Quick workload deployment is a priority

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are less appropriate when:
1. Security requirements prevent hosting workloads in the cloud
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers have allowed us to increase workload efficiency as the servers provided by them are highly optimized. Sometime back we moved one of our servers to the cloud bare metal server. When the server was hosted in our physical infrastructure, some of our end of day processing schedules would take around 25-30 minutes, whereas in the IBM cloud, the time for these processing reduced to 10 minutes or lesser.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers to host our organization's internal systems and applications. Most of our internal tools used by our development team are deployed and running on the [IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers]. Due to various restrictions and limitations with Cloud alternatives, we have to host these applications in-house, and IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers fit our needs.
  • Performance - the servers perform really well, even under stress. We have some long build processes running concurrently, and the server [can] serve other applications without any problems.
  • Secure - for the most part, the servers are very secure and IBM provides many tools to help [make] sure the servers stay that way.
  • Highly Available - while we have experienced various downtimes and outages with other IBM Cloud offerings, so far, we have not experienced any with [IBM Cloud] Bare Metal Servers.
  • Pricing - can be a bit more expensive than some alternatives. Also, [in our experience,] we were offered a discount as part of a data center migration; [however,] when it came to billing time, the discount was not applied, and we had to spend time [providing] evidence of the offer.
Overall, a very good [offer] if you need a server, [especially for] the [deployment], run systems that would have [a] high amount of concurrent users, and/or if you have specific location needs around the world. However, if you do not have these [kinds] of high load/performance needs, perhaps it [would] be more cost-effective to look for other options, such as IBM Cloud Virtual Servers.
We run our build server on one of the [IBM Cloud] Bare Metal Servers. Often, we would have several builds happen concurrently on a daily basis. In the past, when we [had] 2 or 3 large builds running, other applications on the same server would slow down, and in extreme cases, stop responding. After we switched, we can run up to 7 or 8 concurrent builds without experiencing any significant impact.
Jonathan Geller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers were being used at all levels of our infrastructure. The uniqueness of IBM's offering bridges hardware and global networks into a nice package. IBM is unique as it has the ability to bind IP addresses that can float across any data center region to allow for fault-tolerant applications bound by a static IP regardless of geographic location. IBM's [and formerly Softlayer's] global private network allows for data centers to interact and communicate between regions without requiring VPN or other networking tools. Allowing your application to scale globally while physically limiting intra-networking on a private VLAN prevents many other challenges of securing private data. [I feel] in the telecom space, port 5060 SIP is a widely known and 'attackable' port. While you want to allow your customers access wherever they may be, keeping 'bad actors' away can be a challenge at scale. Our platform was physically built for the IBM Cloud to scale within its private network, keeping the intra-workings between all components private while only allowing known customers access on an independent transport bound to an IP that could self-heal and migrate into any global region on the IBM Cloud autonomously.
  • Unique relationship with hardware manufacturer Lenovo
  • Global SoftLayer IP network very unique to IBM
  • Deployment of servers were quite fast (within 24 hours)
  • Support team was responsive, until [in my experience,] it wasn't.
  • Ongoing special pricing / sales on bare metal servers
  • Device cataloging including firmware revision dates.
  • [In my experience, the] Customer Service Agreement (CSA) has many gaps in terms of responsibility with Bare Metal Servers.
  • [I believe] IBM should be deploying servers and firmware updating all components before providing them to customers to prevent component failure.
  • [I feel] IBM needs lots of improvement with their legacy VPN to access IMPI management tools. The level of security of it is unparalleled when it works. Having access to KVM / IPMI is critical for any business, and when their VPN service is not working.
  • [From my experiences,] IBM deployed faulty hardware, or failed to update firmware per Lenovo notices, only to pass off blame.
  • [In my opinion,] IBM's General Counsel and Paralegal held our data/company hostage when components failed, [in my experience] to IBM "gross negligence" (in their words), only to release it if we were to limit damages to $1,000.
IBM Cloud [Bare Metal Servers] (formerly Softlayer) is positioned to gain compute when graduating from virtual environments such as the other clouds. No other provider can offer what IBM has today. Global secure & roaming IP's are not found anywhere else at this level. [I feel] IBM has a big responsibility to ensure they maintain their hardware/components given the types of customers who chose IBM and who [in my experience] are willing to pay 5x - 10x the price of Bare Metal Servers compared to other offerings.
The machines performed quite well while working until they didn't [in my experience].

