IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
144 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 65)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 13, 2021
Keldon Alleyne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers are being used for machine learning training and for software development.

Immediate access to the V100 and P100 GPU and 32-core CPUs allows quick testing of machine learning models and methods along with the ease of saving templates and instantiating new servers provides an extraordinarily smooth development process.

JetBrains' Projector has been recently adopted as a means to develop code on a remote machine with a much better experience than remote desktops.

The IBM Cloud Virtual Server interface is simple enough to make the instantiation of a new instance seamless.
  • Managing server resources (including configuration)
  • Fitting these servers into the production pipeline (because of the templating system and ease of using them to create instances)
  • Integration with other IBM Cloud products (such as Object Storage)
  • Solid connection to servers (e.g. SSH connections never or rarely drop)
  • Easy recovery (seamless backup options)
  • Provide an environment for testing CLI scripts
  • Maybe offer option to automate backup/restore on shutdown to allow no charging when powered down
  • Make the dashboard UI more lightweight so that it's faster and smoother to navigate
I find IBM Cloud [Virtual Servers] is well suited for those who value delivery and solid support.

I've found their support to be exceptional. They give timely responses, make every effort to help, and always deliver. The sales team goes above and beyond when needed.

It's less suitable for cost-conscious customers as their instances are sometimes a lot more expensive than an equivalent on GCP and unlike AWS preemptible instances cannot have a GPU.
I ran a full day's worth of simulations during my lunch break for less than the cost of extra syrup in my latte.

With a few shell scripts and minor adaptations to the Java-Pommerman launch code, I was able to spread tests of the AI across 32 cores at little to no cost.

Preemptible instances can also be used for compiling large C++ codebases using resources that don't need to be constantly available. The net result is that you can get the benefits of having a compilation farm at relatively no cost. This can be used for producing daily builds, while also carrying out other computationally intensive procedures.
Read Keldon Alleyne's full review
June 14, 2021
Waithaka Karagita | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud Virtual Servers in our IT department. We use this software for email, a database, apps, and a website server. We particularly use this IBM Virtual Server because it allows creating email virtual servers, unlike other virtual server providers. We have also used IBM Cloud Virtual Servers to host our web-based applications and systems. What makes IBM Cloud Virtual Servers even better is that it offers easy control of the servers. It has been very helpful to our business.
  • It is very secure.
  • Easy to access and manage.
  • Affordable compared to the competitors.
  • Creating virtual servers is easy.
  • The software is very fast.
  • It is scalable.
  • Few customization features.
  • While it is easy to use, the user interface needs some improvement.
If you need to host email servers for easy email tracking management, then IBM Cloud Virtual Servers is a great solution. This is because most competitors do not allow the creation of email servers. This is a unique feature of IBM Cloud Virtual Servers. IBM Cloud Virtual Servers is also great for a business looking forward to creating a project (could be web-based systems or apps). This is because it makes it easy to create dedicated servers to hold and test new projects.
This feature allows us to spend on what we need only. This means that we pay on an as need basis, which makes IBM Cloud Virtual Servers affordable.
Read Waithaka Karagita's full review
May 10, 2021
Hari Kishan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
These scalable servers we use to deploy and host our code for running our instances. The auto-scaling issue was our major focus problem and IBM cloud virtual servers handled this ease in our organization.
  • Auto scaling feature
  • Professional support
  • Competitive pricing
  • Need to have regional support.
  • Problems with restoring from old backups.
  • More customized VMs instead of pre-configured VMs.
IBM has a long history of providing excellent quality products and world-class support. Auto-scaling from this is commendable. Well suited for small or upcoming companies as it is budget-friendly.
Instead of having its own onsite premise servers, having this cloud as a hybrid will help reduce costs.
Read Hari Kishan's full review
April 19, 2021
Rajesh Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud conveys a protected, community-oriented cloud-based climate that upholds a full lifecycle of sped-up application improvement, organization, and conveyance. Also IBM Cloud VPS for organization-wide; for development, testing, and production environment. We can also use IBM Cloud VPS for different kinds of jobs, for example, site facilitating, email, wiki, reinforcements, backup, and DNS. The difficulty it settled was the speed at which we could convey extra workers, contrasted with documenting a solicitation with an IT office.
  • best controls for the capacity to choose the speed of the Ethernet interface are elite to the IBM Cloud offering.
  • The adaptability of admittance to information empowers the customer to get to information anyplace whenever.
  • The entirety of Softlayers' arrangements and administrations are completely versatile to meet your requirements, with a colossal measure of alternatives for both the administrations they offer and the administration choices accessible for those administrations.
  • They are aggressively deactivating services and data centers and forcing us to migrate relatively new servers to other data centers and may respond more quickly to tickets / cases, this is not a cloud provider but, amateurs in trouble, they do not deserve positive reviews !
  • cost is very high and I truly figure they ought to give various dialects for support function.
  • UI is quite complex they should update it with simple features.
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers are ideal for huge data set jobs requiring high I/O execution and low-dormancy execution; 100 GB essential norm on all neighborhood stockpiling designs. Figure — ideal for CPU-concentrated jobs. Memory — ideal for memory-concentrated jobs.
The transitional costs that IBM offers for virtual workers in the cloud, permit our association to build up extra information load occupations for monetary estimates, paying just a small portion of the expense. This is a helpful choice that limits costs.
Read Rajesh Singh's full review
May 11, 2021
Usha Gunnam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using IBM cloud virtual servers in Symantec data loss prevention enterprise server as storage.
  • Realability
  • Speed
  • Cost
  • Easy to manage
  • More realability
  • Downtime
  • User trainings
It best fits in a large-scale, fine tunned environment where technology is well implemented. Small scale or where technology is not well-implemented and a bit difficult to manage.

