Skip to main content
TrustRadius
IBM Video Streaming

IBM Video Streaming

Overview

What is IBM Video Streaming?

IBM Video Streaming solutions are used to stream virtual events, executive town halls, video marketing product launches, and OTT streaming. According to IBM, the solution is built for privacy, reliability and scale, to optimize video quality, and powered by IBM…

Read more
Recent Reviews

IBM Video Streaming

10 out of 10
February 12, 2024
Incentivized
IBM Video Streaming has proven to be an invaluable tool in our K-12 school district, significantly enhancing educational delivery, …
Continue reading

Thanks IBM

9 out of 10
November 07, 2020
We used it for a 2-hour premier of a movie and a zoom Q&A panel to major healthcare institutions around the country. We were looking for a …
Continue reading

IBM Watson Review

8 out of 10
November 08, 2019
Incentivized
It is used across the whole organization to help my clients to watch interviews remotely whenever they cannot join in person at our …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 31 features
  • Video link sharing (93)
    10.0
    100%
  • Live streaming (95)
    9.0
    90%
  • Video quality / Bandwidth controls (92)
    9.0
    90%
  • Mobile compatibility (87)
    9.0
    90%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is IBM Video Streaming?

IBM Video Streaming solutions are used to stream virtual events, executive town halls, video marketing product launches, and OTT streaming. According to IBM, the solution is built for privacy, reliability and scale, to optimize video quality, and powered by IBM Watson AI for video…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.ibm.com/products/video…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

11 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Vimeo?

Vimeo is a video experience platform. They enable anyone to create high-quality video experiences to connect and bring ideas to life. They proudly serve their growing community of nearly 300 million users — from creative storytellers to globally distributed teams at the world's largest companies.

What is Gumlet?

Gumlet is a video hosting platform used to upload, optimize, and stream videos, offering detailed video analytics.Gumlet simplifies the video workflow from upload to analytics, and can be used to control every aspect of the end-user streaming experience while running the streaming pipeline on…

Return to navigation

Features

Video Marketing

Features related to using video marketing content, as well as marketing videos themselves.

6.1
Avg 7.2

Video Platform Integrations

Integrations between the enterprise video platform and other business applications.

7.6
Avg 6.4

Video Security

Features related to the security of an organization's content stored on an enterprise video platform.

9
Avg 8.8

Video Player

Features that support playing and watching video content that is hosted on the enterprise video platform.

7.8
Avg 8.4

Video Analytics

Features related to collecting and analyzing data around video streaming quality, viewer behavior, etc.

8.2
Avg 7.5

Video Hosting, Management & Storage

Features related to hosting, managing, and storing video content.

9
Avg 8.5

Video Engagement

Features to engage viewers around video content, particularly for live streams.

9
Avg 8.1
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is IBM Video Streaming?

IBM Video Streaming solutions are used to stream virtual events, executive town halls, video marketing product launches, and OTT streaming. According to IBM, the solution is built for privacy, reliability and scale, to optimize video quality, and powered by IBM Watson AI for video search and automated closed captioning.

IBM Enterprise Video Streaming can power security-rich video communications ranging from employee town halls, to trainings and department meetings, to digital events – boosting engagement from virtually anywhere. This cloud-based solution includes AI-driven deep search and the ability to track usage down to the individual user level with metrics as detailed as when content was accessed, device information, geographic location of the viewer and completion percentage.

https://ibm.biz/Video_Streaming_product_page


IBM Video Streaming Features

Video Marketing Features

  • Supported: Lead generation
  • Supported: Video personalization
  • Supported: Audience for distribution
  • Supported: eCommerce
  • Supported: Support for advertisements
  • Supported: Video SEO

Video Security Features

  • Supported: Video access controls
  • Supported: User management
  • Supported: SSO support
  • Supported: Password protection
  • Supported: Video link sharing
  • Supported: Embed restrictions
  • Supported: Internal video
  • Supported: External video

Video Player Features

  • Supported: Player customization
  • Supported: Embedded videos
  • Supported: Video quality / Bandwidth controls
  • Supported: Mobile compatibility

Video Analytics Features

  • Supported: Streaming quality reports
  • Supported: Per viewer tracking
  • Supported: Per video tracking
  • Supported: Video analytics dashboard