While base servers start at very high performance, offloading application workloads into IBM Cloud would be beneficial. Keeping in mind the cost of [computing] is greater than other vendors. The benefit of offloading workload in the IBM Cloud should be calculated based on its dependency on other network of specialty driven capability of IBM Cloud.

Compute performance does not have benefit over other compute offerings based on price alone.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are very high-performance cloud servers. Your Bare Metal Servers is an hourly or month-to-month, a single-inhabitant worker that is committed to you; it's anything but partook in any part, including worker assets, with different clients. As a bare metal IBM Cloud customer, you have complete access to one of the industry's largest selections of standard features and services for bare-metal workloads in both small business and enterprise settings
  • secure
  • good and High performance
  • good technical support
  • can Supports VPC
  • Monitoring issue
  • Pricing issue
  • expensive Support
BM Cloud® Bare Metal Servers are completely devoted workers giving the greatest execution and secure, single tenure. No hypervisor implies you get immediate root admittance to 100% of your worker assets. Alter everything with more than 11 million setups to browse. Overall, by 17% in all cases — and included 20 TB of data transmission, without cost. Browse hourly, month to month, or held charging, and that's only the tip of the iceberg, at costs set for brilliant expense the board.
Single-inhabitant equipment choice, bare metal workers are the top decision for security, protection, and worldwide registering power. Organizations with a requirement for insignificant dormancy postponements and high unwavering quality regularly go to an uncovered metal worker arrangement, with a custom or prepackaged setup, for superior, information escalated applications.

A virtual worker is a few layers of programming, including the hypervisor and virtual worker working framework, running on a bare-metal worker. Virtual workers are transient, public, devoted, profoundly adaptable, and meet a scope of vigorous framework requests with security, straightforwardness, adaptability, and cost-saving adaptability. These workers are important for the establishment of the public distributed computing Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) stack.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers provides a full dedicated customizable servers infrastructure. IBM has done a good job in simplifying the provision and setup of the Bare Metal Servers
  • High level of security.
  • Good performance.
  • The user interface and the speed of deploying are fantastic.
  • No option to define maintenance times.
  • The offering from IBM is a bit expensive.
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers is well suited when single-tenant and dedicated cloud servers are needed. Less appropriate for small organization with no enough skills to manage the infrastructure.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Cloud Bare Metal Servers in multiple cases. It helps in improving our data security and is easier to manage when compared to other vendors. The customization is also amazing where we can choose custom cores and based on it, pricing is done. Also, it has the latest VMWare software whereas other vendors use outdated or lower version software.
  • High Security
  • Good Performance
  • High Scalability
  • Monitoring
  • The pricing is a bit costlier
  • The UI is not user friendly
Our company uses Cloud Metal Servers by IBM to host client websites. It can stream lengthy videos. Also, it is extremely secure and is cross-platform.
The streaming capability is extremely good. It is very fast and loads the website faster. Our backend server can hold multiple users simultaneously using the website and through multiple locations.
May 15, 2021

