IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
81 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 36)

Hannah Clairy | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2020

Couldn't be happier with IBM Cloud Virtual Servers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers is mainly being used to take the computing load for our advanced financial forecasting and modeling. We use this when running data reports that have a high CPU load. We have found this fits our needs as we do not have the scope to purchase our own servers and IBM cloud allows us to manage the cost of our package subject to our requirements.
  • The flexibility of the packages available is great. We can choose just what we need almost on a case by case basis.
  • Price structure is very clear and easy to understand.
  • To date the uptime on the servers has been second to none.
  • The UI of the control panel can take some getting used to.
  • User documentation could be expanded.
We have found IBM Cloud Virtual Servers is great for modeling that is heavy on CPU, as a smaller company the way we are able to tailor our package is perfect, and having the ability to dial in large amounts of computing power has really helped us expand our data modeling and financial forecasting. Without which we would not be able to keep up with bigger companies within this field.
Read Hannah Clairy's full review
Mark King | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2020

Overall a positive review, you guys are great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dedicated server that hosts a variety of different websites. It's best for me to have a dedicated server so I can control any custom software I need to use like Apache, MySQL, the PHP version, and Node. I also can control and verify the server backups which is a big deal to me. It allows me to ensure all the critical data is being backed up and how often those backups are being stored on another remote server outside of the data center.
  • Uptime of the servers, and when there is downtime then you guys always notify me of the downtime and the issue.
  • Customer support is always perfect.
  • Flexibility when I need to add better processors, or more memory, etc.
  • I can see just about every detail of my server by logging in to IBM's control panel.
  • Can start off very low budget ($50.00 dollars per month) and scale up in the future when needed.
  • The control panel is sometimes a little overwhelming because you offer so many products and services.
  • I always had trouble setting up the KVM, but that could be me just not knowing how to set it up.
  • I get so many status update emails that I tend to ignore them. I understand it's important to notify people of a status like "IBM Cloud engineers are conducting a technology refresh project on internal components of the provisioning system". But really I just want a status update if my server will be going offline. Perhaps I can change this in settings, but I have not been able to locate where to make this change.
If a small website is just getting started. They can get a virtual server and upgrade it easily in the future if they need a faster processor, more hard drive space, or more RAM. You can also mess up your server's software and just reimage the server via their control panel. Of course it's never ideal to reinstall the OS but when it's required it's nice to be able to do it via their control panel.
Read Mark King's full review
Alex Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

A powerful, often overlooked cloud platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Virtual servers are one of the easiest VPS clouds to setup. Offering a lot of flexibility, high visibility on projected costs, and accurate estimates of setup time, it takes very little time and effort to get an IBM Cloud Virtual server off the ground. The wide variety of locations lets my industry, video games, select the appropriate location depending on relative player base location, a very helpful problem to address.
  • Many locations available
  • Fast setup time
  • Clear cost structure
  • User access can be confusing.
  • Not a friendly interface for those not familiar with cloud technologies.
  • Somewhat high price when provisioning Windows servers.
IBM Cloud Virtual servers are a great option for those looking to start out and explore the world of virtual computing and do so from around the world. As a game development company, they are a great option for those looking to deploy multiplayer games across the world with a wide range and high variety of server locations. It is perhaps less appropriate for startups in the game development industry due to high cost.
Read Alex Smith's full review
Gordon Harkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

Review of IBM Cloud Virtual Servers

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud Virtual Servers across the whole organization. We are using the IBM cloud to host our servers and support our security of these servers. We want to leverage the IBM infrastructure and don't want to spend time or money on hosting our own servers. We are a startup, so time and resources need to be prioritized and valued.
  • UI for spinning up a new server is excellent.
  • The documentation for spinning up a new server is excellent.
  • Spin-up time is very good.
  • After the server was provisioned, I did not see the "Password" choice on the lower left-hand side of the screen.
  • Documentation, especially this line, "Select the Passwords tab to show all passwords for the instance," is not correct. There is no "Passwords tab." It is a selection choice on the left-hand side of the screen.
  • The website does not even mention the root password or where to find it.
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers are well suited for allowing a business to focus on their core business needs and not spend time on procuring and setting up their own servers.
Read Gordon Harkins's full review
Furqan Arain | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Perfect set of IT tools by a world class cloud provider

