IBM System Storage DS8900F (formerly DS8000) Reviews

24 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Rusty Beard | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

DS8000 Family - the most resilient storage for the most critical applications

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our customers use the product for various purposes from mainframe to open systems uses.
  • The IBM DS8000 family is the leading, most-trusted platform for IBM mainframe
  • The IBM DS8000 family is the leading, most-trusted platform for IBM i.
  • The IBM DS8000 family has time-proven hardware and software contributing to unparalleled availability.
  • The DS8000 family still lacks deduplication and compression algorithms.
  • For best results on replication enablement, optional Copy Services Manager is suggested.
If you're looking at the IBM DS8000 you have a special use-case. It's either IBM Mainframe, IBM i or another enterprise environment that requires the most resilient storage technology available. The DS8000 family is a great choice for these highly-critical environments.

It offers some of the most mature and well-thought copy services available in the industry. This includes synchronous and async options.

It's also available either pre-racked or rack mountable to suit your use-case.
The GUI and CLI are both effective in managing copy services for the DS8000. The CLI hasn't changed over the years, but the GUI has changed tremendously, and improved the overall intuitiveness of the process. For best results, customers still use Copy Services Manager, an optional software product that further simplifies, automates and manages the process.
Read Rusty Beard's full review
Ian Wright | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

DS8000 value

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use the DS8000 at many of our customers. I have several of them installed at customers who work in financial markets. Typically, I see it used in Mainframe only environments, due to the relative cost of the DS8k compared to the variety of platforms available for open systems environments. However, even now I have some customers who have open systems environments connected to DS8000 when it is an extremely high priority environment that cannot afford downtime.
Primarily I see it used for FICON attachment. The reason for that is pretty simple -- IBM works very closely between their storage and z groups to maintain "synergy". But it's also just a rock solid highly available platform that's become more reliable with time.
Additionally, when it comes to business continuity functions it can be pretty incredible. Its Global Mirror function particularly impresses me. It's able to deal with exceptionally high latency and still deliver single-digit seconds of RPO (in extreme cases this might require development to use "pokeables"). When combined with Copy Services Manager or GDPS, it really brings disaster recovery functions to a very usable level for the enterprise.
  • Remote Copy -- The DS8k has decades of excellent code built to handle the most demanding environments for mainframe or open systems and can be combined with automation solutions like GDPS or Copy Services Manager
  • Reliability and Availability -- This is the platform that gets used for the most demanding environments, even when FICON attachment isn't required
  • Continued enhancement -- IBM continues to put resources into the DS8k and the platform has advanced with the technology from z and power
  • Mainframe synergy -- Poughkeepsie communicates and works very closely with the DS8k developers
  • Data Reduction -- DS8k doesn't do any. If you're running a mainframe with pervasive encryption turned on, that's not an issue but it could be for many distributed environments
  • FlashCopy -- based on Copy on Write. It works well, but it would be nice to see it move to something like Redirect on Write
  • Expense -- What can I say? It is more expensive than most people in an open systems environment are willing to pay when compared with offerings that don't have FICON
It's a qualified 10. If it's a mainframe environment I wouldn't think twice. An open systems environment I would ask many questions to make sure that it's not going to be a bad decision. The open systems environments would need to have requirements to drive the DS8000. It would work for any environment in the interop matrix, but I'd just want to make sure that it's the right fit.
Well, logically partitioning the storage hasn't existed since the DS8300... very few customers used that.

Copy Services on the other hand are wonderful. Global Mirror, as I mentioned previously, can handle even extreme latency with the data having to take some very strange paths around the world. The developers might need to dial in to modify some "pokeable" values, but that's not a big deal and it can still manage very tight RPOs
Read Ian Wright's full review
Tom Corrado | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2019

DS8882F - CKD Storage in a Manageable Footprint

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use our DS8882F for our mainframe infrastructure across the whole organization. It addresses the business problem of providing CKD storage in a rack mounted system that can fit in our data center. Its all-flash configuration enables us to run mainframe workloads with the lowest possible latency, helping us establish a testing environment for the setups we implement at other clients.
  • Copy Services
  • Disaster Recovery
  • High throughput
  • I have seen the GUI say that the storage facility is inaccessible, even when getting a clean health check from IBM. Typically rebooting the HMC fixes this.
  • When decommissioning a box, you cannot delete arrays until ranks are done formatting. This adds a lot of time to the decomm process
  • IO ports do not have a topology by default
Well suited for CKD mainframe workloads and legacy support. Less appropriate for situations where FS9100 is more appropriate, such as needing external virtualiztion.
We have benefitted from CSM by using it to manage our flashcopy backups and DR replication sessions. I have also implemented it at various clients who manage their replication across their entire infrastructure.
Read Tom Corrado's full review
Dave Newman | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2019

IBM System Storage DS8000 User Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM System Storage DS8000 is used for both z/OS and z/VM to store all back end data and for all online and mobile servers.
  • It's very good at mirroring the data between our 2 sites (Production and DR).
  • Its high availability means that we've never had an outage the entire time we've been using it.
  • Management is easy through the HMC.
  • Since the DS8000 can use SMS to now archive HSM data directly to the TS7700, maybe add an interface to the tape system?
It is very well suited for z/OS CKD formatted devices.
We do use BM Copy Services Manager to manage our global mirroring. We have a separate server for this, but it works extremely well to manage all of our replication.
Read Dave Newman's full review
Timothy Choina | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

