IBM Cloud Databases Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
182 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 76)

Jude Allred | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

Solid choice for AaaS NoSQL hosting

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Compose is providing us with an Architecture-As-A-Service solution for persistent, highly-available NoSQL based data storage. We primarily use it to host data for our microservices and Glitch integrations. The ease of use in getting started and the ongoing low overhead of maintaining the product have been perfect. We haven't had a moment of trouble since starting to use the service.
  • Persistent data storage for microservices
  • Fast and easy, but secure, NoSQL storage for integrations and bots
  • Quick setup time, great for rapid prototypes which may graduate to real products and should thus start on a firm foundation.
Well suited for super-low-maintenance NoSQL data storage. Tons of applications just need a 'boring' data layer, meaning that it needs to be easy, fast, and resilient, but we won't be doing anything special with it: Compose is perfect for that. If a highly custom solution was needed (your data storage is the hard part of your application (...but really? _really_? it probably isn't.)), then you might go custom.

And of course if you want a relational database, Compose isn't for you.
Read Jude Allred's full review
Mohib Hassan | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2019

IBM Compose Shines

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our low-traffic cloud data warehousing and reporting on our HRM product. Using Compose made it relatively simple to scale up and down as per traffic. Also the pricing was quite cheap.

Provides a low-cost solution where we can place our data warehouses for multiple products. Tied in with Watson Studio it provides great utility for our data scientists.
  • Scaling
  • Pricing
  • Documentation
  • Used to use third-party providers. Not the latest version.
IBM Cloud Databases is well suited to production grade applications, websites, low volume data warehousing, and light AI work.
Read Mohib Hassan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Satisfied with IBM Compose

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Compose is being used for our hierarchical (Mongo) DB needs. It is used by our full organization. And it is the underlying DB for our social content and collaboration platform.
  • Best hierarchical DB solution.
  • Highly reliable and available.
  • Satisfactory performance and speed.
  • Ability to turn on and off instances easily and quickly (e.g. for dev or staging environments).
  • Pricing could be more flexible.
We've chosen IBM Compose when considering DB solution for our social platform, which includes content publishing, rich collaboration and messaging, content curation and sharing, and social networking and connections. We compared it to relational and graph, and within the hierarchical, we compared to other vendors. We feel it's the best option for our needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

IBM Compose MongoDB Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM is our backend database for our company's SaaS platform. It's currently used across our whole organization. We chose to use a MongoDB and Compose provides this for us.
  • IBM Compose does a good job of addressing Customer Service issues in a timely manner.
  • IBM Compose provides automatic backups which has been very useful at times.
  • You can't change the names of deployments after they've been created.
  • Sometimes you get over-billed due to mistakes, but customer service resolves this when you reach out.
  • Compose has gone down from time to time but overall maintains solid uptime.
IBM Compose is a good solution if you'd like to use MongoDB. They've been around for a while, generally have good customer support, and are generally reliable.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Overall good product, but needs more documentation and improvement on services

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Databases is being used across my entire organization. I enjoy using the product but there are definitely areas for IBM Cloud to improve. Definitely very little documentation, and not enough examples across the web that support IBM Cloud, therefore, making it harder for smaller companies such as ours to use this product. When first beginning with IBM Cloud, it took us several weeks on the support page to get a good response on simple things that other cloud services would have already solved.
  • IBM Watson
  • App ID
  • PostgreSQL as a service, especially with the IBM cloud user documentation
  • Cloud foundry and react starters
Great with IBM Watson, but still needs more work with app ID and PostgreSQL as a service.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

IBM Cloud Databases Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud Databases as the core for transactions for our applications, which, in turn, are sold as SaaS. Postgres as a service helps us to focus on our product, reducing maintenance and administration costs and availability.
  • Backups
  • Availability
  • Simplicity
  • Interface
  • Configuration
  • Intermediate offerings
IBM Cloud Databases are well suited for service simplification.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Hosted postgresql/redis/rabbitmq on compose

