TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/ip/iY/Q4R1N0JSL1HA.PNGCompose ReviewWe use Compose extensively to host our application's database layer which is implemented in MongoDB. MongoDB from Compose helps us in two ways: first of all, it removed significant overhead in having to think about monitoring and maintaining our database systems. Compose also has excellent GIU tools (though they can be a bit slow with large queries) for working with MongoDB.,Database-Interaction GUI best we've worked with Service has been reliable Pricing Is low enough to not think about hosting our own DB layer,Customer service has been lacking at times Technical issues: backups have not always happened on schedule, and customer data has been lost Pricing for follow-on GBs is high,6,Removed man-hours from managing database layer Low-cost for small databases Have not had to think about investing in scaling DB layer,,Adobe Illustrator CC, GitHub, Amazon CloudFront,No,7,No,Unlike with other vendors, I never felt as though I received exceptional support from Compose / IBM Cloud Databases.Hosted postgresql/redis/rabbitmq on composeWe need managed MongoDB service.,Simplifies/eliminate the need to administer database services Scalability when you need it, very easy to increase service limit/size/etc. Easy out of the box backups,Cost for smaller deployments. Running minimal instances of redis, mongo, postgresql costs more than ordering a simple VM and installing youself. Managed services sometimes lack plugins (eg custom postgresql, rabbitmq extensions for specialized tasks).,9,Allowed us to quickly setup PoC demo environment of a platform of ours,Apache SolrThe best option if you want to move to production fast, while keeping your data safe and always availableWe were using Compose PostgreSQL and Compose Redis as the data source for all of our stack. We have a messaging sequencer platform, a bot engine platform and Compose Redis was used as a session store and message sequencer and PostgreSQL as the transactional and permanent store.,Instant setup: configuring and setting up a production environment for PostgreSQL can be an expensive and time consuming task, with Compose we just clicked "new instance". Backups: same as instant setup - no need to worry about creating a backup flow. Backups are always available in the Compose dashboard and also accessible via an API for additional storage (i.e. move to S3) High Availability: harder than setting up backup and monitoring, is setting up HA for PostgreSQL, since it doesn't have it out of the box, and there aren't official tools. Compose abstracts the setup putting multiple instances behind HAProxy, and your application doesn't even have to worry about changing instances. Scaling,Better cost reports, before just increasing to another tier, thus increasing the price. This is critical for early stage startups, where budget is tight. Add more data center options. As a comparison, a similar service, Aiven.io has dozen more options than Compose (basically all big cloud providers). We moved from AWS to Digital Ocean, which made us stop using Compose, since Compose forces us to be either on IBM or AWS.,10,Instant production environment data setup, without the need to invest days preparing the setup. Immediate positive ROI on this. Negative impact: we had to use a more expensive cloud provider (AWS), because Compose wasn't present in Digital Ocean (cheaper and transparent). After some time, we stopped using Compose because we moved back to Digital Ocean.,Aiven,PostgreSQL, RedisDoing MongoDB the easy way with ComposeWe use Compose for both Mongo databases and Redis databases. For each type of database, we run development, test, and production instances. Basically, it lets me have a very robust database without having a DBA or Dev Ops team.,Easy to create a database within a few minutes. Particularly nice if you just need one for a few hours. Very easy to copy data from one instance to another. Backups are automatic; do not impact system performance when they happen and are very quick and easy to restore.,I find some of the documentation to be a little vague and not clearly versioned or time-stamped. As an example, you needed a particular version of the Node Mongo driver to use the connection string with multiple load balancer addresses. The documentation said that "older versions may not work" or words to that effect but was not specific about which one did work.,9,The cost for a service with this level of reliability has been outstanding. The one time that we had an issue, which was back when the product was still MongoHQ, they credited us with a month of service to make things right even though the problem really had minimal impact on our business.Buscando Huellas Review of ComposeIt is used to host the database of a web application to find lost dogs in Argentina. It's the main database of the company.,It's easy to set up and administrate Automatic backups Fast and secure without hassle,I'm really happy with the actual product and nothing comes to my mind that could improve it. The best feature is... I set it up the first time and voila not used it much after that... which is good. It means it's easy and works well.,10,We didn't waste any time setting up, securing, updating and backing up databases, which is really good if your team is small and time is important.,Amazon DynamoDB and Heroku,DigitalOcean, Uploadcare
Unspecified
IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose)
165 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose)
165 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 165 vetted IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 68)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Joshua Dickson profile photo
February 23, 2019

