IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
249 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 50)

Srihari Kapu | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Kubernetes: your go to container service on IBM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We had used Kubernetes service for building hyper ledger fabric applications. Kubernetes comes in handy in integration with hyper ledger for building various blockchain use cases. We use Kubernetes within our blockchain team for building products for our clients.
Read Srihari Kapu's full review
Dillen Meijboom | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2020

Smooth, friendly alternative to Google Cloud

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Before, we hosted our entire cluster in GKE (Google Cloud). This was not user-friendly at all and after another random increase in the price (for us almost 70 euro per month), we wanted to switch to another cloud provider. We're in the middle of migrating our entire cluster to IBM Cloud and so far we're really happy with it!
Read Dillen Meijboom's full review
Aitor Mier Pons | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

The best alternative to build your Blockchain Platform on Hyperledger Fabric.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I'm using IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service to implement a solution with the IBM Blockchain Platform. Our product is around Blockchain, but nobody can use the Kubernetes Service. I'm the only one who can manage it. The only problem I have is its capacity. Now, I'm checking out how to upgrade each machine instead of adding more.
Read Aitor Mier Pons's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used by the whole company. We use IBM Cloud Kubernetes for our VPN server. IBM has a lot of data centers around the globe thus it's really effective in connecting employees at different locations in Europe and USA to the company servers. As much as I know, our mail server is also located on IBM Cloud Kubernetes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Newbies in IBM cloud after disappointed at GCP

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Yes. We're trying to deploy cloud services on IBM Cloud Kubernetes. It's intended to improve productivity of my staff. However, according to my employees, the descriptions are rather difficult to understand. Sometimes they get confused about specific functions. They know how to run it, if they can find how to initialize the configurations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Enhance your ISTIO service mesh with IBM CKS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service is part of our testing environment for multi-cloud projects. By using ISTIO mesh to span to multiple Kubernetes clusters across multiple cloud providers, we can test the HA capabilities of the deployments and offer high HA solutions to our customers.
Also, by integrating IBM CKS to Google Cloud using Google Anthos GKE Connect, we can manage all our deployments in one place. IBM CKS offers one of the most powerful Kubernetes services: stable, powerful, easy to use and HIGH availability.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 17, 2020

Kubernetes Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service is being used mainly for educational purposes. We use it to show the students some use cases regarding things such as a VPN server using squid, or an HTTP server using Nginx.
Read this authenticated review
John Hanley | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

IBM Cloud Kubernetes is an excellent container management system

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are an IT consulting company specializing in cloud architecture, security, hybrid and multi-cloud deployments. We recently starting working with IBM Cloud. We used IBM Cloud Kubernetes to train ourselves in preparation to advise our customers.

We deployed several test environments from our Google Cloud Kubernetes system to IBM Cloud Kubernetes for practice. This proceeded without incident or technical problems. I wrote an article on my personal website that detailed my experiences with IBM Cloud and IBM Cloud Kubernetes.
Read John Hanley's full review
René Schouten | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 02, 2019

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Services serves as an accelerator for innovation using micro-services

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As a systems integrator, we use IBM Cloud Kubernetes for our customers for deploying micro-services in Kubernetes as a backend for several apps. Kubernetes is easily configurable, deployable and scaleable. We can innovate and deploy new functionality in days combined with an Agile way of working. So IBM Cloud Kubernetes gives us the certainty of a managed container service and we can fully concentrate on the micro-services and the data.
Read René Schouten's full review
moin haq | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

My Kube

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Yes, IBM is a cloud partner of AA and we are using IBM Kubernetes. The master node and worker node are in with B2B cloud VPN and they are secure. API gateway is good.
Read moin haq's full review
Naresh B | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

IBM Cloud better and simple

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are from pre-sales team, we'll make POC on that, and we will expose it to the world. Here I attended one internal IBM training in our organization. I found that IBM Cloud on DevOps only works on NodeJs support. We are looking on Java Simple Hello World app.
Read Naresh B's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Custom containers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Within our Smart City area, many of our customers ask us to develop software as it must be installed in their environments. Generally, they ask us to make an image with Kubernetes as a container. It is used in the IT area of our company and solves the problem of software exchange without relying on operating system configurations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Best K8s GUI I've come across

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently are not using IBM Cloud Kuberentes Service. I used it while attending KubeCon 2019. While using it, I could definitely see the benefits that an organization would reap by using the product. It helps facilitate some of the more challenging aspects of creating a Kubernetes cluster on the cloud.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Impressed with IBM Cloud Kubernetes in a workshop.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I attended a workshop on Kubernetes, specifically focusing on Istio. The service seems quite solid. IBM's special add-ons to Kubernetes, especially Watson, are what sets it apart from Amazon Webservices (AWS) or Google Compute Engine (GCE). While my experience is quite limited, the workshop showed me that it's a solid product, worth considering when choosing where to run Kubernetes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

IBM Kubernetes Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It used by my application team. We use it to move current applications from on-premise to cloud.
Read this authenticated review

About IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service is a managed Kubernetes offering to deliver powerful tools, an intuitive user experience and built-in security for rapid delivery of applications that users can bind to cloud services related to IBM Watson®, IoT, DevOps and data analytics. As a certified K8s provider, IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service provides intelligent scheduling, self-healing, horizontal scaling, service discovery and load balancing, automated rollouts and rollbacks, and secret and configuration management. The Kubernetes service also has advanced capabilities around simplified cluster management, container security and isolation policies, the ability for users to design their own cluster, and integrated operational tools for consistency in deployment. Visit the vendor's Docs pages for pricing and support information.
Categories:  Container Management

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Video

Advantages of Managed Kubernetes

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Integrations

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Competitors

Google Kubernetes Engine, Azure Kubernetes Service, Amazon EKS

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
50%

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Slack Channel to Development Team

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:https://console.bluemix.net/docs/containers/cs_regions.html#regions-and-zones
Supported Languages: A managed Kubernetes offering to deliver powerful tools, an intuitive user experience and built-in security for rapid delivery of applications that you can bind to cloud services related to IBM Watson®, IoT, DevOps and data analytics. As a certified K8s provider, IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service provides intelligent scheduling, self-healing, horizontal scaling, service discovery and load balancing, automated rollouts and rollbacks, and secret and configuration management. The Kubernetes service also has advanced capabilities around simplified cluster management, container security and isolation policies, the ability to design your own cluster, and integrated operational tools for consistency in deployment. Visit our Docs pages for pricing and support information.