IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
107 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 40)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 12, 2021
Prateek Jain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it for running the internal infrastructure like k8s clusters and other applications. Currently, on Infosec, our Cloud and DevOps team is using it. This helps us in running the applications like CI-CD tools, monitoring applications, clusters on the secure and dedicated hardware. Some of these services need dedicated servers due to compliance issues.
  • Highly available
  • Highly secure
  • Completely isolated environment
  • Sometimes difficult for a beginner to start with it
  • Support could have been better
The IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers best suited in the following:
1. Running applications that require dedicated RAM and CPU
2. For applications that need isolated hardware due to licensing and other compliance issues

The IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers less suited appropriate for the following purposes:
1. Running simple application servers
2. Running non-compliance services
We were using the IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers for the ML model training. Our experience was good as we can start the server any time and start the training for the model and after finishing the work we can easily shut it down or remove the server after taking a snapshot of the server.
Read Prateek Jain's full review
May 18, 2021
Vipin Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are fully dedicated servers offering top performance and security. We are using this service in my organization in some departments. We use them for our production hosting. We are very happy with IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers because we never faced any downtime with this product.
  • No downtime
  • Lots of backup services
  • High performance
  • Good security
  • Best technical support
  • Problem with some platforms
  • Support is very expensive
  • High price compared to other vendors
We are at present utilizing IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers in a couple of offices where our information is basic and simultaneously, we need the adaptability of scaling, security, and management. It considers exhibitions to be met at a, for the most part, financially savvy value point so we can convey our items' reliably constantly and stably. We use IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers to distribute our product items. It is being utilized by a division.
this is really very good product. i never faced any issue with this.no downtime and always very fast performance.
Read Vipin Sharma's full review
May 10, 2021
Sireesha Kotharu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers in a few specific departments where our data is critical and at the same time, we need the flexibility of scaling, security, and management. This is our second time getting in contract, and we never experienced any kind of latency. All the departments that are running on IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are blazing fast and are doing extremely well in terms of efficiency and also the performance. We first tried this out when we needed a fully custom machine type and yet needed someone to help us manage the infrastructure. We accidentally came across it and decided that this would be the best choice.
  • Security
  • Scalability
  • Customization
  • High performance
  • Supports GPU
  • Supports VPC
  • Slower support (rarely, but yes)
  • Availability of data center in a particular location.
  • Pricing
  • Monitoring
  • Lot of notifications
Well suited for users having a sustained load for a long period or for users having very customized machine types with all the flexibility that cloud computing can provide.
Our experience is awesome with the data incentive applications. Though we run quite a heavy workload, the servers respond with no latency. In fact, this is one of the points IBM Bare Metal Servers shine.
Read Sireesha Kotharu's full review
May 22, 2021
Siddhant Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the IBM Cloud Bare Metal server for the deployment of our secure chat system. We are using it because we can directly log in on the hardware & can access the root also. IBM Cloud Bare Metal Server provides high availability with no such long-term commitment.
  • High availability & reliable for high traffic applications
  • It provides secure environment for applications
  • Pr-configured Templates makes the work easier
  • Easy documentation required for new users
IBM Cloud Bare Metal is well suited for medium & large scale infrastructure having secure applications & confidential data. There is multiple factors involved when you buy a server & host on-premises , IBM Cloud bare metal resolves all these issue.
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Server Provides Auto Scaling & Elastic load balancing feature that manages the sudden peak traffic & handles the application load results in high availability. It automatically adds additional resources in peak time & removes [them] when everything backs to normal.
Read Siddhant Singh's full review
May 15, 2021
Mark Handcock | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in IT for test and creating QA environments for our customers and clients. We solve issues relating to incomplete code, regression testing, blue/green deployments, unit testing. and other QA related tasks. It also helps us gather more details that we can provide our clients on what is tested and verified before shipping new releases.
  • Easy access
  • Great support for console access
  • Bandwidth costs are minimal compared to other cloud vendors
  • More apis
  • More stability
  • To many notifications about unrelated items
IBM Cloud is suited for testing and verify software changes. It is good for network integrations. Sometimes it is difficult to set up custom integrations with the product. They also provide excellent tech support whenever I call into them for any issues or additional needs for our clients. It runs very well with complex algorithmic equations.
Big data is quick and easy to configure. I have not had alot of experience configuring Big data and streaming apps specifically so I cannot speak to this directly.
Read Mark Handcock's full review
June 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers provides a full dedicated customizable servers infrastructure. IBM has done a good job in simplifying the provision and setup of the Bare Metal Servers
  • High level of security.
  • Good performance.
  • The user interface and the speed of deploying are fantastic.
  • No option to define maintenance times.
  • The offering from IBM is a bit expensive.
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers is well suited when single-tenant and dedicated cloud servers are needed. Less appropriate for small organization with no enough skills to manage the infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review
May 16, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Cloud Bare Metal Servers in multiple cases. It helps in improving our data security and is easier to manage when compared to other vendors. The customization is also amazing where we can choose custom cores and based on it, pricing is done. Also, it has the latest VMWare software whereas other vendors use outdated or lower version software.
  • High Security
  • Good Performance
  • High Scalability
  • Monitoring
  • The pricing is a bit costlier
  • The UI is not user friendly
Our company uses Cloud Metal Servers by IBM to host client websites. It can stream lengthy videos. Also, it is extremely secure and is cross-platform.
The streaming capability is extremely good. It is very fast and loads the website faster. Our backend server can hold multiple users simultaneously using the website and through multiple locations.
Read this authenticated review
December 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers] is currently being used across the whole organization for delivery of all of our products across a standard platform both within the continental United States and Europe and Asia. It allows for performances to be met at a generally cost-effective price point so we can deliver our products consistently, continuously, and stably.
  • Multiple processor options close to the latest offerings from Intel.
  • Many options of RAM for different memory requirements.
  • Multiple RAID arrays and disk options for the customers to configure.
  • Firmware upgrades are not always easy to perform and can be required at unusual time intervals at different datacenters.
  • No networking monitoring is available.
  • Changes on the IBM side can cause an outage, so you MUST plan for redundancy when building out.
Heavier usage of processor and/or memory with higher network requirements. Such as a robust, vertical database cluster or a robust Redis cluster. Their bare metal offerings are very suited for these use-cases as well as data-science requirements for modeling servers. Basically, anything that requires a large hardware requirement, these servers can deliver.
Data intensive applications run very well. These machines a "built" for this kind of load. Word of advice, don't skimp on the network cards, nor the dual-bonding, in the event of streaming, as the 1GB tends to be not enough to handle what the rest of a high-performant box can load.
Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers to support online gamers on some platforms (frontend and backend) and provide a backend for the game hosted on other platforms. I've used IBM Cloud Server for 12 years starting from the time it was Softlayer. I hosted it in a couple of datacenters so far. I use Microsoft Windows and MSSQL Server software.
  • Good quality support
  • Good quality of hardware
  • Transparency about technical issues, security issues
  • The new IBM cloud customer site is not convenient
  • Relatively high prices of hardware and bandwidth
  • Relatively high prices for storage
  • Not flexible server storage configuration (SSD options related)
Scenarios where IBM Cloud Servers are well suited:
1. When you need a backend server with database to handle many simultaneous users online.
2. When you need robust solution with high quality support.
3. When you need server based in many different locations around the world

