IBM Cognos Analytics Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
448 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-23 of 23)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 30, 2015
Sachin Karkun | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
For an existing solution, renewing licenses does provide a good return on investment. Additionally, while rolling out scorecards and dashboards with little adhoc capabilities, to end users, cognos is very easily scalable. It also allows to create a solution that has a mix of OLAP and relational data-sources, which is a limitation with other tools. Synchronizing with existing security setup is easy too.
Read Sachin Karkun's full review
March 16, 2016
Hirdesh Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
IBM Cognos is evolving, they are adding new features which might be missing in previous versions and keeping it on the go to meet customer demands.
Read Hirdesh Gupta's full review
September 23, 2014
Dwight Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

1
It took my BI team one year to become productive at developing useful content on the IBM Cognos platform. After this year, the reports being developed for a client were stale and no longer relative to the ever changing needs of the business client. Given the same opportunity, I would select a platform that allows the team to quickly produce BI content. Fail fast and recover quickly!
Read Dwight Taylor's full review
March 16, 2015
Meghdeep Raval, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
It would be great if there were better performance monitoring activities like those available in Microstrategy.

It would also be great if there were an option to rename columns and query subjects without modifying all existing reports.
Read Meghdeep Raval, PMP's full review
May 30, 2014
Michael Cedor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Since using Cognos and seeing how easy it is to work with and to learn, I don't ever want to go back to something else. It is accurate, deep, and works right away when you need it to. There are several options that work with various internal tools to help enhance your report and make it more presentable to clients who are looking forward to having it. PFG, and other companies as well may have this, has a dedicated support staff on site that helps with any questions or issues, and the turnaround for fixing them is almost immediate. If you know what you are looking for and understand how Cognos helps bring a cluster of information together, you will see the benefits that it will bring your company and department. Cognos almost pays for itself.
Read Michael Cedor's full review
September 12, 2014
Francisco Prieto | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
We are heavily tied to IBM with other portions of the business so don't foresee us breaking off completely from their offering, however a better statement would be to say that we will be scaling back some of the functionality we pay for today.
Read Francisco Prieto's full review
September 10, 2014
Joseph Frank, PhD, CCP, GWCCM | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
We are well-established as an Enterprise user of Cognos, so I am sure WUSTL IS&T will continue using it for years to come. Eventually, it will replace WebFocus for legacy reporting.
Read Joseph Frank, PhD, CCP, GWCCM's full review
March 17, 2014
Robert Goodman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
We will continue to use IBM Cognos to support our student community. In other areas of the university, Microsoft's SQL Server Reporting Services has become a cost effective alternative. That being said, the Report and Query Studio tools of Cognos still remain superior and will bring business benefit to Georgetown for many years to come.
Read Robert Goodman's full review
June 07, 2014
Martin Rivera | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
IBM's current investment in IBM Cognos Business Analytics tools are in the process of taking the product suite from already being a leader in the market place, to truly standing out in the cutting edge of the Business Analytics platform arena. The last 2 or 3 releases alone have shown staggering improvements in the areas of visualizations, mobile capabilities, and customization. The future for IBM Cognos is surely to be a positive one, given the direction that IBM is taking its product suite, and I certainly look forward to being a part of it.
Read Martin Rivera's full review
August 27, 2013
Toni McKee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
This software is a part of the package that comes with our Human Resources software, therefore we will continue use of Cognos. However I am not disappointed in the product. I would not hesitate to use it even if we had to own it outright.
Read Toni McKee's full review
October 31, 2013
Brian Schwartz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
It's been a really helpful tool to determine key peformance indicators and metrics including but not limited to new clients acquired, new client spend, lifetime value of clients as well as registration to paid client conversion rates.
Read Brian Schwartz's full review
September 13, 2013
Ravi Chirravuri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
I think that for my purposes, Cognos has worked very well in allowing me to design and set up reporting for customers and give them great visibility to their data
Read Ravi Chirravuri's full review
August 08, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
N/A - I have no role in deciding which BI tools my organizaiton uses, but I do not see them dropping Cognos anytime soon. Also, if I made the decision, I would keep Cognos around indefinitley.
Read this authenticated review
September 11, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
As stated before, this system is a requirement for report creation in our Enterprise Asset Management system, so it will automatically be renewed when we renew the support for the EAM system. It is really that cut and dry. I would not renew this particular product if I was able to use a different report writer.
Read this authenticated review
June 10, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
I loved using these tools - and though in my current job we do not use this product I would go back to recommending it or using it again at another company.
Read this authenticated review
October 31, 2013
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
Cognos works well in the current environment. Business likes to use it due to the ease of use especially around the self service Cognos Powerplay cubes. It will not be easy to migrate to a different platform and re-train the business users. Additional tools from Cognos in 10.2 is also exciting and G|R will be trying to leverage them for our strategy. Given, this background, we are likely to continue with Cognos in the near future.
Read this authenticated review
October 15, 2013
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
Partially because of the great product, but partially because we are so entrenched with money and human capital that we are almost certainly going to renew.
Read this authenticated review
October 15, 2013
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