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We need managed MongoDB service.
  • Simplifies/eliminate the need to administer database services
  • Scalability when you need it, very easy to increase service limit/size/etc.
  • Easy out of the box backups
  • Cost for smaller deployments. Running minimal instances of redis, mongo, postgresql costs more than ordering a simple VM and installing youself.
  • Managed services sometimes lack plugins (eg custom postgresql, rabbitmq extensions for specialized tasks).
If you need fast/simple scalable and redundant setup for postgres/rabbitmq, Compose is much simpler than building a similar solution on your own.
Read this authenticated review
Jon Tara | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

Worry-Free PostgreSQL cloud deployment with IBM Cloud Databases for PostgreSQL

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Databases is used (along with IBM Cloud Object Store) as part of a backend system supporting client, eGrove Education Inc.'s, mobile app which helps high school and college STEM students develop their spatial visualization skills through automatically-graded free-hand sketching in a mobile app.

A CloudFoundry app uses IBM Cloud Databases as a synchronization source/sink and system of record for assigned material (both text and media blob data), course rosters, grading results, etc. (Because of the volume of student-produced sketches, student sketches are stored in Cloud Object Store).
  • ACID Compliance vs non-ACID compliance of the most popular open-source relational database (MySQL).
  • Fully managed solution: no bumbling with server installation/setup/maintenance.
  • Reliable high-availability implementation.
  • Yet more fine-grained provisioning (but thanks for the improvements!) For example, currently there is a 3-core minimum for dedicated cores.
This is my current go-to solution where a relational database in the cloud is a requirement. The IBM Cloud Databases PostgreSQL implementation is particular attractive vs. alternatives available from other cloud providers because of relational databases scale "up" well (while generally not scaling "out" well or at all) and IBM is able to offer the ultimate scale-up, the recently available, Hyper Protect DBAAS. I can build today on IBM Cloud Databases for PostgreSQL with the knowledge that in the future, if needed, I can scale up to a solution running on massive Z-Series hardware that is at the same time much more secure (particularly from side-channel attack) than solutions running on Intel hardware.
Read Jon Tara's full review
Ryan Donovan | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

Review of IBM Cloud Databases

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it as part of product development.
  • Easy to provision
  • Credentials easy to access
  • Easy to scale
  • Credential management difficult
  • No 'admin' access to database system services. Not sure how to get/change admin features of databases
  • Reporting is unclear. It is hard to determine when/where I was running out of resources and getting database connection refused reasons
Well suited for development, but hesitant to use it for products as there is not enough visibility.
Read Ryan Donovan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

IBM Cloud databases lack replication, but easier to provision and use.

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use PostgreSQL, Elastic, Redis, and Mongodb for our applications.
  • Easy to provision
  • Auth with certs
  • Replication
  • More features than just the open source versions
  • HIPAA compliance
They are well suited for simple use cases, but lack in bigger use cases. Easy to provision, and no issues with administration which is abstracted out from the users. They are mostly open source based and lack in features.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

IBM Cloud Databases Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we are using Mlab for our products. Hence we are looking for alternatives as it's moving to MongoDB atlas. The price structure with IBM seems quite suitable for us as we are still a growing company. At the same time, we are looking for easy integration between Redis and elastic search with IBM cloud databases for our product development. Hence, we start to research and experimenting between IBM Cloud Database and other providers.
  • I think the price point is affordable.
  • Easy to create a service.
  • I find it hard to establish the connections compared to Redis or MongoDB atlases.
  • Better documentation.
I think it's good that I do not need to set up a server to run an elastic search and can still use the benefits of the elastic search function. Similar to Redis and MongoDB. However, I still feel there's a lack of examples and use cases from IBM documentation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

My journey with IBM Cloud Database

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using IBM Cloud Databases across different departments. Currently, it's mainly used for POCs and to implement Cloud-Native architecture. We are using Cloudant and PostgreSQL. IBM Cloud Databases provide us easy to use redundancy and point in time recovery.
  • Strong backup strategy
  • Different database options including SQL and NoSQL
  • Fast database provisioning
  • Reduced the need for DBA
  • Would like more database options added, e.g Cassandra DB
  • Limited data centre options
  • No data browser available for PostgreSQL

It offers strong support for PostgreSQL and Cloudant. It has an easy UI to work with and to scale PostgreSQL. Data at-rest and desk encryption of PostgreSQL is available.