Budget-friendly, easy to manage, and user-friendly. Round-the-clock customer support and less downtime. More auto-recovery options in case of errors or failure. It also can be implemented in almost all technology like DLP, endpoints, McAfee, mainframe, database, automation, manufacturing, retail, banking, healthcare environment, and hospitality services, not only in information technology domains.
Yes, it has more convenient options on flexible pricing, on-demand purchases, etc.
Read Usha Gunnam's full review
May 10, 2021
Yatharth Garg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is using IBM Cloud Virtual Server for hosting our personal and public websites. We used to deploy and host using all types of instances and use Cloud to store our database virtually. We are also using IBM Cloud for developing and testing our environment. Also, IBM provides a protected cloud server.
  • Easy setup
  • Fast deployment
  • Cost efficient
  • Its easy to adapt IBM's cloud environment
  • Covey protected environment
  • Better upgrades
  • Customize
  • Hazy UI/UX
  • Often deactivating servers which forces us to switch servers.
Best for small and big e-commerce businesses, personal project hosting with clients, and newly added startups.
Pricing is economical with respect to services IBM provides, but the cost may go high for some use case functions.
Read Yatharth Garg's full review
April 23, 2021
Puneet Madan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's one of the scalable servers we use to deploy and host our code for running our instances. It's the most scalable server having custom security controls available to use. We use it for team-specific projects to deploy. We store our database as well to make them more scalable and secure on the server.
  • Scalable
  • Easy deployment
  • Secure
  • Needs to make a prepaid cloud
  • Customization
  • Improve UI/UX with voice controls enabled
Hosting and deployment of the code and backup data or database on the server are some of the most frequent approaches to use the cloud. This one has custom settings available to increase or decrease the resources available according to the requirement. It also provides security as well.
It's done for pay per use or the space we consumed for our project. It's totally flexible on customer demand. So it's great to use. It has 24/7 support and is one of the most cheaper and trusted cloud to use for all customers according to their demands and to fulfil needs.
Read Puneet Madan's full review
April 18, 2021
Pretty Varughese | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using IBM Cloud Virtual Servers for our application servers across two locations. Major issue was resolved after using IBM Cloud Virtual Servers is auto-scaling.
  • [Scaling].
  • Easy UI Console.
  • Best in Class support.
  • Data recovery.
  • Large storage with minimum downtime.
  • Dedicated Reserve instance.
Large E-commerce setup [and] Gaming Applications.
It [reduces] the operation cost & [improves] work [efficiently] by deploying Dev & Staging environment.
Read Pretty Varughese's full review
April 16, 2021
Saleem Beeravu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it on a regular basis whenever we have the need to open up our servers to the public for yearly registrations / enrollments which happen on a yearly basis for a couple of months.
  • High Availability.
  • Ease of moving apps to cloud and back.
  • Easy provisioning based on load.
  • We need some facility to restore from a previous years backup.
  • India based support.
  • Billing with Indian local condition and Tax structure.
Always suited for our Web Servers, where moving to Cloud to meet demands and get back to our standard in house servers when demand is reduced.
This is the main reason we go for Virtual Cloud servers whenever we need it.
Read Saleem Beeravu's full review
April 13, 2021
Vipin Garg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers help to scale the production servers on the go [with] ess downtime and high reliability. Also, the console is easy to use & user-friendly. I have recommend[ed] it to [a] few of my overseas MSP (Managed Service Providers).
  • Easy to Scale
  • No Downtime
  • Support
  • Easy UI
  • Security Groups
  • Pre-configured VM's for some applications
  • Made easy backup facilities
E-commerce application, SAAS Softwares for startups.
Some of our applications are using low load and traffic so for that, we need low capacity servers. It saves [on] cost [but] also wastes resources.
Read Vipin Garg's full review
June 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have deployed all our services in IBM Cloud Virtual Servers. It serves all HTTP and HTTPS requests for corp CMS, application, and API for internet users.
  • Global private network (between US and Asia)
  • Each Virtual Server has the flexibility to have [a] different NIC with Pub and Private access
  • Flexibility in size up and down
  • Console access. The current one is so out of date that requires Java plugin.
  • Better builtin VPN server access with modern protocols
Easily get up and running. Especially for startups. Global presence. Also for startups need credits to try.
Unfortunately, there is no presence within China should you need cloud service there.
Read this authenticated review
May 19, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used for an easier and more manageable control of the servers. Sometimes for instance if one project requires a server where to do all the testing we can easily do so thanks to IBM Cloud Virtual Servers. It also makes much easier the launch of a new project online.