1
We are in the process of moving from Cognos BI solution to the Tableau BI solution.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (39)
7.2
Customizable dashboards (46)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (44)
8.0
Drill-down analysis (47)
8.4
Formatting capabilities (47)
7.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (27)
8.0
Report sharing and collaboration (47)
8.3
Publish to Web (27)
8.3
Publish to PDF (45)
8.3
Report Versioning (25)
8.6
Report Delivery Scheduling (47)
7.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (13)
8.0
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (37)
8.0
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (36)
8.1
Predictive Analytics (33)
8.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (44)
8.9
Role-Based Security Model (43)
8.9
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (43)
8.7
Single Sign-On (SSO) (27)
8.8
Responsive Design for Web Access (29)
6.9
Dedicated iOS Application (23)
6.7
Dedicated Android Application (13)
5.6
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (29)
6.3
REST API (18)
7.6
Javascript API (17)
7.5
iFrames (9)
7.7
Java API (11)
6.6
Themeable User Interface (UI) (10)
6.8
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
7.0

What is IBM Cognos Analytics?

Cognos Analytics is an AI-fueled business intelligence platform that supports the entire analytics cycle, from discovery to operationalization. Cognos Analytics gives every user — whether data scientist, business analyst or non-specialist — more power to perform relevant analysis in a way that ties back to organizational objectives. It shortens each user’s journey from simple to sophisticated analytics, allowing them to harness data to explore the unknown, identify new relationships, get a deeper understanding of outcomes and challenge the status quo. Visualize, analyze and share actionable insights about data with anyone in the organization.

IBM Cognos Analytics Features

BI Platform Features

Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler

Supported Data Sources Features

Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP

BI Standard Reporting Features

Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages

Access Control and Security Features

Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)

Mobile Capabilities Features

Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features

Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Additional Features
Has featureAI Forecasting

IBM Cognos Analytics Integrations

IBM Cognos Analytics Competitors

IBM Cognos Analytics Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
On Demand Standard$15per authorized user/per month
On Demand Plus$35per authorized user/per month
On Demand Premium$70per authorized user/per month
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
On Cloud HostedContact for quote

IBM Cognos Analytics Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

IBM Cognos Analytics Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, Dutch, Finnish, Italian, Simplified Chinese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Hebrew, Urdu, Farsi

Frequently Asked Questions

What is IBM Cognos Analytics?

IBM Cognos is a full-featured business intelligence suite by IBM, designed for larger deployments. It comprises Query Studio, Reporting Studio, Analysis Studio and Event Studio, and Cognos Administration along with tools for Microsoft Office integration, full-text search, and dashboards.

What is IBM Cognos Analytics's best feature?

Reviewers rate Multi-User Support (named login) and Role-Based Security Model highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses IBM Cognos Analytics?

The most common users of IBM Cognos Analytics are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.