WebSphere Application Server Reviews

61 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to host HCL commerce applications and in house written applications. We also support customers using it for Ecommerce and Portal. Current versions range from version 6 and up.
Often it is user with DB2 and IBM http servers. We also use IBM MQ as part of the solution.
  • Management Console is well designed
  • Handles large loads well
  • Is easy to scale up if more nodes are needed
  • Better options for logging
  • Ability to see which nodes are connect to app servers in console
  • Better options for load balancing
This application fits well for large companies and one who already have an investment in IBM products. For smaller companies the price of support and licenses might prevent them using the product.
Read this authenticated review
September 23, 2020
Rajesh Chandramohan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM WAS is used in BPM and other middleware OLTP applications. As a part of GBS, I support a customer where WAS is been used extensively for application.
  • Security-rich Java server runtime environment.
  • WebSphere ND - Extensive support to containers.
  • Is a perfect fit for B2B, B2C and B2B2C companies.
  • More suitable for DevOps Environment.
  • Easy Deployment from command line.
  • Minimize the fixpack levels.
IBM WAS is good in transaction processing and suited for large deployments and enterprises looking for a smooth application server with less hassles. IBM WAS is not suited for batch processing kind of workload to work better.
The support provided by WAS is excellent via PMR a.k.a IBM support and is based on ticketing basis. Broadly, the service is good for any critical production bugs and other relevant apar releases.
Read Rajesh Chandramohan's full review
October 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WebSphere Application Server is the most prominent application server and web container used by our organization across projects and verticals. It is one of the most robust web containers for large scale enterprise applications. WebSphere Application Server is being used right from developer workspace to Production environments due to its immense scalability and robustness. Websphere has developed different versions for these uses. Most web application which have beans and bindings use this WebSphere Application Server for deployment. It deploys and lets us manage the application easily.
  • Robustness
  • Stability
  • Cluster Management
  • EJB Support
  • Better and simpler Admin Console
  • Auto Heap Management
  • Email SMTP Connectivity
Large scale apps, EJB applications, Enterprise suite apps are where WebSphere Application Server will be most suited. Apps which need large volume and complex memory management also opt for WebSphere Application Server over Jboss.

