TrustRadius
IBM WebSphere Application Server provides... an application server and infrastructure.WebSphere Application Service: Robust and ReliableIn my organization, IBM WebSphere Application Server is the middleware upon which our Java based applications run. It also enables easy integration with other IBM tools such as IBM MQ,I like the user interface. It's neat and easy to navigate Another thing I like is the ability to easily customize the product and create multiple nodes I think support is fast and responsive when needed Uptime of 99.99% is incredible,The first issue for me is the time it takes for the application server to start. That's one area I hope to see improvement on Another issue is that there are times when the nodes have issues syncing The initial learning curve is steep, especially for new users,8,The costs can be prohibitive. But over the long run the benefits and increase in productivity tend to outweigh the cost It makes deploying applications easy thus saving time and other resources that'd have been wasted Enhances productivity,Apache Tomcat and Oracle GlassFish Server,IBM Digital Analytics, IBM Connections, Data Management for IMS and DB2 on z/OSWebSphere use caseWebSphere Application Server had been the application server of choice for most critical applications and applications needing EJBs or to maintain state. It is used across many departments. I see it as more of a IT solution to host functionality to solve business problems, although I guess its high availability, scaling, etc. do solve business problems because a problem can be as simply defined as needing business continuity.,Session Management Node Management Scalability,High overhead (i.e. resource cpu/memory) Configuration can always be improved,9,With rapid growth, many business units used it just to use it as a Web application server, even if they didn't need a supported robust app server and could have used a open source alternative like Tomcat High cost (license and maintenance) verse ROI for many applications that have limited users,Oracle ATG Web Commerce, Oracle WebLogic Application Server, JBoss Enterprise SOA Platform and Apache Tomcat,Oracle Database 12c, Apache TomcatOne of the best application servers - IBM WebsphereIBM WebSphere Application server is one of the [most] robust servers available today. It is being used across various verticals within the organization. It basically addresses the problems of connecting multiple nodes in a cluster and deployment purposes.,Robust application server Ability to create multiple nodes and clusters Very nice WAS console interface,Ease of use in terms of deployment, give simple interface to do simple stuff like Tomcat. Some of the concepts are good for complexity that WAS can handle but could be simplified and better documented, like concepts of well and profile, context, etc. Takes long time to start the server.,9,Takes long time to learn deploy and adapt to the complexity and vast difference with other servers. Negative impact on ROI in terms of more expertise needed may be compensated with more robust application that WAS offers. Because of lack of ease of use, the time taken to deploy and run applications is high.,,JIRA Software, Jazz, Elasticsearch, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)Websphere Application Server :- A suite for everyoneWe have www.costco.com and www.costcobusinessdelivery.com application hosted on websphere application servers and websphere commerce. Its being used by our IS department here at Costco. Mainly we are in application support and environment support role. Earlier i worked for ATT where i was supporting one troubleshooting application hosted on WAS.,Deployment of application is pretty easy Easy maintenance IBM folks are always there to help with any issues,Messaging functionalities are little bit complicated There should be more detailed tutorials for messaging and security Certification for expired notification should be automated,9,Definitely high performance and availability Ease of deployment with our dual cell architecture Troubleshooting,,Oracle WebLogic Application Server, WebSphere Commerce, WebSphere Enterprise Service BusIBM Websphere a beginners reviewMy team was responsible for developing and customizing IBM Maximo applications. The IBM WebSphere servers were used to deploy IBM Maximo EAR files. WebSphere was used deploy the Maximo software for the client. It was only used by teams implementing IBM Maximo and also as per the client's requests.,The IBM WebSphere console provides easy steps to deploy the Maximo EAR files on the server. It provides a simple wizard to set up the server for a Maximo application. It guides you step by step from selecting the server type (Database, Directory and J2EE ), the setup server and node details, server administrative details, and port setting. It would automatically deploy it on the target machine.,The IBM Websphere console would behave erratically at times. When starting or stopping the server the small red and green icons would often take time to change even though the server would have started or stopped. When deploying the EAR files, the logs are displayed. In case the window is closed or you click on any other link on the console there is no way you can get the console log page back. You will have to keep refreshing the deployed resources page in order to figure out if the deployment is complete or not. When changing the status of the servers, no intermediate status is shown. Most of the time it works fine, as stated in the first point it would behave erratically. When the status changed the page would suddenly get refreshed and the icon colour gets updated. An acknowledgement and and console log like the once shown in deployment would be helpful.,8,It's a robust platform for deploying Java EE applications like IBM Maximo. It's easy to set up and maintain. There are plugins that add load balancing capabilities to IBM WebSphere. It is very helpful when setting up a clustered environment. Only a single deployment is required and it takes care of the deployment across the various node/clusters.,Oracle GlassFish Server, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)
Unspecified
WebSphere Application Server
41 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

WebSphere Application Server Reviews

WebSphere Application Server
41 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 41 vetted WebSphere Application Server reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-10 of 10)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Frank William profile photo
October 04, 2018