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose): "Compose Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Compose extensively to host our application's database layer which is implemented in MongoDB. MongoDB from Compose helps us in two ways: first of all, it removed significant overhead in having to think about monitoring and maintaining our database systems. Compose also has excellent GIU tools (though they can be a bit slow with large queries) for working with MongoDB.
  • Database-Interaction GUI best we've worked with
  • Service has been reliable
  • Pricing Is low enough to not think about hosting our own DB layer
  • Customer service has been lacking at times
  • Technical issues: backups have not always happened on schedule, and customer data has been lost
  • Pricing for follow-on GBs is high
It very much depends on use case. For cases with small DBs, or for cases where ease of management is more important than cost, it's a great option. It's also a great starter for people who have not used Mongo and can make use of the GUI tools.
Read Joshua Dickson's full review
No photo available
October 04, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "Hosted postgresql/redis/rabbitmq on compose"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We need managed MongoDB service.
  • Simplifies/eliminate the need to administer database services
  • Scalability when you need it, very easy to increase service limit/size/etc.
  • Easy out of the box backups
  • Cost for smaller deployments. Running minimal instances of redis, mongo, postgresql costs more than ordering a simple VM and installing youself.
  • Managed services sometimes lack plugins (eg custom postgresql, rabbitmq extensions for specialized tasks).
If you need fast/simple scalable and redundant setup for postgres/rabbitmq, Compose is much simpler than building a similar solution on your own.
Read this authenticated review
Alfred Reinold Baudisch profile photo
March 09, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "The best option if you want to move to production fast, while keeping your data safe and always available"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using Compose PostgreSQL and Compose Redis as the data source for all of our stack. We have a messaging sequencer platform, a bot engine platform and Compose Redis was used as a session store and message sequencer and PostgreSQL as the transactional and permanent store.
  • Instant setup: configuring and setting up a production environment for PostgreSQL can be an expensive and time consuming task, with Compose we just clicked "new instance".
  • Backups: same as instant setup - no need to worry about creating a backup flow. Backups are always available in the Compose dashboard and also accessible via an API for additional storage (i.e. move to S3)
  • High Availability: harder than setting up backup and monitoring, is setting up HA for PostgreSQL, since it doesn't have it out of the box, and there aren't official tools. Compose abstracts the setup putting multiple instances behind HAProxy, and your application doesn't even have to worry about changing instances.
  • Scaling
  • Better cost reports, before just increasing to another tier, thus increasing the price. This is critical for early stage startups, where budget is tight.
  • Add more data center options. As a comparison, a similar service, Aiven.io has dozen more options than Compose (basically all big cloud providers). We moved from AWS to Digital Ocean, which made us stop using Compose, since Compose forces us to be either on IBM or AWS.
Well suited:
  • Quick launch of a product into a production environment.
  • Cutting the neeed for a dedicated DBA/devops focused on the DB.
Less appropriate: When you have a very tight budget. Stick to setting up instances manually, without HA, etc.
Read Alfred Reinold Baudisch's full review
David Hart profile photo
March 13, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "Doing MongoDB the easy way with Compose"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Compose for both Mongo databases and Redis databases. For each type of database, we run development, test, and production instances. Basically, it lets me have a very robust database without having a DBA or Dev Ops team.
  • Easy to create a database within a few minutes. Particularly nice if you just need one for a few hours.
  • Very easy to copy data from one instance to another.
  • Backups are automatic; do not impact system performance when they happen and are very quick and easy to restore.
  • I find some of the documentation to be a little vague and not clearly versioned or time-stamped. As an example, you needed a particular version of the Node Mongo driver to use the connection string with multiple load balancer addresses. The documentation said that "older versions may not work" or words to that effect but was not specific about which one did work.
I am a fan of database as a service, and if Compose supports the database that you want to use and the environment that you want to run in I would certainly give it a shot.
Read David Hart's full review
Juan Miret profile photo
March 12, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose): "Buscando Huellas Review of Compose"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to host the database of a web application to find lost dogs in Argentina. It's the main database of the company.
  • It's easy to set up and administrate
  • Automatic backups
  • Fast and secure without hassle
  • I'm really happy with the actual product and nothing comes to my mind that could improve it.
  • The best feature is... I set it up the first time and voila not used it much after that... which is good. It means it's easy and works well.
I think it's really good if you have a small team and don't want to waste time configuring, securing and backing up databases. The scenario where it is less appropriate is if you are on a budget.
Read Juan Miret's full review
Dominik Hurnaus profile photo
March 09, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "Feels strange to have ever self-hosted Redis and RabbitMQ"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a young startup we wanted to focus on our core product and not be held back by infrastructure management and maintenance. This is why we moved our RabbitMQ and (persistent) Redis clusters to compose.io. We no longer have to provide servers, maintenance, monitoring, etc. for those parts of our infrastructure.
  • Robust Redis and RabbitMQ clusters with no downtime within the last 18 months.
  • With RabbitMQ, putting special policies on specific queues was not possible via the admin interface and required contacting their support (The support guys promptly configured those policies, though).
I would definitely recommend using IBM Compose for secondary storage systems or message queues, as the price-performance ratio is unbeatable. We compared quite a few providers and the price-performance ratio with IBM Compose was by far the best.