Bare metal glory!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in IT for test and creating QA environments for our customers and clients. We solve issues relating to incomplete code, regression testing, blue/green deployments, unit testing. and other QA related tasks. It also helps us gather more details that we can provide our clients on what is tested and verified before shipping new releases.
  • Easy access
  • Great support for console access
  • Bandwidth costs are minimal compared to other cloud vendors
  • More apis
  • More stability
  • To many notifications about unrelated items
IBM Cloud is suited for testing and verify software changes. It is good for network integrations. Sometimes it is difficult to set up custom integrations with the product. They also provide excellent tech support whenever I call into them for any issues or additional needs for our clients. It runs very well with complex algorithmic equations.
Big data is quick and easy to configure. I have not had alot of experience configuring Big data and streaming apps specifically so I cannot speak to this directly.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers in a few specific departments where our data is critical and at the same time, we need the flexibility of scaling, security, and management. This is our second time getting in contract, and we never experienced any kind of latency. All the departments that are running on IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are blazing fast and are doing extremely well in terms of efficiency and also the performance. We first tried this out when we needed a fully custom machine type and yet needed someone to help us manage the infrastructure. We accidentally came across it and decided that this would be the best choice.
  • Security
  • Scalability
  • Customization
  • High performance
  • Supports GPU
  • Supports VPC
  • Slower support (rarely, but yes)
  • Availability of data center in a particular location.
  • Pricing
  • Monitoring
  • Lot of notifications
Well suited for users having a sustained load for a long period or for users having very customized machine types with all the flexibility that cloud computing can provide.
Our experience is awesome with the data incentive applications. Though we run quite a heavy workload, the servers respond with no latency. In fact, this is one of the points IBM Bare Metal Servers shine.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers] is currently being used across the whole organization for delivery of all of our products across a standard platform both within the continental United States and Europe and Asia. It allows for performances to be met at a generally cost-effective price point so we can deliver our products consistently, continuously, and stably.
  • Multiple processor options close to the latest offerings from Intel.
  • Many options of RAM for different memory requirements.
  • Multiple RAID arrays and disk options for the customers to configure.
  • Firmware upgrades are not always easy to perform and can be required at unusual time intervals at different datacenters.
  • No networking monitoring is available.
  • Changes on the IBM side can cause an outage, so you MUST plan for redundancy when building out.
Heavier usage of processor and/or memory with higher network requirements. Such as a robust, vertical database cluster or a robust Redis cluster. Their bare metal offerings are very suited for these use-cases as well as data-science requirements for modeling servers. Basically, anything that requires a large hardware requirement, these servers can deliver.
Data intensive applications run very well. These machines a "built" for this kind of load. Word of advice, don't skimp on the network cards, nor the dual-bonding, in the event of streaming, as the 1GB tends to be not enough to handle what the rest of a high-performant box can load.
Jeffrey Lange | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I used it throughout everything I do for hosting. It addresses all my hosting problems for personal hosting and client hosting.
  • Adding on memory
  • Support
  • Potential of greater processing power
  • I have switched to virtual servers because of their quickness of resources
  • Reloading OS takes a long time
  • Pricing
  • Everything seems slower than a virtual server
I used Bare Metal Servers for several years but after using Virtual servers I am probably not going to return to Bare Metal based on the pricing comparison. Virtual servers seem faster in every aspect to do anything I do. Changing memory is instant. Changing processes is instant. I do not feel there are much advantages of bare metal servers after using virtual servers.
I primarily used bare metal servers to run message boards at the time. I feel like the traffic was too much load for one server and the lack of load balancing made me fail a lot with my experience.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers to run custom Ubuntu servers. The entire company's dashboard application, which supports both clients and our own operations, is run through these servers. We needed IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers to run our custom stack back in 2014, and we have been utilizing them ever since.
  • Extremely high reliability
  • Monitoring was easy to setup
  • Internal networking is fast
  • Maintenance takes Bare Metal offline at unusual times
  • Support is not always reachable
  • IBM Cloud Dashboard is not the fastest
I think as a commodity provider, IBM's offering is just fine, nothing too great or bad about it. It's ideal for scenarios where a company doesn't want to offload specific services to IaaS because of the upgrade or support issues. It is low maintenance if you have solid devOps to set up the machines. I don't think it's appropriate for businesses that want to utilize IaaS as a Management solution.
We run Elasticsearch using these machines, and it performs great. We have zero complaints with the performance of the machines in regard to being able to handle large loads of client and end-user data. The security of the IBM Cloud allows us to enhance our datasets with the mindfulness of knowing that our data is secure.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use our IBM Bare Metal Servers for most of our production hosting needs. We develop and manage a number of content portals that generate substantial traffic, so it's important to be able to build a solid infrastructure that handles traffic spike. With our IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers, we have been able to record sustained growth for many years.