  • Creation on virtual servers.
  • Managing of the various solutions.
  • Check for an issue.
  • Complicated interface.
  • Expansive.
  • Sometimes not super responsive.
It is really well suited for development of servers for projects where a machine is needed quickly. Also for deployments in general it is an effective solution. My favourite possibility still the being able to launch a web server in a few instant to assist someone fast in their project development.
This is a great possibility, unfortunately I never had opportunity of checking it.
Read this authenticated review
May 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We presently use IBM Cloud Virtual Servers as our primary component for provisioning virtual infrastructure to host our internal applications on.
  • A range of features and potential for scalability and recycling of resources.
  • 24x7 support and coverage.
  • A breadth and depth of customizable options pre and post provisioning.
  • More direct control over IAM and access from the portal would be nice.
  • The management portal could use improvement with regards to inventory and resource management/listings.
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers are great for the day to day business operations and needs of our internal customers and applications.
Transient pricing has allowed customers to come to us with their specifications and needs in mind for their infrastructure development and provisioning, greatly decreasing our turnaround time to build out infrastructure and host applications.
Read this authenticated review
May 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Servers are being used by my organization to sustain our application and handle all the efficiency improvement tasks for the betterment of our end-user. It is a highly sizable and developer-friendly platform that helps in easy management. Our team plays along through the web due to the pandemic so it is easy to manage over the web.
  • Highly sizable
  • Time saving
  • Efficient
  • A little costlier
  • Can have an updated interface
  • Can have better support for multiple platforms
The Virtual servers are stable and reliable and have easy expandability. They are also user-friendly and quick to deploy. It is very apt to use for storage as well as high computational tasks. It would be less appropriate for low latency tasks like cloud gaming or other OTN tasks.
This enabled us to have a better system for a similar price and made the end-user have a faster experience and an easier navigation time.
Read this authenticated review
May 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud Virtual Servers for IT department purposes serving the whole organization. We use the Iaas facility services for our work. It is very cost-effective compared to other vendors and we are also able to scale it easily and effectively. The time taken to deploy it is extremely fast and also the security offered is of a very good grade.
  • Security
  • Speed
  • Cost
  • The cost for buying the product is severely high compared to other vendors.
  • The documentation and implementation is complex and confusing.
  • Most of the services are being disabled/deactivated.
Using IBM Virtual Servers, we can host a number of various sites, from WordPress to custom-made programs as per the requirement of the client. They are also used for huge data set jobs requiring high I/O execution and low-dormancy execution. The servers are quite fast for most of the scenarios. The Iaas deployment is top-notch.
It helps our association pay the increasing amounts over a period of time. This is actually helpful and quite beneficial for smaller companies like us where money plays a huge role in deciding our vendor.
Read this authenticated review
July 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was testing out a proof of concept software that requires a lot of computing power i.e. the more the number of vCPU cores, the better. IBM Cloud Virtual Servers helped me in achieving that with a simple and fast setup. The cost of the virtual servers was also reasonable enough.
  • Setting up the servers is fast
  • The availability zones are well spread out throughout the globe
  • The cost of the servers is reasonable enough
  • Monitoring the servers is simple
  • The main grid shown with all the instances listed can support bulk operations
  • Inclusion of GPU instances would help a lot
Any CPU-intensive work can be well achieved through the servers. But it lacks GPU instances, so any graphics-based requirement cannot be carried out.
I was trying out a POC software and did not need any stringent uptime. Hence this feature helped a lot in carrying out my POC across multiple virtual servers.
Read this authenticated review
March 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers are being used as a pilot project to extend our data center used by researchers. In other words, extra jobs that cannot be fulfilled by our data center will be offloaded to IBM VSI. Currently it is being used by one department but it will be used by the entire university once the solution is stable and goes into production.
  • Fast to spawn
  • Easy to configure using SoftLayer APIs
  • Many flavors available
  • Relatively cheap, especially for the transient instances