Read Dominik Hurnaus's full review
Juan Garnier profile photo
March 09, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "Compose is good but Amazon is better"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we are using Compose to host our data which allows us to scale our sports data up pretty fast. We use MySQL and Mongo for real-time updates which users can see immediately on the front end. The data feed we get is the core of our business so it is very important.
  • Database options
  • Fast scaling
  • Security
  • Cost are not inline with Amazon or Google
  • Customer service is very slow and only done via email
  • Customer service usually doesn't solve the issue
Compose has horrible customer service which takes 1 to 3 business days for any type of response. This is the main drawback on whey we choose to go with Amazon since we can get an answer ASAP. I think Compose does great things with their products they just need phone support for these products.
Read Juan Garnier's full review
Andrew Raines profile photo
March 05, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "Pretty solid MongoDB hosting"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used primarily to store/retrieve sports feed data by our APIs so that we can make the data available to our users via the mobile apps. It allows us to query data in a way we cannot within MySQL (our primary data store) as we can store documents rather than having to normalise it.
  • Web interface is pretty good for basic querying, which means other tooling is not required.
  • Being able to rely on Infrastructure as a Service means we don't have to spend time looking after this system ourselves.
  • Upgrading Mongo instances can be a little troublesome depending on the version upgrade being done. In the end we had to resort to doing this ourselves via command line scripts because the online interface was not capable.
  • The web interface, particularly for querying, is a little slow.
If you want a IaaS Mongo set up, it is certainly a good solution. It isn't the cheapest way of getting Mongo as a datastore, but it does come with high availability and a lot of the hassle taken away from you.
Read Andrew Raines's full review
Terry Drozdowski profile photo
March 05, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "Decent DBaas Platform"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the Mongo DB cloud deployments and Redis for all our application development architecture. We started using Compose well before it was acquired by IBM. Applications developed include anything we do to support the business and customers.
  • Compose is reliable. Zero problems with DB stability or being down due to some outage.
  • The console is a great tool for exploring your database - from its contents to admin information such as connections and cpu load.
  • All the admin tools you need to get stuff done work really well.
  • Super easy to clone a new DB for development or support to test an issue w/on it interfering with production.
  • UX could be improved. Takes quite a few links to navigate through deployments to individual databases.
  • A free form query window would be really nice. At least for mongo it’s limited to the collection your viewing Would be nice to be able to change as necessary.
  • Integration with third-party DevOps tools like Datadog and SignalFX would be really nice.
Rapid prototyping. Great for small teams without a budget for a DBA.
Read Terry Drozdowski's full review
Kennedy Clayton profile photo
March 05, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "IBM Compose is great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the product to time code the transcripts for our videos. This is extremely helpful since it is an automatic system now. It's decreased the manual effort we've had to put in, as well as decreased the wait time for video and transcript analysis. Our clients love how quick the process is!
  • Speed of delivery
  • Accuracy
  • None I can think of
We find it most useful in the automatic processing (API work) it does for our company. That's the process that most effects my team and myself - we no longer have to send off things automatically and it is far quicker for our clients to receive as well.
Read Kennedy Clayton's full review
Kai Virkki profile photo
March 05, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "IBM Compose, an awesome service for running cloud databases"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using IBM Compose to host several of our databases that are an integral part of our service. We are using both different databases and messaging services that Compose has to offer. By using IBM Compose, we're able to concentrate more on solving the business problems for our customers and leaving most of the database maintenance and hosting work to a company that has totally dedicated to just those things and doing them awesomely.
  • IBM Compose has managed to create a service with all the related automation and monitoring around it that makes it possible to have reliable and highly available databases running in the cloud.
  • Compose support is great and very professional, but still keeping a personal touch to it.
  • IBM Compose isn't just a one trick pony, there's support to a wealth of different popular databases and messaging services, so you can have most if not all of your DB needs covered by a single provider.
  • As IBM Compose is adding more and more databases that it supports, they might not have been able to move as quickly as before on supporting the latest versions of certain databases, like for example MongoDB.
  • More options for storing DB backups would be great. For example possibility to get Compose to send them to customer's S3 bucket. And option to select what tables/collections to have in the backup would be nice for those cases where certain data is more or less ephemeral and not essential when restoring from a backup.
  • Shrinking down a MongoDB instance's storage after deleting a lot of data is a pain! This is mostly due to how MongoDB is built, but Compose could figure out a simple to use interface for doing this by push of a button.
I think the sweet spot for Compose are startups who should concentrate more on development and less on DB maintenance. They usually also have smaller DBs which are more manageable on Compose. There is an Enterprise option to have the DBs running on your own cloud setup, so that gives more options to bigger companies, though.
Read Kai Virkki's full review
Matt Dunbar profile photo
March 02, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "Compose- Highly Recommended"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We rely on elastic search for licensed technology we host for clients. It's the one piece of the infrastructure our internal team doesn't have extensive experience with.

