TrustRadius
RTC ReviewIt is being used by Digital Channel Technology team to manage all high-level business requirements in a centralized repository.,Clean GUI User Friendly Intuitive,No sorting functionality No Filter Functionality Difficult to manage when there are several projects on it,8,Expensive in comparison to other tools like JIRA,,IBM Rational DOORS Next Generation, JIRA Software, HP Application Lifecycle ManagementRTC vs alternativesIBM Rational Team Concert is used across entire RnD as source control and ALM tool.,One suite for all ALM needs; from requirements to code to bug and test management. Handles well complex stream and merge activities. Good API support, backed by a big vendor.,Clunky user interface and experience. Hard to learn and "get around." Sometimes feels you're working for it instead of the opposite.,6,Allows managing large number of dev stream and products.,jira, Team Foundation Server and CA Agile Central (formerly Rally),Atlassian Confluence, Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, Eclipse CMSIBM Rational Team Concert - A Hit or Miss based on how you use itIBM Rational Team Concert (RTC) is used across our whole organization as a tool to capture a workflow of tasks to be performed per team.,Provides a complete workflow of work items to be performed within a team. Provides customizable templates for creating and modifying the workflows based on how your team functions. Provides, easy to use reports and querying functionality for managers to get a good glimpse of the overall project.,IBM RTC user-interface feels very dated compared to the competition. Often times we find it to be very heavy and hence is slow to respond, which is sometimes discouraging to use. It lacks some of the main integrations we would like to see from a development standpoint like seamless Git integration for instance.,6,It has given us a way to manage a project, consisting of a large team of members. The reports and queries are an easy way to look at tasks assigned to a particular member or team. It provides for a way to generate development burn-down charts and defects ratio. It has although, created an overhead on development teams to enter data into the RTC system in order to get the benefits of the above.,,JIRA Software, IBM Rational Quality Manager, BitbucketIBM RTC Review June 2014RTC was used as an agile project management purpose for a big program which had distributed 14 agile scrum teams. Each team manages their product and sprint backlog on it. It is easy to track product, sprint burn-down charts, velocity and task board. Managed and tracked impediments, retrospective, defect, user story, Sr. scrum master (scrum coach) can track each teams status and dependency. It is easy customize the field to add in the form for creation of user story, impediment etc.,It a a good agile scrum project management customized web based tool Easy to Track the status, charts and taking the reports Managing multiple distributed scrum projects,Import functionality using CSV file for a list of user story etc.,9,Worked as project manager and used this tool as part of client process. For my current client I am using JIRA.,,8Flexibility...at a priceOur organization used RTC as our comprehensive ALM tool to replace older Rational tools (ClearCase, BuildForge). It was the first tool used to provide work item tracking, which was vital as we were shifting to Agile methodologies. Rational Team Concert helped as unify the tools used across the organization while providing flexibility to different needs across business units.,Customizing work items is easy and flexible Project Management is easy Minimal administrative overhead,Workflows are not always intuitive Native build tools not up to par Source control streams concept,5,Increased efficiency Better reporting Better visibility,Microsoft Team Foundation Server,4
Unspecified
IBM Rational Team Concert
25 Ratings
Score 7.1 out of 101
TRScore

IBM Rational Team Concert Reviews

IBM Rational Team Concert
25 Ratings
Score 7.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 25 vetted IBM Rational Team Concert reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-8 of 8)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Puja Doshi profile photo
March 27, 2018

IBM Rational Team Concert: "RTC Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by Digital Channel Technology team to manage all high-level business requirements in a centralized repository.
  • Clean GUI
  • User Friendly
  • Intuitive
  • No sorting functionality
  • No Filter Functionality
  • Difficult to manage when there are several projects on it

Well Suited: Small projects, Fewer users

Less Suited: Too many projects with a large number of business requirements

Read Puja Doshi's full review
Yaron Lavi profile photo
November 21, 2016

IBM Rational Team Concert Review: "RTC vs alternatives"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Rational Team Concert is used across entire RnD as source control and ALM tool.
  • One suite for all ALM needs; from requirements to code to bug and test management.
  • Handles well complex stream and merge activities.
  • Good API support, backed by a big vendor.
  • Clunky user interface and experience.
  • Hard to learn and "get around."
  • Sometimes feels you're working for it instead of the opposite.
IBM Rational Team Concert is best for all around ALM suite, maybe if migrating from Clearcase.
Read Yaron Lavi's full review
No photo available
February 27, 2017

