Skip to main content
TrustRadius
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers

Overview

What is IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers?

IBM Cloud bare metal servers are cloud servers configurable in hourly/monthly options, on-demand, from any location—with a selection of standard features and services for small businesses and enterprise demands. Users can customize RAM and SSDs with 11M+ configurations from which…

Read more
Recent Reviews

IBM server in shell

8 out of 10
December 20, 2022
Incentivized
we deploy cloud based application on the IBM cloud bare metal servers for cloud communications, different kind off applications works in …
Continue reading

IBM Cloud VPC - Review

8 out of 10
December 16, 2022
Incentivized
In one of our projects where we had to create a setup of a virtual desktop infrastructure, which was to be created on VMWare, So, due to …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 9 features
  • Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (77)
    8.9
    89%
  • Security controls (74)
    8.7
    87%
  • Operating system support (76)
    8.6
    86%
  • Monitoring tools (70)
    8.4
    84%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

1 video

User Review: Long Time User Impressed with IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers' Quality Support
02:23
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers

starting at $0.51

Cloud
per hour

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers

starting at $241.00

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://cloud.ibm.com/gen1/infrastructu…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Features

Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS)

IaaS provides the basic building blocks for an IT infrastructure like servers, storage, and networking, in an on-demand model over the Internet

8.5
Avg 8.1
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers?

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are single-tenant, dedicated servers that can be deployed and managed as cloud services. They are part of IBM Cloud and are available in either classic or VPC deployment models.


IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers on VPC Infrastructure are dedicated bare metal servers that provide enhanced networking and connectivity via virtual private cloud (VPC) capabilities. They’re available now as an integrated part of IBM Cloud.


IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers on IBM Cloud Classic Infrastructure are presented as ideal for large, steady state, predictable operations that rely on traditional cloud networking. IBM Cloud Bare Metal Server can be customized with over 11 million different configuration combinations. IBM includes 20 TB of bandwidth. Pay-as-you-use with hourly, monthly, or reserved billing at prices set for cost management. CPU technology from Intel® Xeon® , and AMD EPYC™ , and add the latest NVIDIA Tesla GPUs are available.

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Features

Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) Features

  • Supported: Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime
  • Supported: Dynamic scaling
  • Supported: Elastic load balancing
  • Supported: Pre-configured templates
  • Supported: Monitoring tools
  • Supported: Pre-defined machine images
  • Supported: Operating system support
  • Supported: Security controls

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Screenshots

Screenshot of ConfiguringScreenshot of Bandwidth ProvisioningScreenshot of Remote ManagementScreenshot of Firmware Management

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationMobile Web

Frequently Asked Questions

IBM Cloud bare metal servers are cloud servers configurable in hourly/monthly options, on-demand, from any location—with a selection of standard features and services for small businesses and enterprise demands. Users can customize RAM and SSDs with 11M+ configurations from which to choose.

Alibaba Cloud ECS Bare Metal Servers, Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, and Rackspace Managed Hosting are common alternatives for IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers.

Reviewers rate Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime highest, with a score of 8.9.