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using IBM Virtual servers for several reasons:
  1. For quickly distributing environments between team members so they can develop and test our web portal iterations.
  2. We are using IBM Virtual machines specifically for development and DevOps purposes.
  3. By using IBM Virtual servers, we overcome many difficulties such as maintenance of physical hardware, we achieved scale-ability and our team easily works on our products remotely.
  • IBM Cloud Virtual Servers are available in many regions around the world which is helpful in case we need a server near to our client.
  • IBM Cloud Virtual Servers can be configured to use all sorts of operating systems which comes in handy to test applications across many environments.
  • I would love to have more profiles for quick provisioning.
  • IBM recently offered a discount for its Bare Metal Servers. You need to have the same service for the IBM Virtual Server.
IBM Cloud Virtual servers are well suited to SMBs because of the low cost as compare to its competitors while providing the same level of functionality. Every now and then IBM offered bonus amounts to be used to purchase their products. IBM Cloud is not for novice users so new users may find a bit of a steep learning curve while getting a hold of it.
Read Furqan Arain's full review
Venkat Charan | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2019

Review: IBM Virtual Servers for Cloud Gaming

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud VM across our infrastructure for different purposes. We are a cloud gaming company and we are super satisfied as we get top notch hardware such as V100s for our users to satisfy their gaming specs. From the business perspective, the prices are cheap than what GCP and AWS has to offer.
  • Fast Provisioning
  • Cheaper prices than competition
  • Technical Support Debugging
  • GPU performance is sometimes degraded.
  • Lot of maintenance activity.
  • No option BYOL for Windows Servers.
It's well suited in areas where you need to quickly setup servers. We really didn't test the parts that need scaling.
Read Venkat Charan's full review
Fábio Vallim | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 02, 2019

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Review

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I resell IBM Cloud services to my clients.
  • Honestly looking at other companies like Azure and Amazon, I don't see pros for IBM.
  • Windows licenses are very expensive.
  • Support, it was very bad, just getting worse!
  • Cloud images are too few compared to AWS, IBM is way behind AWS.
  • Reseller training and certification practically does not exist.
  • The decrease in the resale value that resellers have in reselling services.
I no longer recommend IBM due to bad support and the fact it is more expensive than the competition.
Read Fábio Vallim's full review
Nielsen Batista | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

I love working with IBM, even though my company is small.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers is the main service used by our company. We are a software supply company in the SaaS form, and we use IBM's infrastructure to install our software and provide services to our customers.
  • Very clear price and services
  • Simple and easy setup
  • Support in Portuguese
I have already recommended IBM Cloud Virtual Servers several times. The main advantage of IBM Cloud Virtual Servers is the fixed price for a chosen configuration.
Read Nielsen Batista's full review
Henrry Ortiz | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Review Of IBM Cloud Virtual Servers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are replacing our datacenter for infrastructure as a service. We have some racks and our rent data center, so we decided to move to the cloud and stop buying expensive hardware while getting more infrastructure. It is more cost-effective to go to the cloud for our infrastructure and our datacenter.
  • Citrix Services
  • ERP Solutions
  • DRP on premises.
  • Citrix Provisioning Services
Well suited for:
  • Websites that require high availability, when you need 99.99% of service.
  • Citrix Share Desktop, when you need to increase your user numbers or downgrade.
  • Netscaler Load Balancing, when you need have a premium solution with low cost.
  • Custom Scenarios with MPLS links, if you need to connect different regions to some apps.
Read Henrry Ortiz's full review
Frank Rooney | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Great value option in the right use case