Even though it's the place where we have the least experience, it's also the place where we run into the least challenges. I can count on one hand how often it has had an outage, and we've literally never had server / configuration issues.
  • Easy-to-use
  • Elasticsearch hosting
  • I don't have any further recommendations at this time- Compose just works for us!
I'd imagine there will be some limitations on in depth customization of elasticsearch- but we haven't run into them yet.

It also might be a bit expensive for running at a large scale vs hosting your own cluster.
Read Matt Dunbar's full review
Sagiv Frankel profile photo
March 19, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "RethinkDB Compose"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using a RethinkDB hosted solution. Compose gives us a reliable, scalable and redundant database, with no ops needed.
  • Good responsiveness from support.
  • Up to date on best practices (an extra proxy server in my case, default user restrictions). The DB's web UI is easily launchable.
  • Backups.
  • A pricing plan for a simple single instance you can use for testing and QA.
[Well suited for a] small to medium startup wanting to move fast and safely.
Read Sagiv Frankel's full review
Richard King profile photo
March 14, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "Compose PostgreSQL for Small SAAS"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used as a] Primary database for a small SAAS company.
  • Communication
  • Availability
  • Tutorials
  • PostgreSQL backups and restores could be easier. It would be nice to be able to upload/download a database dump file.
  • I don't like the PostgreSQL web-based query tool provided. It has been known to change my queries before executing them.
  • I would like to be notified (email) when my database deployment auto-scales. As it is now, I have only found out when my bill is higher.
Good value for a small SAAS product. I feel the infrastructure availability and cost are well balanced.
Read Richard King's full review
Robert Burko profile photo
March 14, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "User-friendly"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Compose is used to connect Redis and MySQL databases to our analysis software. The software we designed manages wifi-enabled energy consumption devices.
  • Provides an easy and consistent way of using connection strings.
  • User-friendly.
  • Quick to create new databases.
  • It is a useful service, no cons which I can recall.
Particularly good for tech startups needing to quickly connect and test standard databases with their systems.
Read Robert Burko's full review
Nicolas Deverge profile photo
March 12, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "Thanks to Compose, I stay focused on my value."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Compose is used to host our main database for our software, called TeamMood, which is a Saas for managers wanting to have a better understanding of what's going on in their teams. Compose stores and serves our customers all over the world.
  • Easy setup
  • Great SLA
  • Easy to scale
  • Sometimes the dashboard is not responsive if data are not stored within the US.
Compose is great for companies who do not have the resources to host and maintain their database themselves.
Read Nicolas Deverge's full review
Alex Delivet profile photo
March 07, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "Very good database service for small project"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Compose is used as our main database for our product Collect. All services are dependent on this database.
  • Very easy to use
  • Lots of features out of the box (backups, indexes, oplog)
  • Monitoring and logs could be improved
Very good for a small project. I don't have the experience on bigger projects so it's difficult to [know whether to] recommend it or not.
Read Alex Delivet's full review
Joerg Alpers profile photo
March 01, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "Helpful tool for flexible management of cloud-based apps"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize IBM Compose as a component for running our Watson-based service chatbot in the IBM Cloud.
  • Flexible managing of storage usage
  • Runs well with cloud-based apps such as IBM Watson
  • Easy to deploy as part of the IBM cloud foundry apps
  • Tutorials would be desirable (or maybe I failed to find these)
Good for auto-scaling, especially in conjunction with web apps.
Read Joerg Alpers's full review
Asaf Yarkoni profile photo
February 28, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "Stable, fast and has a good price."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Compose manages our MongoDB database, which is the main database technology we use. I've looked for a company to take care of the database part of the application, and IBM Compose seemed to fit.
  • Very stable, 100% availability of the MongoDb instances.
  • Good & fast support with helpful answers.
  • Very good value for our money which is great for startups like ours
  • I'd like to see some more online tools for automation of tasks.
  • like database shrinking for instance.
Small to medium startups with a moderate amount of data can benefit from using the service that IBM Compose offers. At some point I guess it will be much more cost effective to manage the database by ourselves.
Read Asaf Yarkoni's full review
Rogério Rodrigues profile photo
February 26, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "IBM Compose, easy and fast."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using MongoDB Compose for our Home Care patient management application. For remote monitoring and electronic medical records.
  • In management, the IBM Compose Management panel provides us with the necessary data.
  • When it is necessary to scale the service, we can carry it out quickly and easily.
  • We have incredible support from IBM and the documentation provided
  • We would like to be able to move Compose to a local environment as a way of testing out of the IBM environment.
In managing packages and dependencies, the composer is very good.
Read Rogério Rodrigues's full review
No photo available
March 13, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose): "Solo Tech Founder's Review of IBM Compose(Compose.io)"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IMB Compose(at that time Compose.io) was being used as a MongoDB infrastructure. At the time, it was one of the few Mongo services that offered an affordable cluster that included features needed by real-time applications. By using IBM Compose, I was able to easily set up a Mongo cluster and not worry about maintenance or server ops. It was as simple as setting a few options and copying information into my application's configuration.
  • The ease of setup was effortless. For anyone with development experience, a few simple questions such as name and login data will get you set up.
  • The web application to manage cluster settings, billing settings and even introspect the data was simple and most importantly worked all the time. This can not always be said for web interfaces of other products.
  • When comparing the costs of running the cluster yourself, there will usually be some savings available. In the case of the Mongo clusters, you are charged by the amount of data. While it is fairly generous, it is still easy for a heavily used instance to get costly. Whereas if you were running your own, the CPU or memory would most likely need to be upgraded a lot farther down the line.
IBM Compose is well suited when a technical founder or engineering team with basic experience with the datastores is able to quickly get set up and going with a datastore without worrying about setup or server operations.