Scenarios where IBM Cloud Servers are less appropriate:
1. When you need a corporate server with low number of users.
2. When you would not need high quality support.
3. Relatively small budget.
I used IBM Cloud Metal servers for 12 years (from the times it was Softlayer). I used it for intensive applications and games with tens of thousands and sometimes hundreds of thousands of users online. I use Microsoft Windows and MSSQL database server with large databases. So far IBM Cloud Metal Servers had proven to provide robust solution.
Read this authenticated review
May 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers to publish our software products. It is being used by a department.
  • It solves the unreliability issues of our portal.
  • It's being used to process the compute-heavy genetic infrastructure of microbes we research.
  • Performance and support is great.
  • Less user friendly.
  • Hard to use.
I use IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers to support online gamers on some platforms (frontend and backend) and provide a backend for the game hosted on other platforms. It was a very good experience.
It was pretty amazing. I didn't face so many issues.
Read this authenticated review
August 25, 2020
Gustavo Villarreal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use our IBM Bare Metal Servers for most of our server infrastructure needs, either in-house services, or hosted services for customers, and also prototypes and demos. We develop services for contact centers, so it's important to be able to build a very specific feature and prototype it quickly, mirroring as closely as possible the customer's environment, whether they run Bare Metal, VMs or containers. With our IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers we have been able to provide a solution efficiently.
  • Strong reliability
  • Availability of servers and capacities.
  • Network capacity and pricing.
  • Better hardware options for longer terms.
  • Better pricing for longer terms.
  • Better upgrade incentives to move to newer hardware.
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are well suited for scenarios where you need good flexibility, strong dependability, and sensible network bandwidth costs. Wouldn't be a great fit for a very elastic service.
As we run contact center applications, it is very important to have a known, dedicated, and dependable server and network capacity. And if we need more or less, it is quick enough (for our projects) to change things. And the flexibility to run things on VM or Bare-metal allows us to host anything we need, which is hardly the case with cloud solutions such as AWS. Sometimes a customer would need a specific SD-WAN solution or a specific security software with specific networking or storage needs, and that is just not possible on AWS or similar services.
Read Gustavo Villarreal's full review
November 07, 2020
Ismail Mohamed Sidiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use our IBM Bare Metal Servers for most of our production hosting needs. We develop and manage a number of content portals that generate substantial traffic, so it's important to be able to build a solid infrastructure that handles traffic spike. With our IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers, we have been able to record sustained growth for many years.

