IBM Cognos Analytics Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
452 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Data Integration

8
You can use packages, data modules, uploaded files, and data sets as sources of data for your IBM Cognos applications. The connectivity, while it isn't as mature as with its on-premises version, is ever-evolving and catching up.
Read this authenticated review
January 21, 2020
Byron Conner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
Cognos has a very powerful data set and allows the user to drill down to a specific day and even hour of sales so management can have the ability to dig into micro seasons and schedule appropriately.
Read Byron Conner's full review
February 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

5
A majority of IBM Cognos customers use frameworks, which are painful to maintain over time. We use SQL queries to our EDW. We have admins to add the appropriate database connections so we can use custom SQL in our reports. It would be awesome if Cognos built more cool features around custom SQL queries like Tableau.
Read this authenticated review
January 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

5
This is not something I am familiar with. This is something that would be more on the IT side. I work on the functional side, so I do not have experience with the data source connectivity. Cognos Analytics on Cloud is a great tool and does require IT support. We use it for reporting from our ERP system.
Read this authenticated review
December 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Its great being vendor agnostic and having the ability to pull from multiple areas.
Read this authenticated review
November 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

5
We have struggled to merge data from our PeopleSoft data into a star schema data warehouse in Cognos. It is nice to easily choose whether a report draws data from our warehouse or real-time date.
Read this authenticated review
October 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
I find it relatively easy to merge data from different sources. In our world, I choose the term and the feature. From there, I find it to be a quick process. When I want to send my information to another source - I haven't been stuck. It's about the easiest process I've worked with.
Read this authenticated review
January 17, 2019
Nabeel Chohan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
IBM Cognos does a fairly good job at data integration and data merging and is able to pick and create data tables as needed. It sometimes struggles to integrate with certain data tables originating with a data source that is not very compatible with the IBM Cognos platform.
Read Nabeel Chohan's full review
May 10, 2019
Ray Hirte | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
It handles the data sources we need with very little trouble whether it's MS SQL Server or Oracle DB.
Read Ray Hirte's full review
April 06, 2018
Miguel Angel Merino Vega | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
You can add a high variety of data sources via Cognos Administration. This feature is easy to set and use and can save a lot of time and stress unless you want to fight to console commands. It also has a good performance both in sync and async mode.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
February 28, 2018
Monika Ganeva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
Great for report automation and data auditing but not very user-friendly, dashboarding friendly and not very sophisticated when it comes to the overall management of all the reporting in use.
Read Monika Ganeva's full review
December 07, 2017
Gos Yao | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
We have an integrated platform which introduced the data from the database to the applications as well as the Cognos. That works pretty well and we got well aligned data when it comes to table or data visualization.
Read Gos Yao's full review
April 12, 2016
Lori Lambert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
We have mainly only connected Cognos to Ellucian Banner ERP data. Ellucian supplies a package of datasets, but we have added others for fields that are not contained in the dataset package. We have chosen not to connect Cognos to the ERP directly for real-time data, but that may be done in the future to allow for greater reporting capabilities. We have one IT person supporting our use of Cognos, so we have to prioritize the changes we would like to make.
Read Lori Lambert's full review
February 23, 2016
Sandy Midili | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
The technical configuration of hitting the data sources isn't the problem. The problems arise if you haven't invested in a data management implementation. Data warehouses should be required because ERP systems don’t store the data in a manner that supports analysis and reporting. Nor do they always gather all available data because of system incompatibilities and increasing amounts of information from systems external to the enter­prise. The purpose of data warehouses is to extract data from disparate sources, cleanse it and align it so that it can be aggregated, compared and analyzed to enable business decisions. Then it is stored in a single common platform optimized to support enterprise-wide data analysis. Your reporting, visualizations, dashboards will only be as good as the source.
Read Sandy Midili's full review
May 02, 2016
Benoit COLAS | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
IBM Cognos can connect to a lot of different types of data sources. We are mainly using Oracle Database, but we also connect the IBM Cognos platform to Essbase and experiment with connection to SAP BW.
Read Benoit COLAS's full review
February 19, 2016
Brent Curia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
The problem at my company is that they over complicate many of the data streams, e.g. they try to merge some non-compatible systems prior to COGNOS. This has resulted in hundreds of hours of wasted time trying to make reports work by putting band aids all throughout the report just to get it to work. Often the reports fail on a regular basis and have to be redone. In addition, they have created multiple data packages with the same information and have not kept them current. So I can't blame the results on COGNOS. However, the data packages that are create straight from the data source work very well. Ease of merging can be difficult. I think this is another area to look into simplifying.
Read Brent Curia's full review
December 11, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Cognos provides good data connectivity to popular data sources; relational databases such as Oracle, SQL server, Google analytics, files, Hadoop based data sources. It provides functions to merge data from different sources and configure scheduling such as regular data extraction. It is a good report development and management tool for a large-sized company with strict data regulation such as a healthcare organization. The tool provides necessary functions to manage data in the development and run-time phases, with stable performance.
Read this authenticated review
February 25, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
The reasons for my rating are that compared to Tableau it still has room for improvement in the graphs, location, and, speed. The higher ratings and 10s that I gave blow other reporting tools out of the water (e.g. range of data sources, ease of merging data from disparate sources, real-time, etc.). Overall it is the best BI tool that I use.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (39)
7.1
Customizable dashboards (46)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (44)
8.0
Drill-down analysis (47)
8.4
Formatting capabilities (47)
7.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (27)
8.0
Report sharing and collaboration (47)
8.3
Publish to Web (27)
8.3
Publish to PDF (45)
8.3
Report Versioning (25)
8.6
Report Delivery Scheduling (47)
7.7
Delivery to Remote Servers (13)
8.0
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (37)
8.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (36)
8.1
Predictive Analytics (33)
8.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (44)
8.9
Role-Based Security Model (43)
8.8
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (43)
8.6
Single Sign-On (SSO) (27)
8.7
Responsive Design for Web Access (29)
6.9
Dedicated iOS Application (23)
6.7
Dedicated Android Application (13)
5.6
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (29)
6.4
REST API (18)
7.7
Javascript API (17)
7.5
iFrames (9)
7.8
Java API (11)
6.7
Themeable User Interface (UI) (10)
6.9
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
7.1