WebSphere Application Server Review: "WebSphere Application Service: Robust and Reliable"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization, IBM WebSphere Application Server is the middleware upon which our Java based applications run. It also enables easy integration with other IBM tools such as IBM MQ
  • I like the user interface. It's neat and easy to navigate
  • Another thing I like is the ability to easily customize the product and create multiple nodes
  • I think support is fast and responsive when needed
  • Uptime of 99.99% is incredible
  • The first issue for me is the time it takes for the application server to start. That's one area I hope to see improvement on
  • Another issue is that there are times when the nodes have issues syncing
  • The initial learning curve is steep, especially for new users
Though there are minor issues with this software, I believe it's a very robust and capable product for deploying applications. I'll happily recommend it
Read Frank William's full review
Bryan Salerno profile photo
September 27, 2018

WebSphere Application Server Review: "WebSphere use case"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WebSphere Application Server had been the application server of choice for most critical applications and applications needing EJBs or to maintain state. It is used across many departments. I see it as more of a IT solution to host functionality to solve business problems, although I guess its high availability, scaling, etc. do solve business problems because a problem can be as simply defined as needing business continuity.
  • Session Management
  • Node Management
  • Scalability
  • High overhead (i.e. resource cpu/memory)
  • Configuration can always be improved
Any web application that needs a enterprise grade application server with support.
Read Bryan Salerno's full review
No photo available
February 21, 2017

WebSphere Application Server Review: "One of the best application servers - IBM Websphere"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM WebSphere Application server is one of the [most] robust servers available today. It is being used across various verticals within the organization. It basically addresses the problems of connecting multiple nodes in a cluster and deployment purposes.
  • Robust application server
  • Ability to create multiple nodes and clusters
  • Very nice WAS console interface
  • Ease of use in terms of deployment, give simple interface to do simple stuff like Tomcat.
  • Some of the concepts are good for complexity that WAS can handle but could be simplified and better documented, like concepts of well and profile, context, etc.
  • Takes long time to start the server.
IBM WebSphere Application Server is being used for deploying web applications using portal applications.
Read this authenticated review
Quashar Jamal profile photo
June 20, 2016

Review: "Websphere Application Server :- A suite for everyone"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have www.costco.com and www.costcobusinessdelivery.com application hosted on websphere application servers and websphere commerce. Its being used by our IS department here at Costco. Mainly we are in application support and environment support role.
Earlier i worked for ATT where i was supporting one troubleshooting application hosted on WAS.
  • Deployment of application is pretty easy
  • Easy maintenance
  • IBM folks are always there to help with any issues
  • Messaging functionalities are little bit complicated
  • There should be more detailed tutorials for messaging and security
  • Certification for expired notification should be automated
I believe WebSphere Application Server (WAS) is suited for all JEE applications. I have worked on J2EE based applications including commerce and portlets applications and believe that using WAS has added advantage over other JEE Servers. Although we faced a few issues while implementing queues connection factories over SSL for WebSphere MQ. IBM support folks are always there to help.
Read Quashar Jamal's full review
Amitendu Panja profile photo
June 17, 2016

WebSphere Application Server: "IBM Websphere a beginners review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team was responsible for developing and customizing IBM Maximo applications. The IBM WebSphere servers were used to deploy IBM Maximo EAR files. WebSphere was used deploy the Maximo software for the client. It was only used by teams implementing IBM Maximo and also as per the client's requests.
  • The IBM WebSphere console provides easy steps to deploy the Maximo EAR files on the server.
  • It provides a simple wizard to set up the server for a Maximo application. It guides you step by step from selecting the server type (Database, Directory and J2EE ), the setup server and node details, server administrative details, and port setting. It would automatically deploy it on the target machine.
  • The IBM Websphere console would behave erratically at times. When starting or stopping the server the small red and green icons would often take time to change even though the server would have started or stopped.
  • When deploying the EAR files, the logs are displayed. In case the window is closed or you click on any other link on the console there is no way you can get the console log page back. You will have to keep refreshing the deployed resources page in order to figure out if the deployment is complete or not.
  • When changing the status of the servers, no intermediate status is shown. Most of the time it works fine, as stated in the first point it would behave erratically. When the status changed the page would suddenly get refreshed and the icon colour gets updated. An acknowledgement and and console log like the once shown in deployment would be helpful.
My task was to configure IBM Maximo software and deploy them onto the IBM WebSphere web servers. Both products being from the same vendor was quite helpful. The IBM website provides ample resources for the configuration and troubleshooting of the system. The initial set up process consisted of simple steps through the wizard. The deployment and re-deployment of IBM Maximo EAR files was also fair and simple and guided by a wizard. From my knowledge and experience websphere is an easy to use and robust system.
Read Amitendu Panja's full review
Victor Toal profile photo
May 11, 2016