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using IBM Cloud Virtual Servers directly to test the design decisions that have been taken for client solutions. Cloud Virtual servers are an easy and cost effective way of building test/POC environments to test out architecture designs and to provide quick and easy proof of concept facilities.
  • Quick provision times.
  • Plenty of configuration options.
  • Easily managed.
  • Flexible.
  • No improvements to suggest.
Cloud Virtual Servers are definitely well suited to dev/test and POC environments.
Read Frank Rooney's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2020

Awesome Service but Costs May Be High

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud to optimize our customer experience. It is also used in our infrastructure and our website. Therefore, it is being used across the whole organization rather than just a department.
  • Fast provisioning.
  • Fast support.
  • Easy integration.
  • Great UI.
  • Expensive.
  • Charges for OS reloads.
  • Charges for switching licenses with no refund.
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers are well suited if a business wants sustainable, well managed, and fast servers with lots of redundancy to prevent downtime. If a company does not need servers to have lots of redundancy to ensure 0 downtime, then it would be less appropriate as IBM costs are significantly higher.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2020

IBM Cloud - amazing portfolio

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are selling IBM Cloud Virtual Servers to our partners. Our partners use it for different cases. The main reason they choose IBM Cloud Virtual Servers is the fact that it is very easy to use as well as the fact that it is highly scalable and it makes them future proof.
  • Highly scalable.
  • Fast provisioning.
  • Great integration with third party services.
  • Billing items is not clear enough.
  • The catalog can be overwhelming.
I would choose IBM Cloud because of the support and price performance. IBM Cloud Virtual Servers allows your architecture to grow as your business/traffic grows. It has a very redundant network with customization via VLAN and allows for customization of server specs and architecture design. You can deploy the virtual servers within minutes, so when time is an important factor I would definitely choose IBM Cloud.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Decent cloud based virtualisation

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud Virtual Servers within the IT department. We use various hosted servers for data transfer purposes mainly SFTP. This saves us from having to purchase our own hardware, saves time on maintenance and also saves bandwidth on our office internet connection. As an IT company we find it extremely easy to spin up new servers in the cloud.
  • Intuitive UI
  • Excellent help and documentation
  • Flexible VM options
  • No reseller training portal
  • Expensive licences
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers is a good alternative to Azure.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2020

Great product that could use some simpler VS setups

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is mainly being used in data science and actuarial departments for heavyweight modelling where either high memory or large CPU requirements (or both) are required. Also as we explore further the use of machine learning and AI, the possibility to access very large GPU machines is appealing as this dramatically increases efficiency in a cost effective way.
  • A broad range of setup options, so we can choose the right GPU/CPU/RAM for the run at hand, which makes things more cost-effective.
  • Data security is important to us, being able to choose a server location helps with giving assurance that the data will be looked after appropriately.
  • The cloud site is extremely well set out, it is very easy to quickly spec out and cost a VM.
  • When launching a VSI it's not always obvious how far progressed or how long we will have to wait.
  • It's also not 100% clear when billing starts and stops.
  • It would be great to have a few "works out of the box" configurations, with sensible defaults so that inexperienced users can quickly launch a windows instance to run a heavy model without having to worry about getting config exactly right. "too many options".
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers are well suited if you know what you're doing or have used a cloud service before. It is not well suited if you are new to doing this or don't have a coach nearby.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

My IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been with IBM Cloud for more than 5 years and, initially with 1 server and then we added a few servers for testing applications. We have settled with 2 now. This server is used by many of our clients across the country and beyond. The IBM Cloud Virtual Server addresses our IT Infrastructure requirements and its elastic nature fits best for our business.
  • Excellent Support
  • Very good performance
  • Very easy to use
  • Voice Support should be provided to premium customers
IBM Cloud Virtual Servers make it easy to configure and create a new virtual server. Its controls are very good and easy to use. IBM after-sales support is excellent. The performance of the server is on par with AWS. Resizing of the server is very easy and quick, which does not affect our running business, and downtime is minimal.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