  • Reliable platform, never had any issue with the hardware.
  • Reliable infrastructure, 100% uptime in so many years.
  • Network capacity and pricing.
  • Real-time support.
  • Better upgrade incentives to move to newer hardware.
  • Chat support could improve and be more responsive.
  • Data centers in MENA.
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are well suited for media publishers who expect good flexibility, strong dependability, and sensible network bandwidth costs over the long term.
Servers have run at low utilization for years and are fast and reliable. Our sites serve millions of content articles with no issues.
Read Ismail Mohamed Sidiya's full review
September 06, 2020
Gilmer Donis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers to publish our software products and also to support our clients that don't own cloud infrastructure or don't want to have our products in their cloud, clients that just want the service running. We found that IBM Cloud is our best option to work with. We are a small software business, with fewer than 5 employees and we just reached five years of experience with IBM Cloud. We love it and want to keep going. We are fine with the Bare Metal Servers that we own. We get notifications every time we need to schedule the maintenance. Our clients are also happy the service is always up and running when needed.
  • Never down
  • Always trusty
  • All the resources work for me
  • Log with a recommendation to improve the servers' issues
  • Webinars that help to know what else I can do with my servers.
  • Email the monthly dashboard
I recommend IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers 100%. For a case like mine, where I want to control all the server resources to my products, want to tell my clients that everything is being managed so they can have a full server service, so they can trust entirely what they are offered, and avoid the possibility of something degrading the service.
Sometimes our products need to load a lot of data, sometimes daily, sometimes monthly, and with that data, we need to perform many calculations, over and over. So far we have no complaints about it. We build our Bare Metal Server with much RAM and we believe that it has the power to perform what we need.
Read Gilmer Donis's full review
September 04, 2020
Muhammad Zarak Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used to process compute-heavy genetic infrastructure of microbes we research. It solves the unreliability issues of our portal.
  • 100% reliable
  • Zero down time
  • Dedicated unlimited computational power
  • Cost is high if no startup credit is applied for before initiating work on it.
  • Machine migration process is complicated.
  • Insufficient tutorials and one click solutions
In laboratories where there is unreliable electricity and internet connection, IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers serve as a lifeline. But if you have a reliable connection to the internet and electricity and also have the budget to deploy hardware yourself, then you may deploy on your own location.
Literally Excellent. IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are no match for service providers and no other options can compete with them. Our experience was very good. For the price, we were able to make remarkable achievements in processing our medical research.
Read Muhammad Zarak Khan's full review
August 31, 2020
Eric Thomas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use several bare metal servers to support business operations, including sales (multiple web sites), management (back end intranet system), and marketing (newsletters). Our operation is using a proprietary system to manage our inventory, production and sales all together. This system is hosted online as we have staff in multiple locations, including programmers and office staff. We are able to keep all of our data online with real-time updates from the programmers and live updates to our customers on the production status.
  • Multiple locations for distributed computing allowing faster download speeds for our customers and staff alike
  • Full service of domain registrations, SSL purchases, server rental, DNS servers, etc. This allows us to keep all of our necessary related services within a single console and single billing system.
  • Good backup system with off-site backup servers and easy disaster recovery
  • New console is confusing and hard to navigate. Integration of the "classic interface" is sometimes redundant and doesn't function well. This is especially apparent in the trouble ticket section where legacy trouble tickets are not found.
  • Hardware support is almost non-existent unless paying a very high monthly fee. The "free" support that comes with renting a server (or servers) for up to $2,000/mo is laughable at best. Our server was down and no response from tech support for over 24 hours and no way to escalate the ticket as we were not "premium" subscribers.