IBM Compose may not be well suited if there is already a team in place to handle datastore server setup or if there is an absolute minimum budget needed.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 07, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "Satisfied with IBM Compose"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Compose is being used for our hierarchical (Mongo) DB needs. It is used by our full organization. And it is the underlying DB for our social content and collaboration platform.
  • Best hierarchical DB solution.
  • Highly reliable and available.
  • Satisfactory performance and speed.
  • Ability to turn on and off instances easily and quickly (e.g. for dev or staging environments).
  • Pricing could be more flexible.
We've chosen IBM Compose when considering DB solution for our social platform, which includes content publishing, rich collaboration and messaging, content curation and sharing, and social networking and connections. We compared it to relational and graph, and within the hierarchical, we compared to other vendors. We feel it's the best option for our needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 04, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "Reliable, scalable hands-off database vendor, but at a cost"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Compose is our database vendor for all our backend systems. Their hosted Mongo solution has powered our products from the early days as a 3 person startup to now being acquired twice and part of an 800+ person organization. Through this scaling we have not had any fulltime DBAs, so we relied on the managed offering to have high uptime and provide consistent service with minimal tinkering.
  • High uptime
  • Consistent performance
  • Same-as-you-bought-it versioning
  • Performance recommendation - with us not having a DBA or mongo expert in house, we had to do a lot of learning on our own. After seeing tools like mlab, Mongo's own cloud offering, Scalegrid, etc, the monitoring and performance tools offered by Compose are dead last in the pack.
  • More graceful scaling - we operate a fairly large instance of Mongo, and pay handsomely for it each month. But every now and again the Compose team had to intervene due to disk space issues which we expected would have been taken care of by them in advance. Whenever they intervened our performance was diminished from 6-48 hours.
  • Better communication - the reps are generally knowledgeable and respond within 12 hours, but when your entire stack relies on Compose as a point of failure it would be appreciated if there was a method to contact when there are urgent issues or outages.
  • Proactive assistance - we always had to initialize requests despite the stats all being available to Compose. No recommendations ever were proactively offered despite our large monthly bill and longterm status as a customer.
Startups will benefit from their reasonable pricing at smaller sizes with high availability, however if anything goes astray they are on their own to solution the problem.