Read this authenticated review
Joshua Dickson | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

Compose Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Compose extensively to host our application's database layer which is implemented in MongoDB. MongoDB from Compose helps us in two ways: first of all, it removed significant overhead in having to think about monitoring and maintaining our database systems. Compose also has excellent GIU tools (though they can be a bit slow with large queries) for working with MongoDB.
  • Database-Interaction GUI best we've worked with
  • Service has been reliable
  • Pricing Is low enough to not think about hosting our own DB layer
  • Customer service has been lacking at times
  • Technical issues: backups have not always happened on schedule, and customer data has been lost
  • Pricing for follow-on GBs is high
It very much depends on use case. For cases with small DBs, or for cases where ease of management is more important than cost, it's a great option. It's also a great starter for people who have not used Mongo and can make use of the GUI tools.
Read Joshua Dickson's full review
Sagiv Frankel | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

RethinkDB Compose

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using a RethinkDB hosted solution. Compose gives us a reliable, scalable and redundant database, with no ops needed.
  • Good responsiveness from support.
  • Up to date on best practices (an extra proxy server in my case, default user restrictions). The DB's web UI is easily launchable.
  • Backups.
  • A pricing plan for a simple single instance you can use for testing and QA.
[Well suited for a] small to medium startup wanting to move fast and safely.
Read Sagiv Frankel's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2019

The slickest MongoDB provider

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to easily manage our Mongo hosting and navigate through data. It is primarily used by our development department. When customer service issues can not be addressed through our admin interfaces, we use Compose to easily change or add data. Compose also provides a solution that bills simply and offers Mongo hosting with limited set up.
  • User interface is excellent
  • Fast to use
  • Easy to set up and connect to other tools such as Heroku
  • Newer MongoDB versions
  • Easier migration options
  • Free tier or smaller tiers
It’s great for medium sized projects. It can get too expensive for large projects or tiny projects.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2019

Compose for your database needs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Compose.io to host our MongoDB database backing our web application. The software team that I lead is using Compose.io and administrates the database. We really don't need to do much since everything is handled for us.
  • Running our database 24/7
  • Update the software version
  • Backup and restore
  • Support answer quickly and to the point
  • Migrations when adding new features
IBM Compose is well suited for anyone who needs a database and doesn't have any special requirements.
Read this authenticated review
Alfred Reinold Baudisch | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2018

The best option if you want to move to production fast, while keeping your data safe and always available

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using Compose PostgreSQL and Compose Redis as the data source for all of our stack. We have a messaging sequencer platform, a bot engine platform and Compose Redis was used as a session store and message sequencer and PostgreSQL as the transactional and permanent store.
  • Instant setup: configuring and setting up a production environment for PostgreSQL can be an expensive and time consuming task, with Compose we just clicked "new instance".
  • Backups: same as instant setup - no need to worry about creating a backup flow. Backups are always available in the Compose dashboard and also accessible via an API for additional storage (i.e. move to S3)
  • High Availability: harder than setting up backup and monitoring, is setting up HA for PostgreSQL, since it doesn't have it out of the box, and there aren't official tools. Compose abstracts the setup putting multiple instances behind HAProxy, and your application doesn't even have to worry about changing instances.
  • Scaling
  • Better cost reports, before just increasing to another tier, thus increasing the price. This is critical for early stage startups, where budget is tight.
  • Add more data center options. As a comparison, a similar service, Aiven.io has dozen more options than Compose (basically all big cloud providers). We moved from AWS to Digital Ocean, which made us stop using Compose, since Compose forces us to be either on IBM or AWS.
Well suited:
  • Quick launch of a product into a production environment.
  • Cutting the neeed for a dedicated DBA/devops focused on the DB.
Less appropriate: When you have a very tight budget. Stick to setting up instances manually, without HA, etc.
Read Alfred Reinold Baudisch's full review
Carlo Quiñonez | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2018