  • Connecting to KVM for remote access is only possible over an SSL VPN connection, which requires the use of Internet Explorer which is soon to be removed and is currently only accessible by search. A newer, updated system needs to be put in place to gain remote access.
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are especially well suited for large companies that can afford the premium support plan, as downtime is generally not acceptable for any company but unavoidable if you can't afford premium support. Smaller companies may be better suited to a smaller server farm that has more personalized service and tech support options. But, if you require server clusters and/or multiple server locations, and can afford the tech support plans, then this is a solid, stable option.
As our operation is a single company with multiple websites, we do not really have Big Data applications. Our databases rarely exceed 6-10 million records for any particular table. We do not use media and/or streaming applications.
Read Eric Thomas's full review
August 25, 2020
John Rivers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use IBM Bare Metal servers for hosting web applications. Their performance is great, and their support is even better. I really appreciate all of the communication, updates, and flexibility that IBM offers. The scalability is easy and all of the services are very cost-effective. No more AWS! IBM is the best!
  • Scalability
  • Cost effective
  • Performance
  • Security
  • Needed to work with a sales rep to get exactly what I needed.
  • Had to move my server after one year since they were shutting down a data center (they gave 9 months notice though).
  • Bandwidth is limited too much in my opinion.
If you are using AWS, SWITCH! IBM is half the price, has the same scalability, and has excellent support.
My servers have run at 3-5% utilization for 8+ years. IBM servers are fast and reliable. No issues running my workloads.
Read John Rivers's full review
November 19, 2020
Jeffrey Lange | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I used it throughout everything I do for hosting. It addresses all my hosting problems for personal hosting and client hosting.
  • Adding on memory
  • Support
  • Potential of greater processing power
  • I have switched to virtual servers because of their quickness of resources
  • Reloading OS takes a long time
  • Pricing
  • Everything seems slower than a virtual server
I used Bare Metal Servers for several years but after using Virtual servers I am probably not going to return to Bare Metal based on the pricing comparison. Virtual servers seem faster in every aspect to do anything I do. Changing memory is instant. Changing processes is instant. I do not feel there are much advantages of bare metal servers after using virtual servers.
I primarily used bare metal servers to run message boards at the time. I feel like the traffic was too much load for one server and the lack of load balancing made me fail a lot with my experience.
Read Jeffrey Lange's full review
September 04, 2020
Reid TenKley, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have utilized IBM Cloud Virtual and Bare Metal Servers to help our business scale and grow over the past 6 years. Service has been good, pricing has been fair, and we have peace of mind by working with a top-shelf vendor like IBM. I would recommend IBM Cloud to any small business looking to grow as we did.
  • Fair pricing
  • Latest technology
  • Real-time support
  • Certain support was lacking when we had a server drive failure. It would have been appropriate for IBM technicians to help us get a server set up since the failure was hardware related AND the back up we had been paying for wasn't properly archived.
Great for a start-up looking to lease equipment that can scale as they grow.
Read Reid TenKley, CPA's full review
September 03, 2020
Asnee Fernando | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it as our high performing servers to train models for AI projects. We get to utilize servers fully, providing power instead of sharing with others.
  • Training models for data science projects are much faster and a lot more cost-effective than paying by the hour/per use.
  • Test environment.
  • Cost effective. Cloud Bare Metal Servers are much cheaper than if you do the calculation and are running 24/7.
  • More customization like turn off auto-update, linking servers to turn to HPC, even overclock to safe limits.
  • Access to other IBM products like nvidia a100, amc processor with nvidia graphic cards, etc.
  • Installing Chrome, and other Windows tweaks.
Well suited for training models for data science with a dedicated server. We don't have to worry about racking up hourly costs, which would be costlier than Bare Metal. The reason I didn’t give 10 is because did not see any new intel processing and it lacks the ability to increase more GPU (instead of maxing out at 2).