What is IBM Cognos Analytics?

Cognos Analytics is an AI-fueled business intelligence platform that supports the entire analytics cycle, from discovery to operationalization. Cognos Analytics gives every user — whether data scientist, business analyst or non-specialist — more power to perform relevant analysis in a way that ties back to organizational objectives. It shortens each user’s journey from simple to sophisticated analytics, allowing them to harness data to explore the unknown, identify new relationships, get a deeper understanding of outcomes and challenge the status quo. Visualize, analyze and share actionable insights about data with anyone in the organization.

IBM Cognos Analytics Features

BI Platform Features

Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler

Supported Data Sources Features

Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP

BI Standard Reporting Features

Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages

Access Control and Security Features

Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)

Mobile Capabilities Features

Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features

Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Additional Features
Has featureAI Forecasting

IBM Cognos Analytics Integrations

IBM Cognos Analytics Competitors

IBM Cognos Analytics Pricing

Starting Price: $15

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
On Demand Standard$15.00Per User/Per Month
On Demand Plus$35.00Per User/Per Month
On Demand Premium$70.00Per User/Per Month
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
On Cloud HostedContact for quote

30-day free trial available.

IBM Cognos Analytics Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

IBM Cognos Analytics Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, Dutch, Finnish, Italian, Simplified Chinese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Hebrew, Urdu, Farsi

Frequently Asked Questions

What is IBM Cognos Analytics?

IBM Cognos is a full-featured business intelligence suite by IBM, designed for larger deployments. It comprises Query Studio, Reporting Studio, Analysis Studio and Event Studio, and Cognos Administration along with tools for Microsoft Office integration, full-text search, and dashboards.

How much does IBM Cognos Analytics cost?

IBM Cognos Analytics starts at $15.

What is IBM Cognos Analytics's best feature?

Reviewers rate Multi-User Support (named login) highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses IBM Cognos Analytics?

The most common users of IBM Cognos Analytics are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.