Larger companies may have the internal expertise to solution on their own and appreciate the hands off approach, but then they also need to have a small data store size for the pricing to make sense versus rolling their own solution.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 13, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "IBM Compose- What's needed for it to be best of breed"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM compose is used as an important database where customer data for our Cloud product is stored. It is a vital component of our service.
  • It is a solid implementation of Mongo DB.
  • The compose dashboard for decision-makers & admins is straightforward and easy to use.
  • Terrible customer support. Once, a year ago, Compose was down for 5 hours on a weekend. Three developers were trying to decipher why our site was down. IBM did not bother informing us that Compose was down. It was a tremendous waste of time for us. IBM's Compose team never reached out to us after I expressed my disappointment.
  • Encryption at rest is not available. This should definitely part of the feature-set
  • IBM compose does NOT support the latest version of MongoDB. It does not even support the previous version of MongoDB. Recently, Compose Support's organization did not have a time estimate for the availability of MongoDB previous version. This is quite surprising. As a customer, we would at least like to know why. Compose competitors have supported more up-to-date versions of Mongo DB
For customers who do not care about support, Compose is well suited. For customers who do not care about the latest versions of MongoDB, Compose is well suited. IBM Compose would do much better if it were to support the latest versions and to provide adequate support.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 09, 2018

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Review: "Compose Saves You A Lot Of Time With Your Databases"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Compose as our database layer for PostgreSQL. It relieves us of the need to maintain our own database servers and personnel.
  • Convenience - fully automated management and backups, no need for us to maintain in-house resources on it.
  • Scalability - Easy for us to scale
  • More detailed scaling options will be good.
  • More detailed logging/server stats will help us diagnose problems.
For small teams, or when a company does not want to spend resources on maintaining database ops.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automatic software patching (53)
8.5
Database scalability (61)
8.6
Automated backups (65)
8.6
Database security provisions (57)
8.2
Monitoring and metrics (63)
6.8
Automatic host deployment (48)
8.8

About IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose)

IBM Cloud Databases are scalable, cost-efficient and readily usable open source data stores for enterprise application development. Built on a Kubernetes foundation, they offer an ideal database platform for serverless applications. They are able to scale storage and compute resources seamlessly without being constrained by the limits of a single server. Natively integrated and available in the IBM Cloud console, these databases are now available through a consistent consumption, pricing, and interaction model. They provide a cohesive experience for developers that include access control, backup orchestration, encryption key management, auditing, monitoring, and logging.

Learn more about IBM Cloud Databases for PostgreSQL
Learn more about IBM Cloud Databases for Redis

See here for PostgreSQL pricing, Redis pricing, and support.

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Features

Database-as-a-Service Features
Has featureAutomatic software patching
Has featureDatabase scalability
Has featureAutomated backups
Has featureDatabase security provisions
Has featureMonitoring and metrics
Has featureAutomatic host deployment

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Competitors

AWS RDS, AzureDB, GCP Cloud SQL

IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No