I see it as overall positive than negative. The only negative is the risk of loss of storage and security.
Having IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers has been awesome for training data for financials, biometrics, etc.
Read Asnee Fernando's full review
November 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers to run custom Ubuntu servers. The entire company's dashboard application, which supports both clients and our own operations, is run through these servers. We needed IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers to run our custom stack back in 2014, and we have been utilizing them ever since.
  • Extremely high reliability
  • Monitoring was easy to setup
  • Internal networking is fast
  • Maintenance takes Bare Metal offline at unusual times
  • Support is not always reachable
  • IBM Cloud Dashboard is not the fastest
I think as a commodity provider, IBM's offering is just fine, nothing too great or bad about it. It's ideal for scenarios where a company doesn't want to offload specific services to IaaS because of the upgrade or support issues. It is low maintenance if you have solid devOps to set up the machines. I don't think it's appropriate for businesses that want to utilize IaaS as a Management solution.
We run Elasticsearch using these machines, and it performs great. We have zero complaints with the performance of the machines in regard to being able to handle large loads of client and end-user data. The security of the IBM Cloud allows us to enhance our datasets with the mindfulness of knowing that our data is secure.
Read this authenticated review
October 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as development and testing platform. It turned out that the stability is top notch. We got 100% uptime during last 4 years, so we highly consider it as our production platform too. The platform is no longer supported since it has been discontinued and considered as legacy service, but we still use it by our own risk since the platform is really stable & reliable.
  • Reliable platform, never have any issue with the hardware.
  • Reliable infrastructure, 100% uptime during last 4 years in service.
  • The service price is higher than most competitors but it is worth considering its reliability.
  • Ability to switch OS/platform license to customer's own license without being re-deploy.
  • Procedure for easy hardware refresh (especially hard drive) to ease cloning content to new hard drive. We have a 6 years disk and we very concern about it.
  • Other than that, everything is OK.
The reliability is the keyword. We've recommended this to many partners & customers. Some of them have tried it and like it, they are really pleased with it. Some have tried the service, but discontinue for various reason, but at the end they came back to IBM again since no competitor in the market can offer the same reliability as IBM does.
We're making an AFTM/ACDM (Air Traffic Flow Management/Airport Collaborative Decision Making) system based on IoT and real data processing. We process aircraft data in milliseconds resolution, that about 500 aircraft per second with up to 50 parameters per aircraft. The Bare Metal we use is the benchmark how far our system can be pushed to process air traffic in a real-time. It became the minimum specs for our system.
Read this authenticated review
October 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Bare Metal help us in R&D department. We use it for Machine Learning and Deep Learning. We have access to high quality servers with very good performances. We run very intensive tasks and the servers are always powerful. We save a lot of time running this task on big servers in Cloud.
  • Performance.
  • Large offers choice.
  • Prices.
  • 100 Mbps default uplink.
  • Limited bandwidth.
  • Price for better network connectivity.
If you need performances and hourly billing for Bare Metal Servers, you are at the right place. If you need a lot of bandwidth and an uplink bigger than 100 Mbps, it’s an investment per server. Prices are balanced between very good hardware performances and limited network default offer. Taking all in consideration, it’s a good provider for intensive tasks like ML and AI.
We run Machine Learning on IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers. It’s a perfect choice for intensive applications. The hardware is very powerful and can save a lot of time running this tasks in Cloud. We store a lot of data for run our machine learning and servers are adapted to store good amount of data.
Read this authenticated review
September 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using this service around 2012 as a solution to host multiple websites, when SoftLayer was not yet part of IBM. We use this service exclusively for this purpose. This service solves our necessity to host multiple websites on a secure environment. We use 5 bare metal servers for this purpose.
  • Professional and proactive tech support.
  • Great performance on servers.
  • Nice interface to manage the infrastructure and services.
  • Sometimes Chat support is not very useful.
  • Some services are expensive if you compare them with cloud infrastructure.
Even when cloud is far more practical and sometimes cheaper today, Bare Metal Servers has its advantages. For example, if you have CPU or GPU intensive applications that need to be used constantly, that will be more expensive on some cloud providers. We found in our experience that we can have a server deployed in a matter of hours. And with a very good technical support provided by actual people, something that you can't get always on a cloud provider.

