IBM Cloud Foundry Reviews

87 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 27)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Improved our ability to bring new features to the market.
  • Reduced overhead and complexity of our development and operation processes.
Read this authenticated review
May 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Evaluating a product is always time consuming
  • Increased the speed for PoCs by using simple tools like NodeRed in a dramatic way.
  • No need to order hardware anymore for smaller tests. It is very compact.
Read this authenticated review
April 25, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • For just a few euros/dollars per month you can have a 100% working application.
  • Increase performance/price only when you need it (e.g. black-Friday).
Read this authenticated review
February 17, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • With ready-to-use IBM Cloud Foundry and other IBM cloud services, I avoided costs for corresponding stuff. Leaning on the IBM service predictability, I expect highly efficient unit-sale-margin, which should lead to the total project payback period of one and a half to two years.
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2020
Alabi Temitope | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive impact, it helps to prevent memory resources where by I can adjust default memory allocated for an application instance which I know that the memory usage won't grow significantly.
  • Provide trust opportunity for developers with their clients without charging the IBM Cloud Foundry users when they make use secure test domain.
  • It help to increase profit margin which the cost of hosting on this platform is market affordable with what other competitor offers which they don't even give free ssl for test domain.
Read Alabi Temitope's full review
January 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The platform scales well and allows us to save on infrastructure costs.
  • Pay for what you use.
Read this authenticated review
December 03, 2019
victor pease solano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Be careful. There is a cost even if you don't use the capacity. So you have to consider always, high volume apps to be moved first, especially those that are required 24x7.
  • Be honest. That app installed on a beast of 32 GB of RAM may just need 8 GB or 16.
  • Be tidy. The best approach is to group apps and maybe merge them so you can use less Diego cells (or App units). Remember that there is a cost for unused capacity.
  • Be cheap. Check from time to time if you don't need an app or service and turn it off. Remember you are paying for it and you have an allowance of 375 GB/hour per month.
  • Monitor all the time. Not just availability, check for utilization, traffic, cost. Your migration to the cloud is not completed by uploading your code, just by being sure that you have the right platform at the right cost.
  • The local hardware that you are leaving behind: Consider how old it is, maintenance, power, software licenses, availability, technical support cost and be sure about the real cost to know if your cloud services can be below that limit.
Read victor pease solano's full review
November 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Balanced
  • Looking into the overall investment and comparing with opex
  • Overall moving towards positive
Read this authenticated review
February 15, 2019
Deepak Kaul | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Time/effort savings in deployment and management of applications
  • A consistent model across all languages simplifies a lot of processes.
Read Deepak Kaul's full review
September 15, 2017
River Hain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our Virtual Agent (designed with Watson Conversation Service) handles more than 1,000 conversations per day.
  • Since February 2017, our Virtual Agent (designed with Watson Conversation Service) has saved 222,363 minutes, or roughly 463 days, of customer support agent's time working on less complex Tier 1 issues, freeing up agent capacity to assist customers with more complex inquiries.
  • A lot of our work is still a WIP so it is hard to answer this.
Read River Hain's full review
July 12, 2017
John Olsen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • IBM Bluemix is mainly a foundation enabler at this stage, although our business plan does look promising.
  • The low cost of development on Bluemix for a start-up like us is so helpful......we had no spare cash for this project besides what we could save or borrow at first, and that wasn't much. We are still trying to attract venture capital to cover the main Cordova Coding effort plus the launch "Cash Burn".
  • Features like push notifications, mobile-back end, and world-beating security help us to sell our SaaS products/services.
  • The pure (usually!) functionality of IBM products and services is very rewarding to work with.They are so insightful and thoughtful, to say naught of clever!
Read John Olsen's full review
September 19, 2017
Brett Bloethner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Well we didn't end up using it so, in that respect, I would say a negative business impact since we spent time messing with it.
  • It did show us some technologies to look for in the future though, so that was positive.
  • However, with Bluemix we were able to experiment with new technology which is always good for the engineers in terms of learning new things.
Read Brett Bloethner's full review
August 23, 2016
Craig Nash | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Bluemix has allowed me to effectively serve the App industry more recently, especially with the new visual design implemented recently.
  • BlueMix offers a lot more customization of the Platform, rather than Infrastructure, giving me a big edge over other companies offering only AWS or Azure cloud services, and brings a lot more apparent value to my business.
  • The additional features, especially the Watson service subset offers a HUGE range of new and innovative technologies, especially in the realm of AI, that encourages my clients to test out new potential features, which leads to more sales as they increase there platform size and capability.
Read Craig Nash's full review
February 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • This was the founding solution used to allow us to move in to and test out a cloud pipeline. This is what paved the way for a full production cloud solution to be possible.
  • Having Cloud Foundry at the base of our development and sandpit environment, segregated away from our standard on premise solution has moved away red tape and ensured an agile way forward.
Read this authenticated review
May 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have had many production outages.
  • We have wasted an ungodly amount of time trying to deploy our UI and have had to change our entire deployment strategy as a result.
  • Our clients have wasted 10's of 1000's of dollars on services that just failed and failed with no good reason.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (8)
7.8
Scalability (19)
8.6
Platform management overhead (10)
8.1
Workflow engine capability (16)
8.1
Platform access control (1)
10
Services-enabled integration (18)
7.6
Development environment creation (17)
8.9
Development environment replication (6)
7.0
Issue monitoring and notification (8)
5.0
Issue recovery (15)
8.3
Upgrades and platform fixes (17)
8.9

What is IBM Cloud Foundry?

IBM Cloud Foundry is an IBM version of the open-source platform designed to make it easier and faster to build, test, deploy, and scale applications. Enterprises can now run Cloud Foundry in a public isolated environment, while natively integrating with other IBM Cloud services, such as AI, Blockchain, IoT, and data tools.

Cloud Foundry Enterprise Environment (CFEE) runs on a Kubernetes service, which reduces complexity by giving development teams a comprehensive set of familiar tools under one management umbrella. CFEE allows IT organizations to safeguard their existing investment in Cloud Foundry, while seamlessly bringing in new skill sets that will lead to building apps that provide contemporary customer experiences.

Visit IBM Cloud Foundry's Docs pages for pricing and support information.

IBM Cloud Foundry Features

Platform-as-a-Service Features

Has featureEase of building user interfaces
Has featureScalability
Has featurePlatform management overhead
Has featureWorkflow engine capability
Has featureServices-enabled integration
Has featureDevelopment environment creation
Has featureIssue recovery
Has featureUpgrades and platform fixes
Additional Features
Has featureEase of use building interfaces
Has featureService enabled integration
Has featureDevelopment environment integration

IBM Cloud Foundry Integrations

IBM Cloud Foundry Competitors

Microsoft Azure, Amazon AWS, Google Cloud Platform

IBM Cloud Foundry Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Community Runtimes$0.07Per GBH

IBM Cloud Foundry Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:https://console.bluemix.net/docs/containers/cs_regions.html#regions-and-zones
Supported Languages: EnglishEnglish, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese/Brazil, Spanish, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional

Frequently Asked Questions

What is IBM Cloud Foundry?

IBM Cloud Foundry is an IBM version of the open-source platform designed for building, testing, deploying, and scaling applications. Enterprises can run Cloud Foundry in a public isolated environment, while natively integrating with other IBM Cloud services, such as AI, Blockchain, and IoT.

What is IBM Cloud Foundry's best feature?

Reviewers rate Development environment creation and Upgrades and platform fixes highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses IBM Cloud Foundry?

The most common users of IBM Cloud Foundry are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.