Review: "IBM Rational Team Concert - A Hit or Miss based on how you use it"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Rational Team Concert (RTC) is used across our whole organization as a tool to capture a workflow of tasks to be performed per team.
  • Provides a complete workflow of work items to be performed within a team.
  • Provides customizable templates for creating and modifying the workflows based on how your team functions.
  • Provides, easy to use reports and querying functionality for managers to get a good glimpse of the overall project.
  • IBM RTC user-interface feels very dated compared to the competition.
  • Often times we find it to be very heavy and hence is slow to respond, which is sometimes discouraging to use.
  • It lacks some of the main integrations we would like to see from a development standpoint like seamless Git integration for instance.
In my opinion, RTC is probably well-suited for a very large organization that relies on it completely for project management. But it does bring in the overhead of managing and keeping it up-to-date in order to extract its benefits. It is not as good at integrating with other tools/platforms like Git for instance to enable seamless integration between developer check-ins and RTC tasks.
Read this authenticated review
Nishad Pandarathodi profile photo
June 30, 2014

IBM Rational Team Concert: "IBM RTC Review June 2014"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RTC was used as an agile project management purpose for a big program which had distributed 14 agile scrum teams. Each team manages their product and sprint backlog on it. It is easy to track product, sprint burn-down charts, velocity and task board. Managed and tracked impediments, retrospective, defect, user story, Sr. scrum master (scrum coach) can track each teams status and dependency. It is easy customize the field to add in the form for creation of user story, impediment etc.
  • It a a good agile scrum project management customized web based tool
  • Easy to Track the status, charts and taking the reports
  • Managing multiple distributed scrum projects
  • Import functionality using CSV file for a list of user story etc.
It is a very good tool for agile scrum project management.
Read Nishad Pandarathodi's full review
Bryan Sarazin profile photo
June 20, 2014

IBM Rational Team Concert Review: "Flexibility...at a price"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization used RTC as our comprehensive ALM tool to replace older Rational tools (ClearCase, BuildForge). It was the first tool used to provide work item tracking, which was vital as we were shifting to Agile methodologies. Rational Team Concert helped as unify the tools used across the organization while providing flexibility to different needs across business units.
  • Customizing work items is easy and flexible
  • Project Management is easy
  • Minimal administrative overhead
  • Workflows are not always intuitive
  • Native build tools not up to par
  • Source control streams concept
It is most likely well-suited for large organizations. How flexible do your ALM tools need to be? RTC is extremely flexible, but there is an associated learning curve to understand the flexibility. How quickly do we need to put the tools in place? We started with an early version of the tool (2.0), and the process to get RTC operationalized was lengthy.
Read Bryan Sarazin's full review
Srivardhan Dingari profile photo
June 20, 2014

"IBM Rational Team Concert Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole team uses IBM Rational Team Concert. The main focus is to write change requests which includes implementation work tickets, reviews etc.
  • Dead Lines are clearly assigned through change requests
  • Tracking the assignments (Implementation Work Tickets)
  • Process
  • GUI can be implemented much more efficiently with clarity. I personally feel the current IBM Rational Team Concert is little clumsy.
Read Srivardhan Dingari's full review
No photo available
April 29, 2015

IBM Rational Team Concert: "Version 4.0.6 Review - A Tool for a Mature Development Process"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rational Team Concert - RTC, is being used by a project team to facilitate software development. We define user stories, fill a backlog with epics and stories. We then prioritize and rank the backlog, and groom the stories to match our working velocity for the sprint. Rational Team Concert facilitates the requirements documentation, the sizing of the stories, and tracks our progress when used consistently.
  • Easy to use
  • Traceability
  • Generation of Reports
  • Customization to match your implementation
  • Can be self documenting and recording of history
  • Most reports and queries just display data graphically for trending. It would be nice to be able to easily build tabular reports.
  • The application is logistically complex, meaning there are many moving pieces to keep track of. One needs to work with the application learn it. Some people have trouble with this when they are new to RTC and have tight developmental time lines.
  • Running the RTC in house requires trained, dedicated staff. Upgrades are difficult and require expert level knowledge.
It is more suited to an Agile development methodology. However, it is not a replacement for or crutch to be used instead of a strong, disciplined Agile development staff. The software facilitates your existing process. It would be highly recommended to mature your Agile methodology before software acquisition. The software in a less mature environment, can allow bad habits to impact the Agile methodology discipline.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 17, 2014

IBM Rational Team Concert Review: "Powerful tool but a little clunky"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used the RTC suite to handle all aspects of our SDLC from requirements, to development and quality assurance. This was a fairly large project and RTC was hugely beneficial in helping our team complete our goals. The product is nothing short of amazing. Thanks to IBM for creating it.
  • Collaborative
  • Agile
  • Fast
  • Clunky
It's too clunky.
Read this authenticated review

About IBM Rational Team Concert

Categories:  Agile Development

IBM Rational Team Concert Competitors