But if you need to host websites, even if you are a reseller, it's hard to recommend.
We started our journey on this service looking for a professional web hosting service. As time passed, we used one server to host a Kaltura Open server, which transcoded and served video files. And it worked perfectly. The performance in the servers in general was always great.

Other server that had intensive usage was a Database server, that served more than 20 different databases for several websites and it worked perfect, even on heavy load times.
Read this authenticated review
August 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are using Bare-Metal Servers to host web applications and REST APIs. We also use them for deployment and staging environments.
  • Good customization
  • Fast connectivity
  • Reliable hardware
  • Expensive compared to other providers.
  • Lack of included priority support.
  • Admin portal is slow and difficult to use.
  • Basic support response is extremely slow.
Their Bare Metal Servers are great and some of the most reliable I have used. However, I do believe they are overpriced, especially for SSD options in comparison with their competitors. Also, it baffles me as to why premium support isn't included in Bare Metal products, as they are priced far higher than their virtual compute products.
Read this authenticated review
January 13, 2020
Venkat Charan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a cloud gaming based company. So we use highly-configured bare-metal servers with GPUs across the organization. We were able to utilize the entire performance of the hardware since bare metal servers are single-tenant, unlike virtual cloud servers.
  • High performance backed by single-tenant sharing.
  • Cheaper than public virtual servers by around 60%.
  • Initial set-up times are high! It's rare, but they do take around 30 hours.
  • Not a good option to run temporary workloads while scaling up.
Bare Metal Servers are extraordinary while running calculated workloads. Let's say for example, that your business caters 1 million users a month and you need 8 servers to handle the load. When you have a clear cut requirement like this, a business can move from Virtual Cloud servers to Bare Metal servers and this will help them push out extra performance and even reduce the cloud costs by more than half. It is not well suited when you have to provision extra servers because of the temporary surge in traffic or resources.
We continuously stream a VM on the Bare Metal Servers for our users to game on. The servers are backed by the latest hardware such as the Nvidia V100s to render and stream the application data to the user. We have never experienced any system hang even when we running our weekly maintenance that takes a lot of computing power.
Read Venkat Charan's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (38)
8.3
Dynamic scaling (27)
7.9
Elastic load balancing (22)
7.9
Pre-configured templates (23)
7.5
Monitoring tools (33)
7.2
Pre-defined machine images (28)
7.7
Operating system support (39)
7.4
Security controls (37)
7.7

What is IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers?