Good use of VM capabilties

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Extensive use for IBM Cloud deployments for CPQ and CLM enterprise capabilities
  • scalability is very strong.
  • monitoring is good, but could be improved with more stats.
  • access groups
  • resource groups
  • monitoring
  • Some API services are very immature
Very good as compared to Azure or AWS for most capabilities
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2020

Not a very happy customer with IBM

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We host all of our services on the IBM cloud. We use more than 20 servers to run our frontend, backend, databases, and internal streaming services. All of the virtual IBM tools are used to serve our clients and to solve big data and ML problems. We do our own customizations to match the needs of our clients.
  • Limiting your choices.
  • Giving you reasons to learn how to do things your own way and not fully depend on their platform.
  • Does not support virtual Lan.
  • Does not support unlimited virtual disk storage.
I believe the technology that IBM is using is obsolete in the world of cloud-based virtual machines. For example, it takes 15 minutes to change the VM size, which is very weird. In general, any request done on the portal needs IBM approval! This is unacceptable in the world of Bid Data.
Read this authenticated review
Jeff Chow | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

One of the few ways to get out emails in an economical way

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is our main server that our company uses to provide services to our libraries. It is being used as a website, email server, database, and mobile app server. The email serving part is unique to cloud servers. Most other major cloud providers (Google, AWS) don't allow creating email servers on their virtual servers. This is a key issue for us since we send email to library patrons to help them keep track their library circulations.
  • An email server is allowed, and in particular, on port 25.
  • Able to create a backup server and power it off until needed.
  • Reasonably priced compared to the other major cloud services.
  • Don't know if this is possible, but I'd like to make a snapshot of my current server for backup purposes. Unfortunately a snapshot takes too long (too many hours), and our server can't be off for more than a few hours at a time.
It's well suited as an email server to subscribed users. I can't think of a scenario that I wouldn't recommend an IBM virtual server. It's quick to create, reasonably priced and offers good support.
Read Jeff Chow's full review
Esteban Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

IBM is the best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Virtual Servers for our entire company. We offer web hosting and game server hosting (hosted in IBM Servers) in Mexico for small businesses and students in all of Latin America.
  • Support is really good, and you have chat support and people helping for everything you need!
  • It offers a variety of configurations and operating systems for all needs.
  • It offers great add-ons and integrations.
  • Dashboard loading at login.
  • More locations for Latin America would be good.
  • More add-ons and integrations.
IBM Servers are suitable for all needs since they offer adjustments that can range from 1gb of RAM to whatever you could possibly need! Laboratory tests, mail, websites, and beyond.
Read Esteban Hernandez's full review
Marcus Streips | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Virtual Servers Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the Berkeley MIDS program (Masters of Information and Data Science) as part of the deep learning on the cloud and on the edge curriculum.
  • Nice offering of different compute capabilities.
  • Good CLI.
  • Easy to understand UI.
  • Can't suspend billing when not using VMs.
  • Configuration can be difficult for storage and network.
I believe it has a lot of customization and flexibility and should be explored when compared to GCP, Azure, and AWS.
Read Marcus Streips's full review
David J. Salazar | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2019

IBM Cloud - A perfect tool for startups and to scale.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud, its virtual servers and an approximately 15 IBM services and microservices. We have used and built on Bluemix, both for testing and evaluation of code efficiency, as well as for cost evaluation and estimation of budgets.

We have also built final solutions in the IBM cloud for third parties, reducing costs (compared to similar services in AWS and Azure).
  • Easy customization and configuration of a virtual server.
  • Easy and fast delivery of generated service
  • Security, firewall and incredible capabilities to link to other IBM services and microservices
  • It is necessary to verify that the DNS has been correctly generated since if there are errors.
  • There is a type of deploy that does not allow to increase the details of the already generated.
When you need to create tests with a service type or server-specific configuration. You can create your own programming stack and custom scenarios.
Read David J. Salazar's full review
John Reeve | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2019