  • The IBM Cloud Web UI is very slow and not responsive
  • It would be nice to provide a direct way to choose a template image when creating a VSI
  • It would be nice if transient VSIs can be resized (CPU and Mem)
The API for creating and destroying IBM VSIs is very simple compared to AWS APIs, for example. It required less configuration and it is easy to get the VSI to communicate with one another. IBM VSIs are well suited for situations where you need to control them programmatically using the SoftLayer APIs and create a cluster of nodes that communicate together with minimum configuration.
We are only using transient VSI to reduce the cost. While IBM can reclaim the instance at any time, this almost never happens to us. A transient VSI would run for couple of weeks with no problems. It is also way cheaper compared to the on-demand instances. The only issue with IBM transient VSIs is that they are not resizable (CPU, Mem).
Read this authenticated review
February 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently us IBM Virtual Servers to host a number of various sites, from Wordpress to Custom made programs to fulfill a specific job. We have been migrating all assets over to one company and IBM virtual Servers is a big part of this. We love the flexibility of the configuarations
  • Easy re-configuring of the server
  • Expansion of storage
  • Reliability - We have never had an issue
  • The GUI itself can be hard to learn at first - so some design considerations
  • Sales - Oddly I have had issues getting sales to answer questions
With the flexibility it allows I can see it being used in a number of areas. I suppose the time it may not seem appropriate for use would be anytime a baremetal server was required.
Cut the monthly overhead by 75%
Read this authenticated review
January 02, 2021
Jeffrey Lange | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers are being used by me as a freelance developer hosting personal projects as well as clients. It solves my hosting situation.
  • Fast hosting solutions
  • Cost effecient
  • Easy setup
  • Recommended upgrades based on usage
I have no complaints on my experience over the course of using IBM Cloud Virtual Servers. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for hosting solutions. I have tried other services like AWS and felt that was overwhelming compared to IBM. For WordPress users hosting several sites, this is a great solution. Being a developer, I am constantly working on projects, and being able to set up servers quickly and easily with IBM Cloud Virtual Servers is great.
Before I was spending a lot more with hosting on dedicated servers before switching to virtual servers. I love the pricing. It's really easy to budget for my hosting needs. I love having hourly and monthly usage and options. The hourly is great for deploying projects in development modes that do not need to be billed monthly. This is how I was able to cut down my server costs. I can create server images, deploy them quickly, get billed hourly, and end at any time while having my main server billed monthly.
Read Jeffrey Lange's full review
November 05, 2020
Qing Miao | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our internal IT department uses IBM Cloud Virtual Servers to host and run all of our internal systems. This means we have not had to procure, maintain, or support the hardware infrastructure ourselves (including network, electricity, backup, etc.) and can focus on our own business instead.
  • Automatic scaling depends on usage and demand.
  • Easy to work with.
  • Cost can be lowered if you can find a good reseller (VAT).
  • Support turnaround can take a while due to timezones, etc. Once had to wait on the phone on Saturday for hours in order to get ahold of someone.
  • Reliability can be better, especially if you are running mission critical systems and need 99+% uptime guarantee.
  • Communication about changes (e.g. pricing) should be more prompt and timely.
If your company is already invested in IBM, then you may consider using this, as you can probably get a better deal (price-wise) either negotiating with their sellers or via a reseller (both of which you would likely already have if you are buying from IBM already).
This allowed us to pay as we went, and only pay for what we used. So instead of having to commit to a big budget right away, we were able to start small, and ramp up (or down) as our needs changed.
Read Qing Miao's full review
October 19, 2020
Matthew Tanner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
IBM was been evaluated for the whole organization to address a complete solution of cloud services. To provide domains which would be a start of our companies business identity with the room and infrastructure to grow. Along with the support needed for employees that are not familiar with the product. Also, as a small business initial price had a huge impact.
  • The absolute best as stable environment.
  • Safely instructing users of bad practices.
  • Documentation and tutorials are well written and thought out.
  • Remote SSH connection is for advanced users. Some employees had a difficult time therefore they did not participate.
  • Support was marketed heavily, but had to rely on documentation.
  • Prices are not scaled for small business and startups.
Appropriate for established companies, but not intriguing to those on a budget. The bill calculator is very useful if you are.