  • Reliable platform, never had any issue with the hardware.
  • Reliable infrastructure, 100% uptime in so many years.
  • Network capacity and pricing.
  • Real-time support.
  • Better upgrade incentives to move to newer hardware.
  • Chat support could improve and be more responsive.
  • Data centers in MENA.
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are well suited for media publishers who expect good flexibility, strong dependability, and sensible network bandwidth costs over the long term.
Servers have run at low utilization for years and are fast and reliable. Our sites serve millions of content articles with no issues.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Bare Metal help us in R&D department. We use it for Machine Learning and Deep Learning. We have access to high quality servers with very good performances. We run very intensive tasks and the servers are always powerful. We save a lot of time running this task on big servers in Cloud.
  • Performance.
  • Large offers choice.
  • Prices.
  • 100 Mbps default uplink.
  • Limited bandwidth.
  • Price for better network connectivity.
If you need performances and hourly billing for Bare Metal Servers, you are at the right place. If you need a lot of bandwidth and an uplink bigger than 100 Mbps, it’s an investment per server. Prices are balanced between very good hardware performances and limited network default offer. Taking all in consideration, it’s a good provider for intensive tasks like ML and AI.
We run Machine Learning on IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers. It’s a perfect choice for intensive applications. The hardware is very powerful and can save a lot of time running this tasks in Cloud. We store a lot of data for run our machine learning and servers are adapted to store good amount of data.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers to publish our software products and also to support our clients that don't own cloud infrastructure or don't want to have our products in their cloud, clients that just want the service running. We found that IBM Cloud is our best option to work with. We are a small software business, with fewer than 5 employees and we just reached five years of experience with IBM Cloud. We love it and want to keep going. We are fine with the Bare Metal Servers that we own. We get notifications every time we need to schedule the maintenance. Our clients are also happy the service is always up and running when needed.
  • Never down
  • Always trusty
  • All the resources work for me
  • Log with a recommendation to improve the servers' issues
  • Webinars that help to know what else I can do with my servers.
  • Email the monthly dashboard
I recommend IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers 100%. For a case like mine, where I want to control all the server resources to my products, want to tell my clients that everything is being managed so they can have a full server service, so they can trust entirely what they are offered, and avoid the possibility of something degrading the service.
Sometimes our products need to load a lot of data, sometimes daily, sometimes monthly, and with that data, we need to perform many calculations, over and over. So far we have no complaints about it. We build our Bare Metal Server with much RAM and we believe that it has the power to perform what we need.
Reid TenKley, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have utilized IBM Cloud Virtual and Bare Metal Servers to help our business scale and grow over the past 6 years. Service has been good, pricing has been fair, and we have peace of mind by working with a top-shelf vendor like IBM. I would recommend IBM Cloud to any small business looking to grow as we did.
  • Fair pricing
  • Latest technology
  • Real-time support
  • Certain support was lacking when we had a server drive failure. It would have been appropriate for IBM technicians to help us get a server set up since the failure was hardware related AND the back up we had been paying for wasn't properly archived.
Great for a start-up looking to lease equipment that can scale as they grow.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using this service around 2012 as a solution to host multiple websites, when SoftLayer was not yet part of IBM. We use this service exclusively for this purpose. This service solves our necessity to host multiple websites on a secure environment. We use 5 bare metal servers for this purpose.
  • Professional and proactive tech support.
  • Great performance on servers.
  • Nice interface to manage the infrastructure and services.
  • Sometimes Chat support is not very useful.
  • Some services are expensive if you compare them with cloud infrastructure.
Even when cloud is far more practical and sometimes cheaper today, Bare Metal Servers has its advantages. For example, if you have CPU or GPU intensive applications that need to be used constantly, that will be more expensive on some cloud providers. We found in our experience that we can have a server deployed in a matter of hours. And with a very good technical support provided by actual people, something that you can't get always on a cloud provider.

But if you need to host websites, even if you are a reseller, it's hard to recommend.
We started our journey on this service looking for a professional web hosting service. As time passed, we used one server to host a Kaltura Open server, which transcoded and served video files. And it worked perfectly. The performance in the servers in general was always great.

Other server that had intensive usage was a Database server, that served more than 20 different databases for several websites and it worked perfect, even on heavy load times.