Small dev teams will LOVE Compose!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Compose because we were looking for a RethinkDB provider. Although we eventually stopped using RethinkDB and migrated the app to MongoDB, our experience with Compose was great and we stuck with Compose. The databases power internal back-office apps that are used by the whole company. We have a small development team and using Compose let us quickly and easily setup new deployments and access/manage existing deployments using their GUI, saving us time and letting the engineering focus on writing code - not managing servers.
  • Creating production-ready deployments is easy
  • The database consoles are intuitive and easy to use for new users
  • Creating and restoring backups is easy
  • Migrating data between deployments is done through the GUI
  • Hosted version lacks integration with corporate Single Sign On (SSO)
  • Doesn't offer Kafka deployments
If you have a small development team that working with one of the support Compose products, it's a great fit. We've been working on the product for 2 yrs now and we're just now getting to the point where the cost/benefit of the managed vs. self-hosted approach is even worth considering.

However, if your tech stack includes a product Compose doesn't offer (like Apache Kafka for instance) it means that you'll either need to find a different provider for those services or manage that portion of the tech stack yourself. It's a minor problem, but the only negative thing I have to say about Compose.
Read Carlo Quiñonez's full review
Kevin Newman | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2018

Compose.io is pretty good!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My client uses IBM Compose to power their startup presentation software. Their application is built on meteor.js which uses Mongo DB as it's primary data store. They needed something reliable, fast and scalable, so we went with IBM Compose. Compose was incredibly easy to set up, and billing is straightforward, easy to understand.
  • Easy to set up.
  • Scaling is easy to configure.
  • Solid reliability.
  • It'd be nice if there was an easier way to set up a low cost or free testing or staging environment to match with the production environment. A "clone to staging" feature would be amazing.
If you need something fast, stable and reliable, and don't want to fiddle around too much with settings and docker images, compose is a great solution. It's easy to set up, and the control panel interface is well organized and full-featured. Billing statements match the ease of use of the control panel and are just as easy to understand.
Read Kevin Newman's full review
David Hart | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2018

Doing MongoDB the easy way with Compose

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Compose for both Mongo databases and Redis databases. For each type of database, we run development, test, and production instances. Basically, it lets me have a very robust database without having a DBA or Dev Ops team.
  • Easy to create a database within a few minutes. Particularly nice if you just need one for a few hours.
  • Very easy to copy data from one instance to another.
  • Backups are automatic; do not impact system performance when they happen and are very quick and easy to restore.
  • I find some of the documentation to be a little vague and not clearly versioned or time-stamped. As an example, you needed a particular version of the Node Mongo driver to use the connection string with multiple load balancer addresses. The documentation said that "older versions may not work" or words to that effect but was not specific about which one did work.
I am a fan of database as a service, and if Compose supports the database that you want to use and the environment that you want to run in I would certainly give it a shot.
Read David Hart's full review
Juan Miret | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2018

Buscando Huellas Review of Compose

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to host the database of a web application to find lost dogs in Argentina. It's the main database of the company.
  • It's easy to set up and administrate
  • Automatic backups
  • Fast and secure without hassle
  • I'm really happy with the actual product and nothing comes to my mind that could improve it.
  • The best feature is... I set it up the first time and voila not used it much after that... which is good. It means it's easy and works well.
I think it's really good if you have a small team and don't want to waste time configuring, securing and backing up databases. The scenario where it is less appropriate is if you are on a budget.
Read Juan Miret's full review
Dominik Hurnaus | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2018

Feels strange to have ever self-hosted Redis and RabbitMQ

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a young startup we wanted to focus on our core product and not be held back by infrastructure management and maintenance. This is why we moved our RabbitMQ and (persistent) Redis clusters to compose.io. We no longer have to provide servers, maintenance, monitoring, etc. for those parts of our infrastructure.
  • Robust Redis and RabbitMQ clusters with no downtime within the last 18 months.
  • With RabbitMQ, putting special policies on specific queues was not possible via the admin interface and required contacting their support (The support guys promptly configured those policies, though).
I would definitely recommend using IBM Compose for secondary storage systems or message queues, as the price-performance ratio is unbeatable. We compared quite a few providers and the price-performance ratio with IBM Compose was by far the best.
Read Dominik Hurnaus's full review
Juan Garnier | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2018