New Storage for USAA

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are replacing EMC storage with IBM storage. It's used company wide. Will be looking to implement FlashCopy for database backups.
  • Hopefully it won't have the internal problems like EMC that caused a major data issue last year.
  • I'm too new to have a good comparison of how this storage works.
  • Unknown.
Hopefully it will be well suited for all our storage needs. From a database perspective, we will need storage for all our DB2 and IMS data. We currently use DASD storage for our virtual tape (image copies) also.
We currently have vendor tool that does this for our storage technicians. I'm not sure how they intend to administer this new storage. They probably would like to continue using the tools we have - and know.
Read Timothy Choina's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

DS8K for my Enterprise

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM DS8000 to support all of our mortgage servicing customers on the mainframe. The DS8K was chosen for its performance, reliability and synergy with IBM zSeries. The DS8k is also important in reducing risk. The capabilities in replication and disaster recovery are unmatched in the industry and allow us to utilize complimentary technologies such as GDPS for resiliency.
  • Performance, the DS8k has provided excellent levels of service levels. I/O response time is no longer a concern.
  • Scalability - as we grow the platform, performance has been steady.
  • Replication - copy services capabilites are vast and ensure data integrity and consistency.
  • Ease of use, the latest GUIs have vastly improved over the last 5+ years. The GUI is a great learning tool for support teams not familiar with the DS8k.
  • Ability to use advanced features on HMC (for customers).
  • Provide better integration with GDPS - for example GDPS GUI hosted on DS8k HMC
  • Allow customers to install firmware
Well suited for mainframe CKD based applications. There is unmatched synergy with IBM zSeries when compared to the competition, for example zHPF, SUPERPAV, zHyperLink, cache management and replication technologies. For distributed, the fact that Copy Services Manager comes with the box is a great move on IBMs part to provide replication capability no matter what the applicaiton. I think the DS8k is less suited for smaller distributed environments. I think product overlap with V9000 in this case.

I do not use these, we use GDPS to manage copy services.

The GUI is an excellent management tool and with DSCLI imbedded, users have what they need to administer and monitor the platform without client apps. The addition of Copy services to the HMC platform is also an effective way to ensure CSM upgrades are in step with firmware updates.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

DS8000 Disaster Recovery

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DS8000 provides the reliability for mission critical applications and un-surpassed speed. It allows our DB2 and IMS systems to run without interruption with the speed needed to meet customer expectations. By providing a highly available system combined with disaster recovery, we never worry about missing a sale.
  • Disaster Recovery
  • Response Time
  • HIgh Availability
  • Configuration menus
With any mission critical application, the uptime and DR capabilities of the DS8000 are with equal in the industry. Choosing less is risking your data.
The Admin functionality has greatly improved over the years. But it is still difficult to manage individual volumes from the Admin GUI. At that point, it is still better to fall back to using the CLI in such situations, due to the limited amount of volumes that can be displayed at a time on the GUI.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Use of sharks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
It is being used by my customers with iSeries, mainframe and open systems with a need for always on high availability for business critical applications.
  • Mainframe integration
  • iSeries native attachment
  • Multi-site replication
  • Smaller high capacity drives
  • USB encryption
It’s hard to justify the cost of the system for small capacity requirements of open/distributed workloads.
It can be an expensive tool but when managing lots of flash copies or multi site replication it takes away complexity
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

DS8000 A great Storage tool with a very flexible GUI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We uss DS8000 for our storage solution in our IT department. It's very flexible for adding new LUNs to our system and works very well as well with our SVC solution that we have.
  • Very flexible with SVC or standalone
  • Very reliable - never goes down
  • Not as fast as our flash system
Big data LUNs with minimal writes and read
The GUI is very easy to use. You can use it for information data or LUN creation very easily and setting up new hosts is also very easy and flexible.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2019

Store data for days on DS8800 series

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the DB8886 to house our system z data. This meets our business needs by providing fast and secure data storage.
  • Allows us to use GDPS for our disaster recovery solution. This is a strength because it enables us to meet our DR requirements.
  • Allows us to have encryption of our data at rest. This is a strength because it enables us to meet our security requirements.
  • Allows us to have a stable and reliable disk storage. This is a strength because it enables us to meet our data availability requirements.
  • The hardest thing for us is the storage server software for configuring the storage. We find that the previous GUI interface is easier to use.
  • Being able to utilize some of the GDPS functions that need all flash to use.
  • The order process could be improved by telling the customer which additional cables/network requirements are needed.
The DS8000 series meets all of our processing needs. Our DB2 colleagues are very impressed with the speed of this new DASD. We have just fully installed our new DS8886, so I am sure that other units will be greatly impressed with the speed and availability of this new DASD.
Read this authenticated review

IBM System Storage DS8900F (formerly DS8000) Scorecard Summary

About IBM System Storage DS8900F (formerly DS8000)

IBM System Storage DS8900F is a family of all-flash data systems designed to meet a wide variety of workloads for different business needs through mission-critical acceleration, ultra-low application response times, uncompromising availability and unparalleled integration with IBM Z® and IBM Power Systems™.

IBM System Storage DS8900F (formerly DS8000) Competitors

HPE Nimble Storage, Pure Storage Flash arrays, Dell EMC PowerMax

IBM System Storage DS8900F (formerly DS8000) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No