Video Hosting, Management & Storage Features

  • Supported: On-Demand video
  • Supported: Live streaming
  • Supported: Impact of streaming on network
  • Supported: Video upload & format support
  • Supported: Video library / File management
  • Supported: Video portal
  • Supported: Video downloads
  • Supported: Video editing
  • Supported: High definition support
  • Supported: Closed captioning / Transcription

Video Engagement Features

  • Supported: Audience polling
  • Supported: Audience Q&A / Live chat
  • Supported: Video comments

Additional Features

  • Supported: Scalability
  • Supported: Enterprise Security
  • Supported: Quality of Service
  • Supported: Integrated Content Management
  • Supported: Multi-CDN Delivery via SD-CDN
  • Supported: Cloud-based Transcoding
  • Supported: Social Sharing with Facebook and Twitter Integration
  • Supported: Integrated Chat
  • Supported: Live Analytics Dashboard
  • Supported: Auto-Recording
  • Supported: Custom Branding
  • Supported: Lead Capture
  • Supported: Live Playlists
  • Supported: Support for Professional Encoding/Production Gear
  • Supported: Enterprise Support Plans
  • Supported: Managed Event and Production Services
  • Supported: Enterprise Content Delivery Network (eCDN)

IBM Video Streaming Screenshots

Screenshot of the viewer's portal experience (channel page).Screenshot of how the automatically generated closed captions can be edited if necessary.Screenshot of the Analytics Console.Screenshot of the Watson Media CMSScreenshot of the viewer's portal experience (channel page).

IBM Video Streaming Videos

IBM Video Streaming Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Mobile Web

Frequently Asked Questions

Kaltura, Dalet Flex, and Vidyard are common alternatives for IBM Video Streaming.

Reviewers rate Video personalization and Video link sharing highest, with a score of 10.

The most common users of IBM Video Streaming are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).

IBM Video Streaming Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)15%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)50%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)35%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(205)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 126)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
March 24, 2024

24/7 IBM YMMD

Cale J. Rogers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Ustream is easy to deploy and manage in 24/7 video streaming scenarios. The analytics module has been helpful to provide feedback to sales and marketing teams about the success of event campaigns. The live content works everywhere with no interruptions and we have received a lot of positive feedback from viewers about there hight quality of the video playback.
  • Offline playlists are a powerful and unique feature of the Ustream platform. When our headend is down, we love the fact that Ustream continues playback of programmed content to keep viewers engaged until while we work on returning service. This workflow also works well to support one-time live events such as pre-game shows.
  • Channel management is easy and offers a lot of powerful options. After the success of the 24/7 CTV live video broadcast, the station manager for KCSU wanted to set up a live video broadcast DJ channel. I was able to set up a new channel and configure a camera encoder in the booth in less than a day.
  • Live chat and social stream interactions are also a helpful feature. I have worked with our academic program managers to provide live feedback from online students during lesson events. Providing support for both broadcast and classroom needs speaks to the flexibility of the platform.
  • Ustream is simple to manage, but I would like to see improved user data management. It would be great to allow users to sign up for premium features (such as chat or other services) so we can get a better idea of who's watching. It would also be handy to manage analytics as "event data sets." For example, a live event would include a data set. Then when the event is used for on demand purposes, a separate data set would be created. This way, I can isolate data sets without concerns over deleting anything or including erroneous outliers.
  • Another feature I'd like to see is an option for adding "content resources" that can be included with the video player embed. This would help in situations where I want to deliver an audio version of the content, expand a description of the content (in the form of a simple paragraph or mini-blog entry), or just add additional files that users can download and print to use along with the video.
  • I would also like see poll and quizzing options. This would probably work best with a registration system to keep track of specific interaction. Interacting with the audience is key to building better viewing habits and understanding who's watching and why.
February 12, 2024