We did not take advantage of this function, due to guidance for implementation. I will revisit to find support for this advantage.
Read Matthew Tanner's full review
October 01, 2020
Daniel Debonzi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mine is a startup company, and we have a 1-year bonus on IBM Cloud services. It is been used as a computing platform for all services that ScienceDesk will provide. We are evaluating and trying to build a reliable, secure, and well organized infrastructure.
  • The provision time is reasonable.
  • Not able to properly and easily manage VLANs and subnets in classical infrastructure. Some functions are there but fail to apply with no useful details. Online support has not been able to help at all.
  • There is a terraform plugin but documentation is not easy to follow. Some functions are cited on documentation but link to other places that don't really have the information in an easy way to use. For instance, I was not able to provision, using terraform, a virtual server with GPU because I couldn't find the GPU options code anywhere.
  • Could not find GPU machines on VPC Infrastructure Gen1 or Gen2. I would like to have all our servers in VPC infrastructure but we need servers with GPU that seem not to be available. Online support has not been able to clarify that.
  • The panel interface is unstable and seems to lack some refinements. One time, while trying to provision some services while searching for and accessing documentation, it all changed language to what seemed to be Japanese and the only what to have it back to English was to erase all site cookies.
I would let them know about IBM as an option but I don't see how I could tell them IBM has good benefits compared to other cloud platforms like Google and AWS. The pricing could be attractive but in terms of features and service reliability, I can't really see how IBM excels.
Read Daniel Debonzi's full review
August 19, 2020
Amanda hatcher | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Virtual Server is being used in the company for the management, collection, and consolidation of financial data for use in advanced management reports. It allows a large amount of data to be stored in the cloud and its secure exchange. In addition, it allows for much-needed backups in our organization. It makes it possible to run forecasting and reporting models faster, helping us to be more accurate in financial planning.
  • Financial data loading proceeds at high speed.
  • Offers a secure safeguard for our data.
  • Prices are affordable for small businesses.
  • Features an easy-to-understand cost structure.
  • The interface is not attractive enough.
  • Support needs to be improved.
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers have features that are very well suited to our organization. It delivers fast performance when loading high-content financial data. Data is exchanged in complete security, providing reliability between users.
The transitional prices that IBM offers for virtual servers in the cloud, allows our organization to develop additional data load jobs for financial forecasts, paying only a fraction of the cost. This is a very useful option that minimizes expenses.
Read Amanda hatcher's full review
August 30, 2020
Muhammad Zarak Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The technology department is using it and it's being used to run 24/7 education-related server software and it solves cost of electricity maintenance and runtime errors.
  • Cheaper than AWS and GCP
  • Chat support is excellent.
  • Provide trial and startup credits
  • Boot images are well deployed.
  • Easy login and restart VMs
  • Faced internet disconnection errors more than ever imagined
  • Even tested Azure AWS and GCP but never faced internet disconnectivity once but it happened 5 times on IBM.
  • Bandwidth cost is high.
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers are well suited for startups and budget-conscious companies but less appropriate for work related to 100% internet connectivity time in Windows image-based virtual servers.
It helped us start within a tight budget.
Read Muhammad Zarak Khan's full review
December 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently managing Power (IBMi) servers for our customers.
We wanted to test Power Virtual Servers as a new hosting solution.
  • Powerful servers, IBMi is running fine.
  • Easy deployment, scalability.
  • Instances available in 2 or more locations.
  • Cloud portal need some time to adapt, especially about response time.
  • Some documentation lacks details.
  • (Power instances only) Network is too complicated and expensive.
  • Migration of existing IBMi partition can be really painful.
It could fit some of our customers very well, as they can be less expensive than on-premise and easy to manage.
So it's ok for basic use, in example as data warehouse (DB2).
But some of our customers need specific hardware or networking, so we may not be able to user Cloud servers.
For example, some have to keep a copy on tape by themselves, for legal concerns.
With on-premise offers, we have no choice but double the cost.
Thanks to the Cloud, we could easily adapt to the workload (not tested so far).
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (58)
8.3
Dynamic scaling (55)
8.3
Elastic load balancing (45)
7.7
Pre-configured templates (50)
8.1
Monitoring tools (58)
7.9
Pre-defined machine images (57)
8.2
Operating system support (62)
9.0
Security controls (56)
8.2