Compose is good but Amazon is better

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we are using Compose to host our data which allows us to scale our sports data up pretty fast. We use MySQL and Mongo for real-time updates which users can see immediately on the front end. The data feed we get is the core of our business so it is very important.
  • Database options
  • Fast scaling
  • Security
  • Cost are not inline with Amazon or Google
  • Customer service is very slow and only done via email
  • Customer service usually doesn't solve the issue
Compose has horrible customer service which takes 1 to 3 business days for any type of response. This is the main drawback on whey we choose to go with Amazon since we can get an answer ASAP. I think Compose does great things with their products they just need phone support for these products.
Read Juan Garnier's full review
Andrew Raines | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2018

Pretty solid MongoDB hosting

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used primarily to store/retrieve sports feed data by our APIs so that we can make the data available to our users via the mobile apps. It allows us to query data in a way we cannot within MySQL (our primary data store) as we can store documents rather than having to normalise it.
  • Web interface is pretty good for basic querying, which means other tooling is not required.
  • Being able to rely on Infrastructure as a Service means we don't have to spend time looking after this system ourselves.
  • Upgrading Mongo instances can be a little troublesome depending on the version upgrade being done. In the end we had to resort to doing this ourselves via command line scripts because the online interface was not capable.
  • The web interface, particularly for querying, is a little slow.
If you want a IaaS Mongo set up, it is certainly a good solution. It isn't the cheapest way of getting Mongo as a datastore, but it does come with high availability and a lot of the hassle taken away from you.
Read Andrew Raines's full review
Terry Drozdowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2018

Decent DBaas Platform

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the Mongo DB cloud deployments and Redis for all our application development architecture. We started using Compose well before it was acquired by IBM. Applications developed include anything we do to support the business and customers.
  • Compose is reliable. Zero problems with DB stability or being down due to some outage.
  • The console is a great tool for exploring your database - from its contents to admin information such as connections and cpu load.
  • All the admin tools you need to get stuff done work really well.
  • Super easy to clone a new DB for development or support to test an issue w/on it interfering with production.
  • UX could be improved. Takes quite a few links to navigate through deployments to individual databases.
  • A free form query window would be really nice. At least for mongo it’s limited to the collection your viewing Would be nice to be able to change as necessary.
  • Integration with third-party DevOps tools like Datadog and SignalFX would be really nice.
Rapid prototyping. Great for small teams without a budget for a DBA.
Read Terry Drozdowski's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automatic software patching (61)
7.8
Database scalability (69)
8.1
Automated backups (73)
8.6
Database security provisions (65)
7.6
Monitoring and metrics (70)
6.6
Automatic host deployment (54)
8.7

About IBM Cloud Databases

IBM Cloud Databases are open source data stores for enterprise application development. Built on a Kubernetes foundation, they offer a database platform for serverless applications. They are designed to scale storage and compute resources seamlessly without being constrained by the limits of a single server. Natively integrated and available in the IBM Cloud console, these databases are now available through a consistent consumption, pricing, and interaction model. They aim to provide a cohesive experience for developers that include access control, backup orchestration, encryption key management, auditing, monitoring, and logging.

List of available databases
IBM Cloud Databases for PostgreSQL
IBM Cloud Databases for Redis
IBM Cloud Databases for Elasticsearch
IBM Cloud Databases for etcd
IBM Cloud Databases for MongoDB
IBM Cloud Messages for Rabbit MQ

IBM Cloud Databases Features

Database-as-a-Service Features
Has featureAutomatic software patching
Has featureDatabase scalability
Has featureAutomated backups
Has featureDatabase security provisions
Has featureMonitoring and metrics
Has featureAutomatic host deployment

IBM Cloud Databases Competitors

Google Cloud SQL, Azure Databases, Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS)

IBM Cloud Databases Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No