Small scale web services and REST where highly scalable server is not needed, WebSphere Application Server falls back. Simple servers like Tomcat and Jboss take the edge for small apps.
IBM is a brand that lives it up to its name. They provide full support and release timely fix packs for recognized issues. The support to a product is needed for a big organization and they convey all that is needed. WebSphere Application Server versions and upgrades are communicated timely and used by organizations.
Read this authenticated review
September 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's widely used in organization and it solves web deployment and website availability. Websphere Application Server provides better security and easy integration with other components. It's accessible on different operating system like Windows, AIX, Unix, Solaris, Zos/400 etc.
  • Websphere Application Server is highly secure and provides better security algorithms.
  • This application server provides high availability of applications in production environment.
  • WAS is used largely for web application deployments.
  • Websphere Application Server has unique IBM support available 24/7.
  • Websphere Application Server is accessible on all the operating system like Windows AIX Unix Solaris Zos etc.
  • It's easy to integrate with other systems.
  • In this era of cloud technology, Websphere Application Server required Integration with cloud technology.
  • Troubleshooting tools need to included in Websphere Application Server package for better troubleshooting of issues.
  • Websphere Application Server comes with some basic performance tools and these troubleshooting and performance tools need to be enhanced.
  • It's available in all operating systems like Windows AIX Unix Solaris Zos etc.
It is widely used for Java Web application deployments and it's highly secure and easy to use. It's easy to integrate with other components and widely used. Also, it's available for all operating systems.
Websphere Application Server needs to be revamped per cloud technology requirements and few basic troubleshooting tools need to be added in the package for better resolution of issues.
IBM has provided good support and it's 24/7 availablity.
Read this authenticated review
January 21, 2020
Ben Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's actually something we use across the business but my specific use case is unique to my team. I host a Java based application that assists in the monitoring and deployment of IBM Datacap applications. WebSphere allows us to deploy the Java based application, manage its running and access as well as ensure that it is suitable for high impact and regular use.
  • It works out of the box. Its basic functionality is all there and everything works with no adjustments.
  • The functionality is there for fine tuning, to allow applications to be easier to access and quicker with some tweaks, but again, these aren't necessary for basic running.
  • Licensing costs can be quite steep, more so than some competitors.
  • There's quite a steep learning curve with some elements and the support available online is fairly limited.
Our company in particular uses WebSphere to host a multitude of Java based applications, that require high availability and span multiple nodes for clustering and it seems well suited to this end.
IBM was quick to respond when we had an issue with our specific infrastructure. We raised a PMR, which they picked up quickly and updated us about every step of the way. We had an appropriate fix for quite a business critical issue within a fortnight, which was impressive!
Read Ben Williams's full review
May 01, 2019
Dinesh P | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our company, WebSphere Application Server is the chosen middleware stack for most of our traditional J2EE applications along with EJB and some JSPs as well. It is being used in various departments across the whole organization. It solves our business needs such as high availability and ability to span multiple nodes for horizontal clustering and other capabilities.
  • Cluster - WebSphere Clustering (Horizontal & Vertical) provides powerful clustering feature that manages work-load and eliminates down-time during deployments
  • User-Friendly GUI - WebSphere Console has a neat and clean user interface which makes easy to navigate around various settings
  • Support - IBM provides great support, nearly all of the PMRs get solved within a week or two
  • Downloading WebSphere Binaries from Passport Advantage can be made a little easier
  • May be expensive from a licensing perspective
WebSphere Application Server can be used for Java application deployments and any other complex application configurations such as shared libraries etc.
Read Dinesh P's full review
October 04, 2018
Frank William | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization, IBM WebSphere Application Server is the middleware upon which our Java based applications run. It also enables easy integration with other IBM tools such as IBM MQ
  • I like the user interface. It's neat and easy to navigate
  • Another thing I like is the ability to easily customize the product and create multiple nodes
  • I think support is fast and responsive when needed
  • Uptime of 99.99% is incredible
  • The first issue for me is the time it takes for the application server to start. That's one area I hope to see improvement on
  • Another issue is that there are times when the nodes have issues syncing
  • The initial learning curve is steep, especially for new users
Though there are minor issues with this software, I believe it's a very robust and capable product for deploying applications. I'll happily recommend it
Read Frank William's full review
September 27, 2018
Bryan Salerno | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WebSphere Application Server had been the application server of choice for most critical applications and applications needing EJBs or to maintain state. It is used across many departments. I see it as more of a IT solution to host functionality to solve business problems, although I guess its high availability, scaling, etc. do solve business problems because a problem can be as simply defined as needing business continuity.
  • Session Management
  • Node Management
  • Scalability
  • High overhead (i.e. resource cpu/memory)
  • Configuration can always be improved
Any web application that needs a enterprise grade application server with support.
Read Bryan Salerno's full review
June 20, 2016
Quashar Jamal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have www.costco.com and www.costcobusinessdelivery.com application hosted on websphere application servers and websphere commerce. Its being used by our IS department here at Costco. Mainly we are in application support and environment support role.
Earlier i worked for ATT where i was supporting one troubleshooting application hosted on WAS.
  • Deployment of application is pretty easy
  • Easy maintenance
  • IBM folks are always there to help with any issues
  • Messaging functionalities are little bit complicated
  • There should be more detailed tutorials for messaging and security
  • Certification for expired notification should be automated
I believe WebSphere Application Server (WAS) is suited for all JEE applications. I have worked on J2EE based applications including commerce and portlets applications and believe that using WAS has added advantage over other JEE Servers. Although we faced a few issues while implementing queues connection factories over SSL for WebSphere MQ. IBM support folks are always there to help.
Read Quashar Jamal's full review
June 17, 2016
Amitendu Panja | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team was responsible for developing and customizing IBM Maximo applications. The IBM WebSphere servers were used to deploy IBM Maximo EAR files. WebSphere was used deploy the Maximo software for the client. It was only used by teams implementing IBM Maximo and also as per the client's requests.
  • The IBM WebSphere console provides easy steps to deploy the Maximo EAR files on the server.
  • It provides a simple wizard to set up the server for a Maximo application. It guides you step by step from selecting the server type (Database, Directory and J2EE ), the setup server and node details, server administrative details, and port setting. It would automatically deploy it on the target machine.
  • The IBM Websphere console would behave erratically at times. When starting or stopping the server the small red and green icons would often take time to change even though the server would have started or stopped.