The most common users of IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(179)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 81)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Jeffrey Lange | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
I used it throughout everything I do for hosting. It addresses all my hosting problems for personal hosting and client hosting.
  • Adding on memory
  • Support
  • Potential of greater processing power
  • I have switched to virtual servers because of their quickness of resources
  • Reloading OS takes a long time
  • Pricing
  • Everything seems slower than a virtual server
I used Bare Metal Servers for several years but after using Virtual servers I am probably not going to return to Bare Metal based on the pricing comparison. Virtual servers seem faster in every aspect to do anything I do. Changing memory is instant. Changing processes is instant. I do not feel there are much advantages of bare metal servers after using virtual servers.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have been using Teamcenter constructed on IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers. We have been collaborating using data online systems so far, but we have had to rework due to data selection mistakes, and we needed to change to working in a common platform environment. This system has been [used] by [the] global R&D division with [collaborative] working.
  • Excellent robustness
  • Excellent maintainability
  • Excellent flexibility in system changes
  • Response time for network troubles
  • The process of isolating the problem
  • Setting priorities according to importance
When used globally or at multiple locations, duplicate systems can be eliminated and management costs can be reduced, but it is not suitable when used at one site.
Madhurani Sahani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Easy IBM Cloud product and its virtualization ability and easy Cloud data protection and management is excellent. IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud effectively helps on generating real time data reports and data visualizing this product is good and also its Cloud services Automation functions are excellent and the migration of data is very secure.
  • Creating real time data results.
  • Automation of Cloud services.
  • Networking.
  • Access permission management.
  • Only to set its Cloud tools.
  • Handling big data across Cloud service.
  • Creating reports from complex project data.
Effectively this product produces clean data analytics through Cloud service, and the interface configuration was simple. Cloud workload balancing and the sata modeling functions on OBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud are incredible and the metadata management capability is nice. Through the Cloud service is also easy migrating big data across other Cloud systems.
Diana Dumpsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Effective Cloud system for easy servers management and very powerful on big data migration and the real time data analytics creation using IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers tools is perfect. I admire the capability for easy Cloud data access control and metadata management through this software is excellent and even Cloud service monitoring is amazing.
  • Easy to monitor server performance.
  • Application performance management.
  • Automation of different Cloud services.
  • Not much the advance features setting.
  • Migrating large project data.
  • Creating effective big data analytics when new user.
The tools offered by IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are extremely powerful and the stability is good. Automating different Cloud operations and the marketing dataflow management is very excellent. The reports are easy to understand and data quality control functions on IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are very effective and the integration tools are perfect.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
The VPC has been a great service for Cloud deployment. We've developed and staged software in a quick simple manner without the need to purchase hardware components or sign up for long term contracts. The ease of setup is probably my favorite benefit of the service because it doesn't not involve a lot of training.
  • Setup a virtual network
  • Allow for public and private subnets
  • Security and control
  • Login to the console
  • Make some wizards
Deploying a simple network to support a 3 tier web application.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We primarily use IBM's VPC infrastructure as a means to securely host our virtual infrastructure. During COVID, VDI and other remote applications became a requirement for our clients and their remote stakeholders. We found the price to be also competitive with other cloud offerings (Azure, AWS, GCP, etc).
  • Security
  • Productivity
  • Ease of use
  • 2FA via Hardware Security Keys (e.g. Yubikey)
Security and scalability were our two big factors in choosing IBM's VPC. Our data was hosted in a secure and isolated environment, allowing our organizations to maintain control over sensitive information. It also allowed our organizations to easily scale their infrastructure up or down to meet changing needs, without the need to purchase and maintain physical hardware.
December 20, 2022

IBM server in shell

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
we deploy cloud based application on the IBM cloud bare metal servers for cloud communications, different kind off applications works in sync with each other in order to create a cloud communications environment. the deployment of softlayer for fairly easier and robust deployement, which helped us grow to the new next level for our company
  • easy interface
  • robustness
  • zero down time
  • good performance
  • may be work on rapid scaling
  • and be able to deploy apps directly
  • need more info for cost management
IBM cloud was very suitable where we needed to deploy bare metal for easier deployment and easier migration from on prem because we also have on prem cloud with bare metal server. it is not very suitable for people who need to deploy direct apps on the cloud which is where the future is
December 16, 2022

IBM Cloud VPC - Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
In one of our projects where we had to create a setup of a virtual desktop infrastructure, which was to be created on VMWare, So, due to larger workload we migrated the existing workload on IBM Cloud and also wanted the help of the IPs, and Container services. The product has offered agility to our work, it is affordable and secure. Also the scope of our use case varies from project to project.
  • cost-effective
  • easy migration
  • highly secure
  • Limited versions of OS available
  • Less documentation available
  • Not all Databases are available
IBM VPC is well suitable for while migrating existing workload and while creating private cloud spaces
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
IBM Bare Metal Servers are currently being used in one of our deployments. We are in general delighted by the uptime and quality. IBM really needs to improve on its documentation. Other cloud platforms provide better documentation.
  • Overall Quality
  • Ease of Deployment
  • Performance
  • Documentation
  • Connectivity to other platforms
  • Pricing can be made more flexible
Industrial Automation deployments function well on Bare Metal Servers. We are able to utilize Bare Metal Servers for backup of Mission Critical Software.
We are hopeful that IBM will expand the marketplace and allow better features for OPC and BACNET connectivity.
In general the documentation needs to improve.
November 11, 2022

Transparent Review.