Great virtual servers from a company experiencing growing pains

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud recently acquired SoftLayer, and so we became an IBM customer. We are using their virtual servers primarily for web servers and job queues.
  • Servers are deployed quickly after ordering them
  • They do a good job notifying us of pending maintenance
  • Servers are fast and reliable
  • The private network across their data centers is great
  • They are aggressively decommissioning services and data centers and forcing us to migrate relatively new servers to other data centers
  • They could respond more quickly to tickets/cases
They are very well suited for web application environments and job queues, which is what we are using them for. If you need more sys admin assistance they are not a good fit because they expect you to do most of the server configuration. Their support can be very hands-off at times and has become even more so with the transition from SoftLayer to IBM.
Read John Reeve's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2019

If you have a need for high IOPS, the IBM cloud is probably your most cost-effective option

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All of our servers are on the cloud, and that is IBM's cloud. As of today, we have 102 virtual servers, along with the associated required storage. In our case, storage is our largest cloud investment since our business is to host a data-crunching application to help our clients and utilities, make sense and act upon their customers' incoming smart meter data.
  • Storage that provides high IOPS at a cost-effective rate. We evaluated other offerings this summer, in particular, AWS and Microsoft, and their high-IOPS disks were more expensive than IBM's.
  • Automated deployment of new virtual servers and their storage is simplified by an API which we leverage using Ansible.
  • In our tier, support is timely.
  • Billing is complicated and unclear. It can be difficult to determine exactly how much each instance costs, and grouping them is also difficult (we need to charge different machines to different internal departments, and while we have resorted to using labels in the server names, we are not able to do that with storage).
  • Their firewall options are not user-friendly nor very cost-effective. We use their Vyatta offering and, though it is an operating system rooted in free software, it is expensive. It is difficult to manage as well as its mgmt is done exclusively via a hard-to-learn text-only hierarchical configuration.
Well suited: Environments with a high volume of storage-intensive processes which require high IOPS disks. Less appropriate: If bare metal servers are required, they can be expensive. Also, operations that require constant networking changes might find easier ways to do it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Could use a better UI and customer service

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We host several services such as a development server, management
software, etc. It is basically the pool for our shared information and
software.
  • They are always online and there is not so much trouble to connect and use.
  • You can almost immediately use a new server.
  • There is a lot of flexibility on the hardware one can use.
  • We had trouble using the copy of the virtual server we made. So we had to reconfigure it from scratch.
  • It would be good if one could dynamically change the hardware’s characteristics without having to reset the whole server.
  • We have been struggling with the new UI. When it changed from Softlayer to IBM cloud. We experience difficulties getting used to the new interface, the customer service also was slower and sometimes even incorrect since they gave us a solution from the last UI which did not longer work.
  • Also, the new webpage is not as responsive as it should. Sometimes it takes a lot of time to load, or one needs to reload in order to see the changes.
Before the transition from SoftLayer to IBM Cloud, we were
extremely satisfied. The customer service was fast, and it solves the problems immediately.
Our opinion has shifted lately since customer service is not as quick as we
wished. Sometimes we fix a simple problem in 2 days because the tickets get
solved the next day. We even complain due to this situation. Still, we
find the servers reliable and we understand that the transition period can be overwhelming,
so we hope the situation gets back to normal in the coming months.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Integration with external services and tooling would make it much better

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We manage infrastructure for several clients, and the ones that use IBM Cloud use it exclusively and across the whole organization. We use IBM Cloud services to provide service for their web/mobile application's backend. This includes APIs, internal processes, networking, continuous integration, and continuous delivery workflows, testing, and several environments; among other things. We design, implement, and use these features, providing support for the full extent of their infrastructure.
  • $1000/month credit for IBM Cloud services.
  • Support for modern technologies.
  • Well performing hardware.
  • Very limited integration for non-IBM Cloud tooling.
  • Expensive price per hour.
  • Server provisioning times that make CI/CD unusable.
I think IBM Cloud is well suited for processing tasks that receive few updates, or production servers that don't use a modern development system. On the other hand, any consumer application that follows current DevOps, continuous integration, or continuous delivery systems, is rendered unusable by the server provisioning time. These times being 150 more than the competition is unacceptable in my opinion.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (32)
7.7
Dynamic scaling (27)
7.3
Elastic load balancing (23)
7.6
Pre-configured templates (25)
7.3
Monitoring tools (33)
8.4
Pre-defined machine images (29)
7.6
Operating system support (33)
8.4
Security controls (29)
7.6

About IBM Cloud Virtual Servers

Build on a legacy of excellence.