  • When deploying the EAR files, the logs are displayed. In case the window is closed or you click on any other link on the console there is no way you can get the console log page back. You will have to keep refreshing the deployed resources page in order to figure out if the deployment is complete or not.
  • When changing the status of the servers, no intermediate status is shown. Most of the time it works fine, as stated in the first point it would behave erratically. When the status changed the page would suddenly get refreshed and the icon colour gets updated. An acknowledgement and and console log like the once shown in deployment would be helpful.
My task was to configure IBM Maximo software and deploy them onto the IBM WebSphere web servers. Both products being from the same vendor was quite helpful. The IBM website provides ample resources for the configuration and troubleshooting of the system. The initial set up process consisted of simple steps through the wizard. The deployment and re-deployment of IBM Maximo EAR files was also fair and simple and guided by a wizard. From my knowledge and experience websphere is an easy to use and robust system.
Read Amitendu Panja's full review
May 11, 2016
Victor Toal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I implement many products that run on top of WebSphere across a broad range of industries. They are most often used to host company wide applications and are the workhorse of many enterprises. The ability to host applications on just about any OS platform is key to its usage.
  • Performance, and security. The ability to integrate these both into your application platform are most important to me.
  • The ability to run on all major OS thereby not forcing a client t to have to decide to support a platform they currently do not have.
  • Integration with (BM's version of ) Apache is very strong and easy to manage.
  • Less a problem of the platform but often software developed to run on top of WebSphere is tied to specific versions of it, making it difficult to have a central WebSphere farm that can service all your application needs.
  • The install is now fully graphical, but the configuration still requires a lot of manipulating of command line and xml/properties files. This makes it almost impossible for a novice to set up and configure; companies have to hire experienced consultants to get the job done.
I would not put these servers directly into a DMZ without many layers of security between the internet and them. Securing WebSphere can be complicated and exposing them to the outside is dangerous.
Read Victor Toal's full review
June 10, 2016
Fareed Abolhassani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's currently being used by myself for my personal project related to my college and it allowed me to work with a number of web servers.
  • Clean and simple console interface.
  • Simple SSO setup.
  • 99% uptime.
  • Easily scalable.
  • Takes a bit time to get a server up and running.
  • Node Sync.
  • Steep learning curve (time consuming because of its complexity).
If you're looking for a more complex server, then this is for you.
Read Fareed Abolhassani's full review
June 07, 2016
Abhilash Barla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yes, it is being used across the whole organization. It runs MasterCard applications.
  • Request and response tracking.
  • Simplicity of the information to understand and troubleshoot the issues.
  • Robust.
  • Scalable.
  • Love the way it manages clusters.
  • Segmented security.
  • Simple SSO setup.
  • Possibilities for customization
  • Integrated monitoring
  • Setting up SSO for the application can be made simpler.
  • Context root dependencies can be removed.
  • Have had a lot of crashes on the DMGR on WAS 8.5.5. That needs improvement. Even though the available memory is more than 80% it generates multiple core, javacore, snapcore etc., dump files, which just occupy disk space.
  • Improvement in cache clearing. We shouldn't be required to clear the cache and restart the process.
  • Node sync issues.
Yes, WebSphere Application Server will be chosen for the criticality yielding applications compared to the other open source application and web servers.
Read Abhilash Barla's full review
August 15, 2014
Manoj Prasad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Websphere Application Server 7.x is being used for deploying web applications using Liferay 6.1.2 a enterprise portal application
  • Robust application server
  • Good logging of various levels
  • Ability to create multiple nodes and clusters
  • Good documentation
  • Very nice WAS console interface
  • Ease of use in terms of deployment, give simple interface to do simple stuff like Tomcat, JBoss or GlassFish.
  • Takes long time to start the server.
  • The Liferay wars need to be decorated and then deployed. Perhaps we could simplify that.
  • Some of the concepts are good for complexity that WAS can handle but could be simplified and better documented, like concepts of well and profile, context, etc.
  • A Liferay war file created using Liferay Developer studio runs fine in Tomcat, however that may not run in WAS 7.x because it needs to be decorated. I had one war for a Liferay portlet with a simple cron job, and had hard time running to WAS server. It was running on the latest free download done on my friends m/c. Other times I have seen that there are issues running a war file that runs on Tomcat but runs on WAS after lot of customization for WAS.
  • The corporations like this however, the product may need better vibrant community of users where issues can be discussed.
It may be good for big corporates. It looks like a big heavy elephant with lots of features. However it's slower and more complex that its competitors like Tomcat, JBoss, etc.
Read Manoj Prasad's full review
September 15, 2014
Orazio Ray Pensabene | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM WebSphere with one of our vendor products called Connective - it is used to allow brokers / agents to receive uploaded documents which are used for pricing and other policy related information, we have used this product for over 8 years and have been through a few upgrades and patches, the product is solid and consistent. We have 99.9% uptime with this broker / agent application "only" because we use IBM WebSphere... Its enjoyable having time to plan the day for other IT related issues, knowing this product hardly has any its fantastic! - Thanks IBM!
  • Smart Web Integration
  • Easy to use GUI interface
  • Fast search and help topics
  • Simplified Security
  • Uptime is 99.99%
  • The product works great why change it -how much better can you make it...
  • SSL use for certificates could be a little more simpler
This is well suited for posting applications to the web, its a great interface.
Read Orazio Ray Pensabene's full review
February 21, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM WebSphere Application server is one of the [most] robust servers available today. It is being used across various verticals within the organization. It basically addresses the problems of connecting multiple nodes in a cluster and deployment purposes.
  • Robust application server
  • Ability to create multiple nodes and clusters
  • Very nice WAS console interface
  • Ease of use in terms of deployment, give simple interface to do simple stuff like Tomcat.
  • Some of the concepts are good for complexity that WAS can handle but could be simplified and better documented, like concepts of well and profile, context, etc.
  • Takes long time to start the server.
IBM WebSphere Application Server is being used for deploying web applications using portal applications.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

IDE support (9)
8.0
Security management (14)
7.8
Administration and management (14)
9.2
Application server performance (14)
8.7
Installation (13)
8.8
Open-source standards compliance (9)
8.4

What is WebSphere Application Server?

IBM WebSphere Application Server provides... an application server and infrastructure.

WebSphere Application Server Integrations

WebSphere Application Server Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Application Server$88.50Per Month

WebSphere Application Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is WebSphere Application Server?

IBM WebSphere Application Server provides... an application server and infrastructure.

What is WebSphere Application Server's best feature?

Reviewers rate Administration and management highest, with a score of 9.2.

Who uses WebSphere Application Server?

The most common users of WebSphere Application Server are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.