Sandeep Eti | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I have been involved with the below use cases in my experience - 1) Migrate on-prem servers/applications to IBM DC Cloud to new bare metal servers and build the Application (Lift and Shift the Custom Applications). 2) Build New Custom Applications from Scratch on Brand new LINUX bare metal servers.
  • Compatible for custom Applications.
  • Allows to install needed packages.
  • Self install required software like oracle, tools, compliers.
  • C compiler wasn't available by default.
  • Sendmail feature/package wasn't available by default.
  • Dependant on admins to get issues resolved.
Well suited - 1) To Install required Products/Software in a middleware technology 2) Customize the file system and size of the storage 3) Install required monitoring tools like Tivoli, Splunk, etc. Less appropriate - 1) Maybe for SAAS products that do not require all of the installations.
November 01, 2022

IBM cloud review

Rishav Karanjit | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC). We have virtual server running inside VPC. We access the VPC by doing SSH into the server using command line. Locally, we use windows machine but we use mobaxterm (other application) to use SSH. We prefer SSH over other windows options. Our use case is to host website inside the VPC.
  • SSH
  • No down time until now
  • Cost efficiency
  • Low tutorial on internet
  • Would be very helpful if docs include video demo as well.
Our use case is small. We use only one region and zone. I think IBM cloud VPC does well in larger cloud infrastructure as well. In case if the user is only learning about cloud, I would not recommend IBM cloud. IBM cloud does have good documentation but generally someone who is new to cloud would like to have a video demo.
October 28, 2022

IBM Bare Metal

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I used IBM Cloud Bare metal server to run my company’s website, web apps, database, etc.
  • Security
  • Performance
  • Availability
  • User Friendliness
  • Cost
IBM Cloud Bare Metal is great in scenarios where you need high availability and high performance, but of course this comes at a cost. If someone needs a simple static site obviously they are not going to use bare metal. But if you are running a web app where performance and availability is critical, it makes a lot of sense to go bare metal.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers for our AI technology app, we need the GPU to power our AI, it is convenient to add the GPU which is based on our needs, the app we are running on the server is stable, we never got a issue, and the support is OK as well, call a few times to ask for help, the waiting time is less than 15 minutes.
  • It is easy to set up.
  • Good tech support.
  • Network is fast.
  • The management UI could be easier to operate.
  • For GPU price, it is better to have more options.
Overall, the experience is good.
February 24, 2022

Heavy metal

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Using it as a virtual data center.
  • easy to deploy new computer
  • storage
  • pricing is easy to understand
  • web portal works great
  • network setup
Well suited for expanding an existing on-prem environment as migration is seamless. More cost-effective than AWS/Azure.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Being used as our primary production for our Web Apps, Internal Facing Apps, and our database warehouse.
  • Quick Deployment
  • Wide global footprint
  • Many auxiliary services beyond servers
  • Downtime!
  • Limited availability in certain markets
  • Some outdated documentation
Development, USA presence, and single source provider solutions are great for IBM Bluemix. You will need to establish DR locations as the uptime is not up to standards.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are using IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers in our organization to host our servers in the cloud. IBM Cloud provides us with a really cost-effective alternative for adding servers to our infrastructure. If we look to buy a physical server, the cost runs into thousands of dollars plus the cost to run and maintain it whereas the IBM cloud charges us on an hourly basis.
  • Ability to host resources quickly
  • Enhanced security
  • Easily Scalable reources
  • The user interface should be a bit more easier to use
  • The support resolution times should be reduced
  • VPN connectivity must be a basic feauture
IBM Cloud Bare Metal servers are best suited if you are looking for an alternative for adding computing resources to your organization's IT domain. The costs of owning and maintaining a physical resource in the organization are far more than renting computing resources on the cloud. The bare-metal servers allow you to utilize the entire server for your organization's requirements.
December 01, 2021