IBM Cloud virtual server environments deliver true, cloud-native solutions that work across public, private and hybrid deployments. Get the cost-savings, control, and visibility that is needed with a variety of flexible provisioning and pricing options, including single and multi-tenant environments, hourly and monthly pricing, reserved capacity terms and spot billing. When you build with IBM Cloud virtual servers, you build on a legacy of excellence. Our elastic infrastructure, globally distributed data centers and premium services will bring your data to life no matter where it resides.

Smart provisioning
Customize with a variety of virtual server instances and billing options. Rapidly scale up or down, on-demand. Stay open with no vendor lock-ins, and reply on complete integration with new and traditional architectures.

Highly distributed
Access a globally distributed network of modern data centers with built in high-availability and security, inbound public bandwidth and high-speed private network options, public and private network ports, fast data ingest offerings, geographically redundant DNS, and dual-stack IP capabilities.

Advanced essentials
Build blended hybrid environments with predictability and confidence. Create new solutions that interact with existing infrastructure and applications. Access a variety of network choices and powerful AI solutions designed to put data to work.

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Features

Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) Features
Has featureService-level Agreement (SLA) uptime
Has featureDynamic scaling
Has featureElastic load balancing
Has featurePre-configured templates
Has featureMonitoring tools
Has featurePre-defined machine images
Has featureOperating system support
Has featureSecurity controls
Additional Features
Has featureRemote management
Has featureVirtual GPU support
Has featureSuspend billing
Has featureFlexible instance options
Has featureSpot pricing
Has featurePlacement groups for high-availability

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Video

Flexible provisioning is key with IBM Cloud virtual servers. Choose from single and multi-tenant environments with hourly and monthly billing options, transient "spot" environments for on-the-fly resources at lower costs, and reserved environments for guaranteed capacity that's all yours.

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Downloadables

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Integrations

VMware ESXi, VMware vSphere on IBM Cloud, McAfee Total Protection, Microsoft SQL Server, MongoDB, Veeam Backup & Replication, FreeBSD, CENT OS, CloudLinux, Debian, Microsoft, Red Had, Ubuntu, Vyatta Virtual Router Appliance, Citrix XenServer, Microsoft Hyper-V, Virtuozzo, APF Software Firewall, Microsoft Windows Firewall, Basho Riak, IBM Cloud Analytics, My SQL, Fantastico, RVSkin, Softaculous, R1Soft Server Backup Manager Enterprise, Netapp ONTAP Select, OSNEXUS QuantaStor

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Competitors

AWS EC2 Virtual Servers, Google Compute Engine Virtual Machines, Microsoft Azure Virtual Machines

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
IBM Cloud Public Virtual Serversstarting at $0.038per hour
IBM Cloud Dedicated Virtual Serversstarting at $0.22per hour
IBM Cloud Public Virtual Serversstarting at $25.21per month
IBM Cloud Dedicated Virtual Serversstarting at $149.00per month
IBM Cloud Transient Virtual Serversstarting at $0.01per hour
IBM Cloud Reserved Virtual Serversstarting at $0.02per hour
IBM Cloud Reserved Virtual Serversstarting at $13.27per month

IBM Cloud virtual servers include 250 GB of outbound public bandwidth, unmetered inbound public bandwidth, and unmetered private and management network bandwidth.

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, CENTOS/Linux, Debian GNU/Linux, Red Hat/Linux, Ubuntu/Linux
Mobile Application:Mobile Web