IBM Cloud bare metal servers are cloud servers configurable in hourly and monthly options, on-demand, around the globe—with a complete selection of standard features and services for small businesses and enterprise demands. Customize RAM and SSDs to meet a variety of workload requirements with 11M+ configurations to choose from for total control up and down the stack.


Customization
Choose between hourly or monthly pre-configured servers or customize with single to quad processing solutions.

On demand
Provision servers in IBM Cloud data centers around the world in two to four hours. If you need to be online in minutes or only need limited resources, select an hourly bare metal server.

Powerful
Available options from single processor 4-core architectures to quad-processor 12-core architectures and up to 3TB RAM. Local storage ranges from 800 GB to 1.2 TB SSDs and up to 36 drivers per server.

SAP integration
Shift SAP environments from on-premise to the fully powered IBM Cloud. SAP HANA 4-socket and 8-socket bare metal servers are SAP certified for production S/4 HANA workloads.

GPU integration
Provision bare metal servers with cutting-edge NVIDIA Tesla GPUs to handle the most complex compute-intensive workloads for high performance acceleration of scientific computation, data analytics, AI, machine learning and professional-grade virtualized graphics.

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Features

Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) Features

Has featureService-level Agreement (SLA) uptime
Has featureDynamic scaling
Has featureElastic load balancing
Has featurePre-configured templates
Has featureMonitoring tools
Has featurePre-defined machine images
Has featureOperating system support
Has featureSecurity controls
Additional Features
Has featurePopular server configurations
Has featureCustom-based servers
Has featureCustom POWER8-based servers
Has featureSAP-certified servers
Has featureNo OS options
Has featureNext-gen Intel processing

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Screenshots

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Video

IaaS Explained

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Downloadables

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Integrations

CentOS Linux, Ubuntu Linux, Odin Virtuozzo, VMware ESXi, VMware vSphere on IBM Cloud, McAfee Total Protection, Microsoft SQL Server, MySQL, MongoDB, Veeam Backup & Replication, FreeBSD, NetApp ONTAP Select, CloudLinux, Debian, Microsoft, Red Hat, Vyatta Virtual Router Appliance, Citrix XenServer, Microsoft Hyper-V, APF Software Firewall, McAfee Anti-Virus, McAfee Host Intrustion Protection, Microsoft Windows Firewall, Basho Riak, IBM Cloud Analytics, Fantastico, RVSkin, Softaculous, Plesk - ONYX, R1 Soft Server Backup Manager Enterprise, OSNEXUS QuantaStor

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Competitors

Alibaba ECS Bare Metal Servers, Oracle Bare Metal Servers, Rackspace Bare Metal Servers

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Serversstarting at $0.51per hour
IBM Cloud Bare Metal Serversstarting at $324.00per month

IBM Bare Metal Servers provide performance, flexibility, on-demand provisioning, and control. Choose between hourly or monthly pre-configured servers or customize with single to quad processing solutions that range from 4 to 72 cores. Bare metal servers are available worldwide and with no monthly contracts so you can build the best solution for your workloads. Order a monthly bare metal server built to spec, and we’ll have it to you in two to four hours—with 500 GB/month outbound bandwidth included. Order an hourly bare metal server, and we’ll have it ready for you in 20 to 30 minutes. Public outbound bandwidth is charged per gigabyte.

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Mobile Web

Frequently Asked Questions

What is IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers?

IBM Cloud bare metal servers are cloud servers configurable in hourly/monthly options, on-demand, from any location—with a selection of standard features and services for small businesses and enterprise demands. Users can customize RAM and SSDs with 11M+ configurations from which to choose.

What is IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers's best feature?

Reviewers rate Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime highest, with a score of 8.3.

Who uses IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers?

The most common users of IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers are from Small Businesses and the Information Technology & Services industry.