Very helpful tool

Saman Zubairr | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
These servers are fully dedicated servers. it's providing us the maximum performance and security-related stuff. When I use it I felt that it gives us very high performance and I am fully satisfied with it. IBM is unique as it has the ability to bind IP addresses that can float across any data center region to allow for fault-tolerant applications bound by a static IP regardless of geographic location. This system has been [used] by [the] global R&D division with [collaborative] working. Our main reason for using Bare Metal is the speed and security it provides over a cloud-based distributed database. As a bare metal IBM Cloud customer, you have complete access to one of the industry's largest selections of standard features and services for bare-metal workloads in both small business and enterprise settings. We deployed the Kubernetes cluster & [are] managing it with the best security practices. Also, it provides direct root access over the hardware. We are using it across all the departments. At times when we have a requirement to add new servers to our environment, we may not have the required computational resources to host the servers or the procurement of new servers is taking time due to paperwork. in such cases, we utilize the IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers
  • The servers are very secure and IBM provides many tools to help [make] sure the servers stay that way.
  • I use IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers to support online gamers on some platforms (frontend and backend)
  • I use them for our production hosting.
  • Support is very expensive
  • Availability of data center in a particular location.
  • The UI is not user friendly
The streaming capability is extremely good. It is very fast and loads the website faster. Our backend server can hold multiple users simultaneously using the website and through multiple locations. We love it and want to keep going. We are fine with the Bare Metal Servers that we own. We get notifications every time we need to schedule the maintenance. Our clients are also happy the service is always up and running when needed. It has dedicated unlimited computational power. It has a good backup system with off-site backup servers and easy disaster recovery
John Reeve | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Bare Metal servers for the database and search indexing layers of our software stack because it gives us dedicated memory and disks. We can fully control the configuration and fine-tune it as needed, which results in much faster response times for our web application. Our main reason for using Bare Metal is the speed and security it provides over a cloud-based distributed database.
  • Dedicated memory and disk.
  • Easy to deploy.
  • Configure the hardware according to your specs.
  • BIOS/Firmware upgrades can take longer than expected.
  • Rebooting could be faster.
If you need full control over a server's configuration and security, Bare Metal is the way to go. It not only gives you full control but also provides speed improvements over virtual servers. For example, if you don't want to rely on network-attached storage, which is your only option with a virtual server, the Bare Metal server will give you local SSD storage that has almost zero latency.
Pooja Bhadja | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
These servers are fully dedicated servers. it's providing us the maximum performance and security-related stuff. When I use it I felt that it gives us very high performance and I am fully satisfied with it. I use it in big and complex business logic. My server is placed in the USA. I used a dedicated server. and I also recommended using it to everyone.
  • It's provide us wide range of management options[.]
  • It's provide us CPU configurations for maximum flexibility and scalability[.]
  • Right now nothing I have to improve.
I highly recommended using this IBM server. I am very satisfied to use this server. it reduces the time for getting data from this server. And the best part is [I] put minimal effort [into] this and it gives the best of best performance. It provides us with more bandwidth compared to their cost.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers to support online gamers on some platforms (frontend and backend) and provide a backend for the game hosted on other platforms. I've used IBM Cloud Server for 12 years starting from the time it was Softlayer. I hosted it in a couple of datacenters so far. I use Microsoft Windows and MSSQL Server software.
  • Good quality support
  • Good quality of hardware
  • Transparency about technical issues, security issues
  • The new IBM cloud customer site is not convenient
  • Relatively high prices of hardware and bandwidth
  • Relatively high prices for storage
  • Not flexible server storage configuration (SSD options related)
Scenarios where IBM Cloud Servers are well suited: 1. When you need a backend server with database to handle many simultaneous users online. 2. When you need robust solution with high quality support. 3. When you need server based in many different locations around the world Scenarios where IBM Cloud Servers are less appropriate: 1. When you need a corporate server with low number of users. 2. When you would not need high quality support. 3. Relatively small budget.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it as development and testing platform. It turned out that the stability is top notch. We got 100% uptime during last 4 years, so we highly consider it as our production platform too. The platform is no longer supported since it has been discontinued and considered as legacy service, but we still use it by our own risk since the platform is really stable & reliable.
  • Reliable platform, never have any issue with the hardware.
  • Reliable infrastructure, 100% uptime during last 4 years in service.
  • The service price is higher than most competitors but it is worth considering its reliability.
  • Ability to switch OS/platform license to customer's own license without being re-deploy.
  • Procedure for easy hardware refresh (especially hard drive) to ease cloning content to new hard drive. We have a 6 years disk and we very concern about it.
  • Other than that, everything is OK.
The reliability is the keyword. We've recommended this to many partners & customers. Some of them have tried it and like it, they are really pleased with it. Some have tried the service, but discontinue for various reason, but at the end they came back to IBM again since no competitor in the market can offer the same reliability as IBM does.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are using IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers in our IT infrastructure for the purpose of hosting our servers in the IBM Cloud. At times when we have a requirement to add new servers to our environment, we may not have the required computational resources to host the servers or the procurement of new servers is taking time due to paperwork. in such cases we utilize the IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers
  • Excellent Network layer
  • Superior Tech Support
  • Reasonable Pricing
  • VPN Connectivity is a bit complicated
  • Documentation needs to be improved
  • Need to Improve resource availability in all regions
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are well suited when:
1. There is a requirement to host servers in a different geographical location
2. Require non virtualized computing power in the cloud
3. Quick workload deployment is a priority

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are less appropriate when:
1. Security requirements prevent hosting workloads in the cloud
Sienna Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
This product is used by our department in collaboration with the IBM Cloud Virtual Server team to host our data securely. It has built a powerful infrastructure for all data that is hosted in our private cloud. We landed on this platform due to its performance and the total cost required for deployment. It gives us all tools required for a private virtual network.
  • Provision of VPC Subnets.
  • Network orchestration for our private cloud.
  • The functionality and reliability has been awesome.
  • I have not experienced any downtime from its capability.
I have liked the performance of this platform since we deployed it. It provides us with an additional network layer that eliminates any bottlenecks of our virtual servers. It has high functionality speed in data processing contributing to faster workflows. Security of our private cloud is guaranteed at an affordable and reliable cost.
November 03, 2021

IBM CLOUD VPC Review

Sai karthik Satyavarapu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it for a few clients, not for all the clients for implementation of the cloud.
  • Domain name services. Public and private DNS and domain registration.
  • IBM Cloud Direct Link. Physical or virtual private connections to IBM Cloud.
  • High availability. Enhanced security.
  • UI has lot of confusion, new user gets lot confusion while navigation.
  • Most of IBM cloud has pre -configured Vm's, very less customization available.
  • Very limited varieties of flavors for windows and Linux OS available.
  • Compared to AWS very less features like SQL & Oracle DB's are also missing.
Migration of applications is easy. It can be used for smaller organizations for handling a big customer base. Companies might face challenges due to some missing features like site-site VPN and others, etc.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers to host our organization's internal systems and applications. Most of our internal tools used by our development team are deployed and running on the [IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers]. Due to various restrictions and limitations with Cloud alternatives, we have to host these applications in-house, and IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers fit our needs.
  • Performance - the servers perform really well, even under stress. We have some long build processes running concurrently, and the server [can] serve other applications without any problems.
  • Secure - for the most part, the servers are very secure and IBM provides many tools to help [make] sure the servers stay that way.
  • Highly Available - while we have experienced various downtimes and outages with other IBM Cloud offerings, so far, we have not experienced any with [IBM Cloud] Bare Metal Servers.
  • Pricing - can be a bit more expensive than some alternatives. Also, [in our experience,] we were offered a discount as part of a data center migration; [however,] when it came to billing time, the discount was not applied, and we had to spend time [providing] evidence of the offer.
Overall, a very good [offer] if you need a server, [especially for] the [deployment], run systems that would have [a] high amount of concurrent users, and/or if you have specific location needs around the world. However, if you do not have these [kinds] of high load/performance needs, perhaps it [would] be more cost-effective to look for other options, such as IBM Cloud Virtual Servers.
Return to navigation