What is IBM Cloud Virtual Servers?

IBM Cloud virtual server environments deliver cloud-native solutions that work across public, private and hybrid deployments. Boasting cost-savings, control, and visibility that is needed with a variety of flexible provisioning and pricing options, including single and multi-tenant environments, hourly and monthly pricing, reserved capacity terms and spot billing. Its elastic infrastructure, globally distributed data centers and premium services aim to bring data to life no matter where it resides.

Smart provisioning
Customize with a variety of virtual server instances and billing options. Rapidly scale up or down, on-demand. Stay open with no vendor lock-ins, and reply on complete integration with new and traditional architectures.

Highly distributed
Access a globally distributed network of modern data centers with built in high-availability and security, inbound public bandwidth and high-speed private network options, public and private network ports, fast data ingest offerings, geographically redundant DNS, and dual-stack IP capabilities.

Advanced essentials
Build blended hybrid environments with predictability and confidence. Create new solutions that interact with existing infrastructure and applications. Access a variety of network choices and powerful AI solutions designed to put data to work.

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Features

Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) Features

Has featureService-level Agreement (SLA) uptime
Has featureDynamic scaling
Has featureElastic load balancing
Has featurePre-configured templates
Has featureMonitoring tools
Has featurePre-defined machine images
Has featureOperating system support
Has featureSecurity controls
Additional Features
Has featureRemote management
Has featureVirtual GPU support
Has featureSuspend billing
Has featureFlexible instance options
Has featureSpot pricing
Has featurePlacement groups for high-availability

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Video

IaaS Explained

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Downloadables

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Integrations

VMware ESXi, VMware vSphere on IBM Cloud, McAfee Total Protection, Microsoft SQL Server, MongoDB, Veeam Backup & Replication, FreeBSD, NetApp ONTAP Select, CENT OS, CloudLinux, Debian, Microsoft, Red Had, Ubuntu, Vyatta Virtual Router Appliance, Citrix XenServer, Microsoft Hyper-V, Virtuozzo, APF Software Firewall, Microsoft Windows Firewall, Basho Riak, IBM Cloud Analytics, My SQL, Fantastico, RVSkin, Softaculous, R1Soft Server Backup Manager Enterprise, OSNEXUS QuantaStor

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Competitors

AWS EC2 Virtual Servers, Google Compute Engine Virtual Machines, Microsoft Azure Virtual Machines

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers (dedicated host)starting at $0.22per hour
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers (dedicated host)starting at $149.00per month
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers (multi-tenant)starting at $0.038per hour
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers (multi-tenant)starting at $25.21per month
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers (reserved)starting at $0.02per hour
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers (reserved)starting at $13.27per month
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers (transient)starting at $0.01per hour

IBM Cloud virtual servers include 250 GB of outbound public bandwidth, unmetered inbound public bandwidth, and unmetered private and management network bandwidth.

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Mobile Web

Frequently Asked Questions

What is IBM Cloud Virtual Servers?

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers are customizable, public or private, cloud-based servers available from IBM. User can launch applications and software across blended, hybrid environments as the servers integrate with all cloud models.

What is IBM Cloud Virtual Servers's best feature?

Reviewers rate Operating system support highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses IBM Cloud Virtual Servers?

The most common users of IBM Cloud Virtual Servers are from Small Businesses and the Information Technology & Services industry.