WebSphere Application Server Review: "WebSphere - It just works"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I implement many products that run on top of WebSphere across a broad range of industries. They are most often used to host company wide applications and are the workhorse of many enterprises. The ability to host applications on just about any OS platform is key to its usage.
  • Performance, and security. The ability to integrate these both into your application platform are most important to me.
  • The ability to run on all major OS thereby not forcing a client t to have to decide to support a platform they currently do not have.
  • Integration with (BM's version of ) Apache is very strong and easy to manage.
  • Less a problem of the platform but often software developed to run on top of WebSphere is tied to specific versions of it, making it difficult to have a central WebSphere farm that can service all your application needs.
  • The install is now fully graphical, but the configuration still requires a lot of manipulating of command line and xml/properties files. This makes it almost impossible for a novice to set up and configure; companies have to hire experienced consultants to get the job done.
I would not put these servers directly into a DMZ without many layers of security between the internet and them. Securing WebSphere can be complicated and exposing them to the outside is dangerous.
Read Victor Toal's full review
Fareed Abolhassani profile photo
June 10, 2016

User Review: "WebSphere Application Server"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's currently being used by myself for my personal project related to my college and it allowed me to work with a number of web servers.
  • Clean and simple console interface.
  • Simple SSO setup.
  • 99% uptime.
  • Easily scalable.
  • Takes a bit time to get a server up and running.
  • Node Sync.
  • Steep learning curve (time consuming because of its complexity).
If you're looking for a more complex server, then this is for you.
Read Fareed Abolhassani's full review
Abhilash Barla profile photo
June 07, 2016

Review: "WebSphere Application Server - is it really worth it?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yes, it is being used across the whole organization. It runs MasterCard applications.
  • Request and response tracking.
  • Simplicity of the information to understand and troubleshoot the issues.
  • Robust.
  • Scalable.
  • Love the way it manages clusters.
  • Segmented security.
  • Simple SSO setup.
  • Possibilities for customization
  • Integrated monitoring
  • Setting up SSO for the application can be made simpler.
  • Context root dependencies can be removed.
  • Have had a lot of crashes on the DMGR on WAS 8.5.5. That needs improvement. Even though the available memory is more than 80% it generates multiple core, javacore, snapcore etc., dump files, which just occupy disk space.
  • Improvement in cache clearing. We shouldn't be required to clear the cache and restart the process.
  • Node sync issues.
Yes, WebSphere Application Server will be chosen for the criticality yielding applications compared to the other open source application and web servers.
Read Abhilash Barla's full review
Manoj Prasad profile photo
August 15, 2014

WebSphere Application Server Review: "Big elephant, need a horse"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Websphere Application Server 7.x is being used for deploying web applications using Liferay 6.1.2 a enterprise portal application
  • Robust application server
  • Good logging of various levels
  • Ability to create multiple nodes and clusters
  • Good documentation
  • Very nice WAS console interface
  • Ease of use in terms of deployment, give simple interface to do simple stuff like Tomcat, JBoss or GlassFish.
  • Takes long time to start the server.
  • The Liferay wars need to be decorated and then deployed. Perhaps we could simplify that.
  • Some of the concepts are good for complexity that WAS can handle but could be simplified and better documented, like concepts of well and profile, context, etc.
  • A Liferay war file created using Liferay Developer studio runs fine in Tomcat, however that may not run in WAS 7.x because it needs to be decorated. I had one war for a Liferay portlet with a simple cron job, and had hard time running to WAS server. It was running on the latest free download done on my friends m/c. Other times I have seen that there are issues running a war file that runs on Tomcat but runs on WAS after lot of customization for WAS.
  • The corporations like this however, the product may need better vibrant community of users where issues can be discussed.
It may be good for big corporates. It looks like a big heavy elephant with lots of features. However it's slower and more complex that its competitors like Tomcat, JBoss, etc.
Read Manoj Prasad's full review
Orazio Ray Pensabene profile photo
September 15, 2014

WebSphere Application Server: "IBM WebSphere Review V7.0"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM WebSphere with one of our vendor products called Connective - it is used to allow brokers / agents to receive uploaded documents which are used for pricing and other policy related information, we have used this product for over 8 years and have been through a few upgrades and patches, the product is solid and consistent. We have 99.9% uptime with this broker / agent application "only" because we use IBM WebSphere... Its enjoyable having time to plan the day for other IT related issues, knowing this product hardly has any its fantastic! - Thanks IBM!
  • Smart Web Integration
  • Easy to use GUI interface
  • Fast search and help topics
  • Simplified Security
  • Uptime is 99.99%
  • The product works great why change it -how much better can you make it...
  • SSL use for certificates could be a little more simpler
This is well suited for posting applications to the web, its a great interface.
Read Orazio Ray Pensabene's full review

WebSphere Application Server Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

IDE support (5)
8.1
Security management (8)
9.0
Administration and management (8)
8.5
Application server performance (8)
7.7
Installation (8)
7.9
Open-source standards compliance (5)
7.1

About WebSphere Application Server

IBM WebSphere Application Server provides... an application server and infrastructure.

WebSphere Application Server Integrations

WebSphere Application Server Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No