IBM Video Streaming

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • IBM Video Streaming allows for the integration of interactive elements into video content, such as quizzes, polls, and live Q&A sessions. This can make learning more engaging for young students by making it interactive and fun, thus increasing their attention and participation.
  • Teachers in a K-5 setting can access and share professional development materials and teaching resources through the platform. This can help them stay updated on the best practices for early childhood education, innovative teaching methods, and subject-specific strategies, ultimately benefiting their students.
  • IBM Video Streaming provides the capability for teachers to create a library of on-demand educational videos. This is particularly useful for young learners who may need to revisit concepts multiple times to fully understand them. It also supports differentiated learning by allowing students to learn at their own pace.
  • Young students often benefit from visual aids in their learning process. IBM Video Streaming can deliver high-quality video content that includes animations, demonstrations, and visual explanations of concepts. This can be particularly effective in subjects like science, math, and reading, where visualizations can enhance understanding.
  • The platform could benefit from a more child-friendly interface that is easier for young students to navigate. Simplified menus, larger buttons, and more intuitive icons would help make the platform more accessible to K-5 students, enabling them to find and view content more independently.
  • Integrating more seamlessly with other educational software and platforms commonly used in K-5 settings, such as learning management systems (LMS) or classroom management tools, would streamline the educational process. This could include single sign-on capabilities, easy embedding of videos into other platforms, or synchronization of educational resources across platforms.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Video scheduling
  • Integration with live platforms like Zoom
  • Off-air video capabilities for trailers and informative pre-feature clips
  • Use of Q & A/chat box for delivering messages to panelists in external platforms like Zoom
  • Superb technical support services
  • It isn't always user-friendly or straightforward, but the technical support team will assist in any way they can to walk users through the platform.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Rock-solid performance [updated review on 10/2020: not as reliable as 12 months ago]
  • Good video management system back-end [updated review on 10/2020: glitchy, waning engineering support]
  • Easy for non-technical users to grasp quickly
  • Invoicing - would like to see email notification/automation [updated review on 10/2020: Improved - of course, because it helps them collect $]
  • Updated templates for embedding channels on web pages [updated review on 10/2020: No major changes]
  • Beefing up event notification and functionality and subscription opportunities (this was stripped away earlier) [Updated review on 10/2020: Nothing new here]
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • high-definition video
  • graphic capabilities
  • multiple channels for streaming
  • titling capabilities
  • preset keying options
  • I initially saw dropped broadcasts due to usb conflicts with different accepted video mixers--this could have also been due to mixer/computer incompatibility.
  • A handier GUI for audio instead of adjusting audio going to the audio window separately
  • Some preset titling revealers for sports livestreaming would be helpful.
  • An ability to link with existing scoreboards for livestreaming
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Ease of use.
  • Flexibility of using different streaming software.
  • Great interface for viewers with no extra work.
  • Occasionally, I've had issues with losing connection, making it impossible to stream.
  • Metrics can be a little confusing to find accurate viewer numbers.
  • The web interface can make finding certain things like chat windows difficult to find.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • The streaming platform is easy to navigate from the back end. It does not take extensive training for someone to step in as a video live stream producer.
  • I like the functionality to create numerous channels to stream and host varying content.
  • Although the platform has the capability to produce a complicated stream with a lot of moving parts, it is also user-friendly enough for an iPhone user to set up a simple stream on his or her phone very easily.
  • When using a Remote Desktop source, it is very hard to connect the computer's audio to the stream. It has never worked well for us. And we have often had to use the audio from the room itself as opposed to directly from the computer.
  • The chat feature can be more natively integrated into the video source (chats could be overlayed on the video itself as opposed to the side). It would make the interaction more prominent.
  • The video editor could be significantly improved. It would be nice to be able to clip more than just the beginning and the end of a recorded video (i.e. if you want to clip a 10 second section from the middle of the video, you need to export the entire recording, import the file into a video editor, edit the video there, export the video out of the video editor, and then import the new file back into the Ustream channel).
November 16, 2019

IBM Watson Media Review

LeShawnda Fitzgerald | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • It allows us to stream without special equipment. We mainly use our phones.
  • The quality of the videos is amazing and I love the fact that videos auto-save and you can download and edit them for later.
  • The program allows you to create playlists so that we can stream on our online channel 24/7
  • I'd like the option to be able to upload the videos directly to Vimeo.
  • The download speed could be faster.
  • The program is great and was perfect for what we needed.
Joshua Iley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Channels - Having a channel that can be customized, and having a single link that can be shared before the event without having to update links to attendees is key. Attendees then being able to access the same link to view past broadcasts is important.
  • Security - Password protection on a channel is great for those looking to have limited access or monetize a stream.
  • Having separate Q&A and chat windows is great. Some events use one or the other, or both.
  • Increased security - I would love to have channels be inaccessible to searches on the website, but still accessible via private link.
  • A separate mobile app that presenters could use just for the Q&A and Chat module would be fantastic.
  • Support for multiple hardware encoders so there could be a failover.
November 08, 2019

IBM Watson Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Streaming video.
  • Recording sessions.
  • Easy link connection.
  • Password access to be able to view different projects.
  • It does not allow for the streaming of two different languages at the same time, with the possibility to record in both languages on two different files.
  • You cannot record a session for more than three hours.
  • You cannot see the name of people who are connected as viewers.
Frank Irzyk | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Stream and record significant events.
  • Stream and record staff events and meetings.
  • Stream events with moderately priced equipment.
  • Better opportunities to stream using wireless connections.
  • Simpler user interface.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Low cost hardware requirement
  • Low cost subscription model
  • Easy to use
  • Automated subtitling included in subscription
  • More generous streaming capacity included in standard package
  • Better online video management tools - I discovered very old videos were being stored without my knowledge
Beth Jinkerson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • This service allows multiple viewers to either set up a free, ongoing account or watch anonymously without getting an account.
  • Whether or not the viewer logs into an account or views anonymously, they can participate in the chat room, another feature of IBM’s software. Here, one can ask questions, make comments, and ask for technical support. Our webcasting team also uses this chat room feature to manage/test technical details related to webcast quality and other specific settings for the stream (I.e., sound, image, camera focus, etc.).
  • The ability to auto-record is another useful feature for us. The company offers a generous 1000 hours of recorded content per month, which is more than enough for our roughly 4 hours of streaming per week on average. This makes it possible to save an entire year of worship and study time for playback.
  • Occasionally, we experience a form of static that lasts for about 1 to 2 minutes. It appears in the live stream and in the auto-recorded file, but not in the live worship assembly. It occurs roughly 1 in every 4 hours of webcast time. I wish there was a way to trace the source of that recurring static. The diagnostic tools could be more robust.
  • It would be nice if the chat room allowed a user photo/avatar for each user to personalize that a little more.
  • I have wished for a way that an admin could use a “laser pointer” on the video window to point out something on the feed that other live viewers could see.
  • It would be wonderful to have a mini-tutorial for viewers who are not technically savvy that would inform them of how to get to the site and explain how they can use the software. For example, how they can see and type in the chat room, how to maximize the screen and make it smaller. Some of our viewers are in nursing homes or otherwise limited in capability to learn to use this on their own.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Simple to use with easy configuration, setup, and integration.
  • Allows for multiple channels with independent URLs.
  • Low latency, less than 10-15 sec lag in some cases.
  • Recording capabilities and management of recordings.
  • It's a cloud-based product, which has more latency than on-premises.
Eli Garfinkel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • It makes video streaming extremely simple. Anyone with basic computer skills can set it up.
  • It is very reasonably priced and the service is much more reliable than free options.
  • The quality is good.
  • A few have complained about the audio quality, but I am not sure that this is an IBM Watson issue. It may be a microphone problem or an issue with users' speakers.
  • I would like the system to be more compatible with Chromebooks. The audio was unacceptable when I used my Chromebook for live streaming, but good when I used my Mac.
  • I'd like the silver plan to include more user hours.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Easy to set up
  • Easy to customize, although there are very few options.
  • The player is simple for the audience to operate
  • Stream from the webcam through the browser is a great function, although we don't use it.
  • It means your platform can be used with professional cameras with nothing but a BLACKMAGIC web presenter or a BLACKMAGIC ATEM Mini, both of which are cheap and affordable.
  • Limited stats
  • No registration options
  • Vimeo is not as "well known" as other platforms
Ryan McGarry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Streams high-quality video and audio.
  • Shows multiple feeds (camera and screen share) in the same view.
  • Quickly change video sources to participant testing sessions.
  • Sometimes bandwidth causes video quality to become very low.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Once set up, very easy to start/stop streams
  • Review saves streams, editing information
  • Sharing saved streams with others
  • Easy way to save streams and download later
  • I do not like the free version going away. It allowed us to keep streams available when we aren't live streaming (once a year).
  • Allow editing of multiple stream information (like the name).
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Ability to create multiple channels for live streaming
  • Quality and reliability of the broadcasts
  • Easy to use and integrate with our website and social channels
  • Bloated user interface
  • Difficulty navigating between channels
  • Analytics Console could greatly use improvement (i.e. dynamic reporting)
Return to navigation