IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
251 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 52)

Jason Tian | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Try using the container service of IBM Cloud Kubernetes

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • You can add features easily, growing as you need.
  • Options for dedicated servers or VMs gives us a lot of flexibility from a provisioning standpoint.
  • Quick deployment.
  • Powerful tool!
  • Old operation guide.
  • For beginner developers, it takes longer to learn costs.
  • Too expensive.
Read Jason Tian's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's located at many locations around the globe. Mainly in US and Europe
  • Pay as you go plan for reduced costs
  • Easy to maintain
  • Not enough data centers located in Asia and South America
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Newbies in IBM cloud after disappointed at GCP

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The network is rather reliable, which greatly satisfies our customer.
  • High performance equals time saved
  • Affordable. We believe it's an acceptable price.
  • Complicated description - it's not easy to initialize the settings.
  • Limited privileges - Kubernetes offer limited functions. It seems root authorization is not provided.
  • Port forwarding can't be set after deploying the docker. Maybe we just haven't found how to change it.
Read this authenticated review
John Hanley | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

IBM Cloud Kubernetes is an excellent container management system

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • IBM has a strong focus on serverless and Kubernetes. This shows in the platform. Deploying containers to Kubernetes was very easy.
  • Deploying a Kubernetes cluster through the GUI is very easy and quick. On top of that, IBM Cloud offers a single node cluster for Free.
  • Container Registry is a very good product for managing container images. Integration with Kubernetes was seemless.
  • Portability. To transition from Google Cloud Kubernetes to IBM Cloud Kubernetes took almost no effort. We mostly use the CLI and the standard tools such as kubectl were present.
  • IBM Kubernetes worked as I expected it to. The area that I would like improvement is either the simplification of the Kubernetes commands or a better management layer built on top. It takes considerable effort to train administrators to manage Kubernetes. However, I feel that adding a management layer should be an option so that the core IBM Kubernetes offering stays industry compatible.
Read John Hanley's full review
Rishabh Pandey | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Detailed Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Security is the key feature which our client expects to maintain across the application.
  • Built-in IP address provision so that we do not need to get an external IP.
  • External service connection ease.
  • Built-in volume management to store our keys.
  • IP addresses are expensive as compared.
  • Logging is not up to the mark.
  • Not highly available in all countries, we need to use other region clusters.
  • Downtime on many occasions.
Read Rishabh Pandey's full review
Naresh B | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

IBM Cloud better and simple

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Better to make it available for all webapp supports
  • Everything is simple and user friendly, only thing is why we create separate cloud foundry app name space for Devops related projects
Read Naresh B's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2019

IKS: Early adopter but needs some polish

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Currently, the pricing for the instances is quite high (30% higher than major vendors), so that needs to be worked on.
  • VM spinup times are slower than most major cloud vendors, if GCP only takes 60 seconds on average, IBM Cloud takes more than 10 minutes. This should be faster and could use more improvement
  • While providing a barebones dashboard for Kubernetes is great, I believe having the IKS service to have its own managed dashboard is better than providing the upstream Kube's dashboard.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Custom containers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Multi-platform
  • Removes dependencies
  • Simple use for IT staff
  • It is not open source
  • High price
  • There are other standards like Docker or VMWare
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Best K8s GUI I've come across

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very good documentation for the commands
  • Really good UI integration
  • Easy to pick up with some light instruction
  • I was on a bad wifi signal and lost connection a couple of times. The process of reconnecting was inconsistent and I sometimes lost my environment variable definitions
  • Error messages were sometimes not descriptive. I tried performing a kubectl command and got a strange error that was essentially the result of not having the KUBECONFIG environment variable set due to the error above
Read this authenticated review

About IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service is a managed Kubernetes offering to deliver powerful tools, an intuitive user experience and built-in security for rapid delivery of applications that users can bind to cloud services related to IBM Watson®, IoT, DevOps and data analytics. As a certified K8s provider, IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service provides intelligent scheduling, self-healing, horizontal scaling, service discovery and load balancing, automated rollouts and rollbacks, and secret and configuration management. The Kubernetes service also has advanced capabilities around simplified cluster management, container security and isolation policies, the ability for users to design their own cluster, and integrated operational tools for consistency in deployment. Visit the vendor's Docs pages for pricing and support information.
Categories:  Container Management

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Video

Advantages of Managed Kubernetes

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Integrations

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Competitors

Google Kubernetes Engine, Azure Kubernetes Service, Amazon EKS

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
50%

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Slack Channel to Development Team

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:https://console.bluemix.net/docs/containers/cs_regions.html#regions-and-zones
Supported Languages: A managed Kubernetes offering to deliver powerful tools, an intuitive user experience and built-in security for rapid delivery of applications that you can bind to cloud services related to IBM Watson®, IoT, DevOps and data analytics. As a certified K8s provider, IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service provides intelligent scheduling, self-healing, horizontal scaling, service discovery and load balancing, automated rollouts and rollbacks, and secret and configuration management. The Kubernetes service also has advanced capabilities around simplified cluster management, container security and isolation policies, the ability to design your own cluster, and integrated operational tools for consistency in deployment. Visit our